Customer Reviews for HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

HOWARD LEIGHT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color/camo pattern: Green, Mossy Oak®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 379
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 379 reviews
5 Stars
267
4 Stars
77
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
352 out of 379(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Problems

Date:July 9, 2013
I received a pair as a gift from my daughter and was hoping to get a great product. Not so. The noise suppression cut off did not work and the earpiece pads started to break down and get very sticky. I contacted the manufacturer to let them know of the problems and they sent me a second pair. The replacement pair had identical problems. Since the second pair was the same as the first, I can only assume that these are just of poor quality. I will continue to use them but the sound amplification feature will have to be turned off and I will have to live with them sticking together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Doesn't work.

Date:April 25, 2012
I purchased these after my Caldwell Low Profile E-Max earmuffs stopped working. The Caldwell's only lasted about 6 months before the shot suppression stopped working. So I thought I'd spend a little more on the Howard Leight's to give them a try. Unfortunately, they don't work at all. At least I got 6 months out of my Caldwell's. The Howard Leight's do nothing for sound suppression. All they do is amplify ALL sounds including gunshots! They are worthless. I've tried the top sellers at the bottom-end. I guess I'll try some mid or top-end electronic earmuffs next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leight Earmuffs

Date:October 27, 2011
I bought a pair of these, but returned them. They may or may not perform as advertised, I didn't get them as far as the pistol range. They are poorly designed, in that the wire connecting the two sides of the muffs binds on the metal frame. They either will not fit or the wire will break (or both).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Bad

Date:March 16, 2010
I had a pair of these for about a day. They didn't cut out at all. Wasn't impressed with the suppression to begin with. Not sure if I just got a bad pair or what the problem is. The amplification was good - so if you aren't shooting they are fine. A friend had a cheap pair of Caldwells and even they worked better than these. Won't be looking to purchase another pair of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: durham. nc
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

impact sport earmuff

Date:February 16, 2010
This product will not fit properly unless you have a large head size. Probably partially because of this, it does not completely block out the sound. Ears ring after shots. Does not shut down adequately after a shot.
Also, in the field there was irritating electronic interference noise of some sort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sport earmuffs

Date:November 12, 2009
In 2007, I bought 2 copies of those ear muffs
Otherwise acting well, but just over a year after the two were no longer working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bennington, VT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too slow to respond to gunshot noise

Date:March 30, 2009
These muffs were very low profile and comfortable and compact to store and worked fine with the electronics off, but with the electronics on, their reaction time to the impulse noise of a gunshot was too slow, so that they transmitted amplfied gunshot noise to my ears.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

impact Sport Muff

Date:November 28, 2008
Very little amplification. Pay more and get a "Walkers Game Ear."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Howard Leight Hearing Protection

Date:May 26, 2008
Just bought a pair of these headphones and went to the range to try them out. THEY DO NOT WORK! The amplification part is fine but will not cut out the blast noise from a gun. OUCH< MY POOR EARS> Will be returning them to Cabela's this week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: David, Reelfoot Lake, Union City, Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Almost lasted the season... then the static began.

Date:February 20, 2008
Third set of electronic muffs I've used in the last two hunting seasons. I thought Howard Leight would manufacture a high quality product since they are in the hearing protection business but I was wrong. They lasted only a little longer than the first two sets of (other companies muffs) I used last year. I returned both pair of them. All developed an irritating whine and/or static in one earpiece or the other. Same with these. These just lasted about 2 months, the (other companies muffs) about 1-3 weeks each. None of them were subject to any unusual conditions. Just faulty design and/or manufacture. I doubt I would buy another pair of this brand. On a positive note, they provide fairly good noise reduction and amplification when they work properly. And the thin design doesn't interfere with shooting a shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Boston, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

there are much better choices

Date:September 20, 2007
i was really excited about these. when i received them they did not fit. because of the back band, they just slid off. they were really tight, but still wouldnt stay on. i used them for shooting skeet, and i had to adjust them after every shot. the Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff is cheaper, and a lot nicer. it is really compact and works great. dont buy this, but the howard leight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bird hunter and clays shooter, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leight Sport Earmuff

Date:May 15, 2007
I am returning them. They were too heavy and I could not adjust them. The instructions were too limited to understand how to adjust them and controls di;fficult.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't fit right

Date:January 8, 2014
I bought these for my 11 year old son for Christmas. I tried them on before wrapping them and they didn't confirm to my head properly. It left a gap below one of the ears. When my son opened them and tried them on, he said the same thing. We will be returning them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:November 30, 2013
I am a RSO at the Clark Co. Shooting Complex in Las Vegas, NV. I purchased these muffs because I was getting a lot of wind noise from my old muffs. Other than that problem the old muffs were comfortable and did a good job. I used the H. L. muffs today and found that after 28 rounds of trap I had a banging headache because they did a poor job muffing the BANG. The ear holes are to small and do not create a good seal against the side of the head. Also, they seemed to amplify the sound of the shots from the next field. Finally, the volume control did not respond to my satisfaction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not long lasting

Date:October 14, 2013
First 6 months - real good. Then the left side only worked occasionally. A few months later quit totally. I used them for shooting and listening to the radio while driving tractors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not So Much

Date:December 27, 2012
These earmuffs do not fit well for me. The seal below the bottom of my ear is loose. The pressure above my ear is too tight. I can't wear them comfortably for more than 20 minutes. I have tried adjusting them many times. I have been unable to find a position that works for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money for low end protection

Date:November 19, 2012
The sound amplification is good, not great but good. Sound suppression capability was not enough to protect me in tight quarters at the rifle range. They guy shooting next to me was popping off .308 rounds and it was an attention getter. The padding covers for the ear pieces stick together after they are stored, even for a week or two. The frame is sturdy, adjustments are easy and the earmuffs are comfortable. They are worth the money I paid for them but no more. This is a fair product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Howard Leight Electronic ermuffs

Date:April 10, 2011
I got these because they are good value. If you have big ears do not buy them. I am 6'3 and found hem a bit small for my ears. I've now gone back to wearing standard non-electronic muffs. They do perform as described, however nothing substitutes the muffling of non-electronic earmuffs. Although it does cut out, it is still loud, which means i need to reduce the noise level but by then I may aswell just wear std muffs (which is what i've done).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not great and they fall apart

Date:July 16, 2009
Since the first time I recieved these the inside of the muff kept falling out of both pairs I bought. After only using them only a couple times one fell out and I didn't see it and now it's gone so I have to just throw them out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque,NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Muffs

Date:February 3, 2009
The muffs do not appear to react to the load noises. I have two other pairs from a different manufacturer and there is a noticable difference between the brands. I would not recommend these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 379