Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes

PRIMOS Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes

Available in two models with different pattern dispersal. The Decoy model spreads the pattern quickly, yet evenly. The Pass model stops the cup early allowing the shot to remain in a tight pattern. Both are CNC-milled from stainless steel and are compatible with steel shot, Hevi-Shot® and Bismuth. 12-gauge only.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Review 1 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009

Dead in the air

By
Location: eugene OR
I have both the pass shooter and the over the decoy's choke tubes. Both chokes perform exactly as advertised, the pass shooter holds the tightest pattern at that critical range (just before the steel loses enough energy to make it uneffective) that I have found. I hunt open fields and flooded timber, often in the same day, I have found it very benificial to be able to change pattern sizes in the field. These are well designed tubes, they change easily I have not needed a wrench yet and they have not become loose on their own I shoot 3 1/2" ,1625 fps, BB's out of my 887 and I do a lot of shooting, usually hunt three days a week.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2009

Grooved Out

By
Location: Delta, UT
Shot these tubes with Blackcloud #3 shells, and they got grooved out from the rounds. Destroyed. Before the BCs, they patterned great with Kents and Remingtons. They are made from softer steel. If you are shooting BCs, dont get this choke, with any regular steel they are great and affordable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2009

THIS IS YOUR CHOKE

By
Location: Piqua, OH
I folded two geese at 35 and 50 yards with the pass model on opening day in Ohio. This choke shoots just as good as other higher priced models. I own a PM and this choke shoots just as good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2009

choke tube

By
Location: Kansas
I personally didn't think it shot any tighter than a factory modified choke tube. Couln't tell any difference in the field or on paper at 40-50 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

Primos Dead Zone

By
Location: Vermilion, Ohio
I bought the pass tube for late season goose and I was surprised how well the tube performed.
I was using 3 1/2 number 2's and killed a couple high flyer's that would not commit. Very impressed with how tight the pattern was out past 40 yrds. Great tube for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2008

The Dead Zone

By
Location: Anna, IL
All i got to say is ONE HOLE. A 40yards and 3 1/2in. #2's out of my SX3 It made one GREAT BIG HOLE. four flyers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2008

Dead Zone Choke Tubes

By
Location: Glasgow ,Ky
The Primos Dead Zone Choke Tubes are the best choke tubes I have ever used. I'ved even tried the high dollar tubes and they don't even satisfy my everyday of the season needs. I love the reliablity and performance of the Dead Zone tubes, I use them in my Benelli Super Nova and my Benelli Super Black Eagle ll .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2008

Finally the tight pattern that I have been wanting

By
Location: Monroe, Louisiana
This choke is great has a really good tight pattern, it deffinitely made a difference between my stock full choke and this one. Put it in my gun, went hunting and about the third group of ducks that came in I got a triple. Very stisfied and if you are looking for that tight pattern too, buy this choke and u will be satisfied.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2008

Primos Dead Zone Choke Tubes

By
Location: Louisiana
Recently purchased both the Pass and Decoy tubes for my
Remington 870. I used the Pass tube hunting Wood Ducks
on three occasions and limited out each time. The pattern from this tube has much more density out to 35 - 40 yards
than standard factory tubes, using 3", #4 steel shot. Will have to wait until next season to try out the Decoy tube.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2008

Great Choke

By
Location: NC
Never got to officially pattern it on paper, but it kills ducks. I use my factory IC choke that came with my SBE 2 in the early season, but this goes in as soon as the ducks start to get decoy shy or I'm not hunting in a small swamp where the tighter pattern isn't needed. Used it with lead shot to shoot some doves that tend to be spooky and skirt the edges later in the season and it worked like a charm. Made consistent shots in the 30+ yard range. Would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to drop a lot of money on an after market choke but needs a tighter pattern. PASS model.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Primos Waterfowl tubes

By
Location: Ohio
Beats the heck out of the tubes that were included with the new gun I bought.
Nice even patterns while still maintaining knock down power.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

choke

By
Location: Payette, Idaho
could not see a great difference between my factory choke and this one. nothing wrong with it though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2007

AWESOME PRODUCT

By
Location: Dryden, Michigan
I purchased both the past and decoy tubes for my Mossberg 835 Ultra-Mag. I heaven't had the chance to use the decoy tube but I did use the past tube on the last duck hunt for this season and it worked great. First duck of the morning 30 yrds give or take one shot dead duck and the second duck of the morning 40 yrds give or take one shot dead duck. I will be going on a snow goose hunt in Feb. and will be putting both of them to the test on bigger birds. I shoot 3 1/2" mags and they pattern better than the stock tubes. So far #2 shot works great with the past tube and next I'll be trying out BB on snows.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2007

Pass Shooting Tube Invector+

By
Location: Central IA
I haven't been able to really wring this out much yet, but it loks like it will work well. It is definitely tighter than any of my factory tubes (that are approved for steel) and it does hold a tighter pattern. I think it will be perfect for snow geese in the Spring season. For ducks it is a little too tight for my use. I like the ducks a lot closer and I don't need that tight of a pattern.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2007

primos dead zone choke tube

By
Location: Reidsville NC
I shot pass tube at 40 yards and had great results with steel and hevi shot. I also shot different brands of shells and it shot every load and size. Great choke tube.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2007

Great Tubes!

By
Location: Houlton, ME
Excellent set of tubes, I own both and have good results, decoy choke in streams, passing in large ponds and goose fields, great patterning from skeet loads to 3 1/2" Mags..GREAT PRODUCT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

primos dead zone choke tube

By
Location: springfield mo.
works great with big shot for geese,tried it with sx-2 &sx-3 shotguns.used #3,#2,B,&BB shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Good Choke Tube for Mossberg 835

By
Location: Waterloo, IA
I purchased both the Decoy and Pass choke tubes to use with hevishot in my Mossberg 835. I have been using the Decoy tube with lead shot at the trap range and have experienced much better scores that with any of the stock choke tubes.
After extensive shooting at the trap range over the course of a few weeks, a residue was present in the choke tube from lack of cleaning on my part. This resulted in inconsistent patterning. After cleaning the residue I have found that the patterning consistency has returned, so a regular cleaning of the firearm and choke tube is recommended.
I have not tried the Pass choke tube yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Dead Zone Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Primos Dead Zone Choke Tubes

By
Location: McLean,VA
I used the Primos Dead Zone choke tubes[Pass and Decoy] on a early season Teal hunt and again on a Wood Duck hunt.The both patterened well with steel shot and Heavi-shot which resulted in a bag limit on both hunts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.