Customer Reviews for WHITETAIL INSTITUTE Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WHITETAIL INSTITUTE Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus

The first chicory-based food plot product specifically for white-tailed deer. The combination of WINA-100 chicory, the most palatable leaf variety, and Imperial Whitetail is ideal for areas where high summer heat and extended drought has curbed the clover population. Perennial plant. Available: 3-1/2 lbs. plants 1/2 acre 14 lbs. plants 2-1/4 acres
Overall Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Review 1 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer love it

Date:January 20, 2007
My uncle has used this product for 3 years in a row, he has killed three big bucks off of it in the last 2 years. The deer dont usually get into it until about the first or second frost, but when that comes the deer will be there. Grows very well also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eastland County Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Something went wrong

Date:June 6, 2007
I planted 14 food plots on my farm this spring. I started last December getting the soils and plots ready. I did my soil test and every step required to make this product grow correctly. I mowed the area, plowed it under, disc it to almost a powder and came over it with a Kuldi packer. I applied 400 lbs of 17-17-17 per acre and disc the fertilizer in about 1/2 an inch. Then I Kuldi packed the plot again. At that point I used a Brillion seeder which is designed especially for this type of product and planted it right out in front of a God given thunder storm.
Out of my 14 plots that all got the same care and treatment this product is the only one that did not grow. I mean absolutely nothing came up. Germination was Zero!
Now I am ranking this as a two just in case I made mistakes in my preparation or my planting methods. I dont want to give something a bad ranking, but I would say be cautious with this product. I might have even just got a bad batch of seed. Maybe they inoculated it incorrectly. Im not sure, but I am certainly puzzled by the extremely poor results. I am going to plat this again in the fall and if it does what they claim at that point I will come back and change this review.
God bless all of you who take the time to do this food plot thing correctly. Wait until you see the results of your efforts this fall.
Plot Planted - Chicory
Date Planted - 3/30/07
Plot size - 1 acre (barren now I might add)
Fertilizer - 17-17-17 400 lbs per acre
Results - none, none at all.
Location - North Central Texas Eastland Texas
Weather - Cooler and wetter than normal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eaten to the Dirt

Date:November 26, 2007
We have two plots of Chicory Plus in. Our soil PH tested fine. We disked the soil, waited for the weeds to start growing and then applied a weed killer. 10 days later we seeded Chicory Plus without doing any further prep (we did not disk again or do any thing to break the soil up) and about 2 weeks later we had plants coming up. The first year there were some weeds mixed in, the second year the weeds lost out to a thick mixture of Chicory and Clover. The deer literally ate the plots to the dirt by the end of December. We plan to double the size of the one plot, and plan to use Chicory Plus then too.
Right or wrong, we seeded at no less than double the recommended rate.
In fields the plants thrived. This mix did not work well in areas where there was less sunlight; e.g., trails through the woods.
My brother shot a 140 class buck off the plot the 2nd year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MARYDEL, MD.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DEER AND TURKEY LOVE IT

Date:March 24, 2008
I PLANTED CHICORY PLUS LAST YEAR AND ONCE IT GERMINATED IT GREW PRETTY FAST ,WITHIN A MONTH OR SO I HAD TURKEYS COME IN ALMOST DAILY.AND THE DEER WOULD COME IN EARLY MORNING AND LATE AFTERNOON. BUT THEY WERE PRETTY SKIDISH BECAUSE THERE WAS NO THING BETWEEN THE FIELD AND MY HOUSE. SO I PLANTED 10 OR 12 ROWS OF CORN AND ONCE IT GREW 3 FEET OR SO I SET UP MY TRAIL CAM AND THE PICTURES I GOT WERE 3 TO 4 BUCKS FEEDING THERE FACE JUST AS FAST AS THEY COULD EAT AND THEY WERE THERE SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK FOR 45 MINUTES OR SO. IT GOT ATE DOWN PRETTY GOOD SO I AM OVER SEEDING IT THIS WEEK. AND DURING THE SUMMER LAST YEAR WHEN IT GOT PRETTY DRY THE CHICORY HELD UP PRETTY GOOD. SO I THINK YOU WILL BE PLEASED WITH THIS CHICORY PLUS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chicory Plus

Date:May 24, 2008
Great product!! Very hardy and drought resistant. The deer love it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Chickory Plus

Date:May 28, 2008
I was disappointed when I read the seed analysis and found that
Chickory Plus was only 10% chickory with the balance being clover and inert material.
No mention in the catalog of the 60% clover content.
I understand the desirability of some clover content but the catalog discription seemed misleading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chicory Plus

Date:June 8, 2008
Excellent product, especially for the money. The Chicory began to spout within a week. It has been over a month now and our acre plot is beautiful. Can't wait unit the deer find it this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great food plot product

Date:August 1, 2008
I planted in may .By the summer I had pics of Great bucks on my trail cam.This is the first food plot product I would recommend to anyone who wants to grow full trophy bucks on their farm.Im from Tennessee and people must try hard to raise and grow full mature bucks in our state.Id recommend these products to anyone.This product will help anyone willing to read and follow ALL planting instructions including soil test.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hollis, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chicory Plus

Date:February 4, 2009
Great seed quality and dispersion. Looks good and looking forward to planting a small patch and seeing what happens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Chicory Plus and No-Plow

Date:August 18, 2009
Just planted this in one of my food plots, just starting to come up. I also planted some no plow in the same food plot and it is doing great mixed in some soybeans with it and the deer are really starting to hit it. I also planted another food plot about 1 mile away with the same mix of products and yet to see any think come up. not sure whats going on their its pretty sandy soil at that location and its been dry so hopefully with the rain we are getting this week it will start to come up as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fenton, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like Seed on Steroids!!!!

Date:August 11, 2010
I just recently purchased and planted a 1/2 acre worth of this seed after reeding all the good comments about it. WOW! I just got a call from my Grandpa (the seed is planted on his property) and he said that the seed is already up 3+ inches. That's only a week after planting! Just one day of rain did it! I really couldn't ask for a better turnout, and that's only after a day of rain out of the week! Just imagine how good it will look before bow-hunting season. I am just so amazed because we only put on 1/2 of the required fertilizer amount, AND the seed is planted in a dry, chunky, clay soil! This product is definably recommended for anyone that wants to plant their seed in the fall and have a great turnout before hunting season! Highly Recommended!
P.S. this food plot also contains Imperial's, Clover plus, which provides the chicory's living calcium supply. This means you only have to fertilize it once a year. Each plant relies on the other, because the two plants suit each-other's mineral needs! Ingenious!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grate for lasting 3 to 5 years

Date:March 7, 2011
Will do great for your heard Come August and a dry spell sets in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whitetail Institute Imperial Chicory Plus
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Weeds Weeds Weeds

Date:July 20, 2013
I've been planting food plots for 20 years using Whitetail Inst. products almost exclusively. In the beginning they were great but the last several years the quality has dropped dramatically. I do soil test, follow label instructions, use quality fertilizers & even call their biologist. To no avail. Still poor results. In my opinion quality control has been sacrificed to produce quantity. Sadly, it's time to move on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.