Customer Reviews for Hyskore Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hyskore Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest

This rest takes recoil out of the equation when it comes time to take out a varmint or get a proper zero. Nitrogen-filled compression dampers absorb the jolt. Better yet, when firmly mounted to a solid bench, the gun will return to battery (±3 MOA) after each shot. Each rest comes with a light, a medium and a heavy compression damper that absorb recoil like your shoulder naturally would. By selecting the proper damper for whatever caliber you are shooting from smaller, light .223 loads up to a heavy .416 Rigby magnum, you can rest assured that no damage will come to the gun, such as problems with the stock, bedding or recoil lugs. Also includes a remote trigger release which eliminates any human-induced motion contamination. Weight: 24 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Review 1 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor trigger release

Date:September 15, 2010
This rest holds the rifle firmly but the hydaulic trigger release transmits movement from the rest frame to the rifle taking it off target every round.
I taped the release activator to the gunstock....ran a string from the release arm thru the trigger and back to the rear sling bolt......this reverses the hydraulic function but offers a very smooth release.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dangerous Game Machine puts end to shoulder PAIN!!

Date:July 7, 2009
I ordered this machine to do one thing, allow me to shoot my large caliber guns without shoulder pain. I have had several surgeries on my neck and other areas, and the pain of recoil is not any fun. But, after using this machine, I have found many other great uses for it. One of the best is in sighting in a new gun/scope combination. The gun can be held perfectly stable and you can take out the human factor/shake/flinch. With the hydraulic trigger assembly that is also included with the gun rest, there can be no doubt what you are shooting at and what not.
I shoot mainly at a local gun club, which has cement table to shoot from. I find it best to mount the rest on the table, and use the front clamp that mounts over the forward edge of the table, and keeps the rest from moving backwards, as directed in the instructions, but also to use a ratchet strap or two and secure the gun rest so it has no movement at all, except for the normal recoil movement of the machine. This way I can repeat shoot after shoot with no re-alignment.
I have not shoot anything larger then a 45-70 Gov with this rest so far, but that hardly works this machine, it has three levels of recoil, and I'm barely using the 2nd level, I'm sure it can handle the most challenging of calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Money

Date:December 10, 2008
This product performed exactly as billed. For me it took out the human error of sighting in my guns. I sighted in both my 300 Weatherby and 30-06 with consistent performance. I read the other reviews and personally I had no problems with set up and I did not have to retool anything on the device. Only downside is the price is substantial, but worth it for the confidence I gained in the the sight accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:November 21, 2008
I purchased this rest in hopes it would remove the human error, while testing handloads.
This product did that, but after 250 rounds of testing .308 and .264 cal. the accuracy of the rest was finished.
A good product if you want to just sight in your gun, and the saying still remains the same "you get what you pay for"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hyskore Dangerous Game Machine Rest

Date:October 15, 2008
The Hyskore Dangerous Game Machine Rest performed as advertised. The best and easiest to use rest that I have encountered in 50 years. I did have to adjust the Rest after each shot, but that could have been because I did not want to over tighten velcro staps that could effect each weapon's (243 & 270) floating barrel. At 100 yards the 243 cal. shot a one-fourth inch group, and the 270 cal. a three-fourth inch group. Much better groups that I had ever achieved on a bench rest with sand bags. Even better, neither weapon had any damage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Middletown NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dangerous Game Rest

Date:October 13, 2008
Really can't miss with this, works great with any rifle except lever action, you have to remove the weapon from the rest to chamber each round Also works with muzzle loaders although the pellets make for easier loading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Happy with Hyskore

Date:September 29, 2008
Bolts broke, adjustments are not good & remote trigger sprung a leak...
I am taking it back for a full refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dangerous game machine rest

Date:March 24, 2008
Very well built, instructions very vague, one piece didn't fit good, too much assembly required. Quality of product very good...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hyskore dangerous machine rest

