Customer Reviews for AVERY Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

AVERY Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit

Unbelievably durable and weather-resistant, KillerWeed is the perfect camo cover for your layout blind. Crafted of natural grasses dyed and mixed to disappear against cornfield, grain stubble, green wheat and marshland backgrounds. Each approximately 2-lb. bundle will fully conceal any full-frame layout blind. Available: Winter Wheat.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
82 out of 97(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Review 1 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Moline, Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:February 8, 2012
I purchased a layout blind and was anxious to use it, but was disapointed that it seemed to scare the geese so I purchased the Avery blind kit and have had much better hunting. It really works at breaking up the outline of my blind. I purchased the winter wheat kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Auburn, AL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:January 13, 2012
Good product with good colors. Works good as a base layer. Works even better when it's on sale!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great stuff

Date:October 29, 2013
The Avery blends in very well for the applications needed. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avery ground blind grass

Date:July 30, 2013
Good product no doubt but if your not brushing in an m-2 blind then you'll wanna get two for 4 lbs worth to really get good coverage and a lot of zip ties
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Start...

Date:April 17, 2013
I bought this kit in the All-Terrain color for my FA Express layout blind. The kit contained enough to cover the entire blind well. While it is no replacement for field cover, it makes a great base layer that saves time and also helps your overall hide.
The installation was time consuming (~2 hrs) as you have to separate the colors/strands of grass. I used the half-hitch method on my blind and am pleased with it's durability to this point.
One picture is blind on my lawn, 2nd is in South Dakota (my blind is lower left).
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good looking material

Date:February 19, 2013
The colors are great but I just wish there was more than 2 pounds. It sounds like a lot but really doesn't go far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:February 17, 2013
It took a couple of tries getting this cover material put on the blind in a way that looks natural. There is plenty of material and it looks good and is fairly durable. The only drawback is that it is so light that it blows around, exposing the blind. Some additional brushing in still needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Base Material

Date:February 5, 2013
Good base material for brushing out blinds. You still need to stuff the straps with local vegetation, but if you zip tie this on before you go it wil not take as much to blend in. I think mixing colors makes it blend in better than brushing in all one color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good cover

Date:February 5, 2013
good color and material for layout blind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

killer weed

Date:February 5, 2013
It has a great mix of coller. it won't cover your blind like a guillie cover will, but I wasn't looking for that. If you zip tie them to clothes pins you can add or take of what ever the application calls for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

camo kit for your layout

Date:January 29, 2013
First time I have purchased KillerWeed. Colors are very good. Used my layout blind in several different places with different natural cover, and it blends in well. It does take a couple of hours to attach it but seems to be very durable. Hunted several days in wet and muddy conditions and it seems to hold up well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

All-terrain Killerweed

Date:January 2, 2013
Great way to conceal a layout. It blends in to the environments I hunt very well without much need for additional brushing in. Had ducks landing in the dekes and swans nearly landing on the blind! The material is pliable and durable so you can tie it on so you don't lose much and can keep using it on numerous hunts, unlike brushing in with natural vegetation. It does seem like it should come with more than 2 pounds of material for the money, but it does make life simpler when trying to conceal a blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:December 18, 2012
A little time consuming, but worth it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Coloring not good

Date:November 27, 2012
i read some reveiws that said the winter weat was like easter grass. well, mine was hardly green. almost looked like the all- terrain but the box said winter weat?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avery killer weed

Date:November 26, 2012
Purchased this to add some depth to my boat blind, worked good, a little goes a long way. Turned out great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice product

Date:July 2, 2012
Good natural looking cover.The wheat is young green shoot color, I have ordered a darker color to mix in as the crop matures. Tediously long job but looks good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tacoma, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff, but expensive

Date:February 8, 2012
Durable, comes in many colors, but I think there should be more in the box. Buy it on sale to soften the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i put this on all my blinds

Date:February 4, 2012
ground blinds, boats, layouts, you name it. it gets wrapped in this and mudded up. it lasts and looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is some tough grass

Date:February 1, 2012
I have used Avery Killer weed grass on my duck blind on my hunting boat and found it easy to work with. I could tie it to secure it to the blind making it easy to add to the blind (an Avery boat blind) and it looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Avery® KillerWeed™ Layout Blind Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Kansas City Area
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Need More

Date:January 17, 2012
The product is of good quality and works well BUT it should be offered in a size/quantity to adequately cover a layout blind. They should also place tie straps in to prevent the need for another trip. I understand price points but packaging costs money so overall expenditure will be reduced in larger quantities. Tie straps are cheap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 97