Customer Reviews for Peltor Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Peltor Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector

By combining ambient sound listening capabilities with noise reduction technology and AM/FM reception, Peltor has created a unique device that presents users with a variety of options. You can walk a sporting clays range, talk to your buddies, listen to the game and enjoy the benefits of a noise reduction rating of 25db all at the same time. Listen to tunes while working with loud yard equipment, or catch the radio commentary as you watch an auto race at the track. An audio-in jack accommodates two-way radio input. Listening volume, radio volume and radio tuner knobs included. Low-profile headband. Comfortable gel/liquid ear cups. Weights 13.8 oz. with batteries.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Review 1 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pensacola, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Headset/Hearing Protector

Date:November 3, 2009
Great piece of hearing protection equipment for mowing the lawn. Also, nice to have for recreational uses so one does not annoy others while listening to your favorite radio station.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gunter, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It really works

Date:July 14, 2009
I use the head set while mowing on my riding lawn mower. The loud noise of the mower is reduced to a hum and the radio comes in with good reception even on distant stations. One feature that would have been nice would have been preset buttons since the station locator works well but easier access to radio stations would have been a nice feature. Overall it is a very good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Post Lake, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector

Date:May 4, 2009
I worked in a mill for many years and have some noisy hobbies such as woodworking. I started wearing hearing aids a couple of years ago. When in the mill I wore earmuffs over the hearing aids but was having problems hearing what was going on until I got some with the electronic inhancement. Now I bought the Peltor with AM/FM for home use and they are great. This week I was cutting up about 8 face cords with the chainsaw and I was able to listen to the FM at a reasonable sound level. I will be wearing these anytime I am doing anything noisy hear on in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hearing Protection

Date:April 21, 2009
Hearing protection great, ambiant conversation feature is great, AM/FM radio good (moving around the stations go in and out and sevier loss of signal within auto cab and metal buildings). I really enjoy with yard work when saws, lawn mowers, weed eater and etc are used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Attention, race fans

Date:September 29, 2008
I bought these for my dad to wear at the Indianapolis MotoGP motorcycle race. They offered pretty good noise reduction (the race bike are extremely loud), but it also allowed him to listen to the announcers (broadcast by a small FM transmitter run by Indianapolis Motor Speedway), AND to have casual conversation without taking off his hearing protection. Excellent and unique solution to several problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth it

Date:June 2, 2008
they work great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:February 12, 2008
Comfortable, work as advertised, will save my hearing in future as I shoot more. Use is not limited to shooting but may be used for many other purposes where noise is a problem. AM/FM radio makes more versitle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: massatusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sounds good

Date:February 1, 2008
sounds good, really easy to tune in stations and are just as comfortable as you would expect from any hearing protector.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rural Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent hearing protection

Date:December 22, 2007
I have had my Peltor Alert ear muffs for about a year. They have a comfortable and excellent fit. The gel ear pads create a good seal against ambient sound. The am/fm radio is nice for long days on the tractor or working with the chainsaw. The noise reduction is rapid and very good. I have used them with a palm impact nail driver on long pole barn nails. The response time is perfect and I don't hear the driver at all. The same is true of my rifle, shotgun, and pistol!! Just plain don't hear them. YET, the normal conversation and environmental sounds are allowed through and amplified but never over 85db (the safe level). A hearing protector must be two things: Effective, and enticing to wear. You will want to use this product. Therefore, you probably will and protect your hearing. I am a physician... buy this product and use it. I have used mine long enough to find any defects or drawbacks... there are none. I just purchased a pair for a relative.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well built product

Date:December 21, 2007
The product works as claimed. The radio works fine in my area. I even get good reception in my basement.The am. could be better, but all in all its a very good headset.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Somerset WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pelator Headset

Date:November 27, 2007
Bought these for hunting/shooting hearing protection after years of abusing my hearing. They work great, are comfortable and really have good sound protection, amplification and radio clarity delivery.
Really a dual use piece of gear... Before hunting season I used them while mowing, chain saw use and weed wacker operation and really enjoyed listening to radio while working and not gettting beat up by loud motor noise. Makes lawn mowing enjoyable on the tractor listening to the radio.
Very sensative in blocking loud noises, and not so loud such as a breaking stick while walking throught brush. Instantly cuts out. Used them for sighting in rifle and found they really cut my flinch factor.
AM/FM radio has surprising station pickup where I am in the country. Very good sound, stereo quality.
Certainly a good value for reasonable money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kettering, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Money

Date:September 26, 2007
I was surprised of the quality of these headsets.
They work great around the house and at the range.
Ordered some cables from another website since these do not come with any patch cables for cell phone or other cd player.
I have used other brands that say they were great untill you open the box and see for yourself the difference.
I like these so much that IM going to order another set for my wife to use. I recommend these for any one who wants great value for there money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: central Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dissappointed

Date:May 22, 2007
the radio does not pick up many stations, and they come in weak. the new baterries lasted only about 20 hours, before i had to replace them. i am not impressed with the product, considering the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:April 24, 2007
I like that I can listen to the raido and still do the thing that I like to do that are VERY noisey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bayside, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Radio review

Date:April 1, 2007
I found the radio reception very poor on the AM side and the FM ok. There's several AM stations and quite a few FM stations in the area.
The hearing protection is good but overall but I'm not very pleased with them. I would give them a 2.5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Churubusco Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best yet

Date:November 30, 2006
I have owned three other headsets like this. This is the first with the radio. I first used it to mow the lawn and operate other power equipment. I was very impressed with the radio reception and the noise reduction. Then as hunting season approched I used it on the shooting range and was very impressed with the ability to hear all range commands and the noise reduction. It was hunting season when they really stood out over the rest. I found that they amplified the woodland sounds very well without the feedback and extra noise I was used to with the other products. The best part was when I got sleepy on my stand. I found that I could listen to my favorite talk radoi show on low volume and still hear the woodland sounds very well. It was after 6 hours in the stand when I heard deer approching me and was able to shoot one while listing to the radio and protecting my hearing at the same time. I have recomended this product to all my frends. This is one of the best products I have ever pruchased at Cabela's. I will be purchasing a cord to plug into it for my two way radio to comunicate with my fellow hunters next. Once again Cabela's has impressed me with the eccelent products you continually seek out and have available to the outdoors enthusiast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KC, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Noise canceling Headset

Date:November 25, 2006
This set of earmuffs work GREAT. I purchased them to take with me to a Nascar race this year. They kept out the loud noise and yet my husband and I can still talk to each other. Nice fitting too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peltor headset

Date:November 22, 2006
I am truly impressed with this product. On the range I can hear conversations without taking the headset off and it completely drowns out the shots from my 30-06, 270 and 44 mag. pistol. I use the radio (which has very good reception) while mowing lawn and using chainsaw. Again, this drowns out the noise from the mower and chainsaw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Peltor Alert AM/FM Radio Headset/Hearing Protector
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chehalis, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peltor Alert AM/FM Headset/Hearing Protector

Date:November 20, 2006
Excellent Product. Great for shooting or operating machinery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.