Customer Reviews for GAMO Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo

GAMO Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo

A newly designed muzzle end on the Whisper decreases sound by approximately 52% without sacrificing performance or accuracy. It shoots PBA ammo at 1,200 fps (50 rounds included) and comes equipped with both Truglo® sights and a 3-9x40mm scope (mount included). The synthetic stock is textured on the grip and has an ambidextrous cheekpiece. Rubber recoil pad. Cocking effort: 30 lbs. Overall length: 45-3/4". Weight: 6.8 lbs. To get maximum results from the sound reducing features of the Whisper models, lead pellets should be used. The included PBA ammo will result in higher speeds and will be quieter than when fired from standard models. However, it will still produce a cracking sound due to to the pellet traveling at supersonic speeds in .177 caliber.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.606 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
50 out of 71(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

an awsome gun

By
this gun was a really cool gun, the scope is awsome, the cocking is really easy,and the triger saftey is the best, but the silencer doen't work. my friend got the same gun but a lot cheaper i mean a lot cheaper withpout the silencer and they sound the same
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2012

Great reliable gun

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have had this gun for about 1 1/2 years now and it has not let me down. When I first got the gun it came with the scope but I didn't bother putting it on. After I got tired of it I put on the scope. I couldnt even get three inch groups at twenty five yards, but this was due to the fact that I was using low quality daisy pellets. After I had purchased some game red fire pellets I couls get one inch groups every shot. My brother just recently got the delux version of this gun and it is the same quality. We go hunting every weekend and the 177 cal guns never fail us and always get some jackrabbits!! This is a great gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011

best airgun

By
Location: Middletown. DE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
this gun is durable and reliable. the best gun. easy to sight in and easy to shoot. get it!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2010

Nice little pellet rifle

By
This arrived today, in typical UPS beat-up fashion. Upon opening the box, everything seemed fine. I mounted the scope and then spent about 30 minutes sighting it in. From 74' I can hit multiple shots within about a 2" circle, and I have not shot a rifle in 20 years and am pretty wobbly. It's a good little rifle considering how poor of a shot I probably am!
Noise-wise, it sounds like an electric staple gun or something similar, and my wife did not even hear me shooting it when she was in the house, so that's a good thing. All in all, you really can only hear the sound of the cylinder closing/firing.
I am using the Cabelas Magnum pellets, as recommended by another reviewer, and they shoot great. I also shot the "hollow point" Cabelas pellets and they are just as accurate.
So thumbs up from me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010

AWSOME

By
THIS GUN IS AWSOME!!! BE CAREFUL VERY POWERFUL. THE SCOPE THAT COMES WITH IT IS AWSOME. YOU HAVE TO SIGHT IT IN BUT ONCE YOU DO ITS GAME ON!!!!!! I HAVE NOT TAKEN ANY GAME WITH IT YET BUT I HAVE SEEN WHAT IT CAN DO. YOU CAN HEAR THE PELLET WITSLEING THROUGH THE AIR TO THE TARGET. IT LEAVES ABOUT A 1 AND A HALF INCH ENTRY HOLE.!!!!!!!!!! THAT IS A FAST AND POWERFUL PELLET GIN.!!!!!!!! ALWAYS USE PBA PELLETS IT WILL IMPROVE YOUR RIFLE BY ABOUT 250 FPS (FEET PER SECOND) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWSOME GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THIS IS DEFINITLY SOMETHING I WILL RECOMOND TO LOTS OF PEOPLE!!!
SQUIRRELANATOR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010

ACCURATE!

By
This gun is extremly accurate. I just got mine today and im am extremly impressed. i sighted the iron sight in first took only 20 shots with gamo match pellets. I was getting 1/4 inch group or less at 30 yards with gamo pellets. Crosman pellets i had roughly 4 inch grouping at 30 yards. But every gun is different. This gun is VERY quite as well i shot down a cubie of qual with about 10 qual and not a single one flew away. With pba the gun sounds loud but with lead its quite all you hear is the piston. After i sighted it in with the iron sights i sighted it in with the scope, with 20 shots i was dead on accurate hiting birds from over 35 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

Took Time but Great!

By
Location: Texas
I spent a full day sighting the gun in, but at the end of the day it was worth it. I tried RWS Pointed Pellets first, but the gun just would not shoot in a good group. I then tried some Crossman Hollow Point Pellets which was a definate improvement on my grouping. I then went to the Cabela's Magnum Pellets and my grouping went to less than a dime size at 40 ft. Many of the pellets were actually hitting the same hole. I sighted the gun in using the Magnum Pellets and I was dead on every time. The RWS pellets are good pellets, just not in this gun. I would have random stray pellets with the RWS, but never with the Heavier Magnum Pellets. I then shot at about 25 yards with the Cabela's magnum pellets and was grouping about a quarter size without any drop from the pellet. I then tried shooting from about 60 yards and after figuring out how much to adjust for distance and wind, I was able to hit the center of my target 3 times out of 5 shots. I am by no means a pro, and this is my first pellet gun, but so far I am really impressed. I read alot of reviews and I have to say to those negative reviews, just dont give up on the gun. It is a little picky with pellets and you have to make sure you tighten the Scope mounts. Take the rings off, tighten all the screws and stop screw on the mount (attaches to gun). There is also a screw on the rings that tightens down to the mount that needs to be screwed down tight on the gun mount before putting the scope on the gun. If everything is tight, the scope should not move. I feel that is the biggest problem with the negative reviews about accuracy.... just make sure everything is tight and set before you shoot. I have only had it for a couple of days, but so far I am very pleased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2009

