Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Gamo Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle

This feature-loaded airgun will ruin a varmint's day as it sends .177-caliber PBA Raptor ammo (50 rounds included) screaming downrange at 1,200 fps. The rifled steel, fluted polymer bull barrel is mated to a tough all-weather synthetic stock with twin cheek pads to accommodate right- or left-handed shooters and no-slip checkering on the grip and forestock. Thick, ventilated rubber butt pad. Optics package includes a 4x32 tactical air rifle scope with flashlight and laser sight. Batteries included. Automatic cocking safety. Manual trigger safety. Two-stage adjustable trigger. Cocking effort: 30 lbs.Overall Length: 43.8".Weight: 7.15 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.11 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
85 out of 100(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Review 41 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo Varmit Air Rifle

Date:October 16, 2007
Works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:September 24, 2007
Excellent rifle, very accurate. Only thing I was somewhat disappointed with is the pressure switches to engage the light or laser ... just a little awkward because you have to maintain pressure while shooting, as opposed to a continuous on/off setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Huntington In.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Air Rifle

Date:September 10, 2007
I find that the rifle meets with my expectations. It does a find job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get what u pay for!

Date:August 13, 2007
Very powerfull! Shoots nice group @ 30 Yds.
The only drawback to the rifle is the saftey"s location. It is inside of the trigger housing. I hope they didn't pay the guy that designed that!
All in all, it"s a great gun. but you just have to be very aware of the safteyat all times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Jerseytown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Gamo Varmint Hunter Air Rifle

Date:August 7, 2007
once sighted in, this wepon is right on the money every time.
The only problem I have seen, was with the switch pads for the laser and the light. They don't stick very well to the stock.
maybe super glue will be my next try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Mankato, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good gun...tough to site in

Date:August 6, 2007
I was really excited to get the gun on the recommendation of some friends. As warned, I had some issues with the laser/scope accuracy. When sighting in, I could get the gun to shoot accurately within a couple inches at 50-75 feet for a couple shots, then would lose accuracy. (By sometimes 6 inches or more.) I tried to tighten down the scope mounts to no avail. The other problem was that the laser site would move after every shot. Nothing I could do would secure it internally. When using the supplied allen wrench, the laser moves with pressure...not from turning the adjustment screws. Needless to say, I think there may be some inconsistancies at the manufacturing level. I highly doubt that everyone will experience the same problems, but I am returning mine for a different make.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hopefully just a lemon... but maybe junk...

Date:July 22, 2007
Purchased to quietly take out pests at our lake home without bothering neighbors. From first shots problems were evident. Scope was supposedly bore-sighted, but shots were 6-7 degrees off to right and 1-2 degrees high. Adjusted elevation fine, but had to turn windage all the way down to left to hit bulls-eye at 30 feet from bench rest (and instructions would have user turn adjustment wrong way). Laser sight completely off and adjustments no where near allowed for correction. This piece is being sent back to Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamo

Date:July 19, 2007
I really like the whole setup of this rifle. As others have stated it is a little hard to sight in but I think it's due more to the trigger than the scope. I don't like the trigger at all! Even with it fully adjusted it has way too much travel in it and is way too heavy. It Makes for inconsistant shooting! Haven't had a chance to plink anything with it yet but I think it'll do the job!
MM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PELLET GUN

Date:July 17, 2007
I GOT MY GUN A MONTH AGO. IT TOOK ABOUT 50 SHOTS TO GET IT ZEROED IN. IT CAME WITH ALL THE SCREWS LOOSE ON THE SCOPE MOUNTS. BUT AFTER THAT ITS BEEN GREAT NO PROBLEMS.HIGHLY RECOMMENED.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fla
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Death to vermin

