Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gamo Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo

This sharp-looking, sharpshooting air rifle incorporates state-of-the-art muzzle porting and noise-baffling technology to make it one of the quietest air rifles you can buy. A spring piston break-barrel action zips .177-caliber PBA Raptor pellets along at 1,200 fps. (50 rounds included). The 3-9x40mm scope has a duplex reticle and a single-piece scope mount is included. Auto cocking safety, manual trigger safety. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 43.3". Weight: 7.25 lbs. To get maximum results from the sound-reducing feature of the Whisper Deluxe and Whisper VH, lead pellets should be used. The included PBA Raptor ammo will result in higher speeds and will be quieter than when fired from standard models. However, it will still produce a cracking sound due to the pellet raveling at supersonic speeds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
55 out of 62(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slow to Stabilize

Date:June 25, 2013
The Gamo Whisper Deluxe is slow to establish a reliable pattern. So far, I've shot about 200 rounds through it and the pattern has "shrunk" to approximately 3". Even now, it will occasionally put one 4"-5" from the bullseye. I'm using Gamo "Hunter" ammo and have occasionally used Gamo "Magnum", but have not noticed any appreciable difference. I have heard from others that it sometimes takes over 500 shots for the Gamo's to stabilize, so I'll find out if that is true when I get there. Other than the accuracy issue (which I hope improves), the gun appears to be well constructed. My three other air rifles, one over 50 years in age, are the traditional pump variety are still performing well; however, I do not know if the newer versions are of the same quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:February 7, 2012
I received this for christmas. First thing I put the scope on and took it out to try it. At 50 yards I had a 1 inch group. It def packs a punch. Pierced a 3/4 inch plywood no problem. Very quiet with regular pellets, with alloy pellets it does sound like a .22lr going off. Overall great gun, built well, and light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Owatonna, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Can't Sight In

Date:February 7, 2012
Very difficult to sight in. My Cabelas bore sight will not stay centered in the barrel due to the size of the opening in the noise suppressor on the end of the barrel. One of the bore sight's plastic fittings came loose inside the suppressor and it took me over an hour to get it removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alliance,Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

drops stuff like rain

Date:January 1, 2012
i got it sighted in at 50yds. shot lots of black birds,pigeons,rabbits,and a ratcoon. At the 50yds. mark, i shoot a 1" group. one time i took it out coyote hunting to see if it woulld kill one. i left the old remington 700 calibered in 22-250 at home for this. called one in he was 62yds aimed a 6in. high (and of course having to do with the nebraska wind) i shot he ran over the hill and died. highly recommened this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good mid range air rifle.

Date:December 31, 2011
I picked this up for pest animals. As far as the velocity, power, and action - it is as advertised. I'm happy with it. The other reviews may be expecting a bit too much out of an air rifle. The scope is cheap and the reticle moves with the magnification adjustment. Lead ammo shot through this is suppressed pretty nicely and I only hear the spring. Replace the scope, rest of the air rifle is pretty nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: the Catskills in Upstate NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My husband loves this thing!

Date:December 18, 2011
I bought this for my husband a year ago and he is still like a kid in a candy store. He is really into hunting and anything “guns”, so he never gets tired of it!
This is well made, good quality, quiet and has lots of oomph for a pellet gun! The scope was on target, right of the box. This was heavier than I expected and is still going strong. Our house had been overtaken by red squirrels, but not anymore! I expect to have this for many years because we need to keep the red varmints in check!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Berreta 50 cal of Air Guns

Date:November 25, 2011
This gun is amazing. Took me 20 minutes to sight my scope. PBA pellets that it came with are not recommended for suburban use. They make the rifle sound like a .22. Once I zeroed the scope, I was picking off tin cans at 60 yds! Gamo Tomahawk pellets were great, flew straight and true, packed a punch, but don't get too much penetration. Cocking is very easy, and only a few pellets were misshaped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An AWESOME Air Rifle

Date:October 4, 2011
I got this air rifle as a surprise gift from my wife who tasked me with guarding her pecans from the neighborhood squirrels. Make sure that all screws are TIGHT, otherwise you will have a bit of scope drift. You can drive nails with this air rifle and it is real quiet (from the sides, not from the front or rear).
So far, I have run through about 500 pellets and it is a marvel of engineering. No issues. The plastic tipped pellets are best for hunting squirrels and you can make a clean kill at anything up to 50 - 75 yards for sure. The variable power scope is very bright and has the standard cross hairs reticle.
Lastly, you will hear a "report" when using the raptor ammo that comes with it. Actually that is the pellet traveling faster than the speed of sound and emitting a sonic boom. To me it sounds just like a .22. When using the regular lead pellets it makes very little sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cant kill a bird

