Customer Reviews for Walker's Game Ear Walker's High-Definition Game Ear

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Walker's Game Ear Walker's High-Definition Game Ear

Increase your hearing up to seven times with the High-Definition Game Ear. It amplifies high-frequency sounds with 48db of power, yet protects hearing with Sound-Activated Compression circuit. When combined with the earplug, it helps protect hearing from loud sounds such as muzzleblasts. The overall noise reduction rating (NRR) of 29db is among the highest in the industry. Rests comfortably behind either ear, with or without eyeglasses and weighs less than 1/4 oz. Per each.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Review 1 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remarkable product

Date:December 24, 2011
My hearing is worsening with age and from not using ear protection during deer hunting. Tinnitus affects my ability to hear high frequencies. So I bought two HD Pro game ears at our local Cabelas and used them deer hunting yesterday. Great product! They are comfortable and the sound amplification is clear and strong. In fact, while still hunting I set them at the lowest level. The white foam ear plug is a waste and uncomfortable. But the silicone ear bud is excellent. Very comfortable and good ear seal. I haven't shot yet so I can't vouch for the sound attenuation. But my hunting partner has a pair and swears by them for blocking the noise from a gun shot. AFT adjustment doesn't seem to do anything for me. But that's okay.
Before this, I tried a set of sound amplifying and sound attenuating ear muffs. They were extremely uncomfortable and the sound was distorted. Probably okay for the range, but not for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker Game Ear HD

Date:June 13, 2010
I should have bought this little jewel a couple of years ago. All I can say is it is awesome. I received it 3 days ago and have been wearing it off and on since. So far I don't think I'll need to buy a second unit, since my sense of direction has been restored. It came with 3 different styles of earplugs and all work well. When turning it on, you need to turn the volumn down before putting it your ear.
The sound this unit picks up is unbelievable. The volumn control is easy to operate. The game ear has been very comfortable for me to wear for extended periods.
The wind that some complain about, I simply lower the volumn and make sure the ear plug is set correctly and all is good. It's great to carry on a normal conversation again and not have the TV volumn up high anymore. The sounds of birds singing and dogs barking in the distance are once again something I can enjoy. No more saying huh all the time when someone is talking to you. I will try this unit out at the rifle range tomorrow. Thanks Walkers and Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bc canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

walker game ear

Date:January 10, 2010
worked just as advertised best hearing / enhancement product i have ever used. i ordered 2 cuz of the other reviews and im very happy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Updated review of game ear

Date:December 22, 2009
Last spring I wrote a less than favorable review of my game ear because of the poor service I received when I tried to have it repaired. However, over the summer, I managed to contact one of the senior guys at Walker's and explained my concern.
He apologized for the lack of support and promptly sent me a new game ear which is working very well…so I felt it was only fair to update my review from 2 stars to 5 stars.
Also, I would recommend using a second game ear if you need to determine the sound direction…i.e. I started hitting many more teal when I started using a second game ear...with one game ear I could hear sounds clearly, but I could not determine the direction of the sound...but with a second game ear I can hear clearly and determine direction...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: curwensville penna.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better then the bow hunting one

Date:November 2, 2009
i got this one to replace my archery game ear the battery door boke on it so i got this one tryed it out today for turkey hunting and i could hear a lot better with it.i like the ear peace's that came with it i tryed them all and found the one that would fit my ear and stay in.but the down fall to this is there's no turn off switch.i went to walker's web site and called them to let them know that with out the turn off switch the battery's go dead with in a day.before buying this i talked to the cabela's employee at the desk where they have them and he told me to open the door and the game ear will turn off but not to open it all the way.i'll try that but i think walker's should go back to the turn off switch and i even told this to walker's employee that answered the phone i hope they listen.i'd still recommend this to everyone and my friends. this is another time i can't give it a 5 star sorry cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker's Game Ear

Date:May 4, 2009
Great product as advertised,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gits'er done!

Date:April 23, 2009
I have heard more with the new Game Ear than I thought was there to hear. I learned that a neighbor, about a mile away from my camp, has chickens because I could easily hear the rooster crowing in the early morning. I thought I was missing some far off gobbling due to the terrain and my chronology so I tried the Game Ear. When I did hear a gobble I jumped through myself (he was closer than I thought he might be!). So, I heartily recommend this product to anyone who would enjoy hearing more of the outdoors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Englewood Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

On it's way back..

Date:February 9, 2009
Unit is difficult to fit to the ear and picks up too much background noise. You must extend the tube well past the foam and into the ear canal for best functionality.. With the foam, you have difficulty getting it to stay in the ear. Called the company to get a better ear piece and they wanted $70+ so we sent it back..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not happy

Date:January 6, 2009
I thought it would work better in the blind and be more comfortably
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Syracuse New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a good fit

Date:December 30, 2008
I have just sent this back because I did not like the way it did not stay in my ear. The more I had to play with the foam ear piece the more squeeling noises it made and I found myself fooling around with it to much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: McMinnville, Tn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great .... After you get used to it

Date:December 28, 2008
The Walkers Game Ears are great after you get used to them. I reccomend that you get 2, one for each ear, makes it much easier to pick up the direction of the sound. I tried it with just one and I could never discern the direction of the sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a must for Bow Hunting

Date:December 3, 2008
I recently purchased a Walker's Game ear. I have used Game ears for about 15 years and the new model is very good. It is a must if you don't want to be surprised by a deer that is staring at you and your bow is out of position. I also use it bird hunting so t my ears are protected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too Much Hassel

Date:December 2, 2008
I fouund it uncomfortable... and diffacult to adjust...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works as Advertised, but . . .

