Customer Reviews for HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color/camo pattern: Green, Mossy Oak®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(476 Reviews) 476
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 476 reviews
5 Stars
338
4 Stars
97
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
12
1 Star
13
444 out of 476(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good Earmuffs

Date:August 30, 2015
I have moderate to sever hearing loss so I wear foam hearing protection as well as these earmuffs. They are actually AWESOME. They allow me to hear people talking (range commands, etc), but when shots go off they electronically "turn off" to protect your hearing.
I have three pair for my family. Would highly recommend.
PS. I read some people have problems finding the battery compartment - I did too. There was an instruction page with mine I thought...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

inserting batteries

Date:August 21, 2015
I just received my Sport Electronic Earmuffs--but can not figure how-where to install the 2 batteries. No doubt it is something obvious, but I can not find it. No user manual (for such an uncomplicated item).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still Testing

Date:August 12, 2015
I am one of those guys that wears the foam ear plugs AND a pair of ear muffs at the range. I like to go shooting with my son and at first thought he could use these so he could hear me better, but I thought I would wear them first. In short, I like them, I don't turn the sound up real loud, but they seem to work just as well as the others, but they do allow you to hear better. I tried these on in the house and they are real sensitive! Honestly, I have these and a "normal" pair. I think for long range sessions, I might switch when I feel like I need/want better protection - but I still wear foamies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:July 7, 2015
First pair I purchased did not cut out the load sound. I took them to the gun range, on the first shot, The sound about blew out my eardrums! They amplified the sound, not cut it out. 2nd pair did a little better job but still am not that impressed with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrific!

Date:July 2, 2015
These have 2 great uses: 1)--minimizing noise at a gun range and 2) allowing you to really tune in and hear game moving through the woods. Almost an unfair advantage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

Date:June 30, 2015
Works well even with a 50 cal shooting next to me. I could hear the hits on steel plate 1100 yards away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can you hear me now?

Date:June 30, 2015
I just started using these muffs and so far so good. I'm working up a load for a 7mm Remington mag and to say the gun is a bit noisy is an understatement. While wearing the muffs I can hear normal conversation, gravel under my feet while going the the car and target board. The first thing I do when I get near the shooting benches is put my muffs on. Comfort is excellent. A good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amplfied earmuff's

Date:June 23, 2015
I have owned several brands and consider these the best.
Superior sound control above their rating with good amplification for on range conversation.
Reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Returned for refund

Date:May 30, 2015
These ear muffs appear to be well made. They fit comfortably and snuggly. The problem is they make a very irritating popping noise when they are turned on. I returned the first pair. The replacement pair made the same noise so I returned them for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great earmuffs

Date:May 20, 2015
Although I have not used it yet on the firing range, I find the sound very clear while watching TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Earmuffs

Date:May 5, 2015
Used the earmuffs twice and they work well. Really like the low audible feature!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Addjustment

Date:April 28, 2015
There is no adjustment on the head band. My head must be to tall, top of head to ears. I could not get them low enough to cover my ears. Had to send them back. every pair from this company is made the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good muff

Date:April 7, 2015
I coach the high school clay target league and needed to be able to hear the kids questions and protect my hearing. These work great. Also worked good when I was useing a chain saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I have tried in 20 Years of Teaching

Date:February 5, 2015
The Howard Leight Impacts so far are the best light weight electronic ear protectors i have tried in 20 plus years of firearm instruction. I like that they cut off automatically; appreciate the fit on my head which is comfortable yet tight to prevent any open spots. all in all a good value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pitch perfect

Date:January 27, 2015
My ears couldn't be any happier with me for buying this is your protection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hearing is believing

Date:January 21, 2015
The Impact earmuffs are really that good of a value. I can't say I have tried any of the high end electronics, but these do what they are supposed to do. Once you have a tight fit over your ears, they will muffle the sound of any rifle or pistol sufficiently as to not have to worry about your ears. At the same time you can hear other people speaking at the range. While hunting the can even be used like hearing aids...to enhance the noise from game animals. This is my second pair and I bought this one for my son. He also enjoys the ability to plug in his iPad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ear protection yet

Date:January 20, 2015
These are the best and safest muffs I have ever used. It reduces noise while you can still have a normal converstion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hearing Protection

Date:January 20, 2015
Out of the different electronic hearing protection sets that I've used, these are by far the best. I'm sure there may be better options at a much higher price. But for the money, I think the Howard Leight Impact Sports are hard to beat. The volume control is simple and out of the way. I've never accidentally turned them on or off. The increase in sound is amazing, and so is the decrease of loud sounds. And they are very comfortable. Sometimes I forget I have the on. I have tried some of the cheaper ear pro's, and although these are a little more, they are definitely worth it. For the money there is nothing negative that I can say about them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well made material!

Date:January 20, 2015
Works well for outdoor shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect! Great product at a good price.

Date:January 20, 2015
These were out of stock when I ordered in early December but arrived just in time for Christmas.
They worked well on the sporting clays course, dulling the reports of the guns while allowing me to communicate easily with my trapper.
I haven't had an opportunity to try these on upland bird hunting but I imagine the to amplification of ambient sounds will sharpen my ability to hear wildlife
I'm going to bring them along when I take my grandson to the exceedingly noisy Barnum and Bailey circus this February and probably on all my future airline trips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 476