Customer Reviews for Remington Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Remington Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer

This 30-gallon feeder system is ideal for targeted placement of feed along food plots and narrow straightaways. The three-piece tripod design stands 6-ft. high. It can be filled from the ground, eliminating the need for ladders. The feeder is varmint proof and is controlled by an easy-to-operate 6-volt digital timer unit. Includes heavy-duty powder-coated extension leg and foot pad kit for stability. System includes feeder, tripod and directional timer. Manufacturer's 4-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
1.909 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
12
6 out of 22(27%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Review 1 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2008

feeder

By
I had it 1 day and the bracket dont go with the drum it came with. i had to fix dont think i needed to but deer season is 25 days away. i dont know how well it will work but i will let u know.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2008

remington feeder with directional timer

By
Location: ohio
This thing has been a pain! When it arrived all of the hardware was missing. I called the company. I had to wait another week for the hardware. I had to hot glue the silicone gasket in the groove so it would stay in place so Icould put the barrel halves together. The timer mounting bracket holes lined up with nothing on the barrel, had to drill new holes in the mounting brackets. I finally got it setup. I'm using shelled corn and it has yet to go through one feed cycle without the impeller jamming. I plan on returning it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2008

Very difficult to put together

By
Location: ks
I like the product once it was put together but putting together was a pain. You need a cordless drill. You need duct tape (yes, duct tape). The biggest issue is that the holes for attaching the feeder to the hopper do not line up and you must drill your own holes through metal. What a pain.
If it was easy to put together like the moultrie feeder I bought, I would give it five stars because the directional feeder works like a charm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2008

Garbage Feeder

By
Location: Northern Michigan
Pros – Does throw feed where you want it.
Cons – Not well made, not varmint proof, not bear proof, eats batteries, Overall very poor would have returned but threw box in garbage same place feeder is headed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2008

Do not buy this feeder

By
Location: mississippi
This feeder is very hard to put together because nothing they send you fits.The legs have nothing to hold them together and the feeder falls over all the time.Pour quality coming from remington.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2008

Feeder Needs Improvement

By
Location: Lumberton NC
I bought this feeder because it was the only directional feeder that i could find on the market. When i saw that it was made by Remington i expected a well made product....boy was i wrong. This feeder was a pain to put togther. I ordered 4 and it took me couple hours just to assemble barrells. The holes for the feeder did not line up with barrell so i had to drill holes in bottom (directions did warn me of this), but the 8mmx3/4 inch screws were not long enough had to go buy 1 inch. Took 2 days to find 8mmx1inch fine thread screws not sold at all hardware stores. Legs come in 4 sections, pain to stand up, need duct tape or get some self tap sheet metal screws to hold sections together. I got them up Saturday and set my timers and ran 5 tests on each....boy these things drink up some battery juice. You will need a crowd of tools for these feeders to get them together, easier to assemble at home instead of in the woods.
But once up I could put the corn where i wanted it. Depending on how you angle the feeder, it would throw corn 15+ft and cover and area about 6-8ft wide. Timer was easy to program.
If Remington would do some fine tuning this would be a great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

remington directional feeder

By
Location: south carolina
absolutely the worst feeder on the market , mine is going to be shipped back . it jams every other time it runs , i called remington to find out the problem , and they said i was using the wrong battery, so fine , i went out and bought a sealed lead acid battery just as they tod me to , it did work somewhat better only problem was when it jammed this time it melted the wiring harness , so needless to say i'm boxing it back up to get a refund . DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT . It is also a major pain to put together
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2008

Good idea, poor execution

By
Location: North Bend, WA
A directional feeder fits my needs perfectly. With some redesign work, this feeder might be a great product. Assembly of this feeder is much less simple than it should or could be. The mounting locations pictured in the directions aren't even present on the bottom of the feeder barrel, so new holes need to be drilled in the mounting plates. I can certainly understand having to drill holes to mount a motor and timer to a third party feeder, but having to make modifications for a motor that SHIPS in the feeder seems absurd.
The lid latch locations aren't marked, despite text in the directions that says they're there but may be hard to find. They're partly right -- if they're missing, they're hard to find. Like the other reviewers, I'm disappointed in the lack of any sort of attachment mechanisms for the legs.
I haven't had the feeder long enough to form a solid opinion one way or the other about battery life, but it does seem to eat power. Owners of this unit should consider adding a solar panel.
Remington advertises that the hopper is lockable. That's true, but the housing that contains the motor, battery, and control unit isn't. In fact, the whole unit snaps off the feeder in about half a second. Convenient for installation, but WAY too easy to steal. Why secure $20 worth of corn and leave the expensive components unprotected?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2008

bummer

By
Location: KS
I wish I had seen all these negative reviews before I bought mine :(
It went together just fine but these are my problems:
1. It does throw the feed in one direction - some as far as 30 yards!! That's way too far for my small area and no way to adjust it and reduce the 'range'. Don't stand in front of it when it goes off - you'll feel like you just got ambushed by 50 paintballers. It can probably defoliate a tree, maybe even cut it down if it was connected to a generator (see #2)
2. with two motorized augers, it eats the sealed lead rechargable batteries like candy
3. it continually jams. biggest plus for this is that the feeder is still full everytime I drive my 80 mile ($15 in gas) round trip to check on it. biggest minus is that the deer have no idea there is supposed to be a handy free snack available.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2008

continues jamming problem

By
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
I Purchase this feeder for my 1acr pond. I loaded it with a top quality fish food from Cargil and it continues to jam. I'm very disappointed with this product. I purchased 175 new fish for the pond at the same time thinking the feeder would work to feed the fish. If you have any suggestions please let me know.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2008

Directional feeder good for fish not for deer.

