Customer Reviews for Remington Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Remington Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo

Sharp looks and performance to match are inherent in this air rifle combo. The Monte Carlo wood stock sports a high-gloss walnut stain finish with a checkered pistol grip and forestock. It shoots .177-caliber pellets per 1,000 fps. The barrel is equipped with a muzzle break and the rear of the stock has a ventilated rubber butt pad. This rifle also comes with a 3-9x40mm adjustable-objective scope with a mil-dot reticle.Cocking effort: 28 lbs.Overall length: 45".Approximate weight: 8.8 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
35 out of 42(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Review 21 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Summit airgun

Date:June 26, 2009
I was disappointed with the first Remington Summit air rifle I received. The stock had 2 blemishes, probably from a loose allen wrench that was in the box. The rifling in the barrel had a flaw about one inch from the receiving end. I bought an airgun shooters kit at the same time and used it to thoroughly clean the bore. Using a bore light, not only did the flaw show up, but the entire rifling looked like it was cut with dull tools.
There was no need to unpack the scope. This gun could never shoot accurately.
Cabels replaced it with another Remington Summit and this one was in excellent condition. The stock was beautiful and bore rifling had a nice look to it. The scope was in good condition and I had no trouble mounting it. Using the cleaning kit, I ran 3 felt bore plugs through the barrel it to clean out the oil before shooting it.
The gun is tempermental about the brand of pellets I use.
At 25 yards I can get a 1 inch group with the better quality pellets. The cheaper pellets get poor results. I have only shot 200 pellets so far. The trigger is too stiff for me even though it is adjustable. I am hopeing it will get better as it gets more use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Summit air rifle

Date:December 31, 2008
I just bought a Remington summit Air Rifle, and could not be happier. After reading some of the negative reviews about this gun I understand how some new owner may be unhappy about its accuracy. I think it may be a matter of patience. I put a hundred pellets through the gun to break it in before I mounted the scope. I spent around a half hour mounting and sighting the scope on the bench. I used a scope tool to “bore sight” the scope, for windage and elevation. I also spent time adjusting the eye relief.
Later that afternoon I took the gun to our local gun range. I shot about 10 pellets at a stationary set at target at 30 yards, while the gun was in a shooting rest. With a little adjustment of the scope I was able to shoot a 10 round group in the black that I could cover with a quarter.
So with a little patience I think you will really like this gun. I would highly recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Conyers,GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disappointed

Date:December 9, 2008
I was very disappointed with this rifle. It looked good, and appeared to be made well, but it is not a shooter. I tightened all of the screws, tried different ammo, and the rifle was just not consistant. I am sending it back to Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inaccurate

Date:November 6, 2008
As stated in many of the previous reviews, I have not been able to get this gun to produce any type of group. I mounted the scope and from a bench rest proceeded to sight the gun in. After making vert. / horz. adjustments required the gun printed randomly all over. Took scope off remounted tried again same results. After reading previous reviews i will verify the rest of the screws on the gun are tight if this corrects the problems, i will up date my review. This gun is a well made gun, I only hope I can resolve the problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remington summit air rifle combo

Date:October 7, 2008
i ordered this rifle about two mts ago and when i tried to sight in the scope the cross hairs would not move. sent the rifle and scope back and recieved newone in about a wk. New scope fine. no problems with it coming lose or any thing. The reason i got the rifle was to clean out th squirrls that were eating my flower bulbs. In the last three wks ive killed between 30 to 40 of them. Not all clean kill because the 177 pellet is so small and that i dont care where i hit them. so some will run a few ft and die. it is a very nice looking rifle and scope. appears to a regular remington stock routed out for an airgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AMAZING

Date:October 3, 2008
This gun is the best i have ever seen. I have killed chipmunks, sparrows and even geese with this all in one shot. get this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Adirondack Mountains Real Upstate New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Summit Air Rifle

Date:September 13, 2008
If you are looking for a tackdriver pellet rifle, don't expect this weapon to fill the bill. Out of the box the gun appears full of promise...the wood is good, the pressed checkering is passable, the fit and finish are good. The scope is solid and attaches solidly to the barrell with the pinch/slide mounts. Yet after 100 shots, you get to wondering when the gun will settle down and put consistent groups on the target. Everybody says that you have to work these 1,000 ft./second break barrels in slowly...but I'm getting to wonder just how slow that may be. I don't want to take on any squirrels just yet because a humane kill shot just doesn't seem possible to me. Maybe another 100 trigger pulls wil get it zeroed. And the trigger adjustment screw is hard to access behind the trigger which does need adjustment out of the factory to reduce really excessive creep. I hope that in a while I can start to say better things about this weapon. But for now, it is a full-sized and good looking disappointment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best air gun EVER.

