Customer Reviews for BERGARA Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter

BERGARA Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter

Bergara barrels are crafted to incredibly rigid tolerances for unmatched drop-in accuracy. Each barrel has a straightness deviation of less than .004". Mirror-polished barrel interiors are button-rifled to precision standards. Fits both Thompson/Center Encore and ProHunter frames and forends.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Review 1 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bergara Barrels

Date:November 11, 2013
bought the 30.06 barrel for T/C and couldn't pull hammer back after installation. Took barrel back to the store they micrometered the parts and found that the safety spring was actually shorter then then the true thompson center barrel, so wound not work. I had to return the barrel and spent the extra money to buy thompson original. Why would they produce a product that wouldn't work? NEVER AGAIN!!! Thompson center origianl ONLY!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Varmint Full Contour

Date:September 28, 2011
Just a warning to you TC Encore folks....
If you buy a Varmint Full Contour Bergara barrel, do not expect it to fit your forend as received. If you go to the Bergara website and read FAQ #3, you will see that they know it will not fit, but still sell it without telling you. You will need a muzzleloader forend and special screws that they send you. Sent many request to the online option and after a long time of waiting I finally called. They said they never got anything from me and made it sound like I didn't do it. Finally he took my information over the phone and said they would send me two screws. So who knows....one of these days I might actualy have it all in place to work.
I wish I would have just done the TC barrel and not had all of this extra to deal with. Just doesn't make since to me that you design a barrel specfically to fit a gun and sell it for that and something like a screw tapping is a problem. I guess it is easier to send out screws than fix the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gunsmithing needed

Date:February 4, 2011
First of all, I love the 35 whelen barrel and how it shoots. But, I got the barrel in and when I put it on the gun it would not latch closed unless I "SLAMMED" it shut. Then, once I got it to close it would not cock. The hammer could not be pulled back due to the piece that closes the gun not depressing the lever that allows you to cock the gun. Had to have gunsmithing done to make everything work right. I rate this barrel 1 star due to the fact that I paid 250+ bucks for it and still had to have work done on it to get it to work right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: SW PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Action wouldn't close

Date:January 21, 2011
Purchased a 26" SS .223 barrel for my encore. When it arrived from the factory, I tried to mount it on my receiver. Got it mounted but the action would not lock in when I closed the barrel. I have 2 encore recievers so I tried the other one. No luck. Contacted Bergara to see if maybe I was doing something wrong. They suggested I package up the barrel along with the receiver and send it to them to have their gunsmith try to figure out. That was a nice gesture, but I didn't like the idea of sending the barrel along with my receiver to them on my dime and waiting a month (or more) to get it back, when in my opinion, it should have fit the first time.
Called Cabelas customer serivice and they took care of me instantly. I'm returning the barrel for a refund. I'm going to stick with TC barrels from here on. Thanks Cabela's for your excellent customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no good

Date:September 8, 2010
When I got the barrel it was missing the bullet extractor, sent it back and it was fixted. When I put it in my pro hunter the barrel was lose. It would move up and down. they clim to have high tolorences but they do not. I have 2 other barrels and they both fit tight.I sent it right to bergara and I am still trying to get it fixed. I bought it in January 2010.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Could have been a Contender

Date:May 22, 2012
Having read all the hype, I was expecting great things from my new 243. Fit was fine, finish was also fine, no complaints... until I got to the range. I reload 11 calibers, and have shot in competition for 23 years, up to national championship level, and have never had a barrel take so darn long to break in only to end up with such average results.
First 100 rounds of "green and silver" factory grouped around 3", second 100 with premium factory narrowed it down to a best group of 1.8". Handloads produced a best group of around 1.3". After finally finishing fire lapping, and a total of about 400 rounds down the pipe, it settled down to shoot just over an inch.
For the cost of all the ammo through it to find out it barely qualifies for MOA, I could have had a premium sure-thing from one of the custom guys.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brandon, MS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't be happier...

Date:November 23, 2010
I primarily hunt Whitetail Deer in MS. The .35 Whelen is now considered a primitive weapon in MS. Two of my hunting buddies purchased Encore Rifles with Thompson Barrels and with mixed results. My wife gave me the Encore stock and forend for my birthday and I orderd the Bergara .35 Whelen barrel and a Nikon Pro Staff scope from Cabelas to complete the gun. This barrel drives tacks at 100 yards and I feel comfortable shooting deer out to 300 with only 9 inches of drop!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anoka, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bergara 35Whelen Barrel

Date:August 15, 2010
I've shot Encore rifle barrels from Thompson Center for a number of years. When Bergara started making my favorite caliber (35 Whelen) I thought I'd give em a try.
No disapointment here folks, Very accurate with 225 Grain Trophy Bonded Bear Claws from Federal Premium. One inch groups at 100 yds with this load.
Fit and finish was fine also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockland County, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bergara 209x50 ML Barrel

Date:December 18, 2009
I chose this barrel over the T/C for my Encore Pro Hunter, because the reviews were excellent. I have tested several different bullets and the best combination I've found was the Powerbelt 295 Gr AT Cooper with a Magnum load of (150 Grs Triple 7). My Bergara is scoped with a Nikon BDC 3x9x40. I consistenty get 1" MOA groups at 100 yards. Today I took a large doe at 125 yards from the top of a ridge on a power line. The shot broke 2 ribs 3" behind front leg, exactly were I intended. The impact flipped her on her back for a few seconds, she jumped up, ran 20 yrs before piling up on a log. This barrel can yield Match Grade accuracy, highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bergara Barrels For Thompson/Center Encore/ProHunter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bergara 209 x 50 barrel for TC Encore

Date:December 14, 2008
I purchased the ML barrel for my TC Encore based on several
factors.
1. Excellent reviews by members of several outdoor related websites.
2. Good performance of a CVA Optima Pro 209 x 50 with a barrel by the same manufacturer.
3. Price, of course, I was able to get the barrel for approx. $200.
After mounting and sighting in with TC Mag Express 240 gr. XTP bullets & 2-50 gr. T7 pellets I was pleased to find I was able to get 1" groups at 50 yds. A week later I was also able to harvest a nice doe at 75 yds. with one shot. After the smoke cleared she had not taken a step. I plan to look at a 7mm-08 in the near future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.