Customer Reviews for Allen Company Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Allen Company Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit

The alternative to tapes and gun socks. Wrap it around your favorite firearm and apply heat from a blow dryer to make the "skin" shrink to fit the gun with a tight seal. Easy, no-cleanup removal.Camo patterns: Mossy Oak® Break-Up®,Realtree Hardwoods Green HD®, Realtree MAX-4™.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.246 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
15
1 Star
69
46 out of 134(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Review 101 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun Skins

Date:April 2, 2007
The gun skins worked great, they turned out really nice looking on the gun. Cabelas is a great outdoors shop and i would order again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Hemet California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

snake skins gun camo kit

Date:April 2, 2007
Was difficult to use. Edges peeled up while applying. After the first few peices. I just quit trying to use it. It was a complete waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: So. UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor

Date:March 29, 2007
Not enough instructions. What are one sided stickey for? They said expect rinkles by pistol grip. Thats the only place that it didn,t rinkle. I only wanted to put in on the stock of 10/22 Ruger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: upper mich.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

snake skin

Date:March 28, 2007
snake skin works good goes on easy . looks good ,there is a little wrinkles on the stock doesn't hurt anything . seems tuff
kit needs more tape .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Lynnwood WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Product was okay

Date:March 26, 2007
I followed the instructions to install this shrink wrap camo on my 12ga shotgun. I didn't have a hair dryer so went to the local charity outlet and got one for $5.00. If you follow the instuctions, the product goes on pretty well. It has a kind of dull gloss to it when installed so don't expect it to be as natural looking as as some of the camo tape on the market. Also, the wringling on the pistol stock part is inevidable... I wrapped some camo tape around that part to hide the wringling.
On the other hand, it will be a lot easier to remove when it begins to get that ragged look. I had a dificult time gettting the residual glue from the old camo tape off my gun untill I used a well-known spray lubricant. It worked like a charm as a glue solvent!
Hope this review helps others.
Tom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Varysburg,New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Snake skins gun camo

Date:February 11, 2007
This product DOES NOT work at all it does not shrink around gun stock as claimed.It stays loose and makes nosie.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

big disappointment

Date:February 3, 2007
" I saw this product in one of the Cabela's catalogs and thought it was very cool and a very good price. I bought it, and followed the instrutions very closely and it looked very good. The first itme I took it hunting it started falling apart. Now my gun has sticky glue residue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harris County, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME!!!!

Date:February 3, 2007
I used this product on my Remington 700 MAG. It works great. It's easy to put on, it really looks great. I would recomend this product to all of my friends that were thinking about camouflaging their gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Boonville, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

it's alright

Date:December 16, 2006
over all the camo looks good (at a distance). There wasn't enough camo to cover the stock on my Browning B-80. The grip instructions and no matter how you use it it comes out very rinkleded. The kit also had like two double sided adhesives, which was great but it wasn't enough (even when I cut them in half long ways.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

camo skins

Date:December 15, 2006
I purchased this product to tone down stainless steel barrel of my Encore during Buck season. I just felt like, at times I was waving around a "light stick" with that good looking stainless barrel. So I wrapped the barrel with this product and appled the heat with the hair dryer.
The product was easy to install and initially stuck to the barrel just fine. Of course, this was in my living room at 70 degrees.
On the third day of hunting in 23 degree weather, I reached in my truck and grabbed my gun. I grabbed it by the barrel which was covered with the camo stuff, and the gun just dropped thru the camo skin like it was greased. So, there I was, standing with the camo skin in my hand watching my gun with the scope hit the ground. Don't ask me if the scope was off, it was the last day I could hunt and I didn't see a buck and havn't shot the gun yet.
Next time I'll just use camo duct tape. I know it will stick.
Dave.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

so-so results

Date:December 9, 2006
This stuff would be much easier to put on if they labeled which piece goes on which part of your gun. I figured it out, but it took awhile. I put this product on my turkey gun. The finish product looked ok (not as good as the photos they show) after about 90 minutes installing it. It didnt last long....the skin exploded around the porting on the barrel on the first shot (and yes, I did open the ports through the skin). I removed what was left after that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wilton North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snake skin Camo

Date:November 29, 2006
I give this product five stars, the reason being for five stars is
#1 Value, very inexpensive protection for your firearm
#2 Durability, snake skin is a very abrasion resistant product
#3 Ease of use, very easy to install on the firearm
#4 good choice of camo patterns to match your surroundings
A great product for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Take your time and it works great!

Date:November 28, 2006
I tried this and I really liked the results. You need to take your time applying it and make sure you line up and cut your adhesive strips properly, (around the ejection port and action) and this looks great. Just a standard hair dryer and a pair of scissors and about 30 minutes or so, and you won't recognize your firearm. There is some wrinkling around the grip, but it doesn't make much difference. It held up to rain and mud and a good deal of bouncing around. I did a much better job applying it on the second shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Snake bites

Date:November 28, 2006
I was not very happy with this product. It didn't come with enough double sided tape and it doesn't shrink down very well. I attempted it on a few different parts of the gun and was not satisfied at all, and yes I followed all the directions. I would spend the money on paint next time or a gun in the finish you wanted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Berlin WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't touch it, I think it's Poisonous!

Date:November 28, 2006
This product was a waste of time any money. After fumbling with the camo shrink wrap for over an hour I was able to successfully cover my gun barrel. I could have easily done that with some camo tape for 1/3 the price and 1/10 the time.
If you are looking for the advantage that some camo tape can't solve - you should probably buy a matte finsih gun or better yet paint your face. Good Hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Oconto Falls,Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for a dry hunt

Date:November 23, 2006
The Snake Skins camo I had was the Max-4, and the pattern was awsome.One time I layed my gun down to set up my decoys and I had a hard time finding it when I got back.The only problem I had was when I took it off at the end of season my gun was a bit rusty.I did hunt in the rain a few times though.As far as applying it to my gun, it was very easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brigham City Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snake skins camo kit

Date:November 22, 2006
This camo kit worked very well it was easy to install, looks good and it is real durable, it's a good product and I would recomend to all my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Terryville,Ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

JB

Date:November 22, 2006
worked very well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: myakka city, Fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

snake skins gun camo kit

Date:November 22, 2006
This product is awsome it goes on easy it only took me about 8 minutes to do. and when i took it off about 3 months later it came off in only 30 seconds and left no glue to clean up or any mess.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Poconos of PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit

Date:November 21, 2006
I had purchased the Snake Skins Gun Camo Kit for my rifle for a hunting trip to Maine. The application was easy & fast. You must carefully plan out your pieces though and make sure you have enough. For the first time using this product, they should have included some extra pieces in the kit. Removal was also easy leaving no sign on you rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 101-120 of 134