Customer Reviews for GUNVAULT GunVault Biometric Safe

GUNVAULT GunVault Biometric Safe

Secure, safe and fast. The GunVault Bio uses fingerprint recognition to access the contents. A high-performance algorithm is used to achieve speedy identification of enrolled fingerprints. Every time you open the safe by touching the fingerprint sensor, it adds new information to the fingerprint templates. It also updates slight changes that might occur over time to an enrolled fingerprint as well as helps distinguish variations between enrolled fingerprints. System can handle up to 30 fingerprint templates. AC or battery powered. Available: Micro-MVB 500 Exterior dimensions: 11" x 8-1/2" x 2-1/4". Weight: 5 lbs. Mini-GVB 1000 Exterior dimensions: 8" x 5" x 12". Weight: 8 lbs. Multi-GVB 2000 Exterior dimensions: 10" x 8" x 14". Weight: 14 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.635 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
9
1 Star
13
51 out of 74(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for GunVault Biometric Safe
Review 1 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice and secure

Date:April 28, 2015
Very nice little case, secure and sturdy. I put one in my vehicle and one at bedside. Quick , quiet and secure. Well worth the money if one has children around!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

so far so good.

Date:April 7, 2015
Good safe. With some practice have gotten to the point that it opens the first time. Not a real secure safe (weak looking door) but keeps firearms accessible and out of the wrong hands!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great to have when kids are in the house

Date:March 5, 2015
Bruce Jackson from the Acworth store recommended this safe. He has helped me with many other purchases. I keep this safe under my bed and it is easy to reach down there and place my finger in the biometric reader to have it pop open. I love locking my spare weapon when the kids are running around the house. The light on the inside is a nice feature. I only gave it four stars because it is only reliable on the first try about 90 percent of the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Safe

Date:January 27, 2015
I have no problems with the Bio function. It also comes with a built in light. Very nice safe, I would recommend this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Product

Date:January 20, 2015
My wife and I both use this pistol safe beside our bed. It opens first time, every time for me but not for my wife! I suspect that she is not inserting her finger properly into the fingerprint reader (either too far or not far enough). With practice I believe that she will master opening the safe on the FIRST try. Other than that we love the sense of security that it gives us to know that our grandchildren cannot access our pistols (loaded, of course). The only reason that I didn't give it a 5 star rating is because it is a fairly pricey safe! I also recommend buying the security cable too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:January 7, 2015
I have to say, I am very satisfied with my purchase of this safe. It is very well made and has some heft to it. The door is very much spring-loaded, it startled me a bit the first time I opened the safe! The safe is very easy to use, and I have had absolutely no problems whatsoever with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Argentina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good purchase

Date:January 6, 2015
Good treatment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Big Disappointment in biometric safe

Date:January 2, 2015
I Wanted this safe to secure a handgun under the bed. The ieda was to keep childern out and also for the quick access.
The problem I had is the same others had. Somethimes it would work and sometimes it would not. It may have worked 1/3 the time. For what I wanted it for I need it to work 100% of the time. The biometric reader was just not reliable.
I shipped it back and and asked for the refund.
I did not ask for a replacement for the fear ot getting another bad unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Christmas gift

Date:December 31, 2014
Grandson LOVED it... says it was his favorite gift!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great nightstand valt

Date:December 30, 2014
Love the quick biometric lock. Makes for easy access. Easy set up and mounting. Only con is that if power goes out you have to use the key. I have my key very hiden because I have 4 kids. I would like to see it open a few times with just the battery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good safe

Date:December 30, 2014
The safe GunVault Multi Biometric Safe is roomy enough for two handguns, some magazines, and a few other little items. The biometric scanner is easy to program and relatively easy to operate. I say relatively because it will depend on the operator's hands. I have dry skin so my fingers won't present prints for the reader very well, especially if my hands are cold. I would have to moisten them or put lotion on. One trick is to rub your finger on your forehead and get some of the oil off your skin there. Not an ideal situation if you need quick access to your firearm.
Even if your finger opens the safe on the first try, I find using the key is quicker. I'm still very satisfied with the product as a safe. I'm aware of my skin, as I deal with biometric scanners at work on a daily basis, so I can deal with it quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun Safe

Date:December 30, 2014
This is a great gun safe. Works great and opens pretty quickly. It is a little tight with 2 guns in there, but still fit nicely. Safe is large and heavy, so make sure you have a perfect place for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:December 15, 2014
Went through instructions to program. Would not open. Made several attempts with same results. My son an engineer stopped for a visit. Had him attempt to program with a new battery same results. By now I have read other reviews, and have learned other people were having the same issues. You can hear the mechanism trying to work but door would not open. This is an item that needs to be 100% functional. Manufacturer need to go back to the drawing board.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too touchy

Date:June 14, 2014
I've owned this about 18 months and I'm going to replace it with one without the biometric reader. Initially it worked well, but now it seldom opens first try. Changing the battery does not help. I'm trying to reset it from scratch and finding it too frustrating. Although I hate to reward the company, I'm buying their other model so my predrilled holes will match. (I hope!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

biometric gun vault

Date:January 14, 2014
The biometric gun vault was nice but the biometrics don't work all the time. It's really bad when your hands are cold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointed in figerprint reader

Date:October 22, 2013
I was pretty disappointed in this purchase, the fingerprint reader is EXTREMELY finicky and it rarely opens on my first try. I bought the mini vault to store my handgun in my truck (I have my CCW) in case of an emergency that I could quickly get to my pistol. I thought the fingerprint reader would be much quicker than having to fiddle around with a key to open a safe, and it probably would be if it didn’t take multiple tries before it finally reads it correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gunvvault Biometric Mini

Date:July 22, 2013
Purchased yesterday even though the reviews had me worried. Unfortunately, the safe would not open. Programmed in the fingerprints, and then tried to open the safe. could here the mechanism work but the safe did not open. Like a previous reviewer the latch did not work. I was not going to put any effort into lubrication and polishing to get it to work. It should work out of the box. So unfortunately I will have to come up with a different solution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

won't open

Date:June 4, 2013
the safe might open on the first attemt 1 out of 20 tries. This may be due to the fact I am in construction and my finger tips get chewed up, but my wife has the same failure rate. This could be a problem unique to just me or the unit. I'll keep trying to see if it gets easier!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Would definitely purchase again

Date:June 4, 2013
This is an awesome product. You have to set it up and get it working but after that, you are amazed at how cool it is. Opens immediately, always secure, multiple users are no problem. I love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:May 14, 2013
This came just as advertised. You spend good money on this and you want reliability and good construction. This is very sold and secured nicely to my night stand. The mechanics seems solid and the biometric finger has a low miss rate. But it's easy and quick to retry. I like the AC and DC options. That is key.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 74