Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gamo Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo

Refit and ready for action. Each .177-caliber rifle combo is meticulously refurbished from butt to barrel to like-new condition for match-grade accuracy you can rely on. Its break barrel, single-cocking system shoots 1,200 fps with PBA and 1,000 fps with lead. A hefty, fluted polymer bull barrel provides steady control for long-range target shooting. The second-stage adjustable trigger has a manual trigger safety. Textured checkering on the grip and forearm provide nonslip performance. Ventilated rubber pad for recoil absorption. Twin cheek pads for ambidextrous shooting. Rugged, all-weather synthetic stock. Scope and mount included. One-year factory warranty. Weight: 6.1 lbs. Barrel length: 18". Overall length: 43.3". Cocking effort: 38 lbs. Scope: 3-9x40.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
29 out of 33(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

its a nice gun

Date:August 27, 2008
i personally think its a nice gun but i just dont keep it loaded
if u know wat i mean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: downingtown pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great squirrel hunter

Date:September 27, 2008
Great gun for the money! I've only had it 3 days and have taken numerous squirrels most at about 40-50yds. Lots of power, shoots flat and is quiter than i expected. Looks and feels like a rimfire rifle very stable, i say buy one and enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Pellet Gun w/ Scope

Date:October 27, 2008
I was impressed with the power of the pellet rifle and the accuracy once sighted in. The recoil of the rifle was unexpected because I am used to an air rifle but very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jefferson GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A real no powder hunting weapon

Date:November 3, 2008
Absolutely devastating on squirrels. Very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I am retired law enforcement from the state of ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Big Cat

Date:November 4, 2008
I have read other reviews that were not favorable regarding accuracy. However, I own two Big Cats and both shoot 1/2 inch at 40 yards in a controlled environment. I made sure that the scope screws were tight base to receiver and the rings were tightened enough so that the scope would not move. I use the flat point Gamo pellets. Keep in mind if you change pellets it will change your zero. Also, I clean the bore every 200 rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Aurora, Il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Big cat 1200

Date:November 4, 2008
Well worth the money. Does exactly what you would want a 1000fps air rifle to do. Great for pest control/small game hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Big Cat

Date:December 3, 2008
Very nice refurbished rifle. Mounted the scope and had it sighted in in no time. This one seems to be really accurate, which I was a little worried about after reading some of the other reviews out there. Powerful and light weight. Very satisfied, especially for the price. Lookout tree rats, the " big cat" is on the prowl!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: in the woods
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best gun Ever

Date:December 16, 2008
Well worth the money comes with everything you need to start varmint hunting.the scope is great.shoots just as good with cheap lead pellets.killed four squirrels my 2nd day after i got it sighted.GO GET ONE.you will not be disappointed.advice use the bar scope mount instead of the rings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laramie Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Refurbished Big Cat Combo

Date:June 25, 2009
Boy was I surprised. For the money I paid, I thought they made a mistake and sent a more expensive rifle. Scope and rifle seem very good quality for the price. Very happy camper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange Park, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow, shoots great

Date:July 10, 2009
Zeroed the rifle in with about 15 shots and had two three shot group less than an inch at 12 yards. And I'm not a good shot right now. With pointed lead "field" rounds it easily penetrated 1/4" oak plywood and buried into 1/2 ply behind it. Before using the backup board it went through the oak ply and then completely through the cypress fence boards! Be careful!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:July 13, 2009
"Junk" Don't waste your money. The best group I could get off a fixed bench at 20 yards was 4". I guess that's why it's a refurbished gun. "you get what you pay for"
So I traded it for the Gamo CFX and have 10 rounds in a dime size circle. The fixed barrel makes a huge accuracy difference. The only downfall with this package is the scope is junk. So I will be replacing the scope with something better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Summerfield,FL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

replace the scope mounts

Date:July 19, 2009
I bought this rifle reconed.Shot approx 300 rds,all the PBA it grouped Ok @ 30 yds.Then I noticed the scope was moving.I stripped the supplied scope bolts trying to thighten them.When I pulled the scope off both scope mounts on the scope were loose.I replaced them with Weaver .22/air rifle mounts.No more scope movement.
Also you have to find the ammo the rifle likes.This one likes the Gammo Rocket.I tried daisey,crossman.I got the most consistent grouping with Gammo's rocket.
I love this rifle for the moiney it doesn't get much better for back yard plinking.
Dwayne,Florida
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun for the price

