Customer Reviews for GUNVAULT GunVault Biometric Safe

GUNVAULT GunVault Biometric Safe

Secure, safe and fast. The GunVault Bio uses fingerprint recognition to access the contents. A high-performance algorithm is used to achieve speedy identification of enrolled fingerprints. Every time you open the safe by touching the fingerprint sensor, it adds new information to the fingerprint templates. It also updates slight changes that might occur over time to an enrolled fingerprint as well as helps distinguish variations between enrolled fingerprints. System can handle up to 30 fingerprint templates. AC or battery powered. Available: Micro-MVB 500 Exterior dimensions: 11" x 8-1/2" x 2-1/4". Weight: 5 lbs. Mini-GVB 1000 Exterior dimensions: 8" x 5" x 12". Weight: 8 lbs. Multi-GVB 2000 Exterior dimensions: 10" x 8" x 14". Weight: 14 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
8
1 Star
11
40 out of 60(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for GunVault Biometric Safe
Review 1 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

biometric gun vault

Date:January 14, 2014
The biometric gun vault was nice but the biometrics don't work all the time. It's really bad when your hands are cold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

disappointed in figerprint reader

Date:October 22, 2013
I was pretty disappointed in this purchase, the fingerprint reader is EXTREMELY finicky and it rarely opens on my first try. I bought the mini vault to store my handgun in my truck (I have my CCW) in case of an emergency that I could quickly get to my pistol. I thought the fingerprint reader would be much quicker than having to fiddle around with a key to open a safe, and it probably would be if it didn’t take multiple tries before it finally reads it correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gunvvault Biometric Mini

Date:July 22, 2013
Purchased yesterday even though the reviews had me worried. Unfortunately, the safe would not open. Programmed in the fingerprints, and then tried to open the safe. could here the mechanism work but the safe did not open. Like a previous reviewer the latch did not work. I was not going to put any effort into lubrication and polishing to get it to work. It should work out of the box. So unfortunately I will have to come up with a different solution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

won't open

Date:June 4, 2013
the safe might open on the first attemt 1 out of 20 tries. This may be due to the fact I am in construction and my finger tips get chewed up, but my wife has the same failure rate. This could be a problem unique to just me or the unit. I'll keep trying to see if it gets easier!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Would definitely purchase again

Date:June 4, 2013
This is an awesome product. You have to set it up and get it working but after that, you are amazed at how cool it is. Opens immediately, always secure, multiple users are no problem. I love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:May 14, 2013
This came just as advertised. You spend good money on this and you want reliability and good construction. This is very sold and secured nicely to my night stand. The mechanics seems solid and the biometric finger has a low miss rate. But it's easy and quick to retry. I like the AC and DC options. That is key.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Good

Date:April 18, 2013
Have had the GVB 2000 for about 2 months now and it works as advertised. No problems setting up mine or my wifes' fingerprints. The safe opens every time so far. The only difficulty I had was punching out the scored holes for the optional security cable I had purchased. Even though the holes were scored and using the correct size punch, it was very difficult to remove. Other than that I am satisfied with this safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Only opens about one of ten times

Date:April 16, 2013
The fingerprint technology may be there, but not on this unit. Had a very hard time getting it to log in my fingerprint (or my wife's - which it never did) and then it would only open on about every tenth attempt. Certainly no good in a hurry. Goes back tomorrow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The beeping works every time!

Date:April 6, 2013
I purchased this item for safe, quick firearm access at my primary residence. Due to the presence of young kids, I bought into the biometric safeguards. Opted for the GVB 200 for additional capacity. Got the shipment no hassle, and set it up in a few minutes. Fairly intuitive instructions. I've tested this over 100 times, including having others attempt authentication. So far it is highly accurate and quick to open. I like that it pops completely open for ease of access vs. just unlocking. My only complaint is the beeping. I'd like an option to silence that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice, but no way to silence the beep

Date:February 26, 2013
The biometric safe has worked everytime for me. However, there is no way to silence the loud beep whenever you access the safe. It beeps when you turn it on and when it opens. I called Gunvault and there is no way to silence the beep. I was told it is not their fault, but that is the way the biometric scanner comes. There are slowly changing the design but dont know if there will be a fix for the beep.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good idea, POOR product

