Customer Reviews for BUSHMASTER Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit

BUSHMASTER Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit

It’s called "Thumper" and it’s capable of taking any game animal in North America. Engineered to mount on your mil-spec AR-15 lower, this 20" model hurls the 250-grain Hornady SST/FT .450 Bushmaster bullet downrange at 2,200 fps. Though not designed as a long-range caliber, there’s nothing on this continent capable of standing up to the firepower of Thumper and inside 200 yards its accuracy is outstanding. Recoil has been compared to that of a 20-gauge shotgun. A tubular-aluminum forend allows the barrel to free-float from the nut forward to enhance accuracy. Chrome lining in both the bore and chamber makes the .450 Bushmaster easy to clean and extends barrel life. A five-round magazine is included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.683 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
39 out of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Review 1 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southaven, MS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow! What a rifle.....

Date:August 13, 2011
I doubt I can add anything that has not been written previously but, I can confirm that the 450 Bushmaster lives up to its reputation. It is accurate and relatively easy on the shoulder. Off the bench, it shoots MOA out to 200 yards (I didn't shoot any farther). The recoil was similar to a 20 gauge. No issues with failure to feed or failure to fire. The only issue I can report is a shift in impact once the barrel heats up but, I doubt I will ever shoot that many rounds at deer or hogs. All in all, a really fun gun to shoot and gets a lot of attention from the others at the range....... Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushmaster

Date:June 10, 2014
Quality upper at a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow! Most accurate rifle I've ever shot

Date:April 1, 2014
I purchased this Bushmaster 20" upper and placed it on my Bushmaster lower. It arrived ahead of schedule, in great conditions with a factory magazine.
I disassembled and cleaned the preservative off of the upper and applied break-free to the entire rifle. Then I went to work at the range. I bore-sighted and shot one round at 50 yards. It hit dead center about an inch high. I moved over to the longer range bench rest. It put over 10 rounds into a one inch clover leaf at 100 yards. Realizing I had a winner, I sat outside at the range and consistently shot golf balls at 200 yards for about an hour. The three hundred yard range was just as accurate, but I had to "hold-over" for the distance. Needless to say, this is my favorite rifle now. It's so good, I already sold my other rifle. The first rifle I've ever owned that exceeds my capability to hit the target.
One note,the only thing that that kept me from giving this a five star rating was that the bolt requires about 50-100 rounds to "work-in" and deliver consistent feeding/extracting. After that, woo-hoo! "look out wild hogs!" - I smell bacon, Bacon, BACON!!! I will update this review once I have an opportunity to actually hunt with it.
I have already recommended this upper to my friends and family. The other shooters on the range are coveting the accuracy and power that this rifle brings to the AR-15 platform. I've seen two individuals already go on-line to order the same thing, as a result of shooting mine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun, except

Date:March 12, 2014
Purchased this upper and installed on Bushmaster lower. Love shooting this gun but after less than 20 rounds started jamming. I had to take cleaning rod to remove shell, it jammed as soon as shell was injected into chamber. You could not fire the weapon. It is on its way back to Bushmaster for repair. After reading on Internet this seems to be problem for the 450, but once repaired everyone said they did not have anymore issues with gun. This is still a awesome gun cant wait to get it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!

Date:December 12, 2012
1 ragged hole 5 shot group at 50yards, 1 " ay 100 and 2" at 200. This is 1st year .450 is legal for deer in my state and took a nice Doe 1st day out, can't wait to try it on a Hog hunt. My new favorite firearm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:October 18, 2012
this thing is as good as they get .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Up-Date to first review

Date:May 29, 2012
Up-date
I had a chance to shoot the 450 BM at 200 and 300 yrds. Was NOT disappointed. 1-2” groups at 200 yrds and 3-4” at 300. Third shoot at 300 using a BDC I put the shot right smack in the bulls eye. The wind kicked up and the kids were getting busy so I didn’t have a lot of time to shoot but was able to hit the bulls eye at 300 yrds on the third shot. VERY impressive gun. Not just a 100-200 yrd gun, 100-300 yrd gun and most hunters I know are not shooting beyond that on typical game. Again, at 300 yrds it has MORE energy than a .44 mag point blank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Does not Work with all AR15 Lower Assemblies

Date:March 11, 2012
The add said the Bushmaster would work on any AR15
platform which is incorrect - the forword and rear mounting holes on the Bushmaster .450 upper does not aling up with the Sig M400 lower assembly mounting holes - you can actually see the difference on misalignment. - guess i purchased a pig in a bolk as the saying goes. At the same time I purchased a .50 cal Beowulf upper assembly and it work well with a very nice tight fit with no misalligtment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Wait

Date:March 4, 2012
Excellent quality and deadly accurate. Well worth the wait. I topped mine with extra tall HD mounts and a Leupold VX-II 1-4 power scope. Easily shoots under at 1" at 100 yards for 5 shots.
Quality is excellent, as expected from Bushmaster. Hopefully they can step up production to keep up with the demand.
I bought mine for deer and Elk, and may do a wild boar hunt next year. Sure turns the AR platform into a real big game rifle in a hurry, highly recomended by this user.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hixson TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aewsome Upper!!!

