Customer Reviews for Hi-Viz HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hi-Viz HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight

An innovative sight idea that addresses cross eye-dominance issues, this fiber-optic sight system will only "light up" when your sighting eye is in proper position. No glow, no shot. Magi-Optic forces shooters to develop proper head position and alignment, and will improve the accuracy of any shooter by doing so. Fits nearly any vent-ribbed shotgun with removeable bead.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
9 out of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Review 1 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

HiViz Magni-OpticShotgun Sight

Date:January 27, 2009
THIS PRODUCT IS TO SMALL AND HARD TO EVEN SEE AT END OF BARREL--I PUT IT ON A 835 MOSSBURG AND THE REAR SIGHT COMPLETELY BLOCKS OUT THE OPTIC-SIGHT--THIS SIGHT IS NOT FOR ME
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Product Does Not Work As Claimed

Date:December 31, 2008
I purchased this product to fit on a newer Berretta shotgun. The screws that come with the sight don't quite fit, so the sight is loose and moves side to side easily. Which means glue needs to be applied to keep the sight straight on the rib. Also the pipe light diameter is so small it is hard to see. The product claims to address cross eye domminance issue. It does not work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: cedar rapids, ia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor optic brightness

Date:March 1, 2007
save your money, this sight is very hard to see even with decent amounts of light. It makes it hard to see and follow game due to the small light pipe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Southwestern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hi-viz magni-optic

Date:November 12, 2007
I did not like the patent for attaching the sight to the gun. The supplied screw was not long enough, and when the screw was tightened to the barrel, the back end of the sight came up off of the barrel. I also do not think the sight tube was long enough, for when you looked down the barrel into the tube, you could see the the top of the green or red optic piece over the tube. I'm sorry to say that I sent this back in exchange for another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not as adverised

Date:March 26, 2007
The stated purpose of this device is to line your dominant eye over the shotgun rib. My dominant eye can be an inch to the right or left of the rib or anywhere inbetween with no change in the appearance of the fiber optic pipe. This is no better than the simple HiViz sight that costs less than half. I took it off and tossed it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Longmont, Co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

average product

Date:September 23, 2008
It is a good idea for cross-eye dominant shooters like myself. My only complaint is that it is not as bright as the sight I replaced it with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Eastern Shore, Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy to install

Date:August 25, 2008
This sight works like advertised, easy to see. It does not correct cross-eye domination, but, nothing does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Haskell, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too expensive, but works well.

Date:November 13, 2007
This sight works well.
I don't particularly like the 'lighted' sights. I feel like they have a tendency to draw the shooter's attention to the end of the barrel instead of the target. However, my girlfriend needed something to help her overcome an eye dominance problem. She's right handed, but left eye dominant. Since this sight only 'lights' for the eye that is directly over the gun, she's able to know which image to concentrate on. This is, by no means, a cure-all. It is a helpful training aid.
The main reason I gave the product four stars instead of five is because of mounting difficulty. She uses a Remington 1187. The factory sight is not easily removed as it is press fitted. The kit doesn't come with any kind of adhesive, and the epoxy I first tried failed after a short time. I'm going to keep it, but I need to figure out how to glue it on! Super Glue is next...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Sight

Date:November 6, 2007
This sight was easy to install and will work great on keeping your head down while tracking ducks,geese etc
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AA+

Date:September 20, 2010
Like any new sight, takes a little getting used to. Give it a fair chance. It works really well for me. I don't shoot without one now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kenai Peninsula, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HiViz is the way to go!

Date:July 21, 2008
Trap shooters will get a kick out of this, serious score improvement. Duck hunting in low light situations is not a problem anymore, No more looking for the bead while keeping up with a pair of 65 M.P.H teal! A++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern middle Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HiViz Magni-optic shotgun sight

Date:February 20, 2008
Fantastic device!
Fit my side-by-side double without problems.
Mounting screws even fit the foreign made bead sight tapped hole!
Made early morning sighting much more easy. It truly is a high visibility sight system!
Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: readsboro vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sight

Date:October 9, 2007
this sight i got to put on my 10yr out son's shot gun and it have made a vast inprovment on his eye alinmnet and hitting clays and other targets this is a very good product for first time shotgunners or seasoned vets who want more consistant hits on target
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hi viz otic shotgun sight

Date:August 5, 2007
I'm using two of these sights on a 12 Nd 28 ga. O/U shotguns. I am right handed with eyes corrected with cataract surgery. I can't shoot with both eyes open without the sight. With this sight I can really pick up targets shooting skeet very well. Takes a bit of learning but it really works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HiViz Magni-Optic Shotgun Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Varina, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HIVIZ sight

Date:November 20, 2006
Purchased this sight to help a friends wife be able to shoot better. Once installed, she was required to have her head and eye square on the rib of the gun to see the sight. This helped her use her less dominate eye to shoot and shoot well. This sight helps all to align their eye properly in order to see the sight, and in so doing allows them to shoot better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.