Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler

PRIMOS Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler

The Hot Dog™ is Randy Anderson's loud howler for locating coyotes. Removable mouthpiece creates distress calls of birds, rabbits and deer.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
26 out of 32(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Review 1 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2016

cheap imitation

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
In my opinion this is a cheap imitation of a Dan Thompson desert howler. I was very disappointed in the sound and the effort it took to use.. My advise is, if you are thinking of buying this call - STOP - go buy the original Dan Thompson dessert howler and avoid the disappointment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2015

Primos Hot Dog - I'll pass

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I use several mouth calls, many from Primos, this one however, went back to the store. It was loud, which was about the only think I liked about it. Other than that, it was too raspy and easily went off tone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2013

Excellent with practice

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this call years ago after seeing Randy Anderson put a whoopin on coyotes using it. I use nothing but mouth calls and choose different calls every time I go out. The hot dog is one I don't leave home without. It sickens me to see bad reviews on this call. If you learn to use it right it will be your best friend when howling at the yotes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

Why Cabela's/Primos the best

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I buy Cabela’s. Cabela’s is Quality. The Primos Hot Dog predator howler is a quality call, that’s why I bought it. The Primos Hot Dog predator Howler is made in the U.S.A. There is a reason Primos is number in predator calls; Randy Anderson knows what he is doing. Make sure to read the instructions on the back of the package. The instructions tell you exactly how use the Call, and it works. This Call can do so many different calls; barks (male/female), howls (locator), distress (deer, fawn, rabbits, bird). First time out, I stirred up a huge response. Coyotes howled back from all around me; tree line, creek bottom, and in the field in front of me. When you’re in the middle of nowhere, it is quite eerie. If you have seen the Twilight series of movies, the wolves running through the timbers, it was a rush, it was eerie.. Picture - Primos Hot Dog predator howler and favorite AR15 for hunting Coyotes. I recommend 5rd mag (don’t get in the way) and always carry two 30rd magazines.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

bow wow......

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
this call is one loud call.... it sends it out there. even near fast rivers it plain gets the sound down, up wind.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012

Great Call

By
Location: Ramsey, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I like this call because it produces a great sound and gives out a long distance call.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

Primos Hot Dog

By
Location: Sioux Fall, SD
Gender: Male
Overall this call seems to be easy enough to learn and use properly. I have been with people that have used it and had alot of success calling in coyotes. I only gave it 4 stars since I have not personally been able to try it out hunting yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2011

Great Buy

By
Location: South Dakota
This call is great for reaching way out there across the prairie. The call is also very diverse from young to old, male to female coyotes. Primos is number one for predator calls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

Works Awesome

By
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought the caller a few years ago and wore it out. Bought a 2nd one to continue the success. Randy Anderson knows his stuff!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2011

Not for someone starting out!

By
Location: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Even though this call has a DVD be prepared for some sour notes and a lot of practice! This is no doubt a quality call, can produce a wide range of sounds, MEGA volume, but you need to keep in mind where & when you use it! It was designed for Randy Anderson's needs (wide open areas) and those might not be the same needs as you! For example...This call is great for wide open country but too loud for timber hunts. (Remember coyotes can hear almost 30x better than us) And it's real easy to spook a yote with this call. But in the proper situation this call will perform! Great for long distance locating!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2011

HOT DOG

By
Location: Anselmo, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This call is not for begginers but once I learned it I was amazed of what I could do. The call has exellent range. But I got the hardwood model
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010

Primos Hot Dog Predator Coyote Howler

By
This call is not for the beginner or average caller. Call takes a large amount of air volume to produce accurate calls.
Quality of the call seems fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010

Great Call

By
Location: dingleberry, Canada
This is probably the best coyote howler out there. Anyone who wants to call long range coyotes should have this call if they are willing to spend some time practicing. It is a difficult call to use but once mastered it is the best. I would also recommend getting the mastering the art dvd with it. It gives good detailed explenations on all of Randy's calls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009

Easy to Use

By
Location: scappoose oregon
I bought this call and messed with it for 2 days and already got em howlin back. instructional cd helped alot! Very versitile, many different calls in one! GREAT CALL, BUY ONE!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009

Best Howler out there

By
Location: Central ID
I have had this call for about a year now, and it is the greatest howler out there. I've tried many others, but this one out competes them all. Its very versatile, and very easy to use, if you have the patience to learn. I predator hunt year around and this is the one call that always works. I would recommend it to anyone interested in predator hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2009

Good stuff

By
Location: adamsville tennessee
have not used this call alot but when in the hands of a expert it will raise the hare on the back of your neck at how real it sounds
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2009

keep package for instructions

By
Location: escape from new york city hunter
reed positions are vital with this call,so keep packaging
for call placement until practice makes you very good with this call
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2009

Primos Hot Dog

By
Location: Littlefork, MN
This is a great call! No complaints what so ever, It is easy to learn and if there are any coyotes in the area they will come in. I just bought this call this winter and have used it 4 times out and i was able to call two pairs in. Haven't been able to get any to call back but used the howl and a series of other calls to get them in. Mostly used the barks and the distress calls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2009

primos coyote call

By
The Primos Hot Dog predator call is a real nice piece of work, with some practice. If you expect immediate results plan to be disappointed. You do need a healthy set of lungs for this call, bbut it is a loud call and can be heard over quite a distance. With some work and practice I have had coyotes talking back to me during the night time hours.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

Primos Hot Dog

By
Location: Indiana
This call will get the job done but is far from being the best howler out there. I also have the Primos Lil Dog. It takes a lot less air to blow and is a good destress call. I have called many coyotes making distress sounds using just the green mouth piece.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 32