Date:April 5, 2008
this gun has everthing needed to take small game and have backyard fun it is .177 but it will preform like a.22 with good pellets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DO NOT BUY

Date:March 28, 2008
Great looking rifle. Accuracy is terrible. My shots are at 40 feet and it shoots anywhere from 6 inches low to 6 inches high. I removed the scope thinking it was the scope. I placed one of my $400.00 scopes on and it did not change a thing. DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Summit Rifle/Center Point 3-9x40 scope

Date:February 28, 2008
The Remington Air Rifle is a nice gun, it appears to be well made with a very nice stock. It is a nice hefty .177 pellet rifle that is a one pump design.
My problem is with the scope, a Center Point 3-9x40 design that is very impressive in looks on the outside but the cross hair framing inside moves around inside.
Cabelas staff please contact me by e-mail of how to return just the scope for exchange, or what else to do in this matter.
Thank you
Lee
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

straightshooter

Date:February 9, 2008
Most comments here were accurate. Read the mounting instructions. Sight it in and have fun. Use the best ammo you can buy. I can't stress the importance of reading the directions and sighting in as you would with any other fine shooting instrument.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Summit Tested

Date:December 6, 2007
I had this airgun for 1 week. I reviewed all the info. about screws being loose, scope mounting problems, etc. I'm not a newcomer to airguns. I've been actively shooting for over 30 yrs. I thought this would be the 38th airgun I would add to my collection, but I'm sorry to say this won't be happenening. Here's a rundown of my expierence with this gun.
I ran a series of tests with 12 different types of pellets from brand name manufacturers. All shots were tested at 50 ft. The scope was set up to reflect this distance. I'm not going to name the brands of pellets used because I know certain brands perform differently in the type of airgun your shooting.
Seeing that this is a new gun, I shot 100 pellets through it to get it ready for a more formal test.
In every shot group with the various pellets, 5 shots per target, the accuracy was the worst I ever seen in a spring piston airgun. All shooting was done from a rest. The crosshairs were centered exactly on the target when the trigger was slowly pulled back to initiate the shot.
You could not get a consistant shot group with any of the pellets tested.
I experimented with the positioning of the barrel weight. Mine came with the 2 setscrews on the bottom. I loosened them and moved them so that they were on the upper portion of the barrel and the shot groups improved. I believe if there were 3 setscrews spaced evenly apart, the resonnance emitted when firing this gun would help improve the accuracy. Nice scope,when mounted on my shadow,dime size groups...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miamisburg, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Here's a shooter!

Date:September 16, 2007
This thing really shoots and shoots hard. I have read reviews that cited loose screws in the scope mounts/bases and they are correct- because they're SUPPOSED to be (initially, at least).
There is an owner's manual for the very high-quality Crosman scope that is part of this excellent package. The, "Procedure for mounting on your Sierra Pro Air Rifle" tells you just what to do; basically, removing the scope from the rings so you can get to an all-important indicator screw that positions the base in the correct location on the receiver before you tighten the rail screws. This results in a perfect, rock-solid scope base mounting. All that having been said, don't use this as a, "How To" read all the directions!
I used Permatex "Threadlocker Blue" on all screws, but that's an old habit and not a bad one to get into.
Bottom line: Every time I pull the trigger, there is a hole where the cross-hairs were (if I miss, it's me) and I think this fine air rifle/scope combo is getting a bad rep from good folks that aren't giving it a fair shake by doing what the directions say to do. It's a shooter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Boyertown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Summit

Date:September 13, 2007
Received this gun over a month ago, and finally had a chance to mount the scope & sight it in. This is a beautiful air rifle, feels good and looks like a quality piece. But it doesn't shoot worth a darn. Read other reviews & made sure everything was tight, etc. But as was once said, "There is no joy in Mudville tonight." From a rest the pellets do not group consistantly, the hits vary in a vertical pattern. At 60 feet, they hit anywhere within a 8 inch vertical range. It's like the barrel does not lock up in the same position every time. Would not advise anyone to buy this gun. Spend a little more and get something worthwhile.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WESTCHESTER CO. NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT RIFLE FOR THE PRICE WELL WORTH IT

Date:September 10, 2007
THE TRIGGER IS ADJUSTABLE AND PRETTY GOOD BUT COULD PREFER IT TO BE LOCATED FURTHER BACK TO DECREASE THE LENGTH OF PULL . I ALSO HAD TO REMOVE THE REAR RECOIL PAD TO SHORTEN THE LENGTH OF PULL TO 14 IN . REPLACED PAD WITH PLASTIC BUTT PLATE . THIS STOCK DONT NEED A RECOIL PAD . VELOCITY IS RIGHT THERE , ACCURACY IS VERY GOOD , SCOPE IS EXCELLENT.MOUNT IS A LITTLE LARGE FOR APPLICATION, COCKING EFFORT IS EASY, VERY QUIET, OVERALL I WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMMEND IT FOR THE PRICE IT IS DEFINITLY WORTH IT . I SHOOT A LOT OF HIGH PRICE AIR RIFLES WITH ALL THE SAME FEATURES THIS HAS . IF THIS RIFLE IS BUILT AS GOOD ON THE INSIDE AS IT IS ON THE OUTSIDE YOU GOT A HOME RUN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: western pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not happy

