Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler

PRIMOS Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler

The Hot Dog™ is Randy Anderson's loud howler for locating coyotes. Removable mouthpiece creates distress calls of birds, rabbits and deer.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
26 out of 30(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Review 1 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent with practice

Date:August 28, 2013
I bought this call years ago after seeing Randy Anderson put a whoopin on coyotes using it. I use nothing but mouth calls and choose different calls every time I go out. The hot dog is one I don't leave home without. It sickens me to see bad reviews on this call. If you learn to use it right it will be your best friend when howling at the yotes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why Cabela's/Primos the best

Date:April 9, 2013
I buy Cabela’s. Cabela’s is Quality. The Primos Hot Dog predator howler is a quality call, that’s why I bought it. The Primos Hot Dog predator Howler is made in the U.S.A. There is a reason Primos is number in predator calls; Randy Anderson knows what he is doing. Make sure to read the instructions on the back of the package. The instructions tell you exactly how use the Call, and it works. This Call can do so many different calls; barks (male/female), howls (locator), distress (deer, fawn, rabbits, bird). First time out, I stirred up a huge response. Coyotes howled back from all around me; tree line, creek bottom, and in the field in front of me. When you’re in the middle of nowhere, it is quite eerie. If you have seen the Twilight series of movies, the wolves running through the timbers, it was a rush, it was eerie.. Picture - Primos Hot Dog predator howler and favorite AR15 for hunting Coyotes. I recommend 5rd mag (don’t get in the way) and always carry two 30rd magazines.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bow wow......

Date:March 5, 2013
this call is one loud call.... it sends it out there. even near fast rivers it plain gets the sound down, up wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ramsey, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Call

Date:February 1, 2012
I like this call because it produces a great sound and gives out a long distance call.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sioux Fall, SD
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos Hot Dog

Date:January 17, 2012
Overall this call seems to be easy enough to learn and use properly. I have been with people that have used it and had alot of success calling in coyotes. I only gave it 4 stars since I have not personally been able to try it out hunting yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:May 1, 2011
This call is great for reaching way out there across the prairie. The call is also very diverse from young to old, male to female coyotes. Primos is number one for predator calls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Awesome

Date:April 26, 2011
Bought the caller a few years ago and wore it out. Bought a 2nd one to continue the success. Randy Anderson knows his stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not for someone starting out!

Date:March 18, 2011
Even though this call has a DVD be prepared for some sour notes and a lot of practice! This is no doubt a quality call, can produce a wide range of sounds, MEGA volume, but you need to keep in mind where & when you use it! It was designed for Randy Anderson's needs (wide open areas) and those might not be the same needs as you! For example...This call is great for wide open country but too loud for timber hunts. (Remember coyotes can hear almost 30x better than us) And it's real easy to spook a yote with this call. But in the proper situation this call will perform! Great for long distance locating!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anselmo, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HOT DOG

Date:January 1, 2011
This call is not for begginers but once I learned it I was amazed of what I could do. The call has exellent range. But I got the hardwood model
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Primos Hot Dog Predator Coyote Howler

Date:February 22, 2010
This call is not for the beginner or average caller. Call takes a large amount of air volume to produce accurate calls.
Quality of the call seems fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: dingleberry, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Call

Date:January 1, 2010
This is probably the best coyote howler out there. Anyone who wants to call long range coyotes should have this call if they are willing to spend some time practicing. It is a difficult call to use but once mastered it is the best. I would also recommend getting the mastering the art dvd with it. It gives good detailed explenations on all of Randy's calls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: scappoose oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to Use

Date:December 16, 2009
I bought this call and messed with it for 2 days and already got em howlin back. instructional cd helped alot! Very versitile, many different calls in one! GREAT CALL, BUY ONE!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Howler out there

Date:November 28, 2009
I have had this call for about a year now, and it is the greatest howler out there. I've tried many others, but this one out competes them all. Its very versatile, and very easy to use, if you have the patience to learn. I predator hunt year around and this is the one call that always works. I would recommend it to anyone interested in predator hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: adamsville tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:September 16, 2009
have not used this call alot but when in the hands of a expert it will raise the hare on the back of your neck at how real it sounds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: escape from new york city hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

keep package for instructions

Date:July 7, 2009
reed positions are vital with this call,so keep packaging
for call placement until practice makes you very good with this call
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Littlefork, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos Hot Dog

Date:March 9, 2009
This is a great call! No complaints what so ever, It is easy to learn and if there are any coyotes in the area they will come in. I just bought this call this winter and have used it 4 times out and i was able to call two pairs in. Haven't been able to get any to call back but used the howl and a series of other calls to get them in. Mostly used the barks and the distress calls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

primos coyote call

Date:February 24, 2009
The Primos Hot Dog predator call is a real nice piece of work, with some practice. If you expect immediate results plan to be disappointed. You do need a healthy set of lungs for this call, bbut it is a loud call and can be heard over quite a distance. With some work and practice I have had coyotes talking back to me during the night time hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Primos Hot Dog

Date:February 16, 2009
This call will get the job done but is far from being the best howler out there. I also have the Primos Lil Dog. It takes a lot less air to blow and is a good destress call. I have called many coyotes making distress sounds using just the green mouth piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outstanding

Date:February 8, 2009
My favorite call, no close second.
Quick FYI. It is a very difficult call to use at first. Once you figure it out and practice for a while, I think you'll love it. Very wide range of sounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® Hot Dog™ Predator Coyote Howler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Coosawattee River, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

all purpose call

Date:January 13, 2009
Bought the pack that had the ki-yi with this one, but this is the only call I use. Makes all the same noises and sounds even better, not to mention the wide ranges of great sounding howls. I recommend this one to anyone who wants to learn to blow a mouth call for coyotes or other predators, bit of a learning curve but that's my only complaint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30