Customer Reviews for HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color/camo pattern: Green, Mossy Oak®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(402 Reviews) 402
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 402 reviews
5 Stars
283
4 Stars
82
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
10
1 Star
12
374 out of 402(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, Could Be Better

Date:November 18, 2014
Purchased these for hunting and the range. Good overall ear protection, but has some negatives. Thus the 3 stars, should be 3 1/2 stars. They don't fit over headwear very well, adjusting fit is not easy( have to be careful as they appear to want to tear where the metal wire meets the material), and if a phone or electronic device gets to close static is heard. Given all this they still work as advertised, blocking out loud noises and allowing you to hear normal conversation and sounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent earmuff!

Date:November 18, 2014
I watched a video review about these earmuffs and they are above and beyond what they said. I wish I had these 20 years ago. The noise cancellation is great and it amplifies regular ambient sounds such as conversation. I even wear them hunting sometimes and it amplifies the sounds in the woods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ear Muffs

Date:November 18, 2014
These are not bad ear muffs for the money. They do increase your hearing of things around you and enable you to hear what is going on, just don't turn them up too much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product For Price

Date:November 11, 2014
I was introduced to Impact sport earmuffs at my place of work,was impressed with them !!! so I purchased two of them for my wife & I for our back yard range, Would recommend !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Earmuff

Date:November 5, 2014
Finally got around to shooting with these yesterday. Pleased with their performance so far. Used them in a deer stand recently, and the hearing enhancement took some getting used to, but I was picking up noises that I seriously could not hear with out these on. If your chair squeaks in the stand, it sounds like the whole world heard it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product for the money

Date:November 4, 2014
These do an excellant job reducing the sound when needed. Use for my own shooting time and as an RSO at a live fire range I wear mine 4-6 hours at a time and these are very comfortable in the summer heat and the fall cold. I would like to have seen an L.E.D. to know when they are actually on at a glance. Maybe a l;ittle more sound reduction as well. Overall a great buy for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

got another set

Date:November 4, 2014
got one for my wife, she's happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Purchase

Date:November 4, 2014
Love these earmuffs for the price. work great and pack up small. Would buy again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best That I Have Tried for Hunting

Date:October 29, 2014
I purchased this earmuff primarily to use for extended periods at the range and secondarily for hunting. I am 71 years old and my hearing has been compromised over the years by both inadequate ear protection when shooting and (probably) by genetics. I bought these a couple of weeks before my annual Colorado elk hunt and used them while checking the sights on my rifles at the bench. I was pleased to discover that, as advertised, they did not interfere in any way with the rifle stocks while shooting.
I wore them every day while hunting. At the end of the first day, they had become a bit uncomfortable, but in subsequent days they became just a part of my gear. I was able to hear sounds in the woods much better than I have for quite some time. The muff was exposed to snow, sleet and icy mist for two of the days and continued to work as advertised without any problems. One day was quite windy and wind noise was not a problem, either.
My partners and I use FRS radios to keep track of one another and answer requests for assistance. It was nice to be able to stick the radio under my coat and monitor the frequency with the input jack. In short, I really liked the light weight, the fit, the sound quality and the ability to adjust the amplification to augment my hearing deficiencies, not to mention the ear protection from the muzzle blast of my rifle while hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Ear Protection

Date:October 28, 2014
I have the larger Howard Leight muffs and are great these are much more compact and fold up unlike the
larger ones. Fit is snug around the ears but good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HOWARD LEIGHT IMPACT SPORT EARMUFF

Date:October 28, 2014
These muffs are everything they say they are and more. The best ear protection product I've had the pleasure to own or use in 52 years of shooting. a well known outdoor magazine gear review recommended buying them off the manufacturer's web site for full list price. I got mine from Cabela's for way less and with free shipping! A great product at a great price, with a great deal! Yee-ha! I love the slim profile on these because they do not interfere with the rifle stock, so I can use them to hunt wild hogs and deer, with my lever action rifle. Very cool. And the adjustable volume on the ear mics are fabulous. Overall a 5 star product, no doubt. Why not get yours, today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

as advertised

Date:October 28, 2014
I bought these to sight in. They work great. Haven't used them in the woods, but you can tell that they do amplify quiet sound and still block loud noises.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:October 22, 2014
I have never owned a pair of noise canceling earmuffs but I absolutely love them! At the gun range I could never really understand what people were saying until using these. From this day forward I will own a pair for the rest of my life! I don't know how they compare to other similar units but I am very happy with them so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Better Choices Out There

Date:October 21, 2014
Purchased these because they were on sale and I was intrigued to have the option to plug in my own external device to listen to (i-Pod, MP3, etc.) Brand new out of the box, the muffs would not amplify external sounds except when the volume was turned all the way up, so conversations were louder than wanted. The amplification would also cut in and out at will, giving a crackling noise in the process. When I was shooting, the muffs worked fine and would cut off at the shot. When shots other than my own were fired on the range, the muffs would NOT shut off, so now the gunshots were amplified as well! NOT GOOD. The fold away design lent itself to a poor fit, not all that comfortable for a day at the range. I've used and worn better that cost less, so I took them back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Made

Date:October 15, 2014
Performs just as advertised. Excellent for shooting at the range and occasional use for loud power tools. Allows great amplified voice clarity while blocking out the harmful blasts. A big but quiet "Bang for your Buck".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worked great

Date:October 14, 2014
I am very happy w/this purchase and have already recommended these many times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT FOR THE RANGE!!

Date:October 14, 2014
For the price, these are the best hearing protectors I've ever owned!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HEARING

Date:October 7, 2014
muffs do a good job limiting outside noise, i wore them on a recent dove hunt, 200 shots in 3 days and they muffled the shots just fine. i could also hear my buddies calls, talking etc. they are a little tight after a hour or 2 of wearing but they work very well for intended purposes. only improvement would be some kind of tension adjustment, but then price would be 25--??% more so these are good value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howard Light Impact Sport Earmuffs

Date:September 23, 2014
These are great. I will be buying another pair.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:September 16, 2014
I wear these to the range and to the field. They are comfortable and work well. Very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 402