Customer Reviews for GUNVAULT GunVault Biometric Safe

GUNVAULT GunVault Biometric Safe

Secure, safe and fast. The GunVault Bio uses fingerprint recognition to access the contents. A high-performance algorithm is used to achieve speedy identification of enrolled fingerprints. Every time you open the safe by touching the fingerprint sensor, it adds new information to the fingerprint templates. It also updates slight changes that might occur over time to an enrolled fingerprint as well as helps distinguish variations between enrolled fingerprints. System can handle up to 30 fingerprint templates. AC or battery powered. Available: Micro-MVB 500 Exterior dimensions: 11" x 8-1/2" x 2-1/4". Weight: 5 lbs. Mini-GVB 1000 Exterior dimensions: 8" x 5" x 12". Weight: 8 lbs. Multi-GVB 2000 Exterior dimensions: 10" x 8" x 14". Weight: 14 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.551 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
9
1 Star
16
52 out of 78(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for GunVault Biometric Safe
Review 1 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2016

I returned this item

By
Country: United States
The instructions were confusing. Couldn't even program a code into the unit. Instructions said the 'learn' button is found on the roof in the circular cutout of the foam lining. Not.
Even when I returned the unit, the Cabela's clerk who took the return was confused by the instructions and COULD NOT FIND THE LEARN BUTTON. Also, I was never able to get the battery properly installed in the battery clip. It seemed that the clip and the battery were not compatibly sized.
Also, have learned from others since returning the unit that the fingerprint reader must be wiped clean after every touch to avoid a latent print remaining on the reader that can then be activated to open the unit.
After returning the unit to Cabela's I bought a different brand gun safe WITHOUT a fingerprint reader. It was $100 cheaper and MUCH BETTER BUILT, PACKAGED AND EASY TO PROGRAM AND USE.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2016

Biometric Safe

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This item works as advertised, providing safe locked storage and ready access for authorized persons. It also has provisions for securing (via screws) to the floor or any secure shelving. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2015

Very poor

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My wife bought this while I was at work six months ago, it never worked correctly. The biometric would open about once every ten tries then locked us out completely, after resetting the biometric it now opens up by touching any button. This is NOT a safe way to secure a firearm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015

Not big enough

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Had to return to store.. Interior space to small for 1911 45..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2015

Nice and secure

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very nice little case, secure and sturdy. I put one in my vehicle and one at bedside. Quick , quiet and secure. Well worth the money if one has children around!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

so far so good.

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good safe. With some practice have gotten to the point that it opens the first time. Not a real secure safe (weak looking door) but keeps firearms accessible and out of the wrong hands!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2015

Great to have when kids are in the house

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bruce Jackson from the Acworth store recommended this safe. He has helped me with many other purchases. I keep this safe under my bed and it is easy to reach down there and place my finger in the biometric reader to have it pop open. I love locking my spare weapon when the kids are running around the house. The light on the inside is a nice feature. I only gave it four stars because it is only reliable on the first try about 90 percent of the time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

Very Nice Safe

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have no problems with the Bio function. It also comes with a built in light. Very nice safe, I would recommend this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Very Good Product

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My wife and I both use this pistol safe beside our bed. It opens first time, every time for me but not for my wife! I suspect that she is not inserting her finger properly into the fingerprint reader (either too far or not far enough). With practice I believe that she will master opening the safe on the FIRST try. Other than that we love the sense of security that it gives us to know that our grandchildren cannot access our pistols (loaded, of course). The only reason that I didn't give it a 5 star rating is because it is a fairly pricey safe! I also recommend buying the security cable too!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2015

Good purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have to say, I am very satisfied with my purchase of this safe. It is very well made and has some heft to it. The door is very much spring-loaded, it startled me a bit the first time I opened the safe! The safe is very easy to use, and I have had absolutely no problems whatsoever with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Good purchase

By
Country: Argentina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Good treatment
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015

Big Disappointment in biometric safe

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I Wanted this safe to secure a handgun under the bed. The ieda was to keep childern out and also for the quick access.
The problem I had is the same others had. Somethimes it would work and sometimes it would not. It may have worked 1/3 the time. For what I wanted it for I need it to work 100% of the time. The biometric reader was just not reliable.
I shipped it back and and asked for the refund.
I did not ask for a replacement for the fear ot getting another bad unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2014

Christmas gift

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Grandson LOVED it... says it was his favorite gift!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Great nightstand valt

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Love the quick biometric lock. Makes for easy access. Easy set up and mounting. Only con is that if power goes out you have to use the key. I have my key very hiden because I have 4 kids. I would like to see it open a few times with just the battery.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Good safe

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The safe GunVault Multi Biometric Safe is roomy enough for two handguns, some magazines, and a few other little items. The biometric scanner is easy to program and relatively easy to operate. I say relatively because it will depend on the operator's hands. I have dry skin so my fingers won't present prints for the reader very well, especially if my hands are cold. I would have to moisten them or put lotion on. One trick is to rub your finger on your forehead and get some of the oil off your skin there. Not an ideal situation if you need quick access to your firearm.
Even if your finger opens the safe on the first try, I find using the key is quicker. I'm still very satisfied with the product as a safe. I'm aware of my skin, as I deal with biometric scanners at work on a daily basis, so I can deal with it quickly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Great Gun Safe

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a great gun safe. Works great and opens pretty quickly. It is a little tight with 2 guns in there, but still fit nicely. Safe is large and heavy, so make sure you have a perfect place for it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2014

JUNK

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Went through instructions to program. Would not open. Made several attempts with same results. My son an engineer stopped for a visit. Had him attempt to program with a new battery same results. By now I have read other reviews, and have learned other people were having the same issues. You can hear the mechanism trying to work but door would not open. This is an item that needs to be 100% functional. Manufacturer need to go back to the drawing board.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014

Too touchy

By
I've owned this about 18 months and I'm going to replace it with one without the biometric reader. Initially it worked well, but now it seldom opens first try. Changing the battery does not help. I'm trying to reset it from scratch and finding it too frustrating. Although I hate to reward the company, I'm buying their other model so my predrilled holes will match. (I hope!)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

biometric gun vault

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
The biometric gun vault was nice but the biometrics don't work all the time. It's really bad when your hands are cold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

disappointed in figerprint reader

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was pretty disappointed in this purchase, the fingerprint reader is EXTREMELY finicky and it rarely opens on my first try. I bought the mini vault to store my handgun in my truck (I have my CCW) in case of an emergency that I could quickly get to my pistol. I thought the fingerprint reader would be much quicker than having to fiddle around with a key to open a safe, and it probably would be if it didn’t take multiple tries before it finally reads it correctly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 78