Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend

REMINGTON Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend

This new ambidextrous stock affords right- and left-hand shooters equally astounding levels of shooting comfort and rock-solid accuracy. Whether you're hunting deer, turkeys or predators, the increased maneuverability, light weight and extended-range precision will definitely be appreciated. The ergonomic thumbhole pistol grip gives you better target acquisition, while the new SuperCell™ recoil pad greatly reduces felt recoil. This gives you more accurate first shots and faster follow-up shots. The comb has been specially contoured for rapid eye alignment with your bead, rifle sights or scope. 870 models available in black or Mossy Oak&#174 Obsession&#174. 11-87 models available in black or Realtree® APG HD&#174 Available for models: Remington 870, 11-87. Fits 12-gauge 3" models only. Camo pattern/Color: Black, Mossy Oak® Obsession® , Realtree® APG HD® .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
85 out of 96(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Review 21 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recomended product

Date:September 12, 2009
I have a Dissability with my right forearm which does not allow me radial movement of my hand. This product allows me to be able to grip the pistol style stock and have much improved handling of the firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mercer, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome stock

Date:August 24, 2009
wonderfull stock for the price and is good fir trying to handle 3.5inch 12ga. loads I am 5'7 and 140 lbs and now i can handle big shells with ease
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cloverdale, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington ShurShot Thumbhole Stock

Date:August 24, 2009
I bought this for my 870 Super Magnum which already had the black plastic stock & forend so I didn't have to change my original forend. Great quality. Easy installation of stock. I'm looking forward to shooting with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product and superb service by Cabela's.

Date:June 24, 2009
I've purchased a Remington SureShot Thumbhole Stock and Forend for my well used model 870 Wingmaster with original police-style wooden stock and forend. It took minutes to replace parts. Fit, finish, quality and look were perfect. On a range a shotgun was transformed by a new stock and forend from a bucking beast into a smooth, tame, easily controlled and utterly enjoyable firearm. Shot placement has improved greatly. Recoil became minimally felt. Shoulder remained pain and mark-free after more than 100 shots fired (slugs and 00-buckshot). Service by Cabela's was perfect, as usual!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Algona Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumbhole Remington Stock

Date:June 22, 2009
Easy to install. Makes the gun quick to sholder and more fun to shoot. Works great with a scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: C.S. MS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stock is wonderful.

Date:June 19, 2009
The stock is just what I wanted. I installed the rear stock on my new Remington 870 and it gives the leverage (one handed) that I was looking for. The gun can be picked up and pointed (not aimed) in the right direction and fired if the stock is held tight against your side. However I did not install the forend because it is too long and would negate the use of the sidesaddle shell holder I installed. The OE forend is a "corn-cob" style which I prefer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sureshot stock & forend

Date:June 6, 2009
It was the best thing I got for my guns and I like the feel of it when shooting. It will work on my 1100 and my 11-87 . I like it so much I got one for my 870. I have shown them to freinds and they think it would make a good shooting gun. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newnan, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Sureshot Thumbhole Stock and Forend

Date:May 12, 2009
I was very impressed with the stock and forend. When I first looked at the picture of the stock I wasn't sure how it would feel. I own many shotguns and rifles and this stock is by far the best. It changes the whole feel of the shotgun. It's like holding a pistol in your right hand, but is rock solid...much like the feel of a good assualt rifle. Great product...you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marcellus,New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remimgton stock

Date:May 5, 2009
I love it! Great product and was a snap to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommend!!!

Date:May 4, 2009
I am an avid hunter, first of all. The Remington SureShot Thumbhole Stock really does reduce recoil and increases accuracy 100%. I would definitely recommend this to others! I am extremely satisfied with this purchase and performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Product

Date:May 2, 2009
I just installed this on my 870 and the only problem I had was the fore end. You need a spanner wrench, or you could do like I did, which was put two allen wrenches in a vice and adjust them until they were spaced propery. Then I lowered the forend over the wrenches until they fit in the slots and turned it and got it off and did the same thing to tighten it on the new fore end.
Good luck
Bill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: md
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth the $