Date:February 19, 2013
I returned the first one that was shipped to me because it wouldn't open with just the battery. Received the next one and I had high hopes. Opened up with just the battery in the default mode and things looked promising. Programmed my fingerprint, tried it a few times and was satisfied. Came back 45 minutes later and tried it again and it only opened 50% of the time. 90% is not acceptable when you are trying to get to your home protection in a hurry. And seems to be going downhill since. I have pulled the battery, reset it numerous times, have it plugged in and no matter what I try, it is totally undependable. On it's way back tomorrow and requesting a refund this time. Don't waste your time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great safe

Date:January 15, 2013
Easy to use and nice way to lock up a gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far, so good

Date:December 12, 2012
I had to return the standard Gun Vault because after one year of use, the lock would not actuate using the combination. I traded up for the Bio Vault. When I first received the Bio Vault, the lock did not actuate. I gave it a brief spray of WD-40. It seems to be working fine now. The print reader is very fast. So far, so good. If it continues to work like it's currently working now, I'd give it 5 out of 5 stars. Side note: Cabelas provided an absolutly no hassel return of the standard vault after a full year of use. That was exceptional!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disappointed

Date:March 14, 2012
I purchased the GunVault based on reputation of Cabelas thinking they would only carry top notch merchandise. When I received the gun vault, I inserted the 9 volt battery as instructed and immediatly the battery got too hot to handle. The vault was malfunctioning and could not be operated. I called the toll free number as indicated and Gun Vault was happy to send a replacement, which took 6 weeks to arrive. The second vault, while the battery wiring was fine, once programmed, the vault would not open consistently. 1 out of 5 attempts would it work as it should. I called Cabelas and shipped it back. Cabelas has stood behind the product they sell, but I will not be recommending this product to anyone. Very disappointed with Gun Vault!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not opening

Date:October 15, 2011
I bought this at cabelas in dundee michigan. when you place your finger in the scanner it takes several like about 6 times on average to open safe. It claims it takes 3 seconds to gain access to your weapon which is not accurate. It can take about 50 seconds on average to access your pistol. in a real situation say at 2 am intruder in your house you will probably be not be able to access your gun in a timely manner. poor product cabelas should not even sell it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lisbon, ME
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I Rarely Give 1-Star Reviews...

Date:June 29, 2011
...but this product deserves it. When it worked it was finicky at best. Shortly after I got it the motor died...it had been opened about 6 times. GunVault customer service replaced it and, several months later, the replacement unit stopped working (whirrs but will not unlock). This time the manufacturer customer service was much more difficult, to the point where I wrote the whole thing off. Why would I want a 3rd piece of junk? I had the finger-button model as well which I loved...for 2 years until that one also failed. That whirring sound is NOT what I want to hear when I need my weapon in a pinch!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Idea, not so great product

Date:November 18, 2010
Bought this because of the security and ease of access offered by the bio-metrics. Reviews were mixed, but I did it anyway. The Bio-metric scanner on the Micro worked great the first week or so. Had no trouble getting multiple fingerprints programmed, and it read them first try every time - the first week. Have now had it several months, and it has yet to read any fingerprints programmed into it. I would recommend either the keypad version, or be prepared to keep the key right next to it. Like others have said, I would hate to have to rely on it in an emergency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: howell nj
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not reliable

Date:November 15, 2010
I bought the GVB1000 biovault because of all the ads that said it was so good. Got it home and there were no directions in the box ( no big deal print set of web site ). Unit it would not program properly so called tech. support. they take forvever to get to and were not very helpful. Unit still did operate as advertised and would not consistantly open with finger prints. ABSOLUTLY WOULD NOT WANT TO DEPEND ON IT IN EMERGENCY. I returned it after 4 days of playing with it. Just a lemon, who knows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good enough, but touchy

Date:July 1, 2010
Upsides:
- sturdy and heavy
- the biometrics cannot be guessed like a pushbutton combination can
Downsides:
- had a lot of trouble getting a second fingerprint entered
- scanner is touchy, and costs precious seconds to reset if you don't get a good scan the first time
- internal light is too dim to be useful, and goes out after a few seconds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GunVault Biometric Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So good I bought a another one

Date:May 28, 2010
I bought a biometric microvault for my wife. Although it was backorderd for over a month, once it came we immediately set it up. It recognizes both our fingerprints 99+% of the time. Misreads are usually because we did not totally scan the fingerprint or lifted the finger too soon.
Once I saw the quality and the reliability of the unit, I bought another one for my personnal weapons. I am able to keep my 9mm and 380 comfortably in the safe with easy access. Not sure if the Microvault with Biometric is TSA approved, but I will find that out later.
Very satisfied customer and would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to have a gun handy and protected from the kids etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 60