Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gamo Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun

The ultimate in shooting fun and perfect for pest control. As a shotgun, it shoots miniature shells loaded with a No. 9 lead shot. At 750 fps, it delivers a 12" pattern at 10 yards, penetrating over 1/8" of 200-lb. compressed paperboard. As an air rifle, it fires a .22-caliber pellet at 725 fps with the included adapter. Break-barrel action with 30-lb. cocking effort. Full vent rib with bead front sight. All-weather synthetic stock. Two-stage trigger. Length: 43.5". Weight: 5.5 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
19 out of 25(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Review 1 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Belton, Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Viper Express Shotgun

Date:July 7, 2010
I am very pleased w/ the knock down power, I didn't think this Air Shotgun would be this surgical in its ability to take down birds that were raiding my garden especially w/ the ajustable trigger tension screw, I am very happy w/ my purchase Thank you Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Shotgun

Date:December 2, 2008
I have the shadow express and its not too bad for the money. .22 pellets hit hard, Im getting 685fps with 14.3grain pellets and I have dropped squirrels and rabbits from over 30yards. The gun isnt as accurate as I was hoping but it was the shotshells I was looking forward to. The shotshells are great for crow and pigeon hunting. The shotshells are cheaper than 20guage shells its quieter and there is no recoil. The shells lose their punch very quickly, but they will still do the job for overhead mid-flight birds. Overall this gun isnt too bad I believe it will take out a fox with a well placed shot and will get the job done for pesky birds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: laguna beach Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ALright

Date:October 23, 2008
well, i have not really had any problems with this gun i would not recomend this gun to be used in an air soft war in your back yard. My son killed 3 birds and injured a neighbors dog.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Waterford, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shotgun?

Date:October 2, 2008
Well its not a bad concept, yet its not a super performer. The shot shells wont pattern well enough to kill anything more than 15 ft away. Dont expect consistant kills on fly-bys. The 22 cal pellet however hits hard, and offers decent accuracy out to 30 ft. if you want a novelty, go for it, if you want a super accurate airgun buy something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rodent control tool

Date:May 26, 2008
I have rats that run along the fence in my backyard, and can't use an air rifle as I would end up taking out a neighbor's window (or worse). The shotgun shells are very effective on even large rats at 20 feet. After two dozen rats, I'm running about 60% instant kills. The rest die after a minute or two...
I have also used the gun in the house to shoot a mouse behind the entertainment center. At such close range, all pellets went into the mouse, none in the sheet rock.
I don't know what I would do without my little shotgun! If you have rodent problems, and can't use an air rifle in your area, this is the gun for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: NEWTON,NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not enough power

Date:May 23, 2008
nice little gun and a great idea but just not enough power.with shot gun pellets iv hit a few birds at 60 feet and had them fly away.i have killed a couple birds with the slugs but not real accurate with open sites.id love to see this gun with more power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TUCSON AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GAMMO

Date:April 7, 2008
PIGEON KILLING MACHINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

viper express review

Date:March 15, 2008
Nice gun, the performance is greatly enhanced with the addition of a center bead on the rib. You can easily hit a little orange wire nut at 15 meters off-hand with the .22 insert.
The shotgun feature took some custom work; I could see from previous reviews that some had difficulty with the somewhat anemic performance of the #9 shot; These shotgun shells are easy to reload, but probably a discouraged action by the manufacturer. Old credit cards make great wadding material when a hand held paper punch is used and #8 shot patterns significantly better that the factory fodder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Air shotgun

Date:February 8, 2008
The Gamo shotgun is useless over 10 yards. Past 10 yards the pellets can be seen dropping. Past 15 yards it will not kill a starling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A blast

Date:January 30, 2008
Just bought one of these. it's a blast; pellets have great penetration and shot shells work well on squrriels and destructive birds (Only things I have used it on)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great novelty but painful to reload

