Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon

This safe offers the best combination of security, fire protection and warranty. It is UL? Listed, which means it has passed the rigorous pry, peel and drill attacks of UL? professional safe crackers. Designed to be adjustable with shelving that allows for personal customization. It comes with America's best warranty which will replace or repair a safe after an attempted break-in, fire or flood, with zero cost to you. This safe features a massive 3/16" solid plate steel door and heavy 12-gauge construction. There is a high security lock with 1" active locking bolts and a Rockwell-rated plate to prevent drilling. The door seal expands many times its size when exposed to heat and there is 5/8" thick fire insulation on all internal surfaces including the door. This means you'll get 30 minutes of fire protection in 1,200-degree continuous heat. The safe will hold 12 to 24 firearms with safe, upholstered walls and interior. It is also pre-drilled for bolting to the floor and use of a dehumidifier. The logo is silk-screened. This is a spectacular safe that you can trust your belongings in. Dimensions: 60"H x 30"W x 24"D (Depth includes handle and dial). Weight: 525 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Review 1 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2008

Good safe.

By
Location: Marysville, WA.
I have had this model safe for 4 months now. The fit and finish has been excellent. The seargeant and Greenleaf electronic lock works great. I am very happy with it-and its bolted to the concrete floor. I'd recomend it for someone who wants decent protection, but who is budget-conscious.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2008

Good safe for the money

By
Location: Washington
For the price, this is an excellent safe. I doubt you will find a comparable warranty at this price. Also, if you are looking for the lightest fireproof safe to buy, this one is it. The weight (about 500 lbs) makes it difficult for someone to steal, yet managable to get into the house, even up stairs. The only negative I have noticed is that the electronic lock will not open twice in succession without a slight delay. So, if you close it and realize you need to get something else out, you might have to wait a minute or two. Not a big deal if you just getting another gun, but if a child or dog gets trapped, this is something you want to consider.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2008

lock problems

By
Location: Pa
I purchased the Cannon safe with a Searg & Greenlee electronic lock system. I was told that this is the best way to go. The second day of ownership the electronic lock stopped working, keeping my guns and valuables in captivity. I contactact Cannon who, after several phone calls, referred me to S & G. The folks at S & G, after a bout of phone tag, determined that the lock had a manufacturing failure. They then told me that they would contact a local locksmith to respond and replace the lock. It has been two weeks now and I had to call S & G again because I have not heard from a locksmith. I received a message today from S & G stating that the assigned locksmith cancel and they would have to find another.
Bottom line; My guns and valuables are safe and secure....even from me.
Pa Woodchuck
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2007

Great Value

By
Location: AZ
This is my first safe. However, I've been shopping around for a while. Overall, this is a great safe! Great warranty, great quality, and a really great price. Comparable safes were $300 more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2007

Good safe for the money

By
Location: Connecticut
I recently purchased this safe and was impressed with it. It was already pre-drilled for bolting into my concrete basement floor. I was worried I would not like the electronic lock, but it works great. With the dark interior, it is hard to see stuff, so outfitting it with a light worked out nicely. While this is not as pretty of a safe as my friends' showpieces, it does a great job and is well built. I keep it in my basement near by gun and archery workbench, so I really don't care if it is just a black basic finish. The bottom line is that it works great and very smooth and is a heck of a safe for the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2007

Gun Safe

By
Location: Pearisburg, VA
I recently purchased the AE-22 safe and have really enjoyed having the space needed to accomodate my guns. The safe is a well designed unit with the added shelving to be used or not. We like the electronic lock that comes with the safe and I would highly recommend this safe to anyone for purchase. Thanks for a great product !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2007

Excellent

By
Location: Fort Worth, TX
I recently purchased this gun safe and love it. it works perfectly, is easy to use, and the push button lock/unlock is great in case of emergencies where a quick access is needed. I like the quality of the materials as well as the layout inside the safe. a great safe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Outfitter American Eagle 22 Fire-Rated Gun Safe by Cannon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2007

darn good safe

By
shopped for a long time and found out that this safe is made by Cannon which has the best warranty of all safes anywhere. i also like their triple hardplate. spoke to factory and they were easy to deal with. i only wished i would have bought the 31 wide body. i filled this one. its a neat product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.