Date:April 21, 2009
I have a 870 express hd. I really didn't like the factory furniture,it wasn't very comfy.made the gun feel to long.I wanted a pistolgrip buttstock but all the others i looked at were kind of sketchy looking and expensive.I saw a picture online of a express with this stock and forend, also saw it was made by remington so figured it would be the best fit and most comfy.Turned out to be a good call.love the stock,made the gun so much easier to handle.felt much shorter and the trigger was much easier to pull.didnt use the forend cause i was a planning on a front pistolgrip as soon as I got a forend wrench.the stock deffinently worth the dollars,the forend is kinda like a bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Escondido, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Up Grade the Base Remington 870 Exprees for Home

Date:April 20, 2009
The thumbhole stock looks awesome and gives a secure grip as I aim or shoot from the hip. Extended the Magazine to 7 and put on a clip-on front red high-viz sight for quicker aquisition of target in low light. It sure drew some gauckers at the range as I unloaded the the whole tube !! Don't Tread On Me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dothan Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rem 870 ShurShot Thumbhole Stock

Date:April 13, 2009
The stock really dressed up my older 870, long bolt that came with the stock fit my gun perfect so I didnt have any of the previous problems listed as to needing a longer bolt. The recoil pad is good too, it is a little tricky getting the pad on though. The thumb hole grip does take a little getting use too, but I like it. Now the forearm is a different story, without the special tool needed to remove the old forearm and replace the new one, it is kinda hard. If you arent mechanically inclined I recomend taking your gun to a gunsmith for removing and replacing the forearm, I used a screwdriver and alot of patience to unscrew the nut, took a little while ,but it came off. I couldnt slide the new forearm on the tube and start the nut.To put the new one on, I had to put the nut inside the new forearm and slide the shot tube up till they touched and could get the nut started, It took about 2 hrs to completeley finish. I also bought the Burris spead bead and put it on with the stock. It looks like a new gun. The shot gun is used for Turkey hunting only. I like the new stock and sight, but it is hard to do yourself. 4 stars only because it is difficult to remove the forearm and replace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oak Grove La.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stock and Foreend

Date:April 9, 2009
I put this Stock and Forend on my 870 Wingmaster 12 ga.and it fit perfect. The stock feels good and the recoil pad is much better than the Remington Stock Pad. I think the people that has problems putting the foreend on does not know how to disasemble and reasemble their guns. The Stock and foreend has nothing to do with someone not knowing how to disasemble and assemble guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Sure Shot Thumbhole Stock and Forend

Date:April 7, 2009
I am really impressed with this stock and forend. Fits nicely on my 870. Forend is longer and easy to hold and work the action. The stock is great ,all the benefits of a traditional thumbhole stock without the diadvantages( easier to carry,able to shot left handed if needed) also has the new butt pad . Excellent Stock and forend!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shotgun stock

Date:April 2, 2009
Stock brings new comfort to an old shotgun. I found that the higher comb actually reduces felt recoil and muzzle jump when using turkey loads. Pistol style grip took some getting used to, but is much more comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sureshot stock

Date:March 30, 2009
The forend nut was hard to get off the old stock but went on the new one easily. The buttstock was a bit high for low sight but I put a small scope on my 870 express and have an all new turkey gun. If you are considering it, do it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oh
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stock

Date:March 27, 2009
i have an older 1100 if your 1100 serial number ends with an x or v this stock will fit like a glove, because the standard 1100 20 ga stocks do not fit, but on my 1100 it looks great and feels even better, cant wait till dove season
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Remington® ShurShot™ Thumbhole Stock and Forend
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Athens, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy On, but lacks quality

Date:March 24, 2009
I put the stock on a 870 Express Mag. Instructions were easy to follow. You will need a forend wrench (or a pair of needle nose pliers) to take off and replace the forend. It didn't seem to raise the line of sight for my tru-glo sights. However, I put on a Leupold VX-I scope w/ b-square mount and noticed my cheek barely rests on the stock. While sighting in the scope I noticed it has less recoil then before (the new recoil pad is excellent.) Also, the pistol grip allowed me to have better control of the gun. However, the fit lacks a little. The recoil pad is larger than the butt of the gun and the cap on the heel of the pistol grip fell out while sighting in the scope. But a dremel tool and super glue will fix those problems. GREAT STOCK!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 96