Customer Reviews for Magellan Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Magellan Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS

When you first see the new eXplorist series, you'll probably wonder how Magellan could get that many features and that much high-end technology into a unit so small. Weighing only 5.4 oz with batteries, these rugged, waterproof units are some of the smallest on the market and are priced for even the most budget-minded outdoor enthusiast. The ultimate in handheld GPS technology, the explorist 600 has all the 500's features including the 2.25", 16-color transflective TFT, high-resolution (122x160), backlit LCD display, and then adds a three-axis electronic compass, barometer, thermometer and unlimited memory via SD cards. Interacts with your computer or laptop via USB connection. Four navigation screens plus built-in map display. 14 parallel channels with WAAS. Up to 500 waypoints and 20 routes with 2,000 log points. 8MB integrated basemap of North America. Rubber-armored and IPX7 waterproof. Includes lithium-ion rechargeable battery and USB/charger cable. Size: 2.2"W x 4.7"H x 1.3"D. Weight: 5.4 oz with batteries. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.733 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
7 out of 15(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Review 1 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Glendale AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

eXplorist 600 Handheld

Date:June 23, 2008
This gps has a good screen, excellent 3-axis compass, decent file storage system, and acquires satellites very quickly. The built in software is easy to use but lacks some functionality that you may desire (road perspective, data info, speed, telemetry). The included base map only has detail when zoomed out so you must purchase an additional mapsend product to have usable detail for city streets or topography at what I consider a nice scale (500 ft - 0.2 mi). The cord for the device is of very poor quality and design. To charge the device you chain two cords together. This cord will eventually fail at the point it connects to the gps. This connection point is very hard to get lined up/connected and it is easy to connect it incorrectly. There is a AAA size battery adapter available separately as an option but battery life is an issue using this adapter. Accuracy is no where near the advertised 3 m (9ft) - I usually get with in 10-12m (30 - 36ft) because WAAS is not available due to lack of updating software from Magellan.
Don't dream of using the pc software with Windows Vista. You will need to download a NMEA driver from Magellan which works well with some other gps-pc interface software. Compared to the Magellan Meridian Gold gps I had before this device, this unit is a real disappointment.
What killed this for me: Magellan stopped supporting this device in May 2008.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: UPMichigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WAAS not enabled

Date:January 29, 2008
WAAS does not work due to lack of firmware updates to keep up with WAAS satilite changes after July 31, 2007. All of the information on the package states that this unit is WAAS enabled and is accurate to 3 meters. Because it can not see the WAAS satilites it is only accurate to around 10 meters. If I buy a product that advertises its accuracy, I expect it to do what is says it is supposed to do.
I planed on using the 600 for geocaching, the difference between 3 meters and 10 meters is alot more searching for the treasure.
I sent mine back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bayfield, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Magellan eXplorist 600 Handheld GPS

Date:January 11, 2008
I am very happy with the GPS, although I have had little time to learn to use its features. That will change soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Placerville, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice size, that's about it

Date:January 6, 2008
Xplorist 600 reviewed. Excellent size. Unit acquires satellites quickly and screen is bright and easy to read. The design of charging cord is ridiculous. It is needs to be screwed into the back of the unit and is very awkward. Also, it only charges the unit if plugged into the USB port on your computer. Aftermarket purchase of a DC adapter allows you to plug into the USB cable to charge in your car. Now you have a pile of wires to deal with. Internal software is not user friendly. External software like MapSend, etc. require the use of additional software to convert the maps prior to loading into unit. It has never worked correctly for me. I've had to send the unit back to Magellan for repair because updating the internal software version off of Magellan's website damaged the unit making it unuseable. Now that I've received it back it still doesn't work correctly and won't load detailed maps (reports map security error). I would highly recommend not getting a Magellan until they work the bugs out. If they work out the substantial problems, and begin to pay attention to their customers, this unit could be the best around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hicksville, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Magellan GPS

Date:September 10, 2007
I'm not sure I would recommend it to a friend since I bought it mainly for hunting trips. Most of my friends don't hunt. And the one's that do can't afford something this expensive. I already had one from a few years ago, but it was inside my car when my car got stolen. So I bought the same one since I already had most of the accessories and the software. Had I gotten something else, my accessories and software would have been useless and that would have been $250 down the drain. I personally would never have bought this had I known I couldn't make "travel copies" of the mapping software, since I had to have the disc in the cd-drive for the mapping software to work; I tried copying the entire contents of all discs to the hard drive on my laptop, so I could run the software without the discs, but that didn't work. So to anyone who is thinking about getting one of these, you can't make "travel copies" of their mapping software, so don't lose the discs or damage them in any way. Otherwise it's a good unit that suits my needs. I give it 5 stars because I'm familiar with it and I accept the limitations of the software and I work around it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NO AC ADAPTER

Date:April 2, 2007
The unit itself is great, but my issue is that it does NOT come with an AC Adapter. The included instructions indicate that the battery needs to charge for 4 hrs prior to using, but there's no cable to charge the stupid thing! The AC Adapter is listed in the "contents" list on the box, but the adapter itself is nonexistent. I went back to Cabelas to exchange it, and every single eXplorist was the same way - no cable! There is, however, a voucher for a free adapter — send it in with a copy of the sales receipt, and WAIT for 6-8 WEEKS for arrival. What a joke!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great GPS...With a Couple of Issues