Date:August 3, 2009
Bought this pellet gun a few weeks ago and have had the chance to go out and sight it in a bit. Seems to be accurate and I haven't had any real problems with the gun. It has great power (I put a pellet through a pine 1x6 at relatively close range and aluminum cans filled with water literally explode). I do not find it difficult to cock the gun and one pump is all it takes! I do wish it had iron sights and it does not. Scope has been no problem to mount or use. All in all a good gun for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:August 9, 2009
With the right ammo the Big Cat shoots a tight group. Tried repeatedly to sight in with the Raptor pellets sent with it but got wide groups and fliers. Switched to Rocket ammo, based on a posted rating, and BINGO -- consistent groups and reduced population of ground squirrels raiding my wife's garden.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alvaton, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Big Cat

Date:August 15, 2009
After reading the reviews, I ordered one of the Gamo Big Cat Refurbished pellet guns. I am very pleased with the product. The gun shoots fairly consistent groupings at 20 yards. The PBA pellets that come with the gun are fast and accutrate. I am pleased with the performance of the GAMO 750 PRO MAGNUM PELLETS. Great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: BLOOMFIELD, NEW MEXICO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BADSCOPE

Date:August 24, 2009
THE RIFLE IS OK, BUT THE SCOPE IS NOT WORTH PUTTING ON THE RIFLE...SHOULD UPGRADE THE SCOPE TO MAKE A BETTER COMBO...I HAD TO GO OUT AND BUY ANOTHER BRAND SCOPE TO BE ABLE TO USE THE RIFLE...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plumber in Baltimore, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Back in the Game

Date:August 29, 2009
I'm truly a happy camper now that I've found this rifle.
1. Power is excellent
a. use a heaver pellet it will hit like a .22
2. Scope is the upgrade too what other sites sell
a. use a rifle stand to site in
I'm 46 yrs old and have not used a BB or pellet rifle since I was 14. I forgot the fun in just shooting around.
Thanks Gamo & Cabela's for a great rifle at an outstanding price. Now I can't wait to go out with the grand kids.
Small Game Shooter,
fonz99
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Great Falls, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get one while you can

Date:September 9, 2009
I have been an airgun enthusiast for years, and this is by far the best one I have ever had the pleasure to own and shoot. The power is amazing, the scope is high quality, the feel is perfect and the look is better than the pictures can show. It is rated at 1200 fps with the PBA pellets, and they do travel faster, but the accuracy goes out the window. With all the other pellets I used I got consistent grouping with accuracy. I am so happy that I chose this gun. Do yourself the favor and get it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

suprisingly good

Date:September 10, 2009
This is a very impressive product. Can be paired with the Gamo Rocket pellet to kill squirrels at 30 yards easily. Great to hunt with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gamo® Refurbished Big Cat Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Syracuse, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not A Good Buy, Unless..

Date:September 11, 2009
I have considerable experiance with rifles, incuding air rifles. However, this one really puzzled me. Which is why I returned it. In the course of about 3 days I fired approx. 500 assorted brands of pellets through it. I also mounted & re-mounted the scope. I would have it shooting 1", 50 ft. groups. set it aside for an hour or so, & it would proceed to then shoot 5" groups, with no changes. There was no consistancy in group size, or placement. If you want to plink cans & nothing else, the gun is probably fine. However, I consistantly was hitting nickle sized targets with my 30 yr. old Benjiman pump gun ( with OPEN sights) when I wasn't able to keep the groups consistant with the Gamo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33