Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gamo Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle

This feature-loaded airgun will ruin a varmint's day as it sends .177-caliber PBA Raptor ammo (50 rounds included) screaming downrange at 1,200 fps. The rifled steel, fluted polymer bull barrel is mated to a tough all-weather synthetic stock with twin cheek pads to accommodate right- or left-handed shooters and no-slip checkering on the grip and forestock. Thick, ventilated rubber butt pad. Optics package includes a 4x32 tactical air rifle scope with flashlight and laser sight. Batteries included. Automatic cocking safety. Manual trigger safety. Two-stage adjustable trigger. Cocking effort: 30 lbs.Overall Length: 43.8".Weight: 7.15 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.11 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
85 out of 100(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Review 61 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good air rifle

Date:May 14, 2007
The
original rifle came with the red dot scope not functioning, so I hadto
send the whole rifle back to Cabelas for replacement. When I received
the new rifle, out of the box, everything worked. The scope was sighted
in really close, and the red dot was easy to adjust. This is an
accurate and deadly rifle that has my respect. I can't wait to try it
on squirrels this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gamovarmithunter

Date:April 30, 2007
this gun is awsome!! it's not your everyday plinker it's a serious shooter!! if ya want a pop can shooter stick with a $30 b b gun but if you want a pellet gun that'll knock the socks off of small game then get this gun !! true you have to stick with the high end ammo that gamo sells (lead pellets don't make it ) but then again this is no can plinker! hard hittin and a blast to shoot!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:April 23, 2007
Easy to set up. gooo accuarcy. Setup scope and lazer in about 10 shots from 50 feet. Trigger is good scope not bad. handles well. Can't beat for price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lexington, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Varmint Hunter Pellet Gun

Date:April 16, 2007
I have been looking for the best deal on a "real" pellet gun and not a toy. I got it with this weapon. We have/had a significant squirrel problem in our back yard. We like to feed birds but the seed/suet also attracts fuzzy tails. My other pellet gun was inaccurate and ineffective against them.
I did my homework and found the best price on Cabela's and then got a $20 off coupon on any order over $150. Sweet.
This guns performance has exceeded all my expectations. Once I got the scope dialed in (15 mins. in back yard with cardboard target and about 20 shots) it is deadly with 90% of our kills being head shots at 30-40 yards. And I am not even using the Hi Tech Ammo. The 1,200 fps stuff makes too much noise. I am in the city even though we are surrounded by woods on three sides.
Only problem (and a minor one) the velcro strips they send to attach the pressure switches for the light and laser won't stay stuck to the gun.
By the way this thing is heavy duty and has the look and feel of a deer rifle.
Now if my wife would just let me have a shot now and again.
She has gotten very good.
Home run for Gamo and Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Little Rock, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varmint Hunter

Date:April 10, 2007
This is a well made accurate rifle. The laser leaves a little to be desired, but if you are a good shot you don't need it anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia beach, va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very accurate

Date:April 7, 2007
Hello,
Im a big hunter in virginia, when i was told of how nice and accurate this varmit hunter air rifle is i wanted to see for myself.The package came in on time and the first thing i did was go out back and shoot my new favorite toy.I was very impressed on how accurate and quite this air rifle was..The thing that i like the most is how far you can be to take a shot at your game...i strongly recommend this to anyone..
Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Willows, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varmint Hunter air gun

Date:April 4, 2007
This gun is really all that the catalogue said it was. I looked at alot of air guns and picked this one from the Cabela's catalogue for my mom and dad to get for Christmas. It is a great gun to buy and is really accurate. I haven't shot it at night yet, but it hits targets and small game where you want it to hit. I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

varmint hunter

Date:April 3, 2007
Best air rifle i have owned. Sighting in was a breeze. Powerfull! The only draw back I would say is that it is a little on the loud side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Air Rifle

Date:April 2, 2007
This gun shoots very true and fast. It is a very strong gun. The quality is very good. The weight feels like a full size rifle. Suprising that you can get so much power from one pump of the barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: the forest in AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like it

Date:March 12, 2007
Bought this because the bb gun was not even scaring the squirrels. Different story now. This rifle works great for me. Took about an hour to sight in the scope wasn't sure what I was doing for the first 15 minutes. It seems sensitive to different ammo. The most accurate for me is the 'Gamo Raptor'. I have several tins of various lead ammo, but any of them are not as accurate as the Rapor ammo.
Overall it's worth the money. In 5 shots 2 of my wife's little buddies didn't make it home for dinner. I would buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: east tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent airgun

Date:February 9, 2007
I have had my Varmit Hunter for about a year.I read these reviews ,I am not sure at what distance the average shooter uses ,but I shoot my Gamo at 100yards all day.The lazer works up to 125 yards with no problems.I have taken Raccoons ,Squirrels ,Rabbits ,most all small game with it.{even the occasioal pest rodents}I also match shoot this gun with rimfire guns,and usually beat them hands down from 25 to 125 yards.I have had no problems or any difficulty with the trigger being too hard .This gun is perfect for anyone who wants an air rifle.I have several friends who have sold their other brand guns to buy a Gamo,I suggest this to anyone,BUY GAMO,wont go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OKC. OK.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varmint Hunter

