Customer Reviews for RADIANS Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RADIANS Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate

This pepper-colored laminate stock embodies all the gracefull design elements found in classic found in classic rifle stocks costing far more, yet it subtly balances those elements for the variety of applications it will serve. This slender and semi-open gripped stock was designed by acclaimed firearms/hunting writer, Jon R. Sundra, whose passion for rifles, big-game hunting and varminting contributed valuable experience to design. The comb is parallel to the bore for smooth sighting and to aid scope use. The cheekpiece adds facial support and grace to your new replacement stock. The stock's flat/oval forend and inletting fits a wide range of rifles. Pepper laminate. Stock only, barrel and action not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.107 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
25 out of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Review 1 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:November 19, 2012
Good product but had to file bolt opening to work properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

boyds laminate stock

Date:October 2, 2012
Put it on my 270 wsm, great fit and accuracy is slightly better than composite stock. Worth every bit of price asked. If I had another win short action I would get another!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Easy!!!!!!!! Looks Great!!!!

Date:December 23, 2011
I have had a Winchester Model 70 243 since I was a kid. I really wanted to make it nice, but I didn't know if the new stock had the floor plate cut out. IT DOES!!! I have never tried to take a stock off, but there are only 3 screws. It was so easy. The barrel went right in with no problems. It looks so great. I am so glad that I got this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Troutdale, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Fit

Date:February 23, 2010
Slipped my Savage 110 .270 into this stock in the time my wife was giving our daughter a bath. Dropped right in with no customizing. Improved the appearance and feel of my rifle as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anmoore, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stock

Date:December 26, 2009
My wife bought me this stock for my Ruger MKII SS, to replace the factory stock which I have hated since the day I got the rifle. This stock was complete drop in, no problems. The pepper looks great with the SS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jrs

Date:August 10, 2009
complete drop in
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Inola, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As others have said

Date:March 17, 2009
I ordered this stock for my model 11F 22-250. Out of the box the stock looked very nice, I quickly installed it and discovered it had issues with the Accutrigger. A small amount of material (3/16' x 1/4") had to be removed directly over the rear trigger guard screw using a rotory file, that was it, everywhere else it fit like a glove. It really improved the looks and handling of the little Savage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor quality finish, did not fix

Date:March 17, 2009
This is the second boyd stock I ordered for a savage model 10 in .243. The first thumbhole model did not fit the gun without major customization to the wood stock. The second one, this pepper stock, had a large portion of the grip that did not have the pepper design applied. It looked like a piebold deer. It also would not fit the gun without modification to the bedding. I did not want to pay a gun smith to take wood off the stock nor did I like the poor quality finish on the stock. I give up on Boyd's! I tried twice with no luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not so drop-in!

Date:February 9, 2009
This is a great product. Well made, attractive and solid. IT IS NOT DROP IN! Some reviewers may have gotten lucky and their gun dropped in but the Savage stock required some sanding as the points of contact with the action were unlevel and imparted a rocking motion to the action. Also I had to use a Dremel to open up the area where the trigger drops down into. I don't mind having to modify some, I mean this wasn't "unfinished" but it did require significant work. No big deal but you should know that when going into the purchase. Have some 100 - 250 grit sandpaper and a dremel with a small diameter sanding drum (this fits the trigger channel perfect) handy to do the modifications. Watch for the action to be level in the stock, sand it so it won't rock too much back and forth. It is a good stock and I would recommend it. Very attractive and solid. Good luck to everyone but the prairie dogs!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boyds JRS Pepper Lamintate Stock

Date:January 14, 2009
My wife bought this stock for me for Christmas. I received my Grandfathers Model 700 30-06 and the old stock had a crack right by where the action bolts to it. Boyd's had packaged the short action stock in my box, but Cabelas excellent customer service came through as always and I received a replacement in a few days. The fit was perfect, I didn't have to modify anything, the barrel is completely free floated. I love the way it looks and my Dad is happy with what I did to Grandpas rifle too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mayer,Az.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 77 22-250 /Savage 116 30-06 stock refit

