Customer Reviews for WHEELER Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench

WHEELER Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench

Apply the exact amount of torque you need to install delicate base screws, scope rings, windage screws and trigger guard screws with repeatable accuracy that translates to more consistent performance in the field. This ergonomic, click/clutch enables you to adjust torque from 10 inch-lbs. to 65 inch-lbs. at increments of 5 inch-lbs. Features standard 1/4" drive tip and includes eight bits: T15 Torx; T20 Torx; 3/2" Allen; 5/2" Allen; Leupold/Buehler Windage; #10 Deluxe Flat Blade; #11 Deluxe Flat Blade; and a #32 Deluxe Flat Blade.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
52 out of 53(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Review 1 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wheeler Fat Wrench

Date:February 5, 2013
After I got it out of the packaging, I couldn't turn it, following the directions. I tried numerous times and put it back in the packaging to take back to Cabelas. The next day I decided to try one more time and took it out of the packaging again. With considerable twisting force, it broke free and I could adjust the inch-pounds. I tried it on a stock-retaining screw and set it on ten inch-pounds. It broke broke as I expected. I hope it's OK now, but haven't tried it on anything else. I didn't expect to have such a hassle with it. I don't know whether to recommend it or not. Right now I'd say no. We'll see how it goes...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Emeryville, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wheeler™ Torque Fat Wrench

Date:September 24, 2011
I bought this as I needed to torque 10 #8 cap screws on a $1600 scope and my Snap-On torque wrenched started at 40 inch pounds and of course I needed 25 to 30 inch pounds...
Nice wrench yada yada yada, BUT, was not impressed w/ the wrench although it did do the job... The moving dial line was about 10 time thicker in width than the side scale lines, so you need to get your specs on and center the two lines... The reason I am writing this is that the plastic scale on the side of the wrench used to aset the torque and the same material that the has the instructions on it and covers the assembly screw on the end of this unit - both started to PEEL OFF after I cut the release tie from the box... Poor design, guess you gets what you pay for !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Right tool

Date:July 10, 2014
Don't ever take a chance with your treasured scope,mounts, or picatinny rail installation.
This torque wrench is easy to use, and dial in.
I went too long without one. Money well spent, and always stays in my range bag. I recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Must have

Date:November 15, 2013
I do a lot of firearm work and proper torque setting (i.e. NOT over tightening) is crucial. Small firearm screws are designed for a specific job and work only when torqued at correct amount. Over tightening immediately causes failure of screw or component its holding. This tool is the ONLY way to ensure that your equipment is appropriately installed and safe to use. Would be 5 star BUT it doesnt go as high as other 1/4 drive wrenches.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value

Date:May 14, 2013
For mounting scopes and minor gunsmithing chores its hard to beat this little wrench. Set up was easy and accuracy seems good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good tool to have

Date:February 23, 2013
this is a good tool to have in your arsenal. I've used it to install numerous scopes on my own rifles as well as for family and friends. Also used it to change out fore ends on my TC, as well as to swap out an aftermarket stock on my ruger 10/22. Would be five stars if more bits were standard issue. Used and old tackle box with trays to store it. Keeps the bits handy and all together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad

Date:January 8, 2013
I like the wrench, it works great. I would like a few more bits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good wrench

Date:October 25, 2012
very easy to use.I dont have any other wrench to compair it with. So I would question its accuracy,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Shoreview,MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:June 16, 2009
This wrench works well for me. Its adjustable, where as other in lbs torque wrenchs are set at one setting and are twice the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Salisbury South Australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wheeler™ Torque Fat Wrench

Date:June 16, 2009
A very good and useful tool to have around. My only suggestion would be to have a storage compartment for the spare driver heads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for mounting scopes

Date:April 13, 2009
This took all of the guess work out of how tight the set screws for my scope's rings/base should be. If you have ever tried to keeps a straight edge screw driver from slipping while tightening Leupold's side mount ring screws you'll love one of the screw driver bit that comes with this product. It fits like a glove!
I would have given this a full five stars if the manufacture would have found a way to store the bits in the body of the wrench. As is, I'll keep the bits and wrench in the original plastic display container.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wheeler Torque Wrench

Date:March 24, 2009
It comes with good instructions and is easy to use. I have used it on stocks and scopes with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Torque Wrench

Date:March 18, 2009
For the money you can not go wrong. All of the Wheeler products I have tried have been good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works as described

Date:September 22, 2008
The Fat Wrench does exactly what it says it does - enables the
user to torque screws (and nuts) to specific inch pounds for
maximum accuracy. Maybe more importantly, the user can also RE-torque to same poundage. I have a single shot rifle that accepts both centerfire & muzzle loading barrels/fore ends - it provides a degree of confidence when swapping
these barrels. I would give it 5 stars if it came with (or had available) a wider selection of bits, hex heads in particular.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Torque wrench

Date:September 15, 2008
Much easier to use than my regular torque wrench and cobbled together bits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tool

Date:July 29, 2014
This tool is very easy to work. The bits are good also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:July 26, 2014
Works well. Good addition to a gunsmiths arsenal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tool

Date:January 28, 2014
I just purchased and mounted my first scope. I read how the mounting screws should be torqued to prevent over tightening and to get them equally tightened. I decided on the Wheeler Torque Fat Wrench and glad I did. It worked exactly how I hoped it would.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:January 8, 2014
Works great and is easy to carry in my range bag!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wheeler® Torque Fat Wrench
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:November 15, 2013
Works like it should. I use to torque screws on scopes. I shoot rimfires on paper targets and want screws tight but not too tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 53