Customer Reviews for IMPACT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

IMPACT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color: Green.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(498 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 498 reviews
5 Stars
355
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
13
1 Star
15
462 out of 497(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2016

Very nice earmuffs

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This was my first pair of electronic earmuffs and I am very pleased. I have always worn the standard earmuffs that block out all noises, which makes it difficult to hear someone talking to you while wearing them. These electronic earmuffs not only eliminate that issue but also amplifies other sounds such as your pistols action as it cycles and the brass hitting the floor. Takes a little getting used to but very cool.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

Safety

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
good product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Works great for all around shooting

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I normally use foamies plus earmuffs to protect my hearing but now I use these over foamies. I can hear people talking easily and when outdoors I can hear vehicles or people approaching which makes it safer. It is a little wider than my thinnest earmuffs so using a rifle does bump them just a little. Well worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016

HOWARD LEIGHT ELECTRONIC EARMUFFS

By
I have had custom fitted earplugs but these muffs are better than any hearing protection I have used before. Very slim profile and great amplification for low level sounds as well as protection from firearm report. I would highly recommend these for anyone that goes to the range or in noisy work conditions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

Must Have for the target range

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My old muffs were not amplified, and totally blocked out everything. Now I can have a conversation with them on, more importantly hear the range officer's commands.
Great product, should have bought them 20 years ago.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great hearing protection, and comfortable to wear for a long period of time. The sound amplification works well, having a conversation is no longer a problem while shooting. I plan on purchasing a second pair.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2016

Should have bought sooner

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought these for duck hunting and they worked great. I could hear very well with them on and they protected me from the gun blast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Couldn't be happier with my purchase

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased 2 pairs of these after months of debate and couldn't be happier with their performance. I like being able to hear things while waterfowl hunting and with normal plugs that wasn't possible. I'm able to communicate easily in the blind, without having to yell at my hunting partner now. The noise cancelation of higher decibels works great also and is almost shocking at how many sounds get cut out. If i ever lose/break mine, i will be buying a new pair that same day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This our 3rd pair of these. They fit nice,work great, and do not hit the stock when shooting.
I have one pair in the garage to use when running blowers,mowers or trimmers.
Also the best price around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Best investment this year

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The ear protection is great! they really work both at the range and in the field. Very comfortable. I really like the 4 hour of continuous use auto shut off. Saves the batteries if you forget to turn them off. They keep the ears warm while hunting as well. I used them both for elk hunting and pheasant hunting, I will not go to the range or field without them. I am throwing my custom ear plugs in the drawer and leaving them there. I can easily hear my hunting and shooting partners conversations and I never knew how much noise the pheasants really make when running thru the cover. Great investment!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Good choice

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A good choice for ear protection. Indoors and when around higher power weapons I put in foam ear plugs and then turn up the amplifier to easily hear normal conversation while having even more protection from loud bangs. Save your hearing!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2015

Best Purchase Ever

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is one of the best purchases I have ever made in a long time. I am hard of hearing and do a lot of waterfowl hunting. In the past I was not able to hear ducks quack or there winds as they flew over. After using sport ear muff, not only was I able to hear ducks and geese, but I was able to locate them. I hunt with a 10 ga. shotgun this earmuffs shut off with any noise over 85 db . I am going to purchase additional ones for my grandsons.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Protection and hearing enhancement

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I didn't find the hearing protection as good as high quality ear muffs at the range primarily because the shooting stations are covered by a metal roof. However; these are great for hunting in the open providing adequate hearing protection from my own weapons muzzle blast or that of a near by shooter in the open. The big plus for me, since I have some hearing loss, was the sound enhancement feature which I found very useful while sitting on a stand in heavy woods where visibility is limited and hearing well is an asset.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

works very well

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Far better protection over standard ear protection blocks out load noise while amplifying lower sounds like being able to communicate easily with those around you
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2015

Bad

By
Worst designed product I've ever got from Cabelas, unless your head is the size of a soft ball they won't work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2015

Still going strong after 5 years

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used these in the woods and at the range for 5 years and other than a little wear, they're going strong. In fact the batteries are the ones I put in when I first got it. However, the real selling point for me is they were inadvertently left out in the woods by one of my kids for 2 weeks. Finally realized today (12/10/15) where it might be and sure enough, found it. Put them on, turned on the power and they still worked!! Mind you it's rained during that period of time. While the low range on the volume is lacking, I can live with it easily. I've heard the range master, deer and turkeys were shot while protecting my ears. I'd definitely buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2015

Limited Sucess

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought two pair for 2015 firearm deer season and hunted roughly 6 of the days. One pair had a malfunction in the right ear about half way through the season. Thought swapping out batteries would solve the problem, but no.
The speaker in the headset had to 'warm up' and eventually the sound amplification took effect and both right and left ears were getting balanced sound. I have yet to get back to Cabela's to exchange (hope they will!!).
Otherwise very comfortable and worked as intended when shooting weapon. For season six shots were taken by the two of us and no ear ringing at all while sitting inside wooden blinds. Gun calibers were .35 rem and 7mm-08.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Good buy

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I used these sport muffs for deer hunting. They worked great. The muffs amplified the sounds of the animals during my hunt and blocked out the sound of the gun when fired. They also kept my ears warm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2015

Earmuffs

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
They perform as advertised, allowing me to shoot as well as hear conversations. Difficult to wear over a hat but it can be done.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2015

Great

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been wearing these for shooting, mowing and tractor work and all while listening to my I Pod. They are great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 498