Customer Reviews for RWS RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RWS RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol

The accuracy and blistering 700-fps speed of this .177-caliber air pistol puts it in a league of its own. It has a spring piston action and comes equipped with a two-stage trigger, Truglo® fiber-optic sights and an automatic safety. Single-stroke break-barrel cocking with 19-lb. cocking effort. Weight: 2-3/4 lbs.Barrel length: 9". Overall length: 18".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
63 out of 71(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Review 1 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk. Very Disappointing...

Date:January 11, 2012
I bought this gun hoping to use it to be less obvious when trying to remove some of the pests (rabbits, squirrels) that dig up our vegetables, flowers, etc. When I received it I promptly went out back and pulled out the target board I use to sight in my air rifles. This gun delivers nowhere close to 700FPS...what a joke. The pellets would not even stick into the soft plywood of the board. In fact I got a couple of bounce backs. Pathetic. The gun feels great in your hand, looks awesome, and shoots with the pressure of a 90 year old man's prostate. It makes a nice paperweight though.
I expected a lot more from RWS...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: kahului,hi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

make it known this pistol is for right hand!

Date:December 17, 2008
after i purchased the pistol i saw the reviews and was already dissapointed that the pistol is not described by cabela's as a right hander! i tried to shoot a target with it and could not even hit the box that my target was on at 25ft!! my other rws gun is and has never been as far off the mark as this purchase! sent it back right away!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ho Hum

Date:March 5, 2011
I think I know why it is being upgraded. Light ammo @ close range a lot of fun. Want to kill a pigeon buy something else. Too bad it's not as nasty as it looks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fair air pistol

Date:August 25, 2008
The pistol is somewhat heavy and difficult to aim. Being a leftie, I had to special order a new hand grip. On top of all this, the RWS 5G pistol came in with a broken front site.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Northern VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RWS Fails

Date:February 7, 2008
Nice looking and well-built and appearances were deceiving. I fired it a few times to check out handling .... it decided to pop a breaker barrel spring and disengage the trigger safety so that it remained unable to fire .... paperweight at present. Not good for home team.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RWS 5G Magnum Air Pistol

Date:October 3, 2011
The pistol is *ok*, the problem I have is that it does
not shoot at the 700fps level as advertised, more like 450fps.
Also, the rear sight needs to be raised, I read another review where someone put a layer of tin foil under the rear sight mount, the gun shoots high, about 5" at 20 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective/Problem Unit Returned

Date:April 7, 2009
Overall performance and quality of the air pistol was excellent. Accuracy was quite decent even before break-in. Power was superb. It had a pretty decent kick, but accuracy was still high. Although I wish it had a rail for a scope, one can be added by sending it in to RWS/UMAREX anp paying $80. Pistol had a defect early on after shooting only a small number of rounds. Rotating ball in the ball-detent locking mechanism of the break barrel froze up tight and made opening and cocking extremely difficult. This was a minor problem, and could have probably been easily fixed by sending it in to RWS/UMAREX, but the early problems made me uncomfortable...along with the other negative reviews I have read about the 5g and various defects. There seem to be a lot of problems with this one, but they are releasing a new version called the RWS LP8, which hopefully will have the bugs worked out. Cabela's return policy and customer service were great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Veneta, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots 4" high.

Date:July 11, 2008
I've ordered from Cabela's before, as usual the delevery was right on time. This is a finely made pistol. But, no mater what I do, no mater what kind of pellet I use, and no mater who is shooting the pistol; it shoots 4" to 6" high. The sight windage adjustment works fine. The elevation adjustment will not allow enough adjustment to hit the target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Port Washington, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ok but not great

Date:January 31, 2008
This airgun is reasonably accurate, easy to load (1 pump), and pretty well made. Its problems are in the trigger and the sight system.
When you adjust the trigger to be very light (low force to shoot it), the adjustment screw is too far down into the trigger area and interferes with your trigger finger.
The sights require overhead lighting to glow properly, and this is not available in my shooting area. This means that I don't get full benefit from this sight system.
The grip is not all that comfortable for me. It hurts the palm of my hand after a few minutes of shooting and squeezing the grip.
It's not a bad airgun for practice at home, but I wouldn't buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Funtionality

Date:January 16, 2008
The pistol shoots very hard and is accurate for air pistols. It's a lot of fun to shoot. However, the grip is for right hand only which is inconvenient for ambidextrous practice and the saftey, while effective, is very inconveniently located.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ballwin, Mo
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Air gun fun

