Customer Reviews for HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color: Green.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(493 Reviews) 493
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 493 reviews
5 Stars
350
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
13
1 Star
15
458 out of 492(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 26, 2016
Great hearing protection, and comfortable to wear for a long period of time. The sound amplification works well, having a conversation is no longer a problem while shooting. I plan on purchasing a second pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Should have bought sooner

Date:January 13, 2016
I bought these for duck hunting and they worked great. I could hear very well with them on and they protected me from the gun blast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't be happier with my purchase

Date:January 5, 2016
I purchased 2 pairs of these after months of debate and couldn't be happier with their performance. I like being able to hear things while waterfowl hunting and with normal plugs that wasn't possible. I'm able to communicate easily in the blind, without having to yell at my hunting partner now. The noise cancelation of higher decibels works great also and is almost shocking at how many sounds get cut out. If i ever lose/break mine, i will be buying a new pair that same day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 5, 2016
This our 3rd pair of these. They fit nice,work great, and do not hit the stock when shooting.
I have one pair in the garage to use when running blowers,mowers or trimmers.
Also the best price around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best investment this year

Date:January 5, 2016
The ear protection is great! they really work both at the range and in the field. Very comfortable. I really like the 4 hour of continuous use auto shut off. Saves the batteries if you forget to turn them off. They keep the ears warm while hunting as well. I used them both for elk hunting and pheasant hunting, I will not go to the range or field without them. I am throwing my custom ear plugs in the drawer and leaving them there. I can easily hear my hunting and shooting partners conversations and I never knew how much noise the pheasants really make when running thru the cover. Great investment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good choice

Date:January 5, 2016
A good choice for ear protection. Indoors and when around higher power weapons I put in foam ear plugs and then turn up the amplifier to easily hear normal conversation while having even more protection from loud bangs. Save your hearing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:December 25, 2015
This is one of the best purchases I have ever made in a long time. I am hard of hearing and do a lot of waterfowl hunting. In the past I was not able to hear ducks quack or there winds as they flew over. After using sport ear muff, not only was I able to hear ducks and geese, but I was able to locate them. I hunt with a 10 ga. shotgun this earmuffs shut off with any noise over 85 db . I am going to purchase additional ones for my grandsons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Protection and hearing enhancement

Date:December 22, 2015
I didn't find the hearing protection as good as high quality ear muffs at the range primarily because the shooting stations are covered by a metal roof. However; these are great for hunting in the open providing adequate hearing protection from my own weapons muzzle blast or that of a near by shooter in the open. The big plus for me, since I have some hearing loss, was the sound enhancement feature which I found very useful while sitting on a stand in heavy woods where visibility is limited and hearing well is an asset.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works very well

Date:December 22, 2015
Far better protection over standard ear protection blocks out load noise while amplifying lower sounds like being able to communicate easily with those around you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad

Date:December 18, 2015
Worst designed product I've ever got from Cabelas, unless your head is the size of a soft ball they won't work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still going strong after 5 years

Date:December 10, 2015
I have used these in the woods and at the range for 5 years and other than a little wear, they're going strong. In fact the batteries are the ones I put in when I first got it. However, the real selling point for me is they were inadvertently left out in the woods by one of my kids for 2 weeks. Finally realized today (12/10/15) where it might be and sure enough, found it. Put them on, turned on the power and they still worked!! Mind you it's rained during that period of time. While the low range on the volume is lacking, I can live with it easily. I've heard the range master, deer and turkeys were shot while protecting my ears. I'd definitely buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Limited Sucess

Date:December 8, 2015
Bought two pair for 2015 firearm deer season and hunted roughly 6 of the days. One pair had a malfunction in the right ear about half way through the season. Thought swapping out batteries would solve the problem, but no.
The speaker in the headset had to 'warm up' and eventually the sound amplification took effect and both right and left ears were getting balanced sound. I have yet to get back to Cabela's to exchange (hope they will!!).
Otherwise very comfortable and worked as intended when shooting weapon. For season six shots were taken by the two of us and no ear ringing at all while sitting inside wooden blinds. Gun calibers were .35 rem and 7mm-08.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy

Date:December 1, 2015
I used these sport muffs for deer hunting. They worked great. The muffs amplified the sounds of the animals during my hunt and blocked out the sound of the gun when fired. They also kept my ears warm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Earmuffs

Date:October 15, 2015
They perform as advertised, allowing me to shoot as well as hear conversations. Difficult to wear over a hat but it can be done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:October 1, 2015
I have been wearing these for shooting, mowing and tractor work and all while listening to my I Pod. They are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not good purchase

Date:September 29, 2015
I got 2 pair and I am disappointed in them both. You have to keep turning volume up and down. To talk turn volume up when you want to shoot turn volume down. Friend has two pair , you set the setting you want and leave it. Gun goes off auto blocks the noise out. Will be tossing these in the garbage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good Earmuffs

Date:August 30, 2015
I have moderate to sever hearing loss so I wear foam hearing protection as well as these earmuffs. They are actually AWESOME. They allow me to hear people talking (range commands, etc), but when shots go off they electronically "turn off" to protect your hearing.
I have three pair for my family. Would highly recommend.
PS. I read some people have problems finding the battery compartment - I did too. There was an instruction page with mine I thought...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

inserting batteries

Date:August 21, 2015
I just received my Sport Electronic Earmuffs--but can not figure how-where to install the 2 batteries. No doubt it is something obvious, but I can not find it. No user manual (for such an uncomplicated item).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still Testing

Date:August 12, 2015
I am one of those guys that wears the foam ear plugs AND a pair of ear muffs at the range. I like to go shooting with my son and at first thought he could use these so he could hear me better, but I thought I would wear them first. In short, I like them, I don't turn the sound up real loud, but they seem to work just as well as the others, but they do allow you to hear better. I tried these on in the house and they are real sensitive! Honestly, I have these and a "normal" pair. I think for long range sessions, I might switch when I feel like I need/want better protection - but I still wear foamies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:July 7, 2015
First pair I purchased did not cut out the load sound. I took them to the gun range, on the first shot, The sound about blew out my eardrums! They amplified the sound, not cut it out. 2nd pair did a little better job but still am not that impressed with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 493