Customer Reviews for EVOLVED HABITATS Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow

EVOLVED HABITATS Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow

There's no disking involved so you can plant in areas that are not accessible to heavy equipment. Contains a mixture of tetraploid ryegrass, forage clover and brassica. Available: 5 lbs. plants 1/4 acre.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.808 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
20 out of 26(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Review 1 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth It!

Date:July 16, 2014
I purchased this because I heard from a coworker that this stuff is legit. I went deep into the woods, roughly 30 yards from my ladder stand. I scraped away all the leaves with a heavy duty rake and threw down some fertilizer and then threw down the Throw and Grow. A week later it was growing and the deer love it. Will be planting more in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for small areas or lower light areas.

Date:April 29, 2014
This product germinates well and has amazing attraction for the deer. It comes in thick and quick. No problem with weeds after prepping soil. I was amazed to watch whitetails paw the snow in late December to get to it over another product that had bulbs. They simply could not stay away from it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dont waste your money

Date:November 18, 2013
product grew fast but in the end it was all rye grass nothing else grew. check the label before you buy its like 85 percent rye grass. do yourself a favor and invest in another food plot. also the whole plot burned up in mid august with plenty of rainfall and sunlight. again don't waste your money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast Growing and the deer love it!

Date:August 9, 2013
Throw and Gro comes in very fast, and it super attractive to whitetail. I have seen more deer on my plot than ever before. Does bring there fawns to it everyday and bachelor groups of bucks are all over it. I will be planting evolved harvest every year from now on!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works good

Date:July 22, 2013
Not hard to plant, grows fast.. I would buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Throw and grow

Date:June 18, 2013
This product is exactly what it says.......throw and grow. I raked the leaves away to bare soil and threw the seed down and in a week in was filling in great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Detailed Review

Date:December 24, 2012
I planted this product two years in a row now. The first was last year for my buddy and I used WI products that season. The deer destroyed his plot and mine went virtually untouched. This year I planted this stuff again and the deer are continuing to pound it. The key is preparing a good seed bed and planting this product from July 15th-Aug 15th. You need to prepare the plot the same as any other one you plant. The plants grows anywhere from 12-30 inches tall depending on when you get it in the ground. The deer really do not touch this stuff until very late season and it is just as much a winter supplement as a hunting plot late. In the spring those bulbs rot and bugs get in them and the turkeys roto till the plot literally to get at them.
I'm a big fan of keeping my herd healthy and the tonage that this provides is unlike anything ive planted before.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to plant

Date:September 11, 2012
Throw and grow took little preparation and is growing well after only 2 weeks. Now we'll see if the deer like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Throw and Gro is fair... At best

Date:August 23, 2012
I think this product would do extremely well in the middle of a forest near water. A spot where the is no grass in sight!
I planted this product as per the directions. Everything grew, but, when you are surrounded by grassy fields full of clover and rye grass, there is nothing that peeks the interest of any deer's belly.
I planted this in the spring. I am curious as to what the fall brings.... I certainly would not recommend this product when there are plenty of grass food sources near by.
Sorry Evolved Harvest.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for me

Date:July 20, 2012
I've used this product the past two years in small clearings in northcentral Pa. I tilled, limed and fertilize. Mostly rye grass but it did come in nice. I had deer turkey and elk in my plot well into January's flintlock season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: bowhunter, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Would try again

Date:February 2, 2012
I put a lot more work into planting this than just throw and grow, but all that came up was the rye. However, the PH is very bad in this plot and I am working to improve it. Switched to some ladino clover, but would try this again and do recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:July 8, 2011
We planted a 1/4 acre food plot using this product and the deer loved it. it was common to see 6 to 8 deer in it at one time. This is a good product and several of my freinds use it and they like it as well. I shot a deer over it and had lots of other chances. we will be using it this year again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mille Lacs Lake, Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer love it and so do I

Date:November 22, 2010
I planted Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow at three different tree stands on my property. For preparation all I did was weed whip the area down to the bare ground, put some lime and fertilizer down and spread the Throw and Grow seed.
The product grew very well. When I had the local DNR tour the area to get ideas on improving the forest we came across one of the areas I'd planted. "Like green carpet" was the comment made by the DNR.
Wouldn't be much good if the deer didn't care for the product but they loved it. I personally watched several deer eating the grass and not just a quick bite in passing. They stayed for an extended amount of time which is what you want during the hunting season.
I noticed the deer had been eating the Throw and Grow at each of the stand areas I planted. I will be using the same product again next year. I am more then pleased with the performance of the seed and am glad I took the little amount of time to throw it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: bureau county illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

yard grass in a bag

Date:July 15, 2010
Save your money,we have planted food plots for the last several years here in north central Illinois.Even with proper prep,till,lime,seed bed,etc. this stuff is sub par.The throw and grow is supposed to be an advantage because of the no till method ,but the ground prep is everything with a plot.Why do you think farmers do what they do before and after planting corn and beans?? This stuff is rye grass not winter rye ,and was the worst food plot by far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Evolved Harvest Thro & Gro

Date:June 8, 2010
You may as well go and buy some winter rye and throw that around, cause this stuff is about 85% rye grass. Check the label. I planted it last year, following instructions exactly. Only thing to come up was the rye grass. Don't get me wrong, deer will eat tetraploid rye, but this sure didn't draw'em in by any stretch of the imagination. I would look elsewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Augusta, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quick grass

Date:February 11, 2010
"The stuff grew awsome in the correct areas. It looked awesome, very green, but looked like plain old grass. I had four different bags of it growning and the deer never touched it. Maybe it was because of the other deer plots I had growning near by, but there was deer tracks passinging through it. So who knows, rather invest money into a perennial."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: trenton il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

throw and grow

Date:September 24, 2009
work well in right enviroment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Throw and grow

Date:August 11, 2009
i planted my food plot about 3 weeks ago and it had al kinds of rainfall on it for like 5 days it looks really good and the deer love it i just planted me another plot about 3 days ago. the only thing that i would have to say is bad about it is that in my plot it is mostly the rye grasses and a few colver plants but other than that is product is very very good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Athelstane, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't wait for the deer...

Date:June 15, 2009
This product is great. It grows very fast. I'll be waiting patiently for more deer to come in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolved Harvest Throw and Grow
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Throw n Gro is growin

Date:May 11, 2009
I planted my Thro n Gro early to get the deer used to using the area as it has never been planted. I broke ground, limed app. 100 Lbs per 1/4 acre, fertilized and just threw it out, I went back 8 days later (after a fiar amount of rain), and had excellent sprouts, after 16 days my 1/4 acre is COVERED with green. I heard a common complaint that only the rye grass comes up but I have alot of the brassicas and even looks like some clover comin in. There is tracks in the plot but doesnt look as if it is being eaten yet. So far so good, I prepared like the bag said and so far I am getting results. Now we just have to see if the deer like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 26