Customer Reviews for SportEAR SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SportEAR SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement

SportEAR delivers two features in all its units that hunters will find irresistible: customized fit and programmable loud-sound shutoff. The Select-A-Fit? design gives you five different tips to choose from for the most comfortable fit. The rubberized SportFIT? shell gives you a comfortable exterior fit with maximum hearing protection. The virtual personal sound system lets you hear eight times better and program the unit for your needs, including the automatic loud-sound shutoff, which is set at 93db. The color-coordinated red and blue earpieces for right and left ears makes sure you get the right fit. You'll feel secure with the five-year original manufacturer's unlimited parts warranty. The Clear-Shot allows you to hear the outdoors come to life with 36db of power on a two-channel/10-band digital system. Premium sound quality and programmability to fine-tune your hearing to your needs. Per pair. Faceplate colors: Tan, Orange. These products carry a five-year warranty by returning product to factory. Return for exchange to Cabela's is limited to 30 days from date of purchase with proof of purchase.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Review 1 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth it!

Date:February 8, 2009
I bought my sport ears 2 years ago. They broke after the second hunting season. Sport Ear offers a 5 year warranty. I talked to the rep. at SportEar and sent them back with a check for $14.
SPORTEAR took over 10 weeks to contact me. Then they send me back my ear protection and they did not work.
I have called SportEar 25 times over the course of 4-months. I even asked to speak with the owner. THEY NEVER RESPONDED!!!! That is completely unacceptable customer service.
I know have a very expensive ear plug that doesn't work.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Liked the Analog one better

Date:December 4, 2008
I purchased there Analog version about six years ago and liked it real well, but the body split so I thought I would up grade with the new Digital model. When I first tried them I wasn't impressed, I do have hearing loss, so I sent them back with an recent audio-gram to have them reprogramed, not much difference. For my case, I would much prefer to have the Analog version which they no longer make.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not for the seriously hearing impared

Date:November 1, 2007
I heard about this product on Clark Howard's radio show after someone called in for a hearing aid recomendation. Clark raved about this product and purchasing it from Cabela"s which I did.
I do wear a hearing aid all the time so obviously I need better amplification than this product has. I'm not saying it's not a good product, it just didn't work good enough for me. Cabela's made it very easy to return the product which I did within two days. a
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost as good as advertised

Date:March 13, 2008
I purchased the SportEar's for dove/duck/quail hunting trips. I wanted a product that offered hearing protection-without the bulk of muffs-and allow me to talk and hear my buddies in a normal voice. I have worn them several times this season for hours at a time, riding in the truck and shooting, and think they are pretty good. They are comfortable with the molds they came with, and easy to use. The battery does not last 140hrs as stated in the manual, and I can hear the rustling of grass and leaves which bugs me-I have to turn the volume down to block this out which works very well. If I take them to an audiologist to have them programmed this might fix the sensitivity. I would give them a 5 star rating, but since the battery life is really about 40hrs-which is still pretty good and the over sensitive rustling sounds bug me I am sticking with a 4 star rating. If you are looking for hearing protection that allows you to hear everything at a normal tone then this is the product for you. I won't go hunting again without them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

In-The-Canal Protection

Date:December 2, 2007
Let me preface this with the fact that I did not have these custom fitted to my ears, thus, my results may not be as good as some of the others. I found these to fit well with the adapters that are supplied with the set. Battery life is pretty good, but you will go through a number of #10 hearing batteries each year, but that's a small price to pay to protect your hearing.
I found amplification to be more than adequate. You will absolutely hear conversations, traps firing at the clays range, things rustling about in the brush.
Protection is pretty good. I found that attenuating gunfire is quite good with shotgun fire in the field. However, on the trap field, where you are in close proximity to other shooters right next to you, it sometimes didn't seem to be enough for many rounds fired in succession.
Bottom line, they are worth it, since at the end of the day, my ears are not ringing, which means that my hearing is being protected. The in-the-canal convenience and comfort is almost like not really wearing anything, yet, you don't have the pain from high-intensity noise damage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sportear clearshot

Date:February 13, 2009
The sportear is incredible.
I have a lot of hearing loss due to heavey equipment and a lot of unprotected shooting. The sportear lets me hear sounds I havn't heard in years, maybe there to good. They take a little getting used to.
They also work great for blocking out unwanted loud noised, eliminating the use for ear plugs or muffs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I can hear again!