awesom gun

By
I shot 2 birds and each droped right there in the spot. And also they had big holes in them. I used the raptor PBA pelts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2009

Whisper

By
Location: Pennsylvania, PA
I LOVE THE WHISPER!!!!!! It is a very accurate and powerful gun. Where I hunt for small game there is houses around me and the whisper is silent and the neighbors don't know in there. I have killed squirles and rabbits with it. I would recommend this gun to anybody that has a small game problem or just wants a fun gun to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009

Goodfellow

By
Location: Lake Texoma, Oklahoma side.
I am very impressed with the accuracy and quality of this small cal. gun. If you can shoot, it will hit the target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Wonderful Air Rifle

By
Location: Rockford, MN
I ordered this air rifle as a replacement to my RWS Diana Model 34 rifle. The Gamo Whisper blows the doors off of the RWS in my opinion. It is extremely accurate and solidly built. The scope that came with it is of reasonable quality and was very easy to zero. This rifle has served me very well for varmint control arround my property.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009

sweet

By
I really like this gun. I have killed lots of birds and other things with it. My only problem would be that when u shoot it the little bit of spring recoil makes the scope slide backwards. Other than that it is great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2008

whisper

By
Location: Hawaii, Honolulu
The rifle has a good feel to and it's pretty accurate. Just had to mount the scope and sight it and it was good to go...Glad I got one....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2008

Gamo Whisper .177 Air rifle.

By
Location: Big Sky State of Montana
Nice rifle-very accurate and packs a punch. Altho it seems a little noisey, even with the advertised silencer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2008

GAMO WHISPER SERIES

By
Location: DOWNINGTOWN, PA
VERY HAPPY WITH RIFLE- MUCH QUIETER THAN MY WINCHESTER, VERY CLOSE GROUPS, NICE SCOPE, EASY COCKING, SMOOTH TRIGGER ACTION
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2008

whisper

By
OK first off, the pba raptor ammo is going to make the gun shoot 1200 which is over the sound barrier, so it wont whisper. you need to use lead, 2end my scope is a 140$ BSA 12x44 beauty, i had 1/2 inch groupings at 50 yd, i had a proper riffle rest which made all the difference, because you need to be a body builder to pull the trigger. over all the gun was great because it was every thing it said it was which was a quite air gun, there are better out there in my opinion like the talon ss pcp air gun it is silenced shoots 1000 fps is crazy quite, short, and compact but expensive. but for a break barrel I'll stick with rws air guns expencive but their accuracy is unmatched 60+ yds and still in 1in. i think there the best.
happy hunting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2008

Great Gun

By
Well, I purchased this gun after I tried the G1-Extreme which was a bad choice. After all, I am new to the more powerful air rifles. The Whisper surprised me on how quiet it was. At first I thought there was something wrong but I guess not. The next day I tried it outside with the PBA ammo and for the first time I heard the sonic crack(which I thought it was pretty cool). Anyways, I grouped 6 rounds in a quarter at about 35 feet with the scope. I know this weapon is capable of grouping at a farther distance, I just had no time to do so. I know that when it dents a steel target in a pellet trap at 35ft, it has some power. I would absolutely recommend this product to my friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2008

Quiet fun

By
Location: Nothern Minnesota
Everything arrived as promised and assembly went without a hitch. We used the supplied PBA pellets for the initial sighting in and while accurate, the sonic crack made indoor use out of the question. A switch to Gamo Hunter lead pellets dropped the velocity enough to let the silencer do its job. Accuracy is very good and the point of impact doesn't change very much when using different pellets allowing indoor practice with quiet lead and outdoor "hunting" with the flat shooting PBA pellets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2008

True Shot

By
This rifle shoots true as ever. Now I know that there are better rifles out there but they also cost you about 1000 or so. But for the money if you are looking for a good, dependable, true shot, it's a good buy.
Con - I know squirrel are a terribly hardy and tough animal, but it took several shots to take one down, even with a few shots to the head.
Pro - enough said
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gamo Whisper .177-caliber Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2007

Gamo Wisper

By
Location: ny
You must use lead pellets so it will be quiet. Raptor PBA pellets shoot 1200 FPS causing a supersonic crack like a 22 rifle. This gun is very accurate. It comes with Raptor pellets Don't think the silencer is not working lead pellets will make the difference
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 71