Customer Reviews for HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color/camo pattern: Green, Mossy Oak®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 379
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 379 reviews
5 Stars
267
4 Stars
77
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
352 out of 379(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect fit

Date:July 22, 2014
Work perfectly. Cannot wait for hunting season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:July 12, 2014
I shoot a lot of clays and these Earmuffs really work well for me. I can shoulder the gun with no interference, compact design, and full range of adjustment to include enhanced hearing even while protecting your hearing.
Should of had a pair long ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:July 9, 2014
Easy to use. Nothing complicated. Great price too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great, inexpensive, e muffs

Date:July 9, 2014
work great at amplifying range commands while keeping gun shots muffled. I can hear crystal clear when things are quiet with no distortion. Great muffs for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:June 13, 2014
Glad I finally made the move and got these great digital earmuffs. So much better than non-digital ones. It is imperative to be able to hear commands during shooting classes and still have the hearing protection that is needed. Thank you for a quality product that didn't break the bank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Totally surprised!

Date:June 10, 2014
I wear high tech hearing aids and tried these Howard Leight Impact Sport Earmuffs at an indoor range. I took off my hearing aids, put on the muffs and cranked them up. I could hear the range guard talking very clearly while others were shooting. I was impressed with the impact noise canceling ability of these muffs while blasting away with my new Glock 41 Gen4. Very comfortable and no fatigue factor. What a nice compliment to accompany my new Glock. Worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish it fit better

Date:May 28, 2014
I bought these for my petite wife. She likes them fine but wishes they could be adjusted to fit a smaller persons head. The noise abatement is somewhat compromised because of the poor fit
On my fat head they seem to work fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Lithuania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good

Date:May 28, 2014
Very good, ergonomic etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Equipment

Date:May 20, 2014
I have used these for years previously when my department would provide them. Finally had to get a set for my own personal use shooting clays and handgun. Fit well and don't bump up when shouldering the shotgun. Battery life is great if you remember to turn the unit off when putting them up for the day. You can pay more but you won't get any better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I can hear the birds

Date:May 16, 2014
I have been using ear plugs for several years to stop damaging my already damaged hearing. Of course I miss out on a lot because of this. Tried these out and amazed at what I've been missing. I can not only hear game, but people at a distance and can talk with my hunting partners....so it becomes a positive for safety issues and I think improves my hunting experience. They of course pick up some background noise but still better than not hearing at all or damaging your hearing. They seem durable and comfortable to wear. Good buy for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Headset

Date:May 13, 2014
This is my second pair of Howard Leight ear protection.
I purchased this set because my daughter has started shooting and hunting with me. They are great for protection and for me to be able to give her instructions at the same time. I also like the way they fold up to fit in our range bag or blind bag. Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product for the money

Date:April 29, 2014
Used this product as hearing enhancement and protection for myself and a pair for my four year old son and turkey hunting apprentice in MIssouri this spring. Good quality & did the job as I had hoped on both levels. Only wish battery life was longer. Average battery life was approximately four hours in between battery changes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hearing protection

Date:April 15, 2014
Great product for the shooting range and good price point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish was availabe 20 years ago

Date:April 15, 2014
I purchased the Leight Impact about a month age used it approx. six times best investment I've made for years. I'm tone deft so have a problem with certain voice tones, the adjustable volume on sounds improves my hearing. I tempted to leave them on..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:April 15, 2014
Works great, bought them so when hunting pigs we could still whisper to each other and when all the shooting starts not lose our hearing. I have used them at the range and they work great for that too. The only problem I have is when trying to look down my scope on my AR, they don't quite fit, so they end up getting pushed to the side and off my ear so they don't really work. But then again what ear muffs don't get in the way when shooting an AR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sound without the blast

Date:April 9, 2014
Bought a pair for my son and myself, excellent for giving/receiving instructions while shooting, can speak to each other and hear what's being said but blocks out the muzzle blast very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As advertised

Date:April 1, 2014
Comfortable, light, small profile, cuts off shots, magnifies sounds, great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Muffs!

Date:March 24, 2014
Due to shooting indoors quite a bit, I shopped around for some over-the-ear protection to go along with my standard ear plugs. The Leight protectors seemed to fit the bill and were in my price range. The microphones and speakers are an added bonus to what I have been using.
Today, I went to my local range and put them to the test. Shooting my S&W 40 was a breeze. Even the guy 4 lanes down from me with the .500 Magnum caused me no discomfort and Range Commands were easily heard. I wear eyeglasses with “coverall” safety glasses over them. With these noise suppressors, the fit was extremely comfortable and even with the glasses, gave a good fit around the ears.
The way these collapse means that I can fit these, the Glock, 5 magazines, safety glasses, speed loader and 3 boxes of ammo into my standard sized ammo can. The headphone jack means that I can also plug in my MP3 player if I want to, but I found out that if you turn the volume up on the speakers, the mics are still active, so any ambient noise is also amplified. If I had any suggestions, Howard Leight should incorporate a mic on/off switch in their next rendition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I've owned

Date:March 15, 2014
I'd give 4.5 stars, but that's not an option.
After shooting for 30+ years now, I was skeptical about these offering any better protection than standard muffs. After all, the more "gizmos" you add to something, the more likely it is to fail.
After 3 months of heavy use, all I can say is "WOW!". They knocked it out of the park with these.
The response to sound is almost instantaneous and I've never felt a sharp hit even using rifles indoors.
The only downside is that when you're speaking to someone while there is firing going on, the constant cutting out of the mic is a bit irritating. I have noticed that there is some digital static when the cell phone is pinging the tower so I usually just leave the phone in my range bag as I am focusing on shooting when at the range.
I found that leaving the earmuffs extended (as opposed to folded up) for storage doesn't stress the electronic cord running over the headband. That should reduce or eliminate the likelihood of the muffs mic failing.
If you're looking to try a set of electronic muffs, grab these on sale or with your points.. you won't be sorry!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love!

Date:March 6, 2014
This product is fantastic! I would recommend it to anyone!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 379