Customer Reviews for Winchester Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Winchester Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo

With a name that is synonymous with performance, the Winchester 1000XS lives up to the legend. The 1000XS launches .177-caliber pellets at a blistering 1,000 fps with only one pump. Sporter-style, select wood stocks provide classic rifle looks. Fiber-optic front sight and microadjustable rear sight for precise aiming. Rear button safety. Rifled steel barrel. Comes with a 4x32mm precision air rifle scope. Length: 46.7". Weight: 7 lbs. ATTENTION: Residents of MI, NY, NJ, IL, MA, DE and OH please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any air rifles or air pistols.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
16 out of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Review 1 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: flat rock nc
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Winchester® 1000XS

Date:December 11, 2009
i got this gun 2 years ago and i do not like it. my gun came with out a seal in the barrel and lost about 200fps. the scope was bad got a new one could not sight it in after 200 shots. the stock becomes lose and is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hammond il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winchester air rifle 1000XS

Date:October 19, 2009
This air rifle is very accurate & the trigger pull smooth.After several successful small game hunts I am very pleased with the performance & quality. Also a very attractive rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:May 26, 2009
I purchased this gun about 2 months ago and have been very pleased with it. I had some initial scope issues, but I remounted the scope per the instructions, tightened everything, and it has been very solid since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Riverdale, North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As good as it looks

Date:September 1, 2008
I have had my pellett rifle for a short time and have found it to be as described. It took about 100 rounds to get it sited in, but this was due to finding the correct pellet to use. I started with the super/field point which did not fly that well. I have been using a hollow point and been able to get a 2" group of 10-15 pellets consistently at 50'. I was impressed with the walnut stock and am very impressed with it's ability to shoot accurately once I found the correct pellets. The flat/target pellets shoot similar to the hollow points. The only downside for me is the amount of energy needed to pump it. I would reccomend this rifle to anyone... as long as they are old enough/strong enough to pump it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective

Date:July 28, 2008
The gun would not consistently cock and would release unexpectedly from the cocked position. I returned the product. I was very disappointed in this gun which carried the Winchester name. It certainly did not meet my expectations of a Winchester (or a Daisy for that manner).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA/NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hits Hard

Date:May 27, 2008
This air rifle shoots stright and hits hard, with the included scope the chipmunks in my garden dont stand a chance...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective

Date:April 29, 2008
1 pump and then the rod sheared off leaving it non functioning - it will be returned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts, targets and rodents
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Packs a Punch if you can hit anything.

Date:April 14, 2008
This gun does pack a pretty powerful punch. However, the sights and the scope are very poor. The sight is a flimsy piece of plastic that will move if you barely touch it (even without touching the adjusters). So sighting the gun in is only temporary.
Also, the track on the barrell that the scope clamps onto is not very deep so the scope doesn't want to stay on the gun, either.
Another problem I've had is that the forward bolts that hold the barrell and cocking mechanism to the stock have repeatedly come unscrewed and fallen out. I still haven't been able to find the one that fell off my deck into the leaves below.
This gun has so much potential but they really skimped on crucial aspects of the gun. It's a shame..... I would not recommend buying this gun. Over time it will cause more headaches than it is worth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: DFW, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:March 29, 2008
This rifle truly lives up to it's name Winchester. I orginally purchased the Beeman 1000fps Sportsman model, but returned it. The Beeman 1000fps rifle shot through 290 pages of a phone book. The Winchester shot thought the same phone book 470 pages using the same pellets. The sound is not bad but it is harder to cock than the Beeman. The Stock is solid Walnut with checkering and is beautiful! The Winchester 1000XS is accurate right out of the box, me and my 14 yr old daughter were shooting bulleyes from the first shot. I highly recommend this air rifle, with the caution that it takes muscle to cock, I would guess about 38 lbs of force required to pull the barrel down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Investment Ever Made

Date:January 21, 2008
I recieved this rifle as a christmas present this year. I was very excited becasue I have been eye ballin this gun for a while. I immediately opened it up and took it out back to my home shooting range. I decided that I would sight it in with both the open sights and the scope. From 35 yards i was shooting bulls eyes, but I had to aim right below the bulls eye since the sight could not be adjusted to shoot any lower which was not a problem. I then put the scope on and sighted it in from 35 yards. I was so excited at how well I was shooting I decided to take it back to 50 yards. I shot 3 shots, took a look at the target, all 3 in the bulls eye. It is unbelievably accurate and stays accurate. This gun has a minor kick back and is pretty loud but that in my opinion doesn't matter. It is difficult to cock right out of the box but after a few weaks it starts to ease up. I DEFINETLY recommend this gun for anybody. You are for sure getting your moneys worth on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Evergreen, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rifle

Date:November 13, 2007
PROS
1. Very Accurate - 3/4" group at 60 feet - Probably would have been smaller if I were a better shot. Using RWS Superdome ammo.
2. Easy to sight-in. Scope also easy to use and sight-in.
3. Nice safety that engages when cocking.
4. Good trigger feel.
CONS
1. Heavy and LOUD. Howerever the rifle seems quieter now that I have fired a number of rounds through it, or maybe I'm just getting used to it. Still a LOT quieter than a .22.
2. High cocking force required - might be a problem for someone smaller - doesn't bother me though.
I'm sure that there are other nice rifles out there that are equal or better than this one. My purchase was based on these reviews and I was not disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:October 15, 2007
This Air rifle is definetly worth the money. I have gone through Three Remington Genesis' and there accuracy was terrible so I decided to go with the Winchester. This rifle has extreme power and accuracy even out to Fifty or so yards. The sights are easily adjusted but even when lowered all of the way the gun shot about a half of an inch high, but that can be easily compensated for. It is altogether a great rifle that can be used for anything that you require. It is highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:July 9, 2007
I have owned mine for over two years and I am very pleased with the performance. The scope stays on target even when knocked around.
I would advise a future buyer to ensure they have the room to fire something this powerful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Greenfield,IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

only buying the name

Date:June 28, 2007
First thing, the gun was damaged from box staples placed in the package. The gun is bulky and unbalanced. Very difficult to cock. The scope mount is just slots in the barrel instead of a mounting plate. The trigger guard and sights are plastic. Sighting the gun with the plastic sights was impossible because they would not adjust far enough to get the gun to shoot within 5 inches of the bullseye. Recoil was very strong, hitting harder than a 22 magnum. After firing the gun, the spring and piston sounds like it's going to fall out. But in their favor, it is a hard hitting pellet gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dunkirk,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice pellet gun

Date:June 11, 2007
I was very surprised after purchasing this Pellet Gun to find out out how accurate it is. I am very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your Buck!!! Ha Ha.

Date:May 30, 2007
This is a great gun. My father bought me one for christmas. It is powerful and accurate. There is a little bit of recoil but not a lot. Also great for indoor of outdoor shooting but you need the right target. One thing that happend was after four mounths of shooting the screws came loose. Over all great gun cheak the screws.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central fla
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

aok

Date:April 16, 2007
it is a nice piece of work. well built and seems more like a nice 22 rifle than a pellet gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: clyde ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:March 19, 2007
i love this gun, take it out back for bout 3 years strait and still shoots as good as the first time i fired it. i myself recemend using gamo magnum pellets that come in a little yellow can. is was pikin off a shotgun shell at 25 yards with that. the only problem that my gun had was the front site broke off, but it aint nothin duct tape and superglue cant fix, yee hee. still shoots good. just try a bunch of different pellets to find the one that shoots great. just like finding the right turkey shell. another great thing to try is to cock it, shut it, then put about 4-6 bb's down the barrel and its like a mini shotgun, i shoot birds out of the sky with that. great gun, buy it and youll be happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

winchester 1000xs

Date:March 3, 2007
After recieving my WinchesterXS I was very suprised by the
the finish on the stock. It was full of blemishes and even had
these blemishes circled with a silver wax marker. I thought
it was a little ignorant that Winchester would circle these blemishes and not fix them. Instead they put it in a box and decided to ship this gun out as a finished product.
Never the less I decided to overlook the blemishes and sight the gun in. After setting the gun up on a bench I attempted to
sight the gun in at 50 ft. After adjusting and adjusting on the scope and many shots later, I came to the conclusion that the best the gun could shoot was a 12 in. pattern with no consistency. This is pathetic!!!
I bought the gun to rid my backyard of rabbits and rodents. I would do much better to just throw a rock at them!!!
Needless to say I'm very disatisfied and it's being sent back to Cabela's!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® 1000XS Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester 1000XS Air Rifle Combo

Date:February 4, 2007
I bought one and my little brother bought one, and we really like them. They are really nice rifles. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22