Date:March 9, 2007
I really like everything about this GPS....easy to use, quick, etc... But my two issues are that the command switches do not light so you cannot see them in the dark (kind of a problem if you don't have a flash light).
Lastly, the charging connector is a joke. You have to screw it into the back of the unit and it's quite small. If you have big fingers, you may have even more problems. Also, both the AC & DC power cord have to be plugged into the USB cord to charge. So when you charge the unit, you'll have a pile of wires laying there (try doing that while it's plugged into an ATV DC outlet).
It's a good units that needs to be perfected.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best GPS yet

Date:February 14, 2007
My new Magellan 600 is my third Magellan GPS and by far the best one and easiest one to use yet. My previous unit was the 315 and I thought it was easy to use until I received the 600.
My 600 is very sensitive, it will acquire satellites inside my home in a very short time and even quicker outside. I purchased a 1GB SD card and also the topo map and the detailed streets map. The instructions for downloading additional maps is not sufficient to do so without help, as I had to call Magellan to get this done the first time. I am now able to download maps myself since I made notations on what to do. I also really like the electronic compass feature as you no longer have to be moving to find north.
The unit comes with a AAA battery adapter as well as the rechargeable battery, so you have the best of both worlds. I did have to wait about a week to get the power cable as there was a note in the box that they were out at the factory and I had to send in a form to receive one for free.
Overall, I am completely happy with my new 600 and would highly recommend it to anyone. I plan on a Colorado elk hunting trip this fall and will definitely be counting on my 600 to guide my way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ARKANSAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Did not receive parts needed to operate

Date:January 26, 2007
I was not happy at all with the product. I paid to have the unit overnighted and I received it in time for Christmas. One big problem with the order was that it did not contain one of the main cables needed to charge the unit. The cable that was missing was a PC Cable and it is needed to not only charge the unit but to connect it to your computer. There is no way to use the unit without this cable. I contacted the manufacturer via email and did not receive a response. I was finally told that the part was on backorder and was going to take over a month to get the part. I returned the unit! Beware...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

600's Poor operation

Date:January 19, 2007
I ordered the Magellan 600 with high hopes of a superb unit. When I started playing with the unit to learn its functionality, I was not happy with its performance. The 4 way rocker switch was difficult to operate to the left. When buttons were pushed I would hear the beep but nothing would happen. I had to continually watch the screen to ensure what was being input was taken. The unit locked up on me three times, requiring me to remove the batteries to reset the unit. When I was in my house experimenting with the computer interface, I had no signal. Not surprising being my other units do not receive inside either. Point later.... The interface was not readily understandable and the lack of literature on use of the computer program required a call to Tech Support. Well after talking to INDIA and a support rep who definitely did not know what he was talking about, I decided Magellan was not for me, item Returned. I purchased instead XXXXXX. Remember not receiving any signal inside my house... Well The XXXXXX has 10 or more satelites in reception, strong reception, and with WAAS integrity of 18 ft reliability, amazing. I am currently receiving as I write this in my house, 12 satelites, 11 of them with WAAS accuracy, amazing. Magellan NOOOOOO!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Douglas Mountain, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't get too excited when the delivery shows up.

Date:January 17, 2007
I will get back to you on this one. Spent a fair amount of time on the selection process and was excited when delivery showed up. First thing the instructions say to do is to completely charge the battery. A loose piece of paper in the package tells me to send serial number and receipt in for a AC adapter! Can't charge the battery because the unit does not come with an AC adapter. You get to send away for it. I might be missing something here, but that seems stupid. I'll review features and functions later, (When I get my charger).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Russellville Al.35653
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Back Tracking

Date:November 26, 2006
What I like most about 600 is that you can back track your way out of and area your hunting are whatever. An you can down load maps of your hunting spot and save them.A very good tool to keep you from getting lost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Red Wing MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tracked the route that built an Empire

Date:November 22, 2006
I recently rode the rails on Amraks "Empire Builder", the train that leaves and returns to Chicago once a day. We traveled from Red Wing MN to Portland OR and I was able to log the entire trip on my 600. We were able to pinpoint our location, get speed readings, and log miles traveled. The trip lasted more than 40 hours, so the rechargeable batteries were a real plus. I also used my GPS for directions when we were on side trips once we arrived in the Portland area. Very nice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never get lost

Date:November 13, 2006
Super nice product, great screen, awesome features what else could you ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Magellan eXplorist™ 600 Handheld GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

police officer

Date:October 29, 2006
I owened the Magellan Explorist XL and I Had a hard time loading the Topo soft ware that I paided $100.00 for. I called the manufactor for help me install the soft ware and it did not work. The Magellan Explrorist XL did not work well and was not as good as my old Magellan product. The unit was very hard to understand and I was not happy with it. The screen was great very good size but the brains of it was not a good as my old Magellan GPS. I did buy the Magellan Explorist 600 and I returned it because when I took it home and noticed that it did not take AA batteries I was not happy with that. I did not like the fact that you have to charge the battery. If your in the wood hunting or fishing were would you find a plug to charge the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.