Customer Reviews for HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color/camo pattern: Green, Mossy Oak®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(367 Reviews) 367
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 367 reviews
5 Stars
257
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
340 out of 367(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hearing protection

Date:April 15, 2014
Great product for the shooting range and good price point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wish was availabe 20 years ago

Date:April 15, 2014
I purchased the Leight Impact about a month age used it approx. six times best investment I've made for years. I'm tone deft so have a problem with certain voice tones, the adjustable volume on sounds improves my hearing. I tempted to leave them on..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:April 15, 2014
Works great, bought them so when hunting pigs we could still whisper to each other and when all the shooting starts not lose our hearing. I have used them at the range and they work great for that too. The only problem I have is when trying to look down my scope on my AR, they don't quite fit, so they end up getting pushed to the side and off my ear so they don't really work. But then again what ear muffs don't get in the way when shooting an AR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sound without the blast

Date:April 9, 2014
Bought a pair for my son and myself, excellent for giving/receiving instructions while shooting, can speak to each other and hear what's being said but blocks out the muzzle blast very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As advertised

Date:April 1, 2014
Comfortable, light, small profile, cuts off shots, magnifies sounds, great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Muffs!

Date:March 24, 2014
Due to shooting indoors quite a bit, I shopped around for some over-the-ear protection to go along with my standard ear plugs. The Leight protectors seemed to fit the bill and were in my price range. The microphones and speakers are an added bonus to what I have been using.
Today, I went to my local range and put them to the test. Shooting my S&W 40 was a breeze. Even the guy 4 lanes down from me with the .500 Magnum caused me no discomfort and Range Commands were easily heard. I wear eyeglasses with “coverall” safety glasses over them. With these noise suppressors, the fit was extremely comfortable and even with the glasses, gave a good fit around the ears.
The way these collapse means that I can fit these, the Glock, 5 magazines, safety glasses, speed loader and 3 boxes of ammo into my standard sized ammo can. The headphone jack means that I can also plug in my MP3 player if I want to, but I found out that if you turn the volume up on the speakers, the mics are still active, so any ambient noise is also amplified. If I had any suggestions, Howard Leight should incorporate a mic on/off switch in their next rendition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I've owned

Date:March 15, 2014
I'd give 4.5 stars, but that's not an option.
After shooting for 30+ years now, I was skeptical about these offering any better protection than standard muffs. After all, the more "gizmos" you add to something, the more likely it is to fail.
After 3 months of heavy use, all I can say is "WOW!". They knocked it out of the park with these.
The response to sound is almost instantaneous and I've never felt a sharp hit even using rifles indoors.
The only downside is that when you're speaking to someone while there is firing going on, the constant cutting out of the mic is a bit irritating. I have noticed that there is some digital static when the cell phone is pinging the tower so I usually just leave the phone in my range bag as I am focusing on shooting when at the range.
I found that leaving the earmuffs extended (as opposed to folded up) for storage doesn't stress the electronic cord running over the headband. That should reduce or eliminate the likelihood of the muffs mic failing.
If you're looking to try a set of electronic muffs, grab these on sale or with your points.. you won't be sorry!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love!

Date:March 6, 2014
This product is fantastic! I would recommend it to anyone!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work as expected

Date:March 5, 2014
I was pleased with fit and function. Only drawback is your ears get really warm. Might be uncomfortable on hot days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Howard Leight muffs

Date:March 4, 2014
Good value for the price. Very good volume control. Suggest using foam ear plugs in conjunction with the Sport Muffs when shooting indoor ranges.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prevent hearing loss

Date:March 4, 2014
For my purposes, these are great! I just wish that I could have used something like this some forty years. ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best purchase for season!

Date:January 26, 2014
I picked these up to use on hunts just before duck season opened. Since then, i've used them every time out, about 2x a week for the entire season.
The amplification is awesome, i heard wing flaps before seeing birds coming out of the tullies. I could have conversations at very low levels with others in the blind with no issues.
I still had hearing after a weekend with 3 other guys shooting (i was shooting 3.5" #2s). These earmuffs are awesome.
My head is large, XXL hats barely fit, yet i could easily slip a facemask/headcover over these . I stayed hidden.
I do some work with my ears, so hearing protection is important and these worked way better than in ear plugs.
I will be picking up a few more pairs for the wife and kids for when they go out with me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ear Muffs

Date:January 21, 2014
This is my second pair as I am happy with the first pair. These are in camo for hunting. HAving two pair helps the oppotion of having heating protection for my friends when we shoot.
I love the micro phone as my hearing is as good (due to age) and now I can hear what is going on arround me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:January 12, 2014
I do a lot of waterfowl hunting and was beginning to get headaches from all of the shooting, I wore these and no more headaches. I really like how you can tune the amplifier to hear everything including wing beats and as soon as the gun goes off its silence, you can even carry a normal conversation with your buddies no problem....great product I absolutely love them !!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impact Noise Earmuffs

Date:January 8, 2014
I purchased these as a Xmas gift for my son who works at a shooting range as a range safety officer. This is an extremely loud area as hand guns and rifles of all calibers are constantly being fired. Communication with the costumers is part of the job so he needs to be able to hear their comments. A nice feature for him is at the cease fire periods he can easily remove them .
If there is anything negative to say , I tried shooting skeet with them and it did not work as they bump the stock as I mount my shotgun.
Overall a good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't fit right

Date:January 8, 2014
I bought these for my 11 year old son for Christmas. I tried them on before wrapping them and they didn't confirm to my head properly. It left a gap below one of the ears. When my son opened them and tried them on, he said the same thing. We will be returning them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value

Date:January 7, 2014
I use the Howard Leight earmuffs for work in Hunter Education and like them well enough to get them for all three of my kids. They are reasonably priced, have adjustable volume control and the low profile keeps them out of the way while shooting. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electronic ear defenders

Date:January 7, 2014
These are brilliant in their performance...I own three pairs, and bought 7 more for my Air Force friends that I introduced clay target, and hunting to. I wear mine hunting as well...and while they can get a bit hot on the dove opener...they are great in a duck blind, or frosty quail hunt. I have had other brands, at a lot more money...these are still the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well

Date:January 7, 2014
Very effective and comfortable. The auto shutoff is nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like to hear

Date:January 7, 2014
For anyone who goes to the range often,
And would like to hear what others are saying this is the headset for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 367