Customer Reviews for Pro Mag Hammer and Punch Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Pro Mag Hammer and Punch Set

Includes eight brass punches, four steel punches, two composite punches and a brass-headed hammer. All come in a fitted case for convenient storage and transport.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
25 out of 27(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hammer and Punch Set
Review 1 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sw, Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality

Date:January 5, 2010
Brass Punch head mushroomed after just a few moderate whacks to drift a dovetailed front sight. Sight barely moved before deformation began. Sight is still in the barrel, punch set is being returned today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality

Date:June 15, 2009
I am giving this rating because the steel used in the steel punches is not hardened. It only takes the lightest use to bend the punches - very poor quality.
The selection is good and the case holds the tools well but this is a mute point since the steel is substandard for a tool like this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer and Punch

Date:June 28, 2010
Good package deal and the hammer has the right weight for small pin work. The punches are good, but some better sizing for pistol work would be nice. Good travel kit for general maintenance on the road or at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for the money...

Date:January 5, 2010
The box is good. The hammer is good(by good, I mean that it has not fallen apart immediately, and seems to be the appropriate balance between hard enough to do the job and soft enough not to ruin a gun.) The steel punches are good. The brass punches are a little soft for my taste, but still get the job done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: quebec canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

do the job

Date:December 28, 2009
this kit do the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mid-Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer & Punches

Date:July 10, 2008
Product is great!
The back order was not.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer and Punch Set

Date:April 30, 2007
Works as I expected it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 28, 2012
Excellent tool package. Great for work on my guns and general shop tasks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gillette, WY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT PUNCH SET

Date:February 1, 2012
Bought this for my Glocks and ar15. It is very well made and just what i wanted. Great customer service as always. Thanks Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing punch set

Date:January 9, 2012
this set is a must if you are going to do any take downs or rebuild of your gun the delrin punches prevent marring, and there are 2 set of the small steel punches. the brass punches although they may mark are nice and soft so they don't deform any bit of steel you are working on. plus the brass markings aren't that hard to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WESTERN WASHINGTON STATE
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

punch set with hammer

Date:October 17, 2011
I have found this to be extremely helpful in my shop area when doing some mild to moderate gunsmithing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tacoma, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hammer and punch

Date:May 16, 2011
Jst what I needed for my AR-15. Works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SLO County, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Firearm Punch Set

Date:July 19, 2009
This is a great set, I really like the composite punches for those fragile special jobs where you care too much about the gun/metal/finish.
If you need a hardened steel set, which I would not recommend using on a firearm: You got the wrong set of punches. You need to go to an automotive/hardware store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albany, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer and punch set

Date:February 16, 2009
great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:January 5, 2009
Works great. No complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west central Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hammer and punch set

Date:December 30, 2008
I have only used this 1 time but it served its purpose quiote well. I would highly recommend this tool set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Peters, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect set for the range

Date:August 4, 2008
I had been looking for a hammer punch and drift kit that I could take to the range to adjust the sights on a couple of my handguns when needed. This is a perfect compact combination that fits in my range bag along with a small set of gunsmithing screwdrivers.
If something is going to go wrong it will be at the range or in the field. With these tools I can be back in business pronto. Great price also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality product

Date:August 4, 2008
Perfect for the needs the set is used for
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cornelius, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer & Punch Set

Date:July 7, 2008
Great tools, just what I needed and at a good price. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hammer and Punch Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tulsa,ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hammer and punch set

Date:July 7, 2008
Excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27