Customer Reviews for MEAL KIT SUPPLY Poly-Choke

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MEAL KIT SUPPLY Poly-Choke

Because this choke quickly and easily adjusts from Xtra-Full to cylinder bore, it's like having nine extra barrels for your shotgun. Engineered to the strict standards of the original Poly-Choke, so you're guaranteed consistent patterns. Plus, it uses the same click and indicator method that's been a favorite for decades. Handles all loads including slugs, Hevi-Shot® and steel. 12-ga. only. Available: Remington Browning Inv.+ Browning Inv. Beretta/Benelli Beretta Opt.+ Mossberg 835/935
Overall Customer Rating:
4.035 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
47 out of 58(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poly-Choke
Review 41 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke

Date:November 13, 2007
This Polychoke was purchased and mounted on a 12 Ga. Remington 870 shotgun that I purchased as a gift for my Grandson. It installed easily and fitted well. I do not know if he has shot it yet.
The reason that I purchased this product is that I had one installed on my Remington 11-48 around 1954. I have used it to shoot ducks, phesants, grouse, doves, skeet, trap and clays in Japan and in the US. It has served me well. All of my test patterns have been acceptable. It is still doing a very good job.
I can surely recommend the Polychoke to any hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: avid hunter and sporting clays shooter in Pembroke
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

polychoke

Date:November 13, 2007
a great product makes changing choke restrictions easy in the field when you don't want to carry a bunch of chokes in your pack or to the duck blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern area, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

poly choke for remington shotgun

Date:November 12, 2007
The poly choke is extremely versatile and will always be a benefit to any shotgun. Unit screws in nicely. It's a plus to be able to multi-use one shotgun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke-OK- Browing Questionable.

Date:November 12, 2007
I purchased the poly-choke for a hunting gun that I have. It fit this gun fine and has worked flawlessly. We shot some sporting clays and played with the choke, it worked great. Unfortunately I own several guns that take the Browning Invector Plus choke and the poly choke will only fit half of them. I had problems with some of the invector plus chokes being "tight" when I switched them from gun to gun. So much so that I had to have one of the guns worked on. I purchased some Briley chokes and they fit all guns without issue. So....here is how the polychoke breaks down. Winchester SX2 Sporting - fits fine, Winchester SX2 Magnum - only goes in a couple turns, BPS - Fits fine, Browning XS Special- fits bottom barrel, doesn't fit top barrel. Conclusion - Browning barrels very inconsistent. Judging from the Briley tubes, I think the problem with the Browning system is that with the fine threads on the bottom, if the female part of the threads isn't perfectly straight in the barrel, the choke binds, especially tubes that are a little larger in diameter. The Briley tube seems to be a little thinner than the invectors so it is more forgiving in the barrels that aren't perfectly straight. Bottom line is I am happy with poly choke and not happy with Browning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Farmington, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke

Date:October 18, 2007
This poly choke is overall the best choke I have ever purchased!! This works great for quick shooting in the duck blind simply because if you have locked up ducks coming in, you can get quick improved, but when those ducks get leary, tighten that choke down and 'wack and stack em'. This one time i was goose hunting with my friends, a lot of geese we just flying by our spread, but never givin us a chance to shoot.. With a quick turn of my choke to extra full with 3 1/2 loads I killed a goose that fell just short of 80 yards.. No kidding!! Come to find out this goose had a foot band!! What a day.. Now all my friends own a poly chokes!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Same old Polychoke

Date:October 15, 2007
When I was just a young boy, my dad had a Remington shotgun with a Polychoke on the end of the barrel. I cannot recall the number of rabbits, squirrels, quail and a few ducks and geese that I took with the "good ole gun."
When I saw advertised in one of Cabela's catalogs and Polychoke that looked just like the one my dad had on his trusty Remington, I knew I had to have one -- well, actually two.
Those beautiful and performance ready chokes now compliment my Remington 870 along with my favorite Benelli Super Black Eagle.
Wish dad could be here to see these beautiful chokes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Braunfels, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Happy...

