Customer Reviews for PRO EARS Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs

PRO EARS Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs

Pro Ears Ultra 33 Passive Muffs offer maximum protection against harmful noises when exposed to firearms as well as any loud noise levels from engines, machines, music, work or play. The exclusive ProForm™ Leather Ear Seals and padded, adjustable headband make them comfortable enough to wear all day for trap or target shooting. Only Pro Ears are made with proprietary Dielectric construction that uses special noise-dampening materials that are resistant to electricity while absorbing damaging frequencies. These highly rated muffs help protect hearing from damaging sounds and vibrations. They feature the industry's highest Noise Reduction Rating (NRR) of 33dB. One-year warranty. Made in USA. Weight: 12 oz. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
33 out of 36(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Review 1 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bang for the Buck $$

Date:March 18, 2014
I didn't want to spend a lot,but wanted top notch hearing protection from my rifles and shotguns. The Pro Ear Ultra33 is every bit what I'd hoped for. Sound reduction is terrific!.
I was concerned about comments that the Pro Ear Ultra33 interferred with mounting long guns. That didn't prove true for all my rifles and shotguns. There is no reason a proper cheek weld can not be achieved while wearing the Pro Ear Ultra33.
I was also concerned about comment that the head band broke easily. I was somewhat relieved to find that replacement headbands are available at a reasonable cost and the the Pro Ear Ultra comes with a one year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muffs are the Stuffs

Date:September 17, 2013
This was my first set of muffs for the range and they ended up being a great purchase. The noise reduction capability of these is perfect for a long day at the range even if you are shooting some heavy loads. The only reason I did not give these a 5 star rating is because they are very bulky and take up quite a bit of room in your range bag/case/etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:September 10, 2013
These muffs are comfortable, offer some of the best noise reduction I've experienced and are easy to hear normal conversation with. I've owned several different sets of muffs from various makers, ranging from cheap to moderately expensive and I really like these.
I recently wore a pair at a black powder cartridge rifle casual shoot and they worked great while shooting off sticks. Have yet to try them while sighting in for fall deer hunts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a nice surprise

Date:July 17, 2013
Really cut down the sound out at the firing range. Well pleased with this purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not waste your money

Date:April 28, 2013
Cheap plastic headband breaks!
I had two pair of these break at the headband. Simply just removing the muffs and SNAP!!! Less than 5 range trips on each pair. Each pair only 2-3 months old.
Will never buy their products again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OK But....

Date:April 1, 2013
Good for hand guns but unusable for trap or skeet. Earpiece is just too large to get your cheek on the comb.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Muffs, But Have Their Limitations

Date:December 18, 2012
PRO'S: I bought my pair of these Ultra 33 Pro Ears a little over a year ago at the Ft. Worth Cabelas without having done any research on this product. Their 33 noise reduction rating was the best of all the other muffs on the shelf at that time, and I didn't want a pair of electronic muffs, so it seemed like a "no brainer" to buy these. I've used them at large and small indoor ranges and covered outdoor ranges and have been very pleased with the protection they provide. However, as is the case with all muffs, if you're at the bench next to someone with a big bore magnum you're going to hear some sound. Same goes at the indoor range in the guy in the next lane is shooting a big bore pistol or revolver. Therefore I always wear these over a pair of good ear plugs. Since I bought these, I've tried out a few other brands owned by friends while we were at the range together and have found that these Ultra 33's are superior in reducing gunshot noise. They are also very comfortable, easily adjust, and fit well. I really like the leather covered padding as it quickly warms to your head during cold weather.
CON'S: Although these Ultra 33's work great, they are very bulky, especially along the bottom of each muff. This causes a big problem for using them to shoot almost all rifles because it is impossible to wear them and have your proper cheek weld to the stock without them bumping against the comb. Worse case is that depending on the stock design you can't wear them and have any sort of cheek weld. However, these are great for handgun shooting and I am always so thankful I have them when I'm shooting my 45's, 9's and 357's. Another Con to these Ultra 33's is that the muffs are too bulky to permit them to fold up for storage in your range bag, so you either need extra room in your bag or a very large exterior pocket that will accommodate these ear muffs.
OVERALL RATING: My overall rating of 4 stars instead of 5 is based entirely on their limitations for use with rifle shooting and for their not being very compact. However, if I were only rating them based upon the level of hearing protection alone, then I'd rate them as 5 out of 5 stars. For honest hearing protection you're money would be well spent on the Ultra 33's. I would definitely buy this product again and would have no reservations about recommending them to friends or family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ear muffs

Date:November 27, 2012
GREAT!!! Just what I needed! Keeps the lawnmower noise down!! Saves my hearing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Plastic will break

