Customer Reviews for HOPPE'S Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner

HOPPE'S Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner

Hoppes Elite Gun Cleaner removes fouling from the pores in your firearm. This all-purpose cleaner is super-penetrating and non-toxic. Size: 4-oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Review 1 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Not as strong as #9 but neither is the smell.

By
I purchased this because of running out of my bottle of good old #9 and I was intrigued with the idea of a not-so-toxic smelling product. I have three children, three pets, and no man cave or shed to clean my guns. I would stink up the whole house every time I came back from the range and started cleaning the guns.
I tried this product and as advertised there is almost zero odor. On the other hand I also noticed that I really had to let it soak on the parts that got really carbon fouled. IMHO it works and without the strong odor. Just let it soak on those really grimey parts for a bit while you get the rest and you will be fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

works

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
gun cleaner works as advertised. no issues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

best gun cleaning solvent I have ever used

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
works great vast improvement from the old #9
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2012

Great cleaner

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Works like a charm, gets the gun looking like new again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2012

nice stuff, no odor.

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It doesn't have the strong smell of the old original Hoppies #9. I do wish it came with a straw to shoot it down the barrel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Effective

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've been using this as my exclusive solvent for all my guns for the past 2 years and it has effectively kept all of my guns. I go through, on average, about 1000 rounds of ammo a month. I don't clean my guns every single time I shoot them either. But the bores of all my firearms come out squeaky clean every time I use this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Hoppe's

By
Location: Dallas texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using this name brand since I was a kid. My dad used it. So did his dad. It does what it says. It cleans guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2011

Good Stuff

By
Location: Waco,Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been using this cleaner for a while and for getting out fouling it's as good as anything I have tried which has been just about every product out there.
Pro's- It gets out fouling
It's relatively inexpensive.
No bad smell or harsh chemicals
Con's -Does not remove copper so you will need something for that process if your gun gets any copper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2011

Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner

By
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Works just like it should.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2011

Excellent cleaner

By
Location: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I find the Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner to work better than other cleaners. M-Pro 7 ties with it; none is better. Also, it does not smell like the Hoppe's 7 solvent. I highly recommend this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

Good Goo

By
Location: Peoples Republic Of Chicago, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner does the job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

Best I have Found

By
Location: Fleetwood, PA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Over 50 years ago my Dad introduced to the Hoppe's line. I used it on his gun collection and since then on my collection. In all that time I have never had a problem. I find no need to try anything else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010

Great stuff!

By
Location: Albertville, MN
With Hoppes Elite I KNOW my guns are clean. I've tried them all but this is the best
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

NICE

By
Location: S.C. OHIO
Cleans differant then #9 But Works well & NOOOOOOO SMELL - G.F> Loves that !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008

Great Cleaner

By
Location: Woodbury,NJ
This gun oil is GREAT. I would recommend this to anyone in need of a gun cleaner!! By far the best i've used!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2008

Great gun cleaner!

By
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
When I first purchased this gun cleaner, I was pretty skeptical. I had been a long time user of Hoppes No. 9 and figured nothing that was biodegradable, had little or no odor, and was not harmful or fatal if swallowed could possible clean my firearm both inside and out. Well, I was wrong. This stuff is amazing. It cleans bores and removes fouling of all sorts in just a few passes of a soaked patch. It is versatile enough to use in actions, trigger assemblies, and all parts of the gun. I have used this now for several cleanings after days of heavy shooting and am thoroughly impressed. But here is the real benefit: Now that it is getting cold up here in the Pacific Northwest, I was really dreading having to do my gun cleaning in the garage (because of the smell and toxicity of other cleaners). This stuff is not offensive to use at all and my wife has now let me clean my guns in the kitchen. I must admit that I will miss the potent and satisfying smell of Hoppes No. 9, Breakfree, and other cleaners I used to use, but the Elite series from Hoppes is the way to go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2008

Great stuff...

By
Location: Las Vegas NV
I didn't think anything would ever surpass Hoppe's No. 9, but this does. It takes about half the time, removes a lot of copper, and isn't greasy. Lack of an odor makes it easier to use in the house without spousal complaints. When used with Bore Gel and Copper Terminator, the whole system is the best you can get for a truly clean gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2008

Hoppes elite cleaner

By
Location: NH
great product. non-toxic, no smell. good for those with respiratory trouble because no horrible odor and non-toxic. cleans very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hoppe's Elite Gun Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2007

hoppe's elite

By
good product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 25