Date:February 9, 2007
After reading other reviews, the first thing I did was totally remount the entire scope/mount. Made sure all screws were tight, which they werent. With the PBA ammo it does sound like a 22 since the pellet is going supersonic. I tried Daisy lead pellets and it sounded alot quieter. Laser and scope sighted in easily. Only complaint so far is the pressure pads wont stay stuck to the forearm since it is rough and synthetic. I fixed this with a dab of super glue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressive and Very Accurate

Date:February 5, 2007
One of my friends came over with the gun and i didn't even shoot it and i went and bought it. It was easy to sight the scope in. The laser is really hard to sight in, and the trigger is way to hard but once you losen it, it shoots pretty well. i can hit a water bottle cap from 30 yards away and i know it will do better then that. I sighted it in with crossman pointed pellets but cant hit anything with the (PBA's) this is a great buy and a very impressive gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington,WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

YYEEEHHHHAAAAAAAWWWW

Date:January 31, 2007
Came home on my lunch break today to find my package, open it up, first thing i noticed is that i paid this much money for a pellet gun and the couldnt asemble it for me, so i pulled it out of the case, didnt mount the scope or anything, and flung a pellet out teh barrel, i see now why i paid the money, it sunk a pellet about 1 inch into a hemlock stump, i also got a laser sighter iner thing and my maintance kit today, still waiting on the gun case and hunting pellets, but anywho, i took it to work and assemebled it, this thing looks sweet and is alot big then i would have ever imagined, the laser sighter made it a breeze to sight this thing in, so i walked out back my work and we have a river back behing it( i know lucky me), i put my sights on a robin at about 20 yards across the river and reduced it to a pile of feathers, this gun is really noisy but i think it sounds sweet, the laser was kinda hard to sight in. overall great gun, not a kid gun though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots well, poor trigger

Date:January 27, 2007
First of all, I wasn't sure where to put this review, I got the refurbished Shadow 1000 with new scope. But when it came, the gun reads varmint stalker on it and I think the varmint is just a Shadow 1000. Mine has the factory muzzle break too.
Anyway, the gun is very accurate, it is a little noisy but nothing like a firearm. Killed a squirrel with it at 30 yards, used target ammo , it went through expanded well. The only problem with this gun is the trigger is very heavy so it is hard not to pull off shots. I read online that it will lighten up after about 150 shots, it should be adjustable in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Shakopee, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Accurate Enough

Date:January 18, 2007
I read the reviews before I purchased this air rifle. The first time I opened the box I was surprised...this thing looks SWEET!. I assembled it, and fired once...way louder than I imagined.
The laser sight works well, once you figure out how to sight it in. Another review suggests sighting in the laser at 10 yards, and the scope at 20. After firing, that makes sense.
The scope is good, no complaints there.
The flashlight broke right away, but I called Gamo and they gladly replaced the bulb. I did have issues with the adhesion of the finger switches for the laser and the flashlight.
Cocking pounds are fine. Loading it in the dark is fine also, it was easy to navigatee with my fingers.
The trigger is a little tougher also.
The whole package seems like it was put together well, but I am always missing those bunnies at less than 10 yards. People may question my shooting skills, but I am fairly confident that my innacuracy is consistant with many of the reviews of this weapon. I really like it, and I am trying to give it more chances, but I am really questioning if this gun is that accurate all the time. Maybe it is the trigger. But I know when that rabbit gets hit, and when it gets missed, even though that crosshair is right on the target. Suggestions? Can the trigger be adjusted manually?
I will agree that this also can easily be held up by one hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shooter

Date:January 18, 2007
After reading the other reviews I thought the rifle would be a mediocre performer. It was on sale so I decided to try it as I was not looking for a nail driver or a long range shooter.
The first two shots were from 25 yards and I could cover both with a dime, a bit low but after a few scope adjustments the next few shots were all in a two inch area.
I did go over the scope mount screws after removing the rifle from the packaging. All but the light and laser mounting screws were very loose.
I must agree with others that this rifle is very sensitive to the type of ammunition used. I had the best luck with the regular lead pellets. I used Copperhead pellets by Crossman to achieve the best groups. The "new" gold pellets that were shipped with the rifle were too inconsistent in diameter to be very accurate.
All things considered I was very impressed with the rifle. The scope mounted laser and light are a seldom used option and I did not mount the remote switches for that reason. I would recommend this weapon for ranges up to 50-60 yards. The power was very good at 50 yards; passing through a soup can with ease. At times the can would hardly move when hit.
The trigger pull is very heavy and requires a smooth pull, anything else will pull you off target. Remember the basics B.R.A.S.S. .......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not very accurate!

Date:January 10, 2007
Very in-accurate air gun. At only 20 yard the group is over 6”. My kids cheapo Daisy does better then that and only cost $30. I’m also not very impressed with the hard trigger pull. Don’t be fooled by the picture either as the barrel as just a small steel tube incased in plastic rather then a solid steel barrel like most adult air guns. May be why it’s not very accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap that's all I can say...

Date:January 1, 2007
I guess the old saying you get what you pay for is true here. I was super excited about this rifle when I got it. Took it out of the box, mounted the scope, tried to site it in (this isn't my first time doing this) and I can't hit a thing. The screws that hold the scope won't stay tight and end up stripping out. The trigger pull is crazy hard and will pull you right off target EVERY time. The noise this thing makes is crazy. I live in an urban setting and can't even shoot the thing in my back yard with out it sounding like a .22. Cabella's shouldn't even sell this piece of junk. Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: troy,alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Awesome

Date:December 31, 2006
i love this hear gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 100