Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines

REMINGTON Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines

Spend more time shooting and less time loading with these High-Capacity Magazines for your Remington .22LR. The 30-round capacity gives you plenty of shots for plinking or small varmint hunting. The chrome-silicone spring provides for a maximum amount of spring life. Made of high-quality polymer for a stable, consistent fit. .22LR only. Colors: Black, Clear (not shown).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.581 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
32 out of 43(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Review 1 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fixed My Gun

Date:November 27, 2012
I shelved this gun for almost 6 years. I then saw online that mine came with a flawed 10 round magazine that jammed. This fixed most of the jamming issues.
The rest of the jamming issues are from cheap ammo not the gun for a change. Use good ammo and it is not an issue.
The reason for 4 stars is that it will not cycle with more than about 20 rounds in it. It may free up as I use it time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Jam

Date:October 31, 2012
I can only get one maybe two rounds fired then it jams up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Give it a chance...

Date:October 15, 2012
There's been some negative talk about this mag out in the world - and let me tell you; It's from people who don't give it a chance!
1. Shoot a drop of Hoppes Lubricating oil into the empty mag.
2. Use it a few times.
You're fighting friction right out of the box, so you need to break that spring in!
The first time I loaded it, I got 25 rounds in it.
The second time 27... Heck, I got 31 rounds in there one time.
It's a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Strong Spring.

Date:October 2, 2012
I have only used this clip 1 time so I don't feel I can give an adequate review on it yet. I only loaded it to 20 shells as the spring is stronger than my fingers. The clip did jam on me once during my rapid discharge however I believe that was more my fault than the fault of the clip or firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Hi-Cap 597 Mag

Date:August 25, 2012
I have one in clear and one in black purchased at separate times. Both work flawlessly, and also will hold 32 rounds if your thumbs are strong enough. My only complaint is that it does get a bit hard to load after about the 20 round mark. It is rare that i have an issue with this magazine at the range or in the field. I always keep it clean and lube it up a little after i shoot with it, perhaps this is where other peoples issues could be fixed. I also have a shooters ridge 25 rd magazine that is junk in comparison to the Remington. And there seems to be a little confusion in other reviews, this is a magazine, not a clip, difference? yes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent magazines

Date:July 29, 2012
Fit, finish, function, all excellent. I often have to shoot woodchucks at 200 to 300 yards. Occasionally a second shot is needed. In two years of use,never a jam, stovepipe or other malfunction that could be blamed on the magazine.Feeds straight and clean. I hate reloading magazines in the field. With two of these, I have sixty rounds which is more than enough for varmint hunting/pest elimination for a day. And as always, Cabelas is value conscious. I will be purchasing more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: OKC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

inconsistant performance

Date:February 26, 2012
Purchased 2 of these. One was flawless, the other one was useless. It continuously jammed after each round. Our day at the range would have been ruined if not for the other magazine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your time or money

Date:January 25, 2012
Just bought one of these and it does not lock into rifle correctly, then rounds get hung up in the mag. Will not chamber more than 2 rounds in a row. Spring does not seem to be strong enough to push up the next round. Tried 3 types / brands of ammo. I will definitely be taking this back for a refund. Wish I did not live over an hour away from store. 10 round mags work flawlessly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: OP,KS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Pleased

Date:June 18, 2011
Listen to everyone that has said they are junk, unless you like to gamble and hope you get a good one, I bought 2 of the plastic pieces of do do. I first thought it might be the ammo, but I have tried them all. I can get off a couple of rounds then it jams inside the clip and I have oil the out of it . I've spent more time pulling out the bent rounds then I have had firing rounds. Great gun with 10 round clip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This is a dud

Date:February 16, 2011
I picked up one of these for my Remington 597 and the problems started right away. The first round will fire and eject, but the next round won't enter the chamber 7 of 10 times. Additionally, some that do enter the chamber don't fire and end up marked.
I removed this and went back to my old EOM 10-shot clip thinking something was wrong with the gun and all was fixed. I tried again with similar results. A friend has the same gun and I ordered the clips together and gave him one. He reported no problems at all.
Again, could be a dud. I thought about sending it back, but I'd had it for several weeks before I got to use it and I couldn't find the paperwork, so I didn't bother. I don't recommend the clip, due to no fault of Cabela's, but if you get it, keep your return envelope handy until you test it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: jamaica vt
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

these are great

Date:November 25, 2010
I don't understand how everyone has a problem with these i have been extremely rough on mine i have probably shot about 5000 shots out of mine and have not had a single malfunction (other than misfires). I just wish there was a way to load them easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great clip

Date:June 7, 2010
used this in my rem 597.22 yesterday. Snug fit but as the day went on it became easyer to insert & remove. Had no trouble puting 30rounds in it. I got the black one but now I wish I got the clear one. But either waythere both great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Magazines

Date:April 4, 2010
I have heard in other reviews that people have had trouble this mag has worked as described never had a jam in over 1500 rounds this mag is better then factory. fits perfect, also the mag can be opened there is a slot that slides out of the bottem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Windsor, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Good

Date:March 27, 2010
This clip was a complete waste of money! It only functioned correctly about 50% of the time from the day I recieved it. After approx. 150 rounds the internal spring broke and since the clip can't be taken apart it is more useful as a club than a clip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

597 mag

Date:October 4, 2009
Drove over 60 miles to Cabela's for this piece of junk.Can't even insert the clip into gun.Never buy Remington again ,switching to Ruger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product, needs some tweaks

Date:September 10, 2009
I bought the clear magazine, and love it. I had to file down the magazine just inside the feed because of a little excess plastic. Otherwise, a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lived up to expectations

Date:September 10, 2009
Like a few have pointed out, it is a snug fit going in but a drop of oil and hours of fun followed. Shot a couple hundred rounds through and had no issues at all. I did read a reviewer comments about only loading up to 25 rounds and followed that advise. Kets kind of hard to load past that. All in all I am pleased and will probably buy a second.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remington model 597 .22lr high-capacity magazines

Date:June 23, 2009
this is a good mag it can crack my frist one did but cabela sent a new one right out and the one that is carck is working also but I load 15 rounds what i recommend is to check mag befor puting in rifle and check spring when you clean your rifle I have had no jam and they have feed great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Butte, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor quality

Date:May 28, 2009
I bought two of these from a local store. Took one clip out of the packaging and forcibly had to insert it into the rifle. After a bit of wrestling to get the clip out of the rifle, I sanded it down to get it to slide into the rifle. After loading the clip I noticed the top was beginning to split.
I returned the second clip, didn't even try to return to the first clip as I had altered it to fit the gun.
Surprisingly poor quality!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Model 597 .22 LR High-Capacity Magazines
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

clips

Date:May 12, 2009
all good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 43