Customer Reviews for COLD STEEL Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns

COLD STEEL Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns

Seriously powerful blowguns for hunters and recreational shooters. Five-foot aluminum barrels push magnum .625- caliber darts at speeds 20% faster than the competition. With practice, a shooter can be deadly accurate at ranges of more than 20 yards. Our testing revealed dart penetration through 1/2" plywood at 20 ft. The two-piece blowgun assembles with threaded joints and a reinforced coupling tube. Both blowguns include a dart quiver and 36 assorted darts: 12 stun, 12 mini broadhead, six broadhead and six bamboo. Available: One-Piece Blowgun, Two-Piece Blowgun.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
38 out of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Review 1 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2009

blowgun

By
a few years ago i bought a terminator .40 cal blowgun it was good for targets but it would not take down small game so i built a blow gun and got a few squriles and birds but it was like 10 lbs so i bought this and it is amazing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns

By
Location: vista, NY
i got the 5 foot blowgun and it defently has potential if you have the lungs of an olympic swimmer, or hooked to up to a compressor or a paintball gun. i think its just too big of a caliber.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009

AMAZING

By
Location: Raleigh, NC
i have 2 other blowguns from cabelas, and this big bore blowgun is by far the best. it has less resistance when shooting all darts and has SUGNIFIGANTLY more punch, and velocity. I succesfully stuck a dart in a tree from well over 100 feet (even though the barrel elevation was high it still suck the mini broadhed dart to the beginning of the shaft). it is an absolute blast to shoot and much more accurate and durable than the .40 caliber blowguns. If you are going to buy a blowgun this is no doubt worth what you pay.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2009

Well built blowgun (2-piece model)

By
Location: Southeast Alaska
This is one solidly built blowgun! I purchased the two piece model and it is a very fine blowgun. The aluminum is very thick and the two piece connection is solid. I strongly recommend the mini broadheads and the razor broadheads, these are the best and most accurate darts to shoot. Within an hour, I was nailing nearly all of my targets from 20-25 feet away. In fact, I plan to order another blowgun for my son! You will be most pleased with this blowgun. Have fun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009

great gun

By
Location: Kanses city,MO
i have always used terminator blowguns all my life for target shooting,small game hunting, and plinkin birds, but the problem with a 40 cal blowgun is that it doesnt have enough kinetic energy to keep the dart moving continuously through the game animal.so my only other option was to make a cherokee blowgun out of bamboo.
the darts had to be hand made and personally i crested my darts, but the bamboo constanly bended to the side or got bugs in it and after a while it started to crack.
but then i found the coldsteel blowgun and it has proved itself time and time again.
the biggest animal ive taken with it so far has been a canadian goose with the wire broadhead, but im sure it could take any animal up to 30 pounds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Good product, but you better have BIG lungs...

By
Location: NYC, NY
Well made & accurate, BUT you'd better have big, strong lungs to get the job done. The reason being that the diameter of the tube is so large that it really takes a hurculean effort to blow out enough air, and fast enough, to get the dart moving at the speed you can get from smaller diameter guns.
If you have really strong lungs then this is for you!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Awesome!!!

By
Location: Mid south
This is not a toy!! My 9 year old kid had to have one of these because the neighbors kid got one. He has taken birds, fish squirrels, snakes, and frogs that I know of. There is no telling what he has taken with it I don't know about! It will put a hole in a coke can like a .22 rifle. He likes the mini broadhead darts the best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

Big Bore Blowgun 5ft one-piece

By
Location: Twin Cities, MN
While this blowgun might not be for everyone, but anyone can use it with a little practice! I started with a terminator blowgun but was very dissapointed about the power and durability of it and ended up giving it away to a friend.
Several months later I purchased the BB Blowgun, and couldn't be happier! It is very solid and durable, but still very lightweight. The darts are well crafted, and if a cone pops off it can be pushed back in place! Replacement darts are also very affordably priced.
I have been shooting into the unused side of a block 4x4 archery target and almost lost one of the mini broadhead darts in it! Although I wouldn't hunt with the bamboo darts for anything but the occasional sparrow, the other darts are very capable of bringing down game!
Another fun application of the blowgun is to attach a small reel and go fishing with it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

ok

By
Location: pennsylvania
its a prity good blow gun but you have to have big lungs to shoot it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2010

WOW....talk about power...

