Customer Reviews for WHEELER Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench

WHEELER Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench

Apply the exact amount of torque you need to install delicate base screws, scope rings, windage screws and trigger guard screws with repeatable accuracy that translates to more consistent performance in the field. This ergonomic, click/clutch enables you to adjust torque from 10 inch-lbs. to 65 inch-lbs. at increments of 5 inch-lbs. Features standard 1/4" drive tip and includes eight bits: T15 Torx; T20 Torx; 3/2" Allen; 5/2" Allen; Leupold/Buehler Windage; #10 Deluxe Flat Blade; #11 Deluxe Flat Blade; and a #32 Deluxe Flat Blade.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
83 out of 84(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Review 1 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

a good tool

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
One man's gorilla tight breaks things, another lets them come loose and fall off. This wrench will help you learn the difference.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

Wheeler Fat Wrench

By
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
After I got it out of the packaging, I couldn't turn it, following the directions. I tried numerous times and put it back in the packaging to take back to Cabelas. The next day I decided to try one more time and took it out of the packaging again. With considerable twisting force, it broke free and I could adjust the inch-pounds. I tried it on a stock-retaining screw and set it on ten inch-pounds. It broke broke as I expected. I hope it's OK now, but haven't tried it on anything else. I didn't expect to have such a hassle with it. I don't know whether to recommend it or not. Right now I'd say no. We'll see how it goes...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2011

Wheeler™ Torque Fat Wrench

By
Location: Emeryville, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this as I needed to torque 10 #8 cap screws on a $1600 scope and my Snap-On torque wrenched started at 40 inch pounds and of course I needed 25 to 30 inch pounds...
Nice wrench yada yada yada, BUT, was not impressed w/ the wrench although it did do the job... The moving dial line was about 10 time thicker in width than the side scale lines, so you need to get your specs on and center the two lines... The reason I am writing this is that the plastic scale on the side of the wrench used to aset the torque and the same material that the has the instructions on it and covers the assembly screw on the end of this unit - both started to PEEL OFF after I cut the release tie from the box... Poor design, guess you gets what you pay for !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2016

Fat wrench

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great tool, just wish the bits were a little longer. Bits are not long enough to to completely tighten some bases.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2016

functional

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Item thus far has performed exactly as described. Almost a necessary tool if installing scopes or other equipment on your firearms.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Best bang for your buck!!

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very good torque wrench
Easy to use, nice case and great starter bits.
Loses a star for two minor reasons
Needs a pointer or more crisp line to make more accurate adjustments. Hard to see if your torque setting is at 15 or 19 in lbs.
2nd issue was that it needs a few more bits included.
I do highly recommend it tho
Definately must have in your gunsmithing box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Works great.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It works great with all the included bits. Wish it had a bit for attaching sockets. That would have made this perfect for all scope work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

A " should have " for your gun tackle box

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The right tool for the job. They are too pricey for what they are, but Cabelas had them on sale so I picked one up. Installed 3 scope mounts and rings soon after. Kit does not cover all the options you will find on various mounts/rings so pick up a selection of hex bit drivers to cover everything. Useful avoiding stripping out tapped holes in your rifle or pistol and avoids over torqing ring screws.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2015

Tight

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I no longer need to "FEEL" my scope mounts and rings are tight but not binding. I used to cringe when tightening the rings trying not to crush the scope tube.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The wrench seemed to work as advertised. It is just a bit difficult to set and release the tension because of the handle shape but can be done fairly quickly. It would be nice if there were a few more different bits to choose from but the basics are there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2015

Works Fine

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This Fat Wrench does what the ad said, should be fine for scope mounting and other minor gun repairs. The only negative I had was there is no way to make fine adjustments, you just have to guess for the single measurement between 0 and 5 or 10 to 15 and so on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014

Right tool

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Don't ever take a chance with your treasured scope,mounts, or picatinny rail installation.
This torque wrench is easy to use, and dial in.
I went too long without one. Money well spent, and always stays in my range bag. I recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013

Must have

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I do a lot of firearm work and proper torque setting (i.e. NOT over tightening) is crucial. Small firearm screws are designed for a specific job and work only when torqued at correct amount. Over tightening immediately causes failure of screw or component its holding. This tool is the ONLY way to ensure that your equipment is appropriately installed and safe to use. Would be 5 star BUT it doesnt go as high as other 1/4 drive wrenches.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013

Good value

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
For mounting scopes and minor gunsmithing chores its hard to beat this little wrench. Set up was easy and accuracy seems good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2013

good tool to have

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is a good tool to have in your arsenal. I've used it to install numerous scopes on my own rifles as well as for family and friends. Also used it to change out fore ends on my TC, as well as to swap out an aftermarket stock on my ruger 10/22. Would be five stars if more bits were standard issue. Used and old tackle box with trays to store it. Keeps the bits handy and all together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013

not bad

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I like the wrench, it works great. I would like a few more bits.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2012

good wrench

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
very easy to use.I dont have any other wrench to compair it with. So I would question its accuracy,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Good Deal

By
Location: Shoreview,MN
This wrench works well for me. Its adjustable, where as other in lbs torque wrenchs are set at one setting and are twice the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Wheeler™ Torque Fat Wrench

By
Location: Salisbury South Australia
A very good and useful tool to have around. My only suggestion would be to have a storage compartment for the spare driver heads
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2009

Perfect for mounting scopes

By
Location: Washington State
This took all of the guess work out of how tight the set screws for my scope's rings/base should be. If you have ever tried to keeps a straight edge screw driver from slipping while tightening Leupold's side mount ring screws you'll love one of the screw driver bit that comes with this product. It fits like a glove!
I would have given this a full five stars if the manufacture would have found a way to store the bits in the body of the wrench. As is, I'll keep the bits and wrench in the original plastic display container.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 84