Date:January 14, 2012
I have the 20" barrel upper with a 3x9x40 leupold qdma scope on it. This upper shoots great with minimal recoil and groups great, shot a spay paint can 3 times at 75 yds pretty tight. I bought this upper for deer hunting, but would use it for hogs and black bear also. the 250 grain bullet should take down anything!! ammo is not too expensive either, cheaper than 458 socom!! Great upper , Great scope, Great accuracy!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AR 15 Domination

Date:November 27, 2011
I ordered this upper from Cabela's opening day of deer hunting and I did not expect it until after the 9 day season was over. I had it in my hands by Wednesday halfway through the season and was able to give this a try. I paired it up with a CMMG lower and a Bushnell Banner 3-9 Dusk/Dawn scope. The fit with the lower was excellent. This thing is a tack driving shooter. It has the thump they claim it has, but I could shoot this all day and not worry about a sore shoulder. 50 yard groups were close too same hole and 100 yard groups were 1.5 inch out of the box with the Remington Accutip ammo. I was also looking at the .50 Beowulf and the .458 Socom, but the .450 Bushmaster takes the cake hands down. Cabela's shipping is the best and the Thumper upper is worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Eastern Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Idea

Date:November 14, 2011
I waited quite a while to receive my 450 upper, based on the reviews here I purchsed a 450 and not the 500, I mounted it on my armalite lower, fit was ok have a gap at the rear of the reciever. Mounted a Nikon 3 to 9 Buckmaster, shot my first rounds at 50 yards, took 4 shots to get on center, moved to 100 yards, took another 4 rounds to get on center, Idid notice when the barrel heated up rounds started to to vary, 2 rounds high, 2 low, and 2 left of center.
But the real issue is...... it will not eject spent rounds, some it left in the chamber others stovepiped. Sent it back to "Bushmaster" or Remmington take your pick. I called to get the shipping info and since it was new they provided a UPS shipping label, but they send out regular mail, that took 10 days, and then you have to go to a UPS shipping center, and naturally they are not close by.
The Service contact said they normally look and the gun 3 to 5 days after recieving, it now has been a month, I called today and they said the upper was on the Gunsmith's bench and would have an estimate soon.
Deer season is over this weekend and guess what I won't need it for another year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushmaster .450 "THE BEAST"

Date:October 25, 2011
I put this upper on a Bushmaster lower and topped it off with a Bushnell Elite 4200 and added a Limbsaver recoil slip-on pad (you will shoot much better with the Limbsaver, trust me) and a Ultra Flex sling.
Even with the stock trigger I had it shooting 2" 100 yard groups in no time. Awesome accuracy and power.
This .450 is going hunting this year. I'll use if for hogs and deer unless hunting a long distance cut overs. I'll have to do some time on the range at 200 yards to see what I can do.
I am happy with this great shooter.
Not every one has one of these, but if they shot it they would want one. Recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

top of the line upper

Date:September 1, 2011
This upper is a perfect match for my Bushmaster lower. Spot on accurite, lightweight, great shooter I'm glad I found this at such a great price I look forward to carrying this in hunting season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern NH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This rifle is a keeper

Date:June 13, 2011
Bought a Bushmaster .450 upper and put it on my extra lower a couple years ago. Last year I shot a 196lb Russian Boar with it at 120 yards. That pig dropped like a rock. Everything north of the diaphragm was jello.
This rifle, and this Hornady round, hit like a run-away freight train. It is definitely my favorite rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palmer, AK
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chainsaw .450

Date:June 9, 2011
Built two of these. One for non-profit raffle and one for myself. One of my employees won the raffle and had his shooting sub one inch groups at 100 yards within 10 shots sighting. Laserboresighted mine and had 1" groups at 50 yards off the bat. Treehuggers stop here...5 shots toppled a 10" birch tree with nothing but bark and splinters flying out the backside. Can't wait to finish sighting in and see capability on a blackbear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nunica mi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thumper 4 sure

Date:May 30, 2011
my 16 " upper will shoot one ragged hole at 100yds. topped with burris fullfield 30mm and super high burris xtr rings.. only thing not 100% happy with is bolt will not stay open on last shot.. mag will hold five rounds but not with bolt closed. so really 4 plus one..... hornady& bushmaster have a winner here
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Newport,Tn.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Waited two months and still can't shoot the .450

Date:May 25, 2011
I ordered the .450 bushmaster upper two months
ago to mount on my Colt sporter,I received it yesterday,I was not aware that the forward mounting hole of the bushmaster upper receiver is smaller than the Colt's lower receiver mounting hole,
The add.said the .450 bushmaster upper will fit all brands of AR's,now I will have to find some sort of
adapter pin to secure the upper to the lower now that the Colt's mounting pin will not work for the bushmaster upper.
Bushmaster needs to inform people of this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lake George, NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One great weapon

Date:May 18, 2011
After sighting in at 5o yards just a small adjuxtment and it was shooting one inch groups at 100 yards
This is a great rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bushmaster .450 Upper Complete Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Augusta, GA.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:March 25, 2011
Great gun planning to use it deer hunting/ Hog huntin. The firist time out it shot great groups at 100-110 yds with a red dot scope. I just bought a 3x9xx42 IR Have'nt tried it yet ,but I think it will do great...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41