By
Location: The bayou
I have 4 different blow guns. 2 .40 cal, 1 .50 cal and now the Cold Steel Big Bore and let me tell ya - the big bore is 100% the way to go. Worth every extra penny and then some.
I am very much into ornithology and had been using an air rifle to legally eliminate the house sparrows (a non-native species) that kept invading my nesting boxes and various nooks and crannies around the house.
I never would have even tried with the .40 or .50, but the Big Bore with the Zytel Broadhead or the Mini Broadhead does a pretty good number on House Sparrows. I also find it far more fun and challenging than the rifle. The accuracy of this blow gun is amazing and the dart quality is top notch
This is the one to buy if you want to hunt - period.
The .40's, although alot of fun, are good for shooting cans and lizards - thats about it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010

The best blow gun ever

By
Location: Youwillneverknow,Wa
This is the best blowgun i ever got. I have so far taken Crows, rabbits, sparrows, squirrels, chipmunks,frogs, lizards, my cousin lol. He bet be he wouldnt cry if i shot him from 20 yards with the stun dart, he won barely. My other cousin lives in the middle of nowhere and wow he was watching me kill crows and rabbits so fast and accurately he took me and bought himself a pack of razortips and 2 peice blowgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010

blow

By
Location: rapid city south dakota
the best blow gun I have EVER HAD!and I have had 8 over the past 20 years. if you dig into your pocket it will pay back and it is a grate hunting blow gun fore small bird to coyote.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2010

WOW!!!

By
Location: N-W Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is one awesome blowgun, accurate with very heavy hitting power. I found out they have 2 foot extension and "shotgun darts" which I hope Cabelas gets soon. It does does take a good set of lungs, but oh man is it worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2010

AWSOME!!!

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought the Big Bore today and i love it! I practiced with it for about an hour and already have a dead accurate aim. I plan on taking it up north with me this weekend to my grandparents to see what kind of game i can get!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2011

its cool i dig it

By
well its a great gun i got the two peice to day and i cant belive it it is awesome it just needs a grip the grip would be awesome because its frezzing and if your new to this sport i would recoment bunker buster it is a great starter gun and this gun takes a lot of wind i wouldnt recomend it to any one younger then 13 dont forget to pull off the rubber peice at the end i couldnt figur out what was wrong at first
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011

awsome

By
I havent killed anything with mine yet but very satisfied! best blowgun yet!! it packs a heck of a punch!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2011

BEST BLOWGUN IN THE WORLD

By
A very accurate and dependable blowgun. Excellent for hunting or for having fun shooting targets. I would NOT choose any other blowgun over this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2011

Best Blowgun EVER!!!!

By
Location: Boise idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this blowgun over a year ago and have had tremendous amount of success hunting with it. I have killed many rabbits and ground squirrels with it. If you want to hunt with this blowgun make sure you get the large broad heads, those make quick work of all small game. Make sure you practice before you hunt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2011

Big Bore Blowgun

By
Location: South Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
OK lets start by saying wow! i bought the two piece blowgun on 2-12-2011 and it arrived at my house on 2-15-2011. I practiced for about 30 min and then took it into the woods. I missed a couple times on some sparrows and then at dusk a mid size cottontail rabbit came to eat. (6 yards) I figured i would give it a try and wham! i smoked him! he ran about 3 feet before falling to the ground. I was shooting the Razor-Tip Broadheads that i had bought. And let me tell you they did the work! This blowgun satified me in every way and can take down small birds to full grown rabbits. 100% this is the best blowgun on the market. BUY ONE!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Bore™ One- and Two-Piece Blowguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2011

The Blowgun that doesnt BLOW ha

By
Location: Gonzales La
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Great blowgun, i bought mine and got it home and immediately opendin at started playing around with it to find that the accuracy and power are supperior in this blowgun and stop any other that i have owned in the past, took it out the other evening and smoked a rabbit at about 10 yards, he didnt move, i reccomend the razortip dart pack as well, the only thing i didnt like about it was the price, which i well worth it if you are lookin for a top quality accurate blowgun with a good bit of power. (one piece 5ft)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 40