Date:September 8, 2012
The point at which the head band connects to each side articulates around a small plastic bar. This plastic bar, due to its small size and stress that can be applied between the muff and the headband, is very susceptible to breaking. If and when it breaks, it cannot be repaired. I've had it happen twice. Too bad, because the noise reduction is very good. But I'll never buy another pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Investment

Date:September 6, 2012
I am new to recreational shooting, but as anyone who spends time at either an outdoor or indoor range knows, ear protection is essential. I've borrowed ear protection from a friend when we've gone shooting as well as having used disposable foam earbuds. Some people use both. I recently purchased my first firearm and then did research when I decided to purchase my own ear protection. I came to Cabelas after searching other sites. The selection is so much better. I am so glad I bought these ear muffs. They are the best. My friend who has been shooting for years tried them and said they are awesome. They are slightly pricier than some other muffs, but I am very pleased with them and they are very comfortable. I am very happy with these and would recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Russia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent protection against loud noise

Date:June 24, 2011
Nice price. Lightweight. Soft ear cushions. But the not for big head!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Winnsboro, LA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, but not the best

Date:December 23, 2010
When I bought these I thought they were the best. They work well and are comfortable. The Optime 105 by Peltor works a whole lot better, plus they are a LOT less expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anoka, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First time use

Date:October 22, 2010
With all the glowing reviews about these muffs, I had to try them. It's all true. The muffs are fantastic! I wore them for three straight hours at a small indoor range, shooting my 357 and also where several pre-deer season hunters were sighting in their magnum slug guns just a few lanes down. I did also use ear plugs, I always have at any indoor range. The noise was very tollerable. I never once felt any discomfort or itching, no sweating, I felt like I was wearing only a light cap. I could have worn them another three hours at least. I compared them with my older pair of Rem muffs which I always thought weren't too bad. The Ultra 33's were much much quieter. You need look no further.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Got a big head?

Date:October 21, 2009
I have a big head, literally. When I try to put on a hat where "one sizes fit all" I learn that I'm not part of "all."
I bought these muffs last year when I bought a .357 Mag that gets used on an indoor range. Try shooting in what is basically a concrete box and you'll learn the true meaning of LOUD. I double up and wear ear plugs under these muffs.
My hearing is too important to compromise and buy anything but the best. I was immediately attracted to the 33 decibel rating, the highest you'll find anywhere.
These muffs definitely are not sleek & sexy. They're big & bulky, but amazingly comfortable. Pro Ears makes a couple other lower levels of protection that have a smaller profile and cut down a bit on the weight. These 33dB muffs claim to weigh 11.4 ounces I think, but I don't even think about them when I'm shooting they're so comfy.
My advice: if you want something that will fit even a huge head, is comfortable, and provides maximum protection you simply can't go wrong with these.
I'm very demanding & these manage to meet with my approval.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho Panhandle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ear Protectors

Date:September 1, 2009
I bought these for my wife who is very sensitive to loud weapons near her on the range. She loves them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: abbeville, south carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comfort fit leather ear muffs

Date:August 4, 2009
I love these ear muffs for the comfort they provide. The leather ear seals allow my ears to breathe unlike the common plastic muffs. They are not only provide excellent protection from sound but the comfort is remarkable. I wear my muffs for shooting, weedeating, bushhogging,running my chainsaw and when I use my backpack blower. After a few minutes the plastic muffs would cause my ears to sweat and become irritated. I can wear the leather muffs for hours without any discomfort. They are great and I would strongly recommend them. I was told that all muffs only came with plastic ear seals, boy am I glad I kept looking until I found the pro ears with leather seals!!!! Great product, I cannot believe I suffered all these years with the plastic muffs. Never again!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eugene, Oregon Enjoy shooting sports
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:July 30, 2009
The Pro Ears perform their primary function flawlessly. The leather (instead of vinyl or some plastic) has a nicer feel to it, especially when wearing them for several hours. Very little sound gets through.
As one might expect with a passive muff so effective, they are a bit bulkier than some might prefer to wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pro Ears Passive Muffs

Date:May 26, 2009
Excellent quality that performs as expected; a very good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pro ears Muffs

Date:May 11, 2009
Very good sound attinuation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pro Ears® Ultra 33 Passive Muffs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: waukesha, wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Waukesha shooter

Date:May 4, 2009
I shoot the 460 and 500 pistols with compensators. The Pro Ears really do a great job in suppressing the blast from these pistols. I have used other muffs but have had to use ear plugs in addition to the muffs to feel comfortable with the blast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 36