Date:July 17, 2007
I bought the Varmint Hunter to control squirrels and rats at my bird feeders. I had been using a Daisy Powerline .22 pellet rifle, and was beginning to doubt whether I knew how to shoot. I missed easy shots too frequently, and squirrels that were hit often bounded away. No more. In the three weeks I've had the Varmint Hunter, I've dispatched 15 squirrels, 8 rats, 3 opossums, and 1 raccoon. I haven't yet missed any of the critters I've shot at. Granted, I'm shooting at ridiculously close distances (15-25 ft), but my lack of success with the Daisy was giving me a serious complex.
The Varmint Hunter is easy to sight in, powerful, and well-made. I haven't had any of the problems mentioned in some of the other critical reviews. The noise isn't excessive, though a bit louder than the Powerline gun. I haven't yet shot anything using the spot-light or laser-sight, but they work well. My success with the entirely adequate 4x scope has been such that I haven't needed thewse advanced features.
I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Farm country, rural Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rabbit/squirrel eliminator

Date:July 11, 2007
I read a bunch of the reviews for this Varmint Hunter and decided not to get it. But then after enduring another two weeks of watching squirrels demolish our bird feeder, I could take it no longer. So I ended up buying it.
Sighting it in took about a half-hour. I have several high-quality deer rifles w/excellent scopes so when I went to make the adjustments on the scope, I was disappointed on how many turns I had to make on the x/y axis wheels. But eventually I got it sighted in at 30 feet, including the laser, and I could shoot groups of five pellets in a circle about half the size of a dime!
The time came to shoot my first varmint with it. A ground squirrel was digging up dirt around a fern about 15 feet away, so I aimed with the scope, hit 'em right on the head, and he was out for the count. After that, so far I have shot & killed four rabbits and three squirrels, all head shots, all the way up to 50 feet with amazing accuracy and quick kills. Very impressed.
I agree with the other posts, the gun is very loud, but is better than any other pellet gun I have owned. And the lack of recoil is a welcome change from shooting my 7mm magnum! I do recommend this gun for those of you infested by varmints, it does the job very well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:July 9, 2007
I ordered this air rifle with mixed expectations. I read the reviews and was not exactly sure how it would pan out. I must say that after I received the rifle my fears passed. It is well made and seams like it will stand up to years of use. I sighted it in easily. I found it to be accurate and reliable. The laser even holds true and is fun to use. I have yet to find a use for the light but my son thinks it looks great. I guess that is all that matters. It is well built, accurate, dependable and my son (whom I purchased it for) loves it. Now I know he will improve his shooting skills without the frustration of using a rifle that is not accurate or reliable. Overall a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A bit disapointed

Date:July 4, 2007
The overall product appears excellant but mine came the the scope loose and several of the screws appear to be strpped. Makes me think I got used equipment or quality control at Gamo is very poor. I have not used it yet but hope it works better now that the screws are tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gamo Varmint Hunter

Date:July 2, 2007
This product was total junk. The so called adjustable trigger was completely unadjustable arriving with the screw stripped out. With the trigger the way it was accuracy was impossible. Cabelas refund policy is top notch and back the product went!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Benton City, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

only one problem

Date:July 2, 2007
I have had my air rifle for a year now and am very pleased. So far the quality is unmatched. The only problem I have had was with the scope mounts. The recoil from the spring action is very hard on scopes. It rattles them so hard that there is almost nothing that will keep them from moving around in the rings and mounts. I contacted Gamo about this problem and they recomended their scope stop which I bought. It helped a bunch but I still have problems once in a while. I am still testing some things out and will let you know soon. If you have any suggestions please post them here on this review site. Thanks and good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:June 25, 2007
i just got this gun on friday and it has been good to me so far.
it took a little to get it sighted but otherwise its a great gun. highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

test

Date:June 18, 2007
it was well made and shoots straight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

tce

Date:May 24, 2007
The gun wasn't complete and would not shoot consistant. Was missing scope stop.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gamo Varmint Hunter

Date:May 22, 2007
I was unable to get a shot group of less than six inches at 50 yards after almost 200 rounds. I even pulled out my bench rest. My vary old and used Crossman is significantly more accurate. I should have seen it coming when the price didn't match the catalog write up. You get what you pay for. The upside is Cabela's is very willing to take it back for refund, or upgrade...which I plan to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Gamo® Varmint Hunter Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly Accurate

Date:May 21, 2007
With the scope sighted in, this air rifle is extremely accurate with decent stopping power. So far I've gotten 7 rabbits with one shot each. Unfortunately two others were only wounded and ran off, but that is in the nature of an air rifle, it's not a firearm so make every shot count.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 100