By
Location: Kentucky
I was excited about the unique design of the directional feeder, and its ability to direct corn to one side of the feeder. The only problem is that it throws corn anywhere from 5 feet to as much a 40 feet from the feeder. By the time it finishes spreading the corn the deer can barely find it. I had to customize the outlet on the feeder to keep the corn in a smaller area that the deer could find.
It looks like it would work great for feeding fish in a pond, but not as great for feeding large game animals.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2008

Remington Directional Tripod Feeder

By
Location: Nashville, TN
I've had the Remington 30-Gallon Directional Tripod feeder for about a month now and am very satisfied. I use it to feed catfish floating fish food. Excellent results so far. The owners manual says it is specifically designed for corn, but the fish food works well. The only negative comment is the pieces to the legs of the tripod slide together but do not attach, so they fall apart when picked up. I just drilled holes and added set screws to hold the pieces together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2008

JUNK

By
Location: Louisiana
I have had many feeders. This by far is the worst on the market. The mounting plate for the feeder motor assembley did not match up with the holes in the barrel. I rigged this up myself and made the feeder fit on the barrel. I went through the work of setting it up in the woods, filled it up and tested only to have it read JAM JAM JAM on the monitor. JUNK Junk Junk.......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2008

Directional feeder is bad design

By
Location: Ohio
I purchased a Remington Directional feeder. I strain all my corn for feeders. This feeder has two motors and the one that throws the corn out runs about 5 seconds before the paddle wheel that feeds the corn through the shute and also runs about 5 seconds after the paddle wheels shuts off. I set the feeder to run for 7 seconds and the amount of corn that it put out could fit in the palm of one hand. I increased the run time to 15 seconds and it put out about a pint of corn. After about 6 tests and output for 1 1/2 days (morning and evening only) the fully charged battery was down to 85% charge left. At this rate the battery wouldn't last a week and the corn output would be about 4-5 lbs. This is not acceptable for a feeder that should use 225 lbs of corn in 4-5 weeks and the battery should last 6 months to a year on a single charge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2009

Remington Feeder

By
Location: Lakeland, FL
I would not recomend this feeder to anyone. The feeder unit does not fit the barrel without modification. And once finally assembled, I had to take it back off a send it back as it did not work. I am still waiting on a new unit to be returned. Spend your money on something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2009

non-user friendly

By
Location: south dakota
I wish I would have read reviews before I made the invesment as it was very aggrivating to assemble. Now I read that it tends to jam up in the impellers and sucks batteries up like crazy. I'm wondering do I even bother setting it out or just box it up and take it back unused and exchange it for a reliable one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009

Remington directional feeders are JUNK

By
Location: Louisiana
I purchased 3 remington directional feeders. One for a pond fish feeder and 2 for corn deer feeders. The 2 feeders with corn JAM JAM JAM constantly with clean sifted corn. Timers had to be replaced on both but the new timers didnt last a week and are currently out again. The fish feeder doesnt seem to jam with small diameter fish food but the timer also had to be replaced. Aslo the fish feeder has a hole in the housing in the area of the spinner plate allowing feed to enter the battery and timer compartment! This was caused by wear from the feed going through the spinner chute. The wear occured after only a couple of months of use rendering the feeder useless. These feeders are JUNK. Made cheap and are an embarassment to the Remington name. After only 3 months all my feeders have ended up in the garbage. If you must have a directonal feeder buy a SWEENEY, they are pricey but you get what you pay for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2009

problem solved hanging up on corn

By
take the timer box off the barrell . make sure you unhook the battery first. take the 4 screws out of the bottom of the plastic where the gears are and remove the flimsy little rubber gear that is supposed to hang the corn down and let the corn free fall to the metal gear and problem solved. It just pulls right on and off so keep in case you want to put it back on.
and since all this was Remington products the metal plates that came with the barrell should have been drilled to fit and then it would have been a piece of cake to put together. Also the lid lock you have to drill a hole and it could have been pre-drilled.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2009

Remington Deer Feeder

By
Location: Buda tx
It is a good feeder throws preety far. It was not that hard to put it together i havent been to my deer lease in a 2 months so idk how its holding up thats why i gave it a 4 star. Could use some stronger legs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington 30-Gallon Tripod Feeder with Directional Timer
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2009

poor

By
wasn't very easy to get together, but you can do it. Once together I hauled it 1.2 miles into the coulee and set it up, filled it, put the battery in, hit test -- it plugged.
the spinner spins, but cracked corn can't get to the spinner to shoot out.
I'm very unhappy, I don't recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 22