Date:November 5, 2008
My rating of this product comes with a couple of caveats which are detailed below.
I bought the Game Ear HD to use while hunting pheasants in South Dakota and elsewhere. I wanted something that would enable me to hear my fellow hunters yet would protect my ears from gunfire. I had the opportunity to use this product for many hours a day for a week straight, and thus have a pretty good idea of its capabilities and shortcomings. My observations are as follows:
1) The noise amplification works VERY well. Standing still, I could hear birds twittering from very long distances. Small critters rustling in the brush were loud enough to make me jump. Distant traffic sounded like I was practically standing on the shoulder of the road. Hunters speaking in low tones over 50 yards away were perfectly understandable, almost as if they were standing next to me. Stand/blind hunters would benefit immensely from these.
On the negative side, when you move you WILL hear EVERY scratch, rustle, clink, and scrape your clothing and gear makes. Walking through corn and sorghum stalks can be downright maddening if you don't turn the volume down.
2) The compression circuit works perfectly; whether it was my shotgun or another hunter's, I never felt the discomfort of a loud muzzle blast.
3) Even though they're expensive, I would definitely recommend purchasing a pair of these over just one. Using one unit with the other ear plugged makes it impossible to determine the direction of the sound. More than once I heard a rooster cackle and flush, only to whirl around desperately trying to lock in on its location. Stereo sound definitely helps.
4) Wind noise is a big problem for this particular model. There is almost always a wind blowing in the Dakotas, and anything remotely resembling a stiff breeze will drive you crazy with the noise. (A fellow pheasant hunter has a semi-custom set of in-ear units that he claims don't suffer from this problem, though these are considerably more expensive units than the Walkers. Another has a pair of the Howard Leight "Impact" earmuffs and also says wind noise is not an issue, though I have not tried these.) It got so bad for me in SD that it was less of a hassle to just go back to regular ear plugs until the wind died down. Perhaps the higher-end models address this issue, but I haven't tested them.
To sum up, then, I'd recommend these for stationary or still hunters in relatively quiet air--I think they'd be great for bowhunters or turkey hunters looking for an edge in the hearing department. (It will certainly reveal just how quiet your fancy camo really is!) Bird hunters and anybody in moderate to high winds, on the other hand, would do better with another product. Four stars for the first group, two for the second.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker Game Ear

Date:October 22, 2008
I experienced hearing lost in 2006. During an Elk Hunt in 2007, after I shot I become deaf in my left ear for three days. This year I purchase a Walker Game Ear, which not only helped me to hear better in the woods but this time when I shot I did not experiemce any deafness - Outstanding! Great Product, worked as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker's High Def Game Ear

Date:September 10, 2008
Purchased this item for hearing protection while bird hunting. I don't like wearing "mickey mouse" type protectors, and I can't hear well enough with regular foam ear plugs. I looked at some of the in the ear type, but the Walker Game Ear had the highest noise reduction rating (NRR), about the same as regular disposable foam earplugs, and were quite a bit less expensive
- hearing protection worked very well, no ringing ears after 2 days dove hunting. The feature that turns off the sound above a certain decibel level worked very well.
- while not perfect, I could hear pretty well with a unit in one ear and a regular foam ear plug in the other. with just one ear it was difficult to discern the direction noise was coming from. I'd like to try it with one unit in each ear.
- battery lasted the entire 2 days and is still good.
- a little conflict with the ear band on my shooting glasses. would work better with a straight ear piece such as on some aviator type sunglasses than the ones that curve around your ear.
- at times a bit difficult to get the ear tube inserted into your ear; would like to try it with an ear mold.
- the on/off function is less than perfect. to turn it off you leave the battery holder pulled out one detent, and it has a tendency to get pushed closed which then turns the unit back on and drains the battery (happened to my son).
All in all, I think it was a good value for the money, I'd buy one again, and have no reservations recommending it to a friend. The in the ear types would probably be more comfortable, but they are over $1000 for a pair, and do not have a published NRR. Two of these with ear molds would be around $400, and be almost as good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alton NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker Game ear

Date:September 9, 2008
My first" hearing aid",
no matter what else you want to call it,It is a hearing aid. Played with it so far,hunt with it next week. Right now not bad,if you adjust the volume level to a medium level there was no background noise. I figured it was the better of the devices as its been around for a while. I didnt have to spend 300.00 bucks to find out if I liked it or not. Final verdict later
Budoman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Game Ear

Date:September 9, 2008
I was not happy to find that there was only one ear piece, but after using it for a few hours, I got used to it. I just used this Game Ear on a four day dove hunting trip and was able to keep the conversations and laughter going while protecting my hearing. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a better way to go than regular foam ear plugs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chatham, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walkers Game ear

Date:July 2, 2008
Execellent product & great value. We all know with black bears, you almost never hear them coming. In my case, I actually heard the bear coming to my bait before I saw him.
5 stars
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Walker's High-Definition Game Ear
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Houston, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker Game Ear HD

Date:February 8, 2008
I like the concept however the ear plug and tube attachment leaves something to be desired. I have not been able to get a secure fitting arrangement with the electronic part hanging by the tube. Wish Walker would update the piece with mouldable plugs and instructions how to insert the electronics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25