Date:July 10, 2007
Air rifle was not vert acurate. i don't know if it was the rifle or the scope that was the problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Summit Air Rifle

Date:July 9, 2007
This is my first quality air rifle and I am totally pleased with the performance and feel. This is an upgrade from my Crossman powermaster 760 which has nothing on this air rifle. Well worth the extra cost. Before shooting the Remington, which is said to be made by Crossman, I suggest reading the manual and then checking to make sure the screws are tight. As other reviewer's have stated, some screws will probably be loose as mine were a little. Do not just grab your screw driver and have at it because you may tighten the trigger adjustment screw which is behind the trigger guard. I set the nice quality scope @ 50' ( the lowest setting ) and sighted in fairly easily @ 10 yards. The rifle is deadly acurate out to 25 yards without a miss if you know what I mean. I find this rifle a very high quality and worththy of the Remington name easy to cock and a very adjustable scope. A great value for the money. I love this rifle and I think you would have to spend quite a bit more for one that is as nice looking and performs any better. I have a ruger 10/22 and its quite a bit louder than this. I target shoot my summit in my back yard with a sturdy 4' x 4' x 1" thick particle board back stop and a cardboard box filled with layers of card board and sealed with packing tape. No complaints from my neighbors yet. Another great deal from Cabelas, Thanks !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ESTES PARK, COLORADO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CROSMAN/REMINGTON AIR RIFLE

Date:June 26, 2007
THIS IS A WELL MADE RELIABLE RIFLE. IT HAS THE APPEARANCE AND FEEL OF A CENTERFIRE RIFLE. THE SCOPE HAS A GREAT SIGHT PICTURE, BUT I CANNOT GET IT TO SHOOT TO POINT OF AIM (IT CONSISTENTLY SHOOTS ABOUT TWO INCHES LOW WITH THE SCOPE ADJUSTED AS HIGH AS IT WILL GO). ALLOWING FOR THIS, IT HAS PUT MANY GROUND SQUIRRELS "IN THE GROUND" IN THE COUPLE OF WEEKS THAT I HAVE HAD IT. IT IS PURE FUN AND A GREAT COMBO FOR THE PRICE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great rifle with just a few hickups.

Date:March 11, 2007
I'm new to air rifles so this purchase of the Remington Summit is my first. Overall I was pleasently pleased with the performance of the gun. It is louder then I thought which could attract some undesired attention if you are shooting in a residential area, but I have found that it quiets down some after the first 25-50 shots. I am still in the process of sighting in but I am able to obtain approximately 1.5" circles at a distance of 50 feet. To do this process correctly, you really need to brace the gun in a rest. I expect I would be able to maintain a 1" circle at 25 yards once it is sighted in.
The scope is very nice. It adjusts for elevation (up/down), windage (left/right), zooms from X3 to X9, has a focus for range, and and adjustable reticule (cross hairs). I have not found the scope to work its way loose after about 75 shots as have others.
The trigger is two stage. You pull back some for the first stage then pull further to take the shot. The length of pull necesary for the second stage is adjustable. I found that shortening the pull helps, but in my opinion the trigger requires too much force to execute the shot. Maybe it will require less force after I have shot if a few 100 more times, but currently it tends to pull the rifle off target a bit.
For accurate shooting it would be nice to be able to attach a strap to the rifle, but there are no D-rings to do so. Maybe you can buy something like that.
My only other peave is the fact that you must use the scope to shoot this rifle. The rifle comes without front or rear sights and I suppose you could just sight down the barrel if you wanted to shoot without the scope. So expect to always have the scope mounted. This would be a hindrance if you wanted to do any "night shooting", unless you are willing to retro-fit a laser designator on the barrel.
One more comment. This is a break-barrel gun. You cock it by breaking the barrel, loading a pellet then locking it into position. As such the real barrel length is from the point of break which is about 18". The scope is mounted to the portion that does not break. I think these two facts could contribute to some inaccuracies. Maybe there are some air rifles that break further back so that the scope mount and shooting barrel are one in the same. Overall though, and for the price, the gun is very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Remington Summit Air Rifle Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok rifle for

Date:January 31, 2007
This gun doesnt shoot straight even with the "Gamo Raptor" pellets (haha) because u have to tighten the screws first! after its a great all around pellet rifle BUY!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 42