Date:September 18, 2007
I was really excited to purchase a Poly-Choke in hopes that the ease of having all my chokes at the end of my barrel would save time in the field. I got home, and like a kid with a new toy, pulled my shotgun out to see how the product fit. I carefully followed the instructions given and could not get the choke to adjust. I can't turn the choke even one setting!! I am returning this product and going back to the chokes I have been using. I hope this is an isolated case. So much for a time saving device idea. The time spent driving to and from the store to return this product will be much more time than I will ever spend changing chokes in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton Il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poly choke

Date:September 12, 2007
The poly choke i purchased from Cabela;s worked flawlessly.It is a very good product my dads gun had one on it and I loved it and the one i bought is fantastic no more changing choke tubes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Benton, MS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke II

Date:August 1, 2007
I purchased two polychokeII. One was for a Benelli shotgun & one for a Remington shotgun. The Benelli polychoke worked fine but the Remington polychoke was extremely difficult to screw into the barrel. I never got the Remington choke screwed all the way into the barrel. I have sent the Remington choke back for a exchange for another choke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke

Date:May 30, 2007
I purchased this choke for my Browning 12ga. pump shotgun for situations when shooting conditions might change rapidly such as sometimes occurs when hunting waterfowl. I have not yet test paterned this particular Polychoke/shotgun combination, however, based on years of polychoke use, I have no doubt that it will perform 'as advertised'. I have installed the unit on the shotgun barrel & it threaded on easily & functions, (rotates & clicks),thru the various choke positions positively.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Polychoke too heavy!

Date:May 15, 2007
The extreme weight of the polychoke that I purchased for my Xtrema II ruined the balance of the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Peters, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke

Date:May 1, 2007
This after market Polychoke replaces the "in-muzzle" choke tubes. Mine is fitted to a Remington Model 870 12 ga. pump shotgun. With this device in place you instantly have a choice of multiple chokes in the field without fumbling with a choke wrench and several tubes.
Several models are available. If you decide to get one make sure that it is designed for your specific firearm. One size does NOT fit all. Please make sure to unload the firearm and open the action before changing the choke setting.
This device along with a rifled slug barrel which I also obtained through Cabela's makes my Model 870 a versatile, all-game firearm. I highly recommend the Polychoke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poly choke II

Date:November 27, 2006
Just as advertised! I own an original poly choke on a shotgun made in the twenties. After having tested the pattern against all of my buddies guns and my own other shotguns, we determined that the poly choke ranged from a wider to a tighter pattern than every other gun we could produce with a factory or removable choke. I purchased the new Poly Choke II and it is every bit as good as the original. Steel, slugs, lead, bird loads or magnum turkey and goose loads. This is well worth the money. Highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:November 22, 2006
I really enjoy not having to keep up with a bunch of choke tubes. It adjusts quick and easy. My only complaint is that I wish they would offer it in a matte finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No More Choke Tubes

Date:November 22, 2006
How many times have you gone in the field to find out you have forgotten a choke tube, which may have even resulted in a missed trip cause the choke is at the house. When Polychoke came out with this I was elated. Also, now if I'm out hunting and a different type of game presents itself, just a click of the choke and I'm ready for action. No fumbling around trying to change choke tubes which results in missed chances. If you like to hunt and you have that one crafty little booger that just stays out of range it gives you the fix, by shifting to a full for that added distance. I just cant wait for them to come out in 20 gauge and .410. This is the only choke tube I use now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Polychoke

Date:November 21, 2006
I grew up on ploychoke beginning in 1956. This one is just like the old ones except it is removeable. Great !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bethel AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

polychoke with muzzel brake

Date:November 20, 2006
I bought this polychoke to use on my browning A5 shotgun. While it did a good to excellent job of adjusting the choke, the shotgun would not cycle as the muzzel brake reduced recoil to the point that the action would not cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Poly-Choke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poly Choke

Date:November 12, 2006
I found the poly choke to be very imprecise when switching between choke sizes. The added length and weight hinder swinging over the target on multiple shots. Also when using a Remington 870, accuracy was reduced on paper compared to a factory choke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-58 of 58