Date:September 17, 2011
From reading the reviews apparently I bought a lemon model. I had it sighted in at 50 ft. and was shooting a 1 inch group at that distance with Gamo lead pellets.
I went bird hunting and shot about 20 birds within the 50 foot range and never dropped one. I made feathers fly on every bird and just watched them fly off.
Great gun if your just going to target shoot. Horrible gun if you plan on killing anything with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: So. Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor design

Date:July 27, 2011
Gamo whisperer is a good looking rifle but good looking don't make it shoot straight. The locking lug is of a poor design well not shoot a good group. I tried 4 different kinds of pellets and 3 different scopes before figuring it out. Thanks to Cabela's great return system I returned it for a Ruger magnum, review to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GAMO .177 Whisper Deluxe

Date:March 26, 2011
I gave two stars due to the decent scope and nice trigger, but the rifle itself was really bad (I returned it). Very inconsistant shot repeatability with both the open fiber optic sights (great sights though), and equally as inconsistant with the scope. Just glad that Cabelas has a good return policy!
I ended up going with a nice German RWS after I returned the Gamo, much better, 3/8" groups at 25 yards compared to 3" groups with the Gamo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: lancaster, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best air rifle

Date:March 26, 2011
this i a well balenced gun. the scope is really good. it is a nice and it is quite gun with lead but the pba amo is not so good it is as loud as a 22. if u dry fire it it sounds this a pellet gun. the pba is best with older guns that will not go past 1200 fps. it has less of a kick than the other 2 gamos I had. this is a very good buy.the gun is very light. the one thing I dont like is the stock right next to the triger gaurd. it gets tin the way some time but after a while its like its not there. also i order my gun on a sunday igot it 2 days later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pacifca, california
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great fantastic

Date:January 27, 2011
This gun is a very nice, evenly based gun. Scope is a well balance scope with clear sights. loved the gun and it came 2 days before the shipping day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kenosha, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AMAZING

Date:December 10, 2010
I bought it because it's on sale at Cabela's, this is the second GAMO I bought, I was suprised by how accurate and powerful it was, can compete with GAMO CFX in accuracy, if not better, this rifle is very light, can shoot for hours without hands tired, highly recommended, best pellet : Crosman Premier Hollow Point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:December 8, 2010
This is not a competition air rifle, but it is a great plinking gun. Got mine sighted in ast 50yrds and can shoot a consistant 2-3 in. pattern. You must use lead pellets to get any accuracy. The PBA pellets are too light and they get knocked around by the sound waves when they go super sonic. The lead pellets are heavier and stay slightly below the sound barrier. Im still getting 1050 fps with lead. I was getting 1250 fps with PBA raptor pellets, but I was all over the target (8-9 in. spread at 50 yrds.). I even had one shot register at 1450 fps. As for the sound, it is much quieter with lead, because you don't get the supersonic crack. With lead you only hear the spring release. With PBA it sounds like a 22. Overall, I'm happy with the gun and would recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: new jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gamo whisper

Date:November 24, 2010
What a peice of junk. I tried all the best ammo for it and couldnt hit the broad side of a barn at 20 yards with any accuracy!!!!Was as loud as a 22 with cb caps. Save your money and buy something else or you will be taking this gun back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western, NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Lethal

Date:November 17, 2010
I have owned three different high powered air rifles. I am very pleased with the performance of this rifle. It is a shooter! It holds nice tight groups at 40 yards (backyard shooter) with a minimum amount of set-up and sighting-in. The trigger does have some travel, but very manageable once you learn how to take the play/travel out before gently squeezing-off the shot!
I have taken numerous small game with this rifle; rabbits, squirrels, raccoons, etc. If you take your time and place your shots, this is a very lethal small game weapon. THIS IS THE BEST AIR RIFLE I OWN! This Cabelas' Model Looks Sharpe. Highly Recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:November 14, 2010
awesome air rifle. completly satisfied. highly recomend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

killin' nd grillin'

Date:July 2, 2010
I got the Gamo Whishper Dx (deluxe) for a present. tried it out and it shot awsome. Took me 9 shots to sight in with the Crossman! Shot 1 rabbit and 1 chipmunk and they both droped dead! The Scope is awsome to great all around!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gamo® Whisper Deluxe Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun for the price, fast delivery

Date:March 19, 2010
Got mine in fairly quickly from time ordered. Scope and scope mounts were of excellent quality for the price and easy to mount on rifle. Very easy to shoot the rifle. Just break the barrel over one time, it is cocking while breaking over, install pellet, close and fire. The trigger on mine was not a two stage as advertised but was not horrible as some of the reviews described. It is a plastic assembly and is non adjustable. It does have a fair amount of trigger travel but is not overly hard to pull. I sighted mine in at 40 yards with the PBA raptor pellets and was shooting one inch groups after about 30 or 40 shots. I've hunted and shot guns all my life and think this gun is great for an air rifle especially for the price. It does sound like a 22 with the raptor pellets. I haven't tried any other pellets yet, but understand it quietens up with the others. I highly recommend the rifle and would definitely buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 62