Customer Reviews for Catskill Mtn. Hunter Butt-Out Tool

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Catskill Mtn. Hunter Butt-Out Tool

One of the more unpleasant chores of field dressing now takes just seconds to accomplish using the innovative Butt-Out Tool. This tool is the fastest, easiest way to disconnect the anal alimentary canal from deer or similar-sized game. Immediately after harvesting game, insert the Butt-Out Tool into the anal canal and twist until it grabs the membrane. Continue twisting another half turn, then steadily pull the Butt-Out Tool out of the canal. Extract 10" of membrane, tie the membrane off and cut. Its time-saving ease of use makes this the tool every deer hunter needs in his pack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
6
1 Star
10
129 out of 145(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Butt-Out Tool
Review 21 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clearwater, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butt-Out Tool

Date:December 13, 2008
Worked exactly as advertized. Glad I bought one for my hunting buddy as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butt out tool

Date:December 11, 2008
This is the best tool. I hunted twice this year and the first deer I did not use it. The second deer I used the tool and it saved me over 20 minutes in removing the but
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fowlerville MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It Works!

Date:December 9, 2008
Product does what it says it will do...worth the money...try it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Useing the buttout

Date:December 9, 2008
Great tool, would recommend it, easy and very clean to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Carrollton, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Let me down once

Date:December 8, 2008
I bought one of these and used it for two years without any troubles. It worked great and it was my absolute favorite deer field dressing tool. But this year I shot a nice eleven-point and used the tool as I always do. For some reason it did not work as well as it use to. The plastic just twisted and I had to make a big mess cutting out the cavity with my knife. I will buy another one though. It does it's job most of the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A+++

Date:December 8, 2008
Worked as promised. Cant say much more. Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice concept

Date:December 8, 2008
Nice concept but bought it too late this year - deer tag was already filled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Churubusco Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no good

Date:December 2, 2008
this too does not work cuts the membrain and makes a mess
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tabernacle, New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A product that performs just as described.

Date:December 2, 2008
Every deer hunter should carry this tool if they care about field dressing a deer in proper fashion. In the past I always would cut around the area and then tie it off with string which worked great. However, the Butt-Out Tool makes the process much faster and easier to do. Let's face it, there's a right way and a wrong way to do anything and in field dressing any animal, keeping the meat from being tainted in any possible way is key. This product is outstanding and I've given several to friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

gave it away

Date:December 1, 2008
did not see the benefit, by time you would go through all the trouble you could have your deer dressed out,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BATTLE CREEK, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST GADGET I HAVE EVER BOUGHT!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:November 30, 2008
A MUST HAVE! IF YOU WAIT TO USE IT AFTER YOU DRESSED THE INSIDES OUT, THERE WILL NOT BE A PROBLEM WITH TEARING THE CANAL. TAKES 1.5 TO 2 TURNS, PULL STEADY AND IT'S DONE. ANOTHER GREAT GADGET BY H.S.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Didn't work for me

Date:November 28, 2008
I used this tool when I took 9pt a couple of weeks ago. I followed the directions, however the tool tore the area up and did not extract any length of rectal tube. I didn't give it a poor rating because I only used it the one time. However, I'm going back to the tried and true knife and patience method.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northwestern Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butt-Out Tool Works!

Date:November 28, 2008
Every hunter should own a butt-out tool. It was such a chore for me trying to remove the "canal" with a knife but now it only takes seconds!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butt-out Tool

Date:November 26, 2008
I used the Butt-Out Tool on our recent deer hunt here in Ontario Canada. I can say that the tool worked excellent on both bucks and does. I certainly recommend this inexpensive but helpful tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sitka, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Butt-out

Date:November 20, 2008
Don't waste your money .. tried it on my last two deer and all it did was rip-up the membrane making the job harder. Just use your fingers and small blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butt out tool

Date:November 19, 2008
Works great must have in the hunting gear bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Real Handy

Date:November 19, 2008
Not much to say other than it works like a charm. Wish i had this a few years ago. For the price you would be crazy not to buy one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: lavina mt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

what a tool

Date:November 18, 2008
no more browm fingers, wish i had invented it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Tool

Date:November 17, 2008
I used this for the first time last week and it worked perfectly. A really nice tool to have when field dressing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Butt-Out Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Abbotsford, British Columbia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Worth It

Date:November 10, 2008
I bought the butt-out Tool thinking it would make help make a quicker cleaner job of pulling out the lower intestine, but instead it made a mess of it, and left me frustrated. Its much easier and efficient to use a small knife and your fingers instead of using this tool. I suggest you don't waste your money, but if you do...at least its cheap!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 145