Customer Reviews for IMPACT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

IMPACT Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff

With a noise reduction rating of 22db and an extremely low profile, this electronic earmuff is destined to become very popular with shooters. It amplifies low-level ambient sound such as conversation while instantly reducing potentially damaging sounds. Padded stereo muffs afford greater comfort to the user. This water-resistant protection has an outstanding 350-hour battery life, an easily accessed snap-on battery compartment cover, four-hour auto shut-off, integrated power and volume knobs, an external audio plug, and they fold up for compact storage. Earmuff in Mossy Oak® is exclusive to Cabela's. Uses 2 AAA batteries (included). Color: Green.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(501 Reviews) 501
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 501 reviews
5 Stars
357
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
13
1 Star
15
465 out of 500(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Review 1 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2015

Bad

By
Worst designed product I've ever got from Cabelas, unless your head is the size of a soft ball they won't work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2015

Returned for refund

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
These ear muffs appear to be well made. They fit comfortably and snuggly. The problem is they make a very irritating popping noise when they are turned on. I returned the first pair. The replacement pair made the same noise so I returned them for a refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013

Problems

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I received a pair as a gift from my daughter and was hoping to get a great product. Not so. The noise suppression cut off did not work and the earpiece pads started to break down and get very sticky. I contacted the manufacturer to let them know of the problems and they sent me a second pair. The replacement pair had identical problems. Since the second pair was the same as the first, I can only assume that these are just of poor quality. I will continue to use them but the sound amplification feature will have to be turned off and I will have to live with them sticking together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012

Doesn't work.

By
I purchased these after my Caldwell Low Profile E-Max earmuffs stopped working. The Caldwell's only lasted about 6 months before the shot suppression stopped working. So I thought I'd spend a little more on the Howard Leight's to give them a try. Unfortunately, they don't work at all. At least I got 6 months out of my Caldwell's. The Howard Leight's do nothing for sound suppression. All they do is amplify ALL sounds including gunshots! They are worthless. I've tried the top sellers at the bottom-end. I guess I'll try some mid or top-end electronic earmuffs next.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2011

Leight Earmuffs

By
Location: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought a pair of these, but returned them. They may or may not perform as advertised, I didn't get them as far as the pistol range. They are poorly designed, in that the wire connecting the two sides of the muffs binds on the metal frame. They either will not fit or the wire will break (or both).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2010

Very Bad

By
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
I had a pair of these for about a day. They didn't cut out at all. Wasn't impressed with the suppression to begin with. Not sure if I just got a bad pair or what the problem is. The amplification was good - so if you aren't shooting they are fine. A friend had a cheap pair of Caldwells and even they worked better than these. Won't be looking to purchase another pair of these.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2010

impact sport earmuff

By
Location: durham. nc
This product will not fit properly unless you have a large head size. Probably partially because of this, it does not completely block out the sound. Ears ring after shots. Does not shut down adequately after a shot.
Also, in the field there was irritating electronic interference noise of some sort.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2009

Sport earmuffs

By
In 2007, I bought 2 copies of those ear muffs
Otherwise acting well, but just over a year after the two were no longer working.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2009

Too slow to respond to gunshot noise

By
Location: Bennington, VT
These muffs were very low profile and comfortable and compact to store and worked fine with the electronics off, but with the electronics on, their reaction time to the impulse noise of a gunshot was too slow, so that they transmitted amplfied gunshot noise to my ears.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2008

impact Sport Muff

By
Location: Tennessee
Very little amplification. Pay more and get a "Walkers Game Ear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2008

Howard Leight Hearing Protection

By
Just bought a pair of these headphones and went to the range to try them out. THEY DO NOT WORK! The amplification part is fine but will not cut out the blast noise from a gun. OUCH< MY POOR EARS> Will be returning them to Cabela's this week.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

Almost lasted the season... then the static began.

By
Location: David, Reelfoot Lake, Union City, Tennessee
Third set of electronic muffs I've used in the last two hunting seasons. I thought Howard Leight would manufacture a high quality product since they are in the hearing protection business but I was wrong. They lasted only a little longer than the first two sets of (other companies muffs) I used last year. I returned both pair of them. All developed an irritating whine and/or static in one earpiece or the other. Same with these. These just lasted about 2 months, the (other companies muffs) about 1-3 weeks each. None of them were subject to any unusual conditions. Just faulty design and/or manufacture. I doubt I would buy another pair of this brand. On a positive note, they provide fairly good noise reduction and amplification when they work properly. And the thin design doesn't interfere with shooting a shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2007

there are much better choices

By
Location: Boston, MA
i was really excited about these. when i received them they did not fit. because of the back band, they just slid off. they were really tight, but still wouldnt stay on. i used them for shooting skeet, and i had to adjust them after every shot. the Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff is cheaper, and a lot nicer. it is really compact and works great. dont buy this, but the howard leight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2007

Leight Sport Earmuff

By
Location: Bird hunter and clays shooter, Arizona
I am returning them. They were too heavy and I could not adjust them. The instructions were too limited to understand how to adjust them and controls di;fficult.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2015

Not good purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got 2 pair and I am disappointed in them both. You have to keep turning volume up and down. To talk turn volume up when you want to shoot turn volume down. Friend has two pair , you set the setting you want and leave it. Gun goes off auto blocks the noise out. Will be tossing these in the garbage
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2015

Not impressed

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
First pair I purchased did not cut out the load sound. I took them to the gun range, on the first shot, The sound about blew out my eardrums! They amplified the sound, not cut it out. 2nd pair did a little better job but still am not that impressed with them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2015

No Addjustment

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
There is no adjustment on the head band. My head must be to tall, top of head to ears. I could not get them low enough to cover my ears. Had to send them back. every pair from this company is made the same.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

Better Choices Out There

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased these because they were on sale and I was intrigued to have the option to plug in my own external device to listen to (i-Pod, MP3, etc.) Brand new out of the box, the muffs would not amplify external sounds except when the volume was turned all the way up, so conversations were louder than wanted. The amplification would also cut in and out at will, giving a crackling noise in the process. When I was shooting, the muffs worked fine and would cut off at the shot. When shots other than my own were fired on the range, the muffs would NOT shut off, so now the gunshots were amplified as well! NOT GOOD. The fold away design lent itself to a poor fit, not all that comfortable for a day at the range. I've used and worn better that cost less, so I took them back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2014

Don't fit right

By
I bought these for my 11 year old son for Christmas. I tried them on before wrapping them and they didn't confirm to my head properly. It left a gap below one of the ears. When my son opened them and tried them on, he said the same thing. We will be returning them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Howard Leight Impact™ Sport Earmuff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013

Disappointed

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I am a RSO at the Clark Co. Shooting Complex in Las Vegas, NV. I purchased these muffs because I was getting a lot of wind noise from my old muffs. Other than that problem the old muffs were comfortable and did a good job. I used the H. L. muffs today and found that after 28 rounds of trap I had a banging headache because they did a poor job muffing the BANG. The ear holes are to small and do not create a good seal against the side of the head. Also, they seemed to amplify the sound of the shots from the next field. Finally, the volume control did not respond to my satisfaction.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 501