Date:October 21, 2008
I have been wearing the SportEAR for nine months now and they have given me a new life. One that I haven't heard for years. Not only do I wear them for hunting and fishing, I wear them every day so I can hear the world around me. For almost two years I have tried the others, however, nothing fits and hears as well as the SportEar! My family, friends and work associates are no longer telling me I need hearing aides and I am no longer saying "what" when they talk to me. I also wear them in the classroom where I train up to 40 to 50 people in a classroom seating arrangement. Now I can hear the questions that come out of the back of the room even while the air conditioner is running. And as far as airplane noise, I wear them when I travel too. I can hear conversations all around me while still hearing the people on either side of my seat. I recommend the SportEAR to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:November 21, 2007
This unit is the best of three of tried so far. They are extremely free from back ground noise, amplify well, and totally protect your hearing. I'm even able to tell direction better than other units. I did have problems with the fit of the right ear unit so decided to spend an extra $100 to have them custom fitted by Sport Ears. The other advantage to this is I also had a copy of my hearing test mailed with the units. This allowed Sport Ears to custom tune the units for my slight hearing loss. Sound is much improved. Keep in mind if these or any other units don't fit your ears properly they will not provide approprate protection and have a tendency of higher levels of back ground noise. Once they fit correctly sound and background noise is improved. I purchased these for hunting for better hearing and muzzle blast protection. They achieve both very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product!

Date:September 20, 2007
I have owned some analog units from a competitor for the last five years and I have been using the SportEars ClearsShot 210's for the last year. The difference is incredible at half the price of the competition. I wear these when target shooting, dog training, waterfowl hunting and even upland hunting. I'm constantly amazed that I can wear the SportEars while trudging through the CRP for pheasants and I forget that I'm wearing them. I only wish I'd bought these sooner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Three Forks, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SportEAR Digital Hearing Enhansement

Date:November 29, 2006
Having review the different hearing enhansement product in the Cabela,s catalog I selected this item for it better features over the other products. The two items that sinched the choise were loud noise level reduction and warranty period.
The level of hearing enhansment I received while wearing the Sport Ear is super! I can hear sound again in the woods that I have not been able to for some time. I was able to hear distent Elk bugleing again, hear them come to my calls and determin whic direction they were coming from during this past hunting season. My hunting buddies we impressed with what the Sport Ear did for me and are considering buying a pare for them selves. One of the most enjoyable things to me is to set on the wood and listen to all the sound of nature that I have not been able to hear for many years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SportEAR Clear-Shot™ Digital Hearing Enhancement
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NEVADA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SPOR EAR

Date:November 26, 2006
AFTER YEARS OF HUNTING WITHOUT HEARING PROTECTION, NOT WANTING TO BE ABLE TO HEAR WHAT IS GOING ON AROUND ME I HAVE DEVELOPED HEARING LOSS AND NOW WEAR HEARING AIDS, WISHING TO SAVE WHAT HEARING I HAVE LEFT I PURCHASED THE SPORT EARS, I FIND THE HEARING INHANCMENT GREAT WITH ADDED SAFTY OF PROTECTING MY HEARING. ONLY THING I WISH COULD BE INPROVED IS THE WIND NOISE, BUT I GET THE SAME THING WITH MY HEARING AIDS. GREAT PRODUCT I WOULD INCOURAGE ANYONE THAT HUNTS TO BUY THIS PRODUCT FOR NO OTHER REASON THAN TO PROTECT YOUR HEARING AND STILL BE ABLE TO HEAR THE WORLD AROUND YOU. DO IT WHILE YOU ARE STILL YOUNG AND HAVE GOOD HEARING. THEY ARE ABOUT ONE THIRD THE COST OF HEARING AIDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.