Date:January 9, 2012
This is a fun air gun to shoot, does well on crows. 1 pump and done. Good to use with people afraid of guns to help get over that fear. Wou
Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chandler, AZ
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Air Gun

Date:February 11, 2011
Lots of fun and quality workmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pellet Pistol

Date:January 13, 2011
This is a high quality pellet pistol, which I bought at a great price. The cocking force is reasonable, but may still be difficult for some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nogales, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Air Pistol

Date:March 29, 2009
I gave this pistol 4 stars because it is a good pistol. There are a few issues, however.
(1) As other reviewers have noted, it comes with grips that are suitable for right handed shooting only. Not only are the grips designed that way but the rear of the frame is angled to favor right handed shooting. (Question: does anyone shoot left handed in Germany?) Some time with a belt sander, a dremel tool, and some fiberglass resin can fix that.
(2) In order to shoot to point of aim at 25 yards the rear sight must be adjusted far to the left. This is not critical, however, and point of aim no doubt varies with different pellets.
(3) I chronographed the gun with 4 different pellets with the following results. All are averages of 3 shots or more.
Pellet, Weight gr, Ave Velocity fps
Beeman Match, 7.9, 532
Crosman Premier, 7.9, 520
RWS Superdome, 8.2, 506
Gamo Raptor, 5.1, 625
As you can see 700 fps is a myth. This seems to be a general problem with velocity claims and air guns.
Considering the above issues I figured that 4 stars was about right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: LI NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rws 5G-P5 Pistol

Date:December 3, 2008
Not disapointed on this one although the nickname says so. That was for a different product."I would have given the pistol 5 stars but the first one I recieved shot super high and wouldn't group. The one I have now is very accurate and will have 5 shots touching at 5 meters. The sights are of good quality and the cocking effort is fairly easy, the trigger is very good also.. I would like to see some wood grips instead of the plastic ones though. The pistol does have some recoil (springy) and I'm not sure about the 700 fps claim but over all a quality gun with lots of power and accuracy." I would highly recomend this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: I live in Florida, and an avid pistol shooter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RWS 5G Mag Air Pistol

Date:September 12, 2008
I have 'fired' several hundred pellets from this pistol at a measured 25yds. (75ft) using match grade and 'premium' grade pellets. Field and target pellets produced the best results. The test 'firing' was done from a bench rest under uniform and controlled conditions but outside rather in an enclosed environment. The best groups I could produce were 1.5" to 2". I doubt that the groupings can be improved to any great degree.
I did not like the position of the automatic safety mechanism because it almost requires the use of both hands to release it to the firing position.
The recoil of the pistol causes the set screws which hold the front sight sleeve in place to loosen. This is annoying because the pistol's accuracy is negatively effected unless the screws are tightened periodically.
The recoil of the pistol also causes the pin which holds the rear sight in place to work its way out of the sight mount. It can work out far enough to render the elevation adjustment useless. Really watch for this!!!!!!!
The grip is a bit uncomfortable for me but I have rather large hands. For someone with average sized hands there should be no problems.
The pistol worked well and very consistently. Very few 'flyers' were encountered while target shooting. I have not chronographed the weapon yet but intend to do so in the near future.
All in all, the pistol seems to be a quality product but not quite up to what I had expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: fredericksburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

had a small problem

Date:March 17, 2008
I ordered the pistol to add to my air gun arsenal and was very pleased initially...two weeks after I began using it (maybe 500 rounds) the cocking mechanism malfunctioned. After returning the gun to Cabela's they sent me notification of their receiving the product and indicated that a new pistol would be sent out in two to three weeks. The new pistol arrived at exactly three weeks and has been working extremely well. A great testimonial to both Cabela's and RWS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: so cal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RWS 5G

Date:February 20, 2008
This pistol feels smaller than it is. It has good balance and shoots good. Cocking it is somewhat awkward without grabbing the front sight. A hood over the sight would make it better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern Pennsbylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol

Date:January 29, 2008
Excellent accuracy, easy to adjust trigger, only complaint is the grip area under the tang of the pistol. I found the area to small to get a grip that was high and tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RWS 5 G Magnum Air Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Disappointed

Date:January 28, 2008
I received the pistol last Wed and returned it the following day.
Actually it's no fault of the pistol, I have only myself to blame. I paid no attention to the grips until I took it out of the box and realized I could not shoot it since I am left handed. The grips are designed strictly for right handed shooters.
Second, I should have done more research regarding scoping. As everyone knows, there is no way to mount a scope on it, and my eyes just aren't what they used to be.
So anyway, back to Cabelas it went. For consolation, I ordered an RWS Model 350 in .22 cal. I think I'll be much happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 71