Customer Reviews for Pacific Canvas Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Pacific Canvas Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster

The Pacific Canvas 1916 Holster is an exact reproduction of the standard U.S.G.I. holster for the 1911 A1 .45 pistol. The tanned cowhide has a pre-war tan finish. ImportedAvailable: Right Hand, Left Hand. Imported
Overall Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 27(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Review 1 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Military Holster

Date:February 23, 2011
This is a beautiful holster.It has the correct look of the authentic military holster.It fit my 1911 like a glove and is comfortable to wear. If you want a GI look or want great protection for your 45 you can't beat this holster. It is a great value and worth much more than the selling price. You will be very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic GI 1911A1 Holster

Date:February 19, 2011
Nostalgia! Not EXACTLY as the one I was issued in VN, but close enough. What was nice about the full-flap holster is that it kept out most of the dust and grime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Woodinville, Wa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb

Date:June 9, 2010
with a lil bit of saddle soap and waterproofing I've had no issues. looks good on a belt or hanging from headboard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: gardnerville nv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1916 holster

Date:March 29, 2010
I was very impressed with quality and detail. If I didnt know better, