Customer Reviews for Cabela's Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack

With the Bubba Hunter's Pack you get all the equipment you need to stayconnected with three of your hunting partners. The pack includes four GXT661 radios, four battery packs, two dual-bank chargers, four headsets, two autochargers, and a Seclusion 3D® duffel bag. Cabela's exclusive Bubba (GXT 661)features 5 watts of power, allowing you to keep in contact from up to 18miles away. Extremely easy to use, just switch it on, set it to one of the22 channels and start talking. Backlit LCD for low-light conditions. eVoxallows hands-free operation. Auto stealth squelch eliminates popping noisebetween transmissions. Hi/low power settings with auto battery save.Includes external accessory jacks for use with included headsets. Uses fourAA batteries or rechargeable battery pack. GTX 661 dimensions: 6-1/2"L x 2-1/4"W x 1-1/4"H. Seclusion 3D® Duffel Bag has rugged 1,000-denier nylon bottom that'swear- and water-resistant. Top is constructed of 600-denier poly ripstop.Includes padded shoulder straps. A $189.95 value. Duffel dimensions: 18"L x 9"W x 9"H. Camo pattern: Seclusion 3D®
Overall Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
14 out of 22(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Review 1 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Cape Cod Ma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland GXT 661 hunter's pack

Date:July 9, 2007
Radios are doing there job for us, but not to impressed with battery life and range. You can only get about 10miles out of them in an unobstructed area. Heavy wooded areas, we have had less than 2 miles of range. Batteries are not lasting a full eight hours with slightly more than normal use.
One major flaw is there is now way to lock the radio, so the VOX option (voice activation) doesn't come on. Once this happens it renders the other radios useless, until the radio operator realizes, they have the VOX on. The VOX button is on the front of the radio, so it is very easy to hit and activate. Plus, this rapidly depletes the battery life for the day.
On the plus side, you will get more range than the straight FRS radios in the right conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Glendora, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no keypad lock

Date:June 1, 2007
These radios work well. But there is a major design flaw, there is no keypad lock. At first I didnt think it was a big deal but the more I used the radios, the more of an issue it bacame. The slightest pressure on the keys will change the radio channel or activate the VOX etc.... I am unable to over look this MAJOR DESIGN OVERSIGHT. I sent the radios back. I exchanged them for the Midland GXT 600, they have the keypad lock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Greenville, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Useful Tool

Date:May 22, 2007
I got these so we could stay in touch with the kids while camping, hiking, etc. I haven't tried them over a great distance yet but so far they are working out nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Midland GXT 661 Radios

Date:May 15, 2007
Radios were rated at "18 mile range - under ideals conditions". We tested them in a surburban neighborhood, with just houses in between the two radios. We lost contact with just 2 miles of line of sight distance and a slight hill in between. This is unacceptable for hunting in the mountains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Jacson Mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It is OK

Date:May 8, 2007
range is excellent.VOX button is irritating it is easily pressed by accident.If the VOX button was not a feature it would be excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: The Dalles,Or
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Whats going on!!

Date:May 7, 2007
I just bought the GXT 661 Bubba Hunters Pack, And I used them for the first time in Las Vegas. I put AA Batteries in them.They said we could use them or the rechargeable batteries. Anyhow the Radio's got very HOT,so we turned them off. I don't know what the problem was. So we are going to go camping this week end and we are going to try them out again.This time I will try both AA batteries and the rechargeable batteries. We will see if they work! I will let you all know what happen's when I get back. So I can't rate them now until I give them another try out. And I don,t want to recommend this product to anyone until I know how good it work's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: abilene,texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

two way radios

Date:November 27, 2006
excellant range
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Washington state
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very disappointed by the bubba pack radios

Date:November 25, 2006
I got them right before hunting season started so didn't have time to charge up the batteries. I used AA's & they worked fine. The problem was a weak signal. While deer hunting in the mountains of North Central Washington, we could hardly hear each other even when we were less than a mile apart.
The idea of the bubba pack was great - packaging radios with rechargable batteries, home & auto charging systems, etc in a single bag. But, the performance of the radios was very disappointing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: denver,CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great radioes-great value

Date:November 24, 2006
this fourpac is wonderful. easy to operate and great sound quality. i really like the rechargable batteries.they last so much longer than regular batteries and with all the chargers i can recharge in the vehicle or at home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brownville Jct. , Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant product

Date:November 23, 2006
This product allowed me to stay in touch with my son and wife while we was hunting. This enable to talk back forth and let each other know what was going on with the deer in our area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Barker, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GXT 661 Bubba

Date:November 22, 2006
The radios have excellent range. They are very clear and easy to use. One bad point is that the buttons sometimes get pushed when carrying it in a pocket, turning on the VOX or changing the channel. Also the clip has not enough tension to keep the radio attached to a belt or strap. Which resulted in one of mine being dropped in water, killing it. ( A lanyard loop would be nice so it could be attached to a button hole. ) Overall the radio is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cedar city, utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Midland Hunters Pack

Date:November 22, 2006
I was hunting in my home state of Utah for Mule Deer. My friends and I were very impressed with the reception of my new Midland GXT 661 radios. We had no problems all day long keeping in touch with each other. We were in very ruff terrain and the Midland GXT 661 worked with perfection.
Thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dallas, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great range!!

Date:November 21, 2006
I bought these for a Colorado Elk hunt. The radios I had prior to these had limited range inthe terrain and heavy woods. These worked great with no problems. The battery retained a charge for several days. I pulled one out of my pack today, turned it on, and it still has a full charge over a month later. The Headsets worked well but some in our group kept bumping the VOX button and there was too much noise from them walking. It would be helpfull if they had a lock feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bastrop, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bubba Hunter's Pack

Date:November 21, 2006
Handy for use with multiple hunters in one group. While elk hunting in New Mexico this year, our group of 5 people were able to keep good contact within the unit. Having the chargers, radios, and headsets in one bag helped keep items organized.
Did have some trouble with reception in low areas of the mountains, but that was due to heavy cover.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bossier City, Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

jdray

Date:November 21, 2006
My forestry company uses the midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack radios for work everyday and are very satisfied with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alma, Quebec
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good package

Date:November 21, 2006
a good package including all you need... no trouble finding headset fiting the frs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smart move

Date:November 21, 2006
Using the Midland GTX 661 radios was the differance in geting my hunting buddy his elk. I was very happy at the range we could talk and was able to move my partner into a position that allowed him a shot on a cow. With snow and bad weather conditions, being ablew to talk to each other was paramount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: philadelphia pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

midland radios 661 gxt bubba hunter pack

Date:November 20, 2006
this product is the best radio system i have ever bought. i had bought them due to quality and price and as usual ,well worth it.they are everything they say they can do.we had tested them on an archery trip to susquehanna county pa in the game lands and the distance we were apart was 18.5 miles ,and the radios worked perfect. it came into play when my father fell and sprained his ankle.he called me on the radio and came in clear as a bell.pop is doing great and thanks to the midland radio 661 gxt was able get my dad medical help.i am a phila fire paramedic and know the importance of good radio,s.midland stands second to none .thanks again to cabelas for having a great product to sell to all hunters. pat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Huh???

Date:November 20, 2006
The
volume is much too soft. The headset allowed too much exterior noise in
addition to the low maximum volume. If they were three times louder,
perhaps I could use them. Unfortunately, I wasted my money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Midland GXT 661 Bubba Hunter's Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Satisfaction not good

Date:November 20, 2006
No lock button setting. Because of this the VOX button can be pushed with out knowing and other radios using the same frequancy are unable to communicate.
Volume controll has to be place all the way up in order to hear the speaker well. Not much volume controll between off and full blast.
The Rechareable batteries that come with the units do not last a day (8) before haveing to be recharge again. Looking at the battery pack it looks like AAA batteries were used. Switching to NICA AA batteries would extend the operating time. WE switched to Alkaline AA batteries and resolved some of the down time recharging.
The 18 mile claim is a joke. We were lucky to get 5 miles with distortion at line of sight.
Our hunting group uses GMRS radios to coordinate lacations and above all SAFETY. It cost me $75 to get licensed for GRMS and I think that cost has gone up. What good is the license if the radios being used don't stand up to the requirements.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22