Date:March 15, 2008
I had a lot expectation for this gun rest. I researched for days and was never more disappointed on this item. Upon trying to assemble the rest it was manufactured wrong. I returned the item and purchased a hyskore ultimate siting rest and this also was defective upon assembly. I contacted the manufacturer and they sent me a new part that should have resolved my problem. Upon receiving the part I tried to assemble again and it was impossible. I returned this rest also. I would in no way recommend either one of these rests to my friends unless I received them in working order all assembled and then I would love to have either one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Valrico, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:February 12, 2008
My wife got me this for Christmas and I love it. It does the job and really made well. The best dollar for your money. I would reommend this highly for the avid hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

promise

Date:February 7, 2008
This is the most acurate rifle sighting tool I have ever owned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: McComb, Ms
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hyskore Dangerous game rest

Date:January 28, 2008
Assembly was difficult due to factory drilled holes being out of alignment. Drilling was needed to clean up misaligned holes. This was not a cheap product. The company didn't pay attention to details in their product. There were no instructions for changing the recoil pistons on the rest. This could be confusing for some people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Jamestown KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hyskore dangerous game rest workmanship

Date:October 2, 2007
I recently purchased a HYSKORE DANGEROUS GAME MACHINE REST. Like some of the other reviewers, i found some obvious and disappointing deficiencies in the design and workmanship of this device. Though i know this is not a super expensive item, when i saw this advertised, it was what i condidered to be the "top of the line" in it's class as i could find nothing else even close to what this had to offer especially with the flexibility and how it was supposed to perform. So, i expected top notch workmanship in this one-of-a-kind item.
To begin, I have read of poorly machining of threads to the point where one reviewer had to retap the hole just to be able to assemble the rest. I encountered the same problem.
I have also read of sloppiness in adjustments, i.e. windage, elevation, to the point where it makes it difficult to adjust smoothly and quickly. This brings up a related issue of the advertisement stating that the rest returns to zero after the shot. I do not know about other's experiences, but mine does not perform this well.
And another comment about the adjustments has to do with, in my opinion, purposely designing at least some features to where they will wear out quickly.
This brings me to the rear elevation adjustment. It is neither smooth, easy to use or accurate. Though not an engineer of design, I believe this rear adjustment would have been much better had the elevating bolt consisted of a fine thread bolt rather than coarse thread which would greatly increase fine tuning.
And then you have the thumbwheel adjuster itself which is made of aluminum. On the very first use of this device, i noticed aluminum "filings" falling out as the wheel was turned. This is a very poor design unless it was done so purposely for early wearout. This elevation assembly is of a "floating" design anyway and with the firing of the gun, it only makes sense that this rear mechanism and especially this aluminum piece is likely taking a beating from the violent detonation. I do not expect it to last long and the largest caliber rifle i own is a .270 firing factory ammo.
Additionally, when using the rear elevation, it changes the windage alignment. When looking through the scope, one can see and feel a noticeable "pop" at one point when elevating with the rear and this causes an obvious shift in the windage. Very sloppy!
And too, the windage adjustment is sloppy with "dead spots" while turning the adjuster. I read where one reviewer had reworked his to correct this.
Also, i even have thoughts about the supplied hardware. The (3) bolts which are installed horizontally for the butt cradle appear to be substandard in quality and size. The size of the bolt head seems to be somewhere between a metric and a s.a.e. as neither would fit. A crescent wrench works well(duh)!The supplied nuts, however, accepted a 1/2 inch wrench. Strange.
And as previously mentioned, (1) of the threaded inserts in the "cant" adjustment bar was so "rough" regarding the thread job, that it made it diffult to screw in the adjuster at assembly.
Another area of poor thought and design has to do with the hold down straps, especially the front (1). When first seating the rifle, it needs to be in as snug as necessary of course necessitating the assistance from a partner to hold down pressure on the rifle. After the gun is seated, if it is necessary to adjust the front elevation, this changes the tension of the front strap which requires the necessity to redo the front strap again. When this is done, it affects the elevation of the rifle again. Around in a circle we go.
Summary: While i have pointed out problems with this device, i still see it as a good idea. And i have only owned it for (2) weeks and used it twice. The issues seem to be less than good design or workmanship. For this reason, i gave it (3) stars.
And as at least (1) other reviewer had done, i plan on doing so rework to the device myself. This is not rocket science and i know i can make some simple, inexpensive changes(that could have been designed initially) that will make a big diffence in usability, speed of set up and the biggie, accuracy of group. I hope others will post their thoughts on reworking the rest to make it better.
And remember, a bad day at the range is still better than a great day at work.
Happy shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I live in a rural MD county not far from Wash D.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest

Date:September 22, 2007
This is an engineering delight. It took me quite a while to assemble and finally use it, but it is just what is needed to get repetitive accuracy while bench shooting - It will show you exactly where your gun is sighted to.
You must make sure that it is clamped or bolted to a very heavy table/bench. Use one made of 2x's and 4x's, bolted together.
It was not simple to assemble, but it was everything that I had hoped it would be and more. Fellow members of the shooting club I belong to were in all of the device. Everyone there stopped to watch. Hyscore recommends that it be attached to a platform that they provide plans for - DO SO!!! If you are "in to" the study of balistics this is a must!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kingston Nova scotia Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hyscor dangerous game machine

Date:September 21, 2007
All right but needs to bolted to your bench hard to hold on target unless it is.Remote has a lot to be desired you all most have to pray to get it to fire the gun. But it is great for for sighting in once you get it setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: REDMOND. OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DANGEROUS GAME REST

Date:September 10, 2007
I HAVE LOOKED FAR AND WIDE FOR A GOOD RIFLE REST, AND BY FAR THIS IS THE BEST ONE I HAVE EVER SEEN AND USED. THE INCLUSSION OF THE TRIGGER RELEASE IS A MAJOR PLUS. THE ONLY COMPLICATION I WOULD LIKE TO SEE IMPROVED IS THE MOUNT FOR THE TRIGGER RELEASE, THEY SHOULD HAVE ONE ON BOTH SIDES OF THE MACHINE FOR LEFT HAND RIFLES BECAUSE IT IS A MINOR PROBLEM THAT YOU CAN HARDLY SQUEZE THE BOLT BY IT.BUT LIKE THEY SAY YOU CAN'T PLEASE ALL OF THE PEOPLE ALL OF THE TIME.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MINDEN NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DUMB

Date:August 27, 2007
WORST INVESTMENT EVER
IMPRACTICAL
ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO SET UP
LACKS ADJUSTMENT
LOOKING TO SEND BACK ASAP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This rest may need help....

Date:July 26, 2007
What I didn't know is that you cannot shoot a gun with this rest. That's right if you want to shoot the gun using your shoulder, your finger, and your eyes you cannot use this rest.
What I did do, is modify the clamp that holds the rear of the stock. Took me some cutting, welding and other modifications but now I can get behind the gun myself if needed.
I had to build a new or different stock clamp, one to shoot with and one to use as it was vise was designed.
Other than that it appears to be a good heavy site vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chilliwack BC Canada,, long time shooter and hunt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hyskore Dangerous Game Machine Rest

Date:June 11, 2007
One of the best rest I have come across in years and would recommend it to anyone who wants to get serious about "zeroing" a rifle. To make this rest better I would recommend one small modification (which I have done),, replace the 3/4" square tube in the windage set (30013-10) with a piece of 3/4" square solid aluminum. making sure you drill out the holes exactly to fit the holding stud and the V notch set bolt!! Makes the unit ten times easier to realign after each shot. Good shooting
Sandy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hyskore® Dangerous Game™ Machine Rest
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Bad Experience

Date:May 29, 2007
The "fit & finish" of this product stinks. Sorry, there is no other way to say it. I took it to the range once a week or so after receiving it. The slide sticks 1/4 of the way back every other shot, the weld broke on the hydraulic trigger and the elevation adjustment does not have much range of movement just to mention a few. For the price of this item I was extremely disappointed. I am currently looking for a box to ship it back. "BUYER BEWARE" !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22