Date:January 9, 2009
I had the standard composite stocks on both my Ruger and Savage and wanted to dress them up,tired of having a cookie cutter gun like everyone elses.I picked the brown color for my Ruger,and the pepper for the Savage.I found them on my doorstep, got inside my house and literally had both stock switched out in 45 minutes.I had no problems with the Savage stock and a minor tweaking of the Ruger stock to fix the alignment on the front trigger guard screw.If you are even remotely considering the change I recommend you do it,they fit great and look equally awesome especially on SS guns....Thanks Cabelas again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chesapeake Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent work

Date:December 24, 2008
The action from my 270 Savage dropped right in. I could have gone hunting the same day, but that's not me. I'm adding aluminum pillers and bedding to get the most out of this beautiful stock. I'm now going to order a thumbhole stock for my 300 Win Mag. Good work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

boyds jrs classic rifle stock

Date:October 9, 2008
I recently recieved my boyds jrs rifle stock for my ruger m77 mk 11, I would definetly recomend this stock to anyone who is looking for a replacement stock, looks great,shoots great and it was a perfect fit my rifle dropped right in. Great product Thanks Chad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent fit out of the box

Date:September 12, 2008
Boyd's are excellent stocks for the money. My Savage 116 action dropped right in, with only minor modifications needed for proper trigger/safety operation. Barrel channel fit was spot on - completely free-floating without excessive gap.
The one drawback is these stocks come with a thin rubber butt pad. For a hard kicker like my .338, a genuine recoil pad needs to be fitted.
Boyd's customer service is excellent - I phoned them for some replacement fittings for another stock, and they had the parts in the mail within a few days, no charge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great stock, Great price.

Date:September 3, 2008
I got this stock to replace my factory "tupper wear" synthetic stock on my Rem. 700 ADL, 300 Win Mag. The fit was good, although I did have to do a bit of light sanding to float the barrel, but not a big deal at all. The overall finish of the stock was good and the balance was just right. If you are looking for a good replacement stock for your cheap factory one, this is a great choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gun stock

Date:June 2, 2008
very nice stock that fit well. Will need some checkering on the forearm because it is slick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Winchester model 70

Date:April 16, 2008
Great looking stock, the problem is that it didn't fit my rifle. The cutout for the trigger guard and mag. box was not cut to fit my model rifle, be careful if you have a model 70 Winchester.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bozeman, Mt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock-Ruger m77 LA

Date:April 7, 2008
Some good things and a few really bad things about this stock. I was very pleased with the overall shape, wood quality and finish of the Boyds' JRS stock. what I wasn't pleased with was I knew that I may have some minor adjustments in the barrel channel, as in, slightly massaged out and possibly partilly glassbedded to make the stock fit my rifle . Instead it had to be hogged out, full length bedded including the reciever, put on aluminum pillars, and to get the bolt and trigger assembly back to a reasonable balance part of the bolt channel on the top of the stock had to be ground deeper. Maybe I ended up with a weird stock from Boyds' concidering my 10/22 stock from them was a perfect fit and beautiful. I probably would have glass bedded this rifle anyway but my gunsmith has been in the business 32 years as he informed me that day, i've known him for 11 years and has never over charged me comparatively to every other shop in town and this rifle has cost me twice as much in labor as the last 2 rifles I have had glassbedded just on the labor that he has put into it for this stock. So if you plan on glass bedding and not seeing your gun for a couple weeks, great looking stock. if you are in a hurry or just looking to replace with a cheap slap-on stock good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Carey, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boyds' rifle stock

Date:April 1, 2008
I purchased a Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock for a Savage Model 10 rifle. The stock looks good and appeared to be a drop in change. It took an afternoon of alterations to get the action to slide in and out of the stock smoothly. I expected a much better fit from a Boyds product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boyds' JRS Classic Rifle Stock - Pepper Laminate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cordova, Tn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bob

Date:March 11, 2008
I am very pleased with the Boyd Rifle Stock. I wanted the brown one but I wound up with another Pepper Laminate. I glass bedded my Remington 700 7mm SAUM in the stock. I had a little more work than I had expected in removing wood from the barrel channel, but I was able to do that without a great deal of difficulty. The stock looks great with the stainless steel rifle. It shoots good, my only complaint about the Boyd stocks are that they are about 10 onces heavier that I would like. However, I knew this when I ordered this stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28