Customer Reviews for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Remington® Genesis Air Rifle

Remington's new air rifle delivers incredible out-of-the-box accuracy. It pounds out .177-caliber pellets at 1,000 feet-per-second with extreme precision, and it has a synthetic stock with soft textured-rubber forearm, pistol grip and cheekpiece. These rifles have adjustable Truglo fiber-optic sights, a ventilated rubber butt pad, an ambidextrous cheekpiece, and a built-in scope rail. 28-lb. cocking effort. Made in USA. Weight: 8-1/2 lbs. Length: 42-1/2".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Review 1 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Richmond, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Genesis Air Rifle

Date:August 7, 2008
Nice air gun and nice trigger, very accurate until the set screw on the barrel loosens and the barrel turns throughing the front site off. This gun needs a better set screw design to keep the barrel from twisting, I've tightened the set screw twice and locktited it in, after about ten shots the screw loosens and the barrel twists.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Salem, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Would not recommend, will not hold tight groups

Date:December 26, 2008
I write this review to be posted to save someone buying an adult air rifle sometime and aggravation.
What I was looking for was something to practice with over the winter but it has to be able to maintain a tight group so any errors would be me not the rifle.
Remington Genesis 1000 Review
I first purchased a Remington Genesis 1000 from Cabelas in Richfield WI.
Why? I liked the feel/fit of the stock, the scope and did not see many bad reviews for it and it was in my budget.
To bad I did not get a chance to fire it before driving 60 miles home.
Upon arriving at home I mounted the scope put it on the bench and the first few rounds where on paper only 2" out of the 'X' ring.
It was a false sense of accuracy as it took quite awhile to get the rounds in the 'X'.
After getting the scope tweaked I thought I was ready to do some tack driving - NOT!
I would have 3-4 rounds in then the next 3-4 would be low by 4.5" then I adjusted the scope then it was 4.5" high then it would shift again.
Tired of this thinking it was the scope I switched to iron sights no more than 3 would group before rounds would move.
Tried to tighten up the pivot bolt and some other items I found on forums but nothing helped.
It was really a disappointment when just plinking cans or on the steel drop downs one would hit then the next would be anyones guess.
I can say Cabelas was very pleasant in accepting the return of the air rifle accompanied buy my 10 meter targets with the inconsistant groups.
RWS 460 Magnum Review
After returning the Remington Genesis 1000 for not holding a group I looked over other air rifles Cabelas carries and read more reviews and for the bit more in price I found a much more superior rifle.
Once having the scope mounted the first 5 shots where in a group the size of a dime at 10 meters but the group was 4.5" low and 1.75" to the left once adjusted I have been able to maintain groups in the 10 and 'X' rings of a 10M target.
Most targets are showing what appears to be an irregular hole as all rounds are grouped so tightly.
I would recommend the RWS 460 Magnum rifle to anyone not wanting to spend $1000 for an accurate air rifle.
Don't waste your time bargain shopping you truely get what you pay for, it's a bit more than the Remington's or Gamo's but well worth it if you are looking for tight repetative and consistant groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Uncasville, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rifle

Date:December 26, 2008
My name is Dave, I bought this rifle a little while ago when i was at the new Cabelas in East Hartford and this rifle still has not dissapointed me yet. I go squirrel hunting in my backyard with a few of my friends and often i am the only one killing anything. This rifle has stability and weight. The synthetic stock is nice for all weather but i would prefer a solid wood stock like walnut or oak. Overall i gave the rifle a 4 out of 5 because the stock is hollow and does not balance very well also when i bought the rifle the front iron sight came right off the barrel. Also the barrel is loose and will affect my shooting accuracy, Im not sure if the rifle is supposed to have an unscrewable barrel but it may be for cleaning but it is break barrel so idk why you would need to take the barrel off. Thanks and this rifle for beginners is a great start.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, Mt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fun little gun

Date:August 30, 2008
This air rifle is great. Really fast. I was shocked the first time I shot it at a pellet trap I made for my old rifle, it went through a 2x4 and kept going. Impressive for .177cal. Also, I put a simple BSA 30mm red dot on it and zeroed it, and it's spot on out to 40 yards. Plenty of range for shooting gophers and pests. Just an absolute blast to shoot, just like being 12 with my first pellet gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great air gun

Date:June 25, 2007
We (my 2 sons and I) haven't used this air rifle much yet, but so far we are very pleased with the out of the box preformance. A bit loud at first, but seemed to settle and quiet down quite quickly. Great for rodents, pests and general plunking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:May 7, 2007
It's more like a .22 than a pellet gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HIGHLY ACCURATE

Date:December 9, 2006
I use mine for woodchucks and I live in the city so accuracy is paramount. I usually wait until they're close to their den and go for a heart or lung shut so they die in their den. I have NEVER missed from within 40 yards. For the money, I believe this is the best gun out there. Take the time to properly sight it in and you'll be impressed. Make sure you fire a loaded chamber within 15-20 minutes or so or the seals will fail prematurely. Quality is first rate. Have had for over a year now and fired probably 1500 rounds with no failures. The thumbhole stock is very well made and, for me, eliminates the use of a rest for high accuracy. I know the 'chucks in my neighborhood hate it but everyone else who's seen it/shot it thinks it's very cool. No one can believe how little I paid for it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Genesis Air Rifle

Date:December 5, 2006
As an avid shooter and hunter using firearms and muzzleloaders, I must say investing in a good "Air Rifle" like the Remington Genesis is well worth the money. Especially if you want to do some good target practice in your own back yard or where shooting a regular firearms is not practical. This gun is one of two adult air fifles that I own and it is fun to shoot! The rubber pistol grip is very comfortable and makes target shooting a very enjoyable past time. Accuracy at about 30 yards is pretty good once you take the time to sight-in the rifle. I purchased an inexpensive Daisy air rifle scope and with some patience and using a rest was able to achieve about one inch groupings. While I can't say I am a air rifle expert, I can say this is a fun gun to shoot. It's practical and economical target practice! This would also make a great pest/rodent gun. I highly recommend this rifle and with a great firearm name like Remington, you can't go wrong!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Genesis Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Genesis air rifle

Date:December 4, 2006
Great air rifle. Fast reloads, and great power and range. Perfect for small game hunting. Also, its very comfortable to aim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.