Customer Reviews for EVOLVED HABITATS Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow

EVOLVED HABITATS Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow

There's no disking involved so you can plant in areas that are not accessible to heavy equipment. Contains a mixture of tetraploid ryegrass, forage clover and brassica. Available: 5 lbs. plants 1/4 acre.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
24 out of 30(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Review 1 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2015

Good Stuff

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been using this seed blend for the past 4 years .
Good results for hard to plant areas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2015

Results were excellent, high rate of germination.

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Hello all, I used this product to create a small food plot on my property, cleared off the ground debris ( leaves, sticks etc to expose bare ground) and two weeks latter it was covered in green, I am very pleased with this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2015

Works flawlessly!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have planted this numerous times and between me and my family that i let hunt the plot we have harvested 5 130+ bucks and a few managed does out of it in the last 3 years. both in bow season along with rifle and muzzleloader, I know people complain about ryegrass but its not bad they love to bed in it which is always a plus if your worried about the nutritional value put out a feeder and make a few mineral licks its simple.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Food Plot Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This only took about three days to sprout and within another week I had good growth. I'd give it five stars but I don't know how well it will help with drawing in the deer yet. Will know more when the frost comes I suppose.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014

Worth It!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this because I heard from a coworker that this stuff is legit. I went deep into the woods, roughly 30 yards from my ladder stand. I scraped away all the leaves with a heavy duty rake and threw down some fertilizer and then threw down the Throw and Grow. A week later it was growing and the deer love it. Will be planting more in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014

Great for small areas or lower light areas.

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This product germinates well and has amazing attraction for the deer. It comes in thick and quick. No problem with weeds after prepping soil. I was amazed to watch whitetails paw the snow in late December to get to it over another product that had bulbs. They simply could not stay away from it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2013

dont waste your money

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
product grew fast but in the end it was all rye grass nothing else grew. check the label before you buy its like 85 percent rye grass. do yourself a favor and invest in another food plot. also the whole plot burned up in mid august with plenty of rainfall and sunlight. again don't waste your money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2013

Fast Growing and the deer love it!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Throw and Gro comes in very fast, and it super attractive to whitetail. I have seen more deer on my plot than ever before. Does bring there fawns to it everyday and bachelor groups of bucks are all over it. I will be planting evolved harvest every year from now on!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2013

It works good

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Not hard to plant, grows fast.. I would buy it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2013

Throw and grow

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This product is exactly what it says.......throw and grow. I raked the leaves away to bare soil and threw the seed down and in a week in was filling in great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2012

Detailed Review

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I planted this product two years in a row now. The first was last year for my buddy and I used WI products that season. The deer destroyed his plot and mine went virtually untouched. This year I planted this stuff again and the deer are continuing to pound it. The key is preparing a good seed bed and planting this product from July 15th-Aug 15th. You need to prepare the plot the same as any other one you plant. The plants grows anywhere from 12-30 inches tall depending on when you get it in the ground. The deer really do not touch this stuff until very late season and it is just as much a winter supplement as a hunting plot late. In the spring those bulbs rot and bugs get in them and the turkeys roto till the plot literally to get at them.
I'm a big fan of keeping my herd healthy and the tonage that this provides is unlike anything ive planted before.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Easy to plant

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Throw and grow took little preparation and is growing well after only 2 weeks. Now we'll see if the deer like it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2012

Throw and Gro is fair... At best

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I think this product would do extremely well in the middle of a forest near water. A spot where the is no grass in sight!
I planted this product as per the directions. Everything grew, but, when you are surrounded by grassy fields full of clover and rye grass, there is nothing that peeks the interest of any deer's belly.
I planted this in the spring. I am curious as to what the fall brings.... I certainly would not recommend this product when there are plenty of grass food sources near by.
Sorry Evolved Harvest.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2012

Works for me

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've used this product the past two years in small clearings in northcentral Pa. I tilled, limed and fertilize. Mostly rye grass but it did come in nice. I had deer turkey and elk in my plot well into January's flintlock season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2012

Would try again

By
Location: bowhunter, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I put a lot more work into planting this than just throw and grow, but all that came up was the rye. However, the PH is very bad in this plot and I am working to improve it. Switched to some ladino clover, but would try this again and do recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2011

Good purchase

By
We planted a 1/4 acre food plot using this product and the deer loved it. it was common to see 6 to 8 deer in it at one time. This is a good product and several of my freinds use it and they like it as well. I shot a deer over it and had lots of other chances. we will be using it this year again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2010

Deer love it and so do I

By
Location: Mille Lacs Lake, Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I planted Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow at three different tree stands on my property. For preparation all I did was weed whip the area down to the bare ground, put some lime and fertilizer down and spread the Throw and Grow seed.
The product grew very well. When I had the local DNR tour the area to get ideas on improving the forest we came across one of the areas I'd planted. "Like green carpet" was the comment made by the DNR.
Wouldn't be much good if the deer didn't care for the product but they loved it. I personally watched several deer eating the grass and not just a quick bite in passing. They stayed for an extended amount of time which is what you want during the hunting season.
I noticed the deer had been eating the Throw and Grow at each of the stand areas I planted. I will be using the same product again next year. I am more then pleased with the performance of the seed and am glad I took the little amount of time to throw it down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010

yard grass in a bag

By
Location: bureau county illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Save your money,we have planted food plots for the last several years here in north central Illinois.Even with proper prep,till,lime,seed bed,etc. this stuff is sub par.The throw and grow is supposed to be an advantage because of the no till method ,but the ground prep is everything with a plot.Why do you think farmers do what they do before and after planting corn and beans?? This stuff is rye grass not winter rye ,and was the worst food plot by far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2010

Evolved Harvest Thro & Gro

By
Location: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
You may as well go and buy some winter rye and throw that around, cause this stuff is about 85% rye grass. Check the label. I planted it last year, following instructions exactly. Only thing to come up was the rye grass. Don't get me wrong, deer will eat tetraploid rye, but this sure didn't draw'em in by any stretch of the imagination. I would look elsewhere.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2010

Quick grass

By
Location: Augusta, Maine
"The stuff grew awsome in the correct areas. It looked awesome, very green, but looked like plain old grass. I had four different bags of it growning and the deer never touched it. Maybe it was because of the other deer plots I had growning near by, but there was deer tracks passinging through it. So who knows, rather invest money into a perennial."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 30