Customer Reviews for STONEY POINT Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

STONEY POINT Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support

The Tripod Rear Support installs easily on any Stoney Point Tripod, and supports your buttstock for enhanced steadiness and precision. Stows parallel to tripod leg. Tripod sold separately. Weight: 6 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Review 1 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Needs a little work

Date:August 29, 2012
I just bought this and sure enough it doesn't fit the tripod well at all. When I attached it to the tripod the support would slide down the leg of the tripod without anything on it. There's a simple fix. I took a file and some sand paper and sanded down both sides of the rod where it attaches to the U shaped bracket. You need to sand it down a little at a time until the U bracket, when assembled, fits the leg with the desired fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Supports The Rifle

Date:July 31, 2012
Installed one on a friends and on my own tripods. They work to hold the rifle in a near ready position. We will not be shooting while it's resting as sometimes the deer are moving and we have to pivot with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the money.

Date:November 26, 2011
This product performed exactly as described. I slightly modified mine to fit on a different tripod at it works great. I wish the overall length was shorter as I use mine to support my right hand while shooting a handgun off the rest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Peyton,Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support

Date:August 17, 2011
Gave me confidence shooting out to 300 yards with my shooting tripod. This works with other systems, but may need to be modified with a thin sheet of rubber, due to smaller tubing.I have not shot with it enough to get a rock solid hold. I feel out to 300 yards on deer will be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Calgary AB
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shooting sticks

Date:February 23, 2011
I mounted the rear support on another manufacture shooting sticks, it has increased my accuracy greatley.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Canton, Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall pleased.

Date:January 31, 2011
The rear atachment is good as long as you have time at home to set it up and play with it. It takes awhile to set it up to get it solid in the feild. I used it on a high ridge Elk hunting this past year and it worked great. The thing is it takes a few minutes to set it up and get comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas Nevada
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stoney point tripod rear support

Date:January 31, 2011
very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kansas city
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WORKS GREAT

Date:January 31, 2011
Makes it easier to hold your riffle or crossbow, and still leave your hands free for anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Romania-Europe
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support

Date:August 9, 2010
Very usefull in adition with the tripod and the price is fair too.
If the shipping charges would be smaller...........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sent it back along with the tripod

Date:May 24, 2010
This went along with the tripod that I sent back. I did not have real time with this part because the tri pod was not made well and I sent both back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rear Support

Date:March 18, 2009
Help makes things stead for longer shots. Not as good as bagging, but much lighter. Great for calling. It even holds up my heavy guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed impression, but overall helpful

Date:October 7, 2008
We recently used this in Africa, taking about 16 head of game with about a third using the rear rest, mostly as a help for my 2 daughters who did not have as much experience. Mixed impressions:
1) Comments made about them not supporting a rifle well withought sliding down the shaft are correct... it has a tendency to slide down under very little weight. Tightenting the set screw helps some but will not completely solve the issue - suppect running coars sand paper on the inside of the plastick mounting ring prior to mounting would help some as well... or on the outside of the upper-ony tube of the shooting leg you are mouting it on (or both)
2) It indeed does help some in steadying your shot - if you do not put a bunch of your own weight on it along with the rifle
3) It most definitely takes extra set up time for a shot. This was a real frustration to our outfitter when trying stalks with our duaghters and I; however in a blind, watching clear cuts, over bait, etc. this is hard to beat.
4) lastly, this will not support a gun safely at all without being held. I had hoped to use it to hold the rifle verticle while hunting up North in the snow while I glassed, to keep snow from getting in the objective lens. This will not work - the rifle will immediately or eventually slump to one side or the other as this rest slide and rotates around the mounting leg shaft. The answer others have found (and I am about to order) is to get a second one, and put it on 2 legs instead of just one to cradle the rifle in a "V", thus GREATLY increasing both the side-to-side shot stability, plus correcting the ability to use the tripod as a full time rest when in the field.
Hope the info helps,
Scott
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Western New York state
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stoney Point

Date:August 26, 2008
I like the Stoney Point products and purchased this to compliment the stoney point tripod I have. I needed the last support to help with 300 yard shots. Unfortunately, the aide does not mount tight to the tripod leg and it does not help steady the lateral movement in the stock. If it did, this would have been perfect. It will keep the gun steady for up and down, but not side to side. I had to return the part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support

Date:July 22, 2008
I purchased this item in hopes of using it as a rifle sighting (zeroing) rest...however, the rear support was completely incapable of stabilizing a mere 8 pound scoped British .303.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tripod rear support

Date:April 27, 2008
I have mixed feelings about this accessory: it is not easily set up; I think it has a possible advantage in a setting where one has plenty of time for the shot,eg from a blind, over bait, etc.;it
did not hold the gun with any sense of security and thus I would not enthusiastically recommend it in situations other than what was described above
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montros, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stabillity when shooting

Date:February 27, 2008
Puchased this product with tripod and it helps make those shots a lot easier. I found that putting the rest under my forarm it gives me more mobility for targets like coyotes that usually move a little then stop and then move again. But at the same time it gives me really good rest for a shot. I found that this takes some practise to get use to, so I take it to the range and shooting prairie dogs for practise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Thorpe, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stoney Point Rear Support

Date:February 19, 2008
This is a must add to your Stoney Point Tripod, especially if you're a lazy hunter like me, not wanting to lay your rifle or shotgun down on the ground in cold weather or snow. Balancing either firearm was simple, but it can get in the way of the bipod shooting position.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hamilton,ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stoney point tripod rear support

Date:February 1, 2008
A MUST HAVE FOR LONG RANGE!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vicksburg, Mi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stoney point tripod rear support

Date:January 15, 2008
very good it works great with the tripod very stable shooting system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stoney Point Tripod Rear Support

Date:October 30, 2007
Last spring I puchased Stoney point tri pod. and had some fun with my son in law. Too many people think it is a piece of cake to make shots 500 yds +. So I blew up some large balloons, abouth 12 inches diameter. and moved out to 500yds. even with the tri pod we both did not touch them. I found I could hold the elvation but the horizontal movement was too much at that distance. We moved to the rocks where we could set our guns on our packs like sand bags. and picked off the balloons one by one. Thats when I decided to buy the rear support. It still is not as steady as rock. but the rear support really helps, did the job on a 320 yd, one shot to the boiler room on a Idaho 4X3 mule deer this 2007 season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27