Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gamo Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo

A newly designed muzzle end on the Whisper air rifle decreases sound by approximately 52% without sacrificing performance or accuracy. It shoots PBA ammo at 900 fps (25 rounds included) and comes equipped with both Truglo® sights and a 3-9x40mm scope (mount included). The synthetic stock is textured on the grip and has an ambidextrous cheekpiece. Rubber recoil pad. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 45-3/4". Weight: 6.8 lbs.To get maximum results from the sound reducing features of the Whisper models, lead pellets should be used. The included PBA ammo will result in higher speeds and will be quieter than when fired from standard models. However, it will still produce a cracking sound due to to the pellet traveling at supersonic speeds in .22 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Whisper Air Rifle

Date:August 4, 2008
I
would highly recommend this air rifle to anyone. It is accurate and
powerful enough to eliminate the 5 rats I have been bothered with at my
bird feeders. It is not as quiet as I thought it would be but none the
less it also is not so noisey that it disturbs any of my neighbors.
EXCELLENT piece of equipment and more than haqppy with the rifle it
really is well made.
Jimbo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Groundhog Terminator

Date:August 28, 2008
I had a problem all summer with groundhogs living under my backyard shed and destroying my garden. Two weeks after receiving the Whisper .22 my yard is now groundhog free. I was able to kill 4 groundhogs with this rifle using RWS Field Point Pellets from Cabelas. The rifle is well made and accurate. There are more powerful air rifles on the market but I needed something quiet as I live in the middle of the city and didn't want to alert my neighbors that I was shooting an air rifle in my yard. This gun worked perfectly for my purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mahopac, N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE THIS GUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:November 8, 2008
Great right out of the box. I never thought it would be so easy to sight in and shoot. After reading some reviews I almost did not order, but I'm glad I did!!!!! Easy to install the sight and VEARY accurate. My 10 year old son can shoot a bulls eye every time from 25 yards.Highly reccomend. Lots of Fun. I almost feel bad for the Ground Hogs and squirrels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it a lot!

Date:December 3, 2008
This rifle is a shooter! Will drive tacks at 20 to 30 yards! That's about as far as I can shoot in my backyard.
If you want pretty you need something else as this rifle reminds me of a typical military weapon - not very attractive.
The scope is not high class - but take into account the price of the package. It took a while to zero in. Now it seems to get better with every shot.
The suppressor works well for muzzle and bullet noise but the rifle is not exactly quiet. There is still spring/piston noise. But your neighbors will never realize your shooting an air rifle unless they are familiar with the sound. To me, it sounds like you are using some kind of high power hand stapler.
Mine shoots great with the RWS Superdome pellets.
Overall, this is a great value for the money. I would definitely go with the .22 cal version - it's not as fast as the .17 but packs a good punch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Quartzsite, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR SHOOTER

Date:December 18, 2008
I was very excited when my new whisper arrived, but I grew more and more dissapointed every time I shot it.
It looks great, The workmanship and quality are very good, It is pretty quiet, sounds like a screen door slamming, that part was fine.
BUT it was impossible to sight in, I shot over a thousand pellets and spent many many hours trying to sight it in. I would get it to shoot a pretty good group, then the next group would be 4 inches off. I even took the scope off and shot open sights, Same results.
Very Frustrating.
I returned it to Cabelas and they were wonderfull about refunding my money.
Bottom Line, Don't buy this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:March 20, 2009
Love this gun. Shoots well and your neighbors will never suspect. Squirells will fear my garden.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo choice

Date:April 23, 2009
I've had some difficulty getting accuracy. It shoots the crossman hunter pellet in one place and wrs hunter in another (about 2.5 inches to the right and up). The wrs seems to be the least consistant of the two. Still looking for a dependably accurate ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Green Bay, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate!

Date:June 6, 2009
I was not expecting this gun to be this accurate after the reviews of the .22 as well as the .177 versions of this gun. I sighted it in yesterday and this gun shoots very accurately with a large amount of punch. I was shooting so accurately that my shots were overlapping!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly as advertised

Date:June 16, 2009
Quiet and Accurate. What more can you ask? I've used this for squirrels/ birds near neighbors and no complaints. Accurate out to +-50 yds- sighted in @ 30 yds w/ 1-1/2" groups. Standing, not bench rest. Love this little rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than expected

Date:June 22, 2009
I did a lot of research on high end pellet guns prior to purchasing the Gamo Whisper .22 caliber rifle. It is outstanding at eliminating pesky squirrels; much more powerful than I expected. Excellent quality overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice So Quite- But Accurate!

Date:July 6, 2009
I bought this air rifle because an older, different brand model finally failed. I had to adjust the fiber optic sights a bit, but now is dead on target. At 30 to 40 yards, I am takiing out pests with one-shot-one-kill accuracy. This rifle is not real quiet due to the spring, but I am shooting a .22 lead pellet at about 750 feet per second (that is very close to standard velocity .22 round from a firearm and without the pop sound). So it is working great for me! The sciope is junk. I would reccommend buyimg a Bushell or BSA air rifle scope for this rifle if you are shooting more than 40 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Midvale, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shortest time I have owned a gun.

Date:December 18, 2009
Just got this rifle last night. Tried to sight it in about an hour ago. Best group was 3 inches at 19 yards. It is in the box with the return label on it. Waste of money and time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:December 24, 2009
this is the best air rifle my #1 choice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loose hardware

Date:February 27, 2010
Thus far the rifle has been very accurate. Make sure you tighten all the screws before using. The scope was not mounted tight in the rings as it came from the factory. The screws holding the barrel/trigger assembly to the stock came loose. When my son (the best way to test anything!) brought the rifle to me to repair there wasn't a parts diagram to assist in reassembly of the various parts that had fallen off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Chillicothe, OH
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good not great

Date:March 28, 2011
I thought this gun would be quiet. But spring action it makes loud, and it vibrates. It.s not very accurate. I just can't seem to get it sighted in. It is very powerful and easy to cock. I'm going to try a Nitro .177. I live in town and need a quiet gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Thibodaux, La
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor guun, Poor service

Date:July 3, 2011
Ordered the gun on line. The directions said 100 shots to break it in. After 250 shots, it still sounded like a Daisy RedRider. Grouping was all over during sighting. I called Gammo and told them there was a problem. I was told there was no problem, the gun would not sound like the video and I needed to break it in before it would pass through a plastic bottle. I told the lady it was broken in and she stated again, there was no problem but if I wanted it checked out to box it up and send it in with a $40 dollar check. I boxed it up and brought it back to Cabela"s for a refund instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo Whisper .22-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oxford, NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle, best birthday gift to date

Date:August 3, 2011
Upon driving to Cabelas, I wanted a .22 caliber air rifle. I at first chose a NPSS but was defective so I returned it and bought the Whisper. A little louder, but addition of the noise dampener helps a great deal. The included rifle scope is beautiful. Variable-zoom too! Once sighted in, it was getting linked bullet holes at 15 yards, and it was sighted in very crudely (a bedroom pillow, some air-filled exercise thing, a ping pong table, and a bath towel) The gun just blows through tin cans. Half an inch of plexiglass is shattered on impact and apples are blasted apart. The power is astounding. I haven't seen any varmints yet but when I do, they won't live any longer. This is a must-buy. My best rifle yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.