Date:November 30, 2007
Recently purchased and was intrigued by the concept. It's a true air-shotgun. Don't plan on being able to kill anything beyond 10-20 feet...it just annoys the pigeons on the top of my roof. Lots of feathers in the air along with the bird flying away. It's a lot of fun to shoot but a little expensive as a novelty. My big request is that GAMO needs to design a better way to remove the spent plastic cartridge after firing. If you try to remove with your fingers, you will be skinned up after a few rounds. Regular .22 pellets can also be fired but good luck hitting anything.
You will need to buy another gun to finish off anything you hit that might be wounded.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Concord, Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun

Date:September 11, 2007
The rifle/shotgun is an excellent airgun. It is great. I am very satisfied with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

viper shotgun

Date:August 6, 2007
i ordered this gun from cabelas and couldnt wait to get it. when it finally came i got it out and went straight to my backyard. i killed a bird at 8 yards! the only thing is that i did not like was that the recoil on this gun kicks like a horse
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Crest Hill, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Just a Disappointment!!!!!!!!!!

Date:July 27, 2007
I was looking forward to using this gun for some time, as a back up to my back up. I currently shoot the Varmit Hunter & the Hunter Extreem by GAMO. Finally found an outlet that would ship to my state. I was looking for the UPS truck daily till it came. I read the reviews on this site as well as many others, as well as talking to several of the local stores to get their opinion. So it arrives and I couldnt get it open fast enough. . . . I tested the shot gun first; with some amazement it was quite effective even at 20 yards, putting down several smaller birds. I would like to see the range a bit further, however it was not terrible. The .22 was next on the list to try, and let me tell you; what a disaster. :( The first few shots were fine, approximately 8 total shots to dial it in @ 60 yards aiming at a shoot-N-C. Then, every shot after would not travel out of the sleve! Yah, thats right, the .22 pellet would get stuck and I would have to force it out with a toothpick so I wouldnt dammage the gun or sleve....Just A Disappointment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

gamo viper express air shot gun

Date:July 17, 2007
Gamo makes good products and the quality, feel, balance,
shoot ability of this air shot gun was very good. It just did not
have the power to do what I need to do; kill grackles at
30-40 ft without the possibility of a pellet type ricochet. So, I wasn't satisfied and sent it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ROMA TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best air gun in my life up to now

Date:July 6, 2007
THIS GUN IS THE BEST FOR CLOSE RANGE GAME LIKE RABBITS, JACKRABBITS, DOVE, AND QUIAL. THE ONLY THING THAT I DIDNT LIKE IS THATTHE SIGHT IS TOO SMALL ANG DIFFICULT TO SHOOT WITH BUT I RESSOLVED THAT PROBLEM BY PUTTING A LASER SIGHT. THANK YOU CABELAS AND GAMO FOR PURCHASING THIS AWESOME GUN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun

Date:June 13, 2007
A novel idea and it works well as a small guage shotgun. Barrel is poorly aligned with frame which makes it almost impossible to aim in .22 cal. mode. Could use more power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beckley, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good gun

Date:May 14, 2007
I have killed 5 animals with this gun. The pellets fire at an extremely effective velocity. In my most recent kill I hit a chipmunk in the spine from 20 yards. The result was an instant kill.The shells are effective within their range. I have killed 3 birds with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great all around gun

Date:March 20, 2007
When I first recieved this rifle I was concerned about how it would perform. The results were amazing! I've shot birds with the shotshels at up to 15 yards with instant kills. I have even killed a rabbit with the shotshells at 13 yards. Around five pellets penetrated the skull of the rabbit killing it almost instantly! Those who say that this gun is worthless need to realize what this is, a spring powered shotgun! STOP EXPECTING 12 GAUGE PERFORMANCE OUT OF AN AIRGUN!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not buy this gun

Date:March 14, 2007
I fell for this novelty and have been constantly remined of my mistake ever since. Within the first day the brass sleeved chamber mate, to allow firing .22 pellets, fell out of gun while cocking and was damaged. Contacted Gamo by phone and email for over six months now and have been given the run around ever since. The shotgun shells are expensive and only good for super close range. The gun has a nice exterior but after the lack of power and service response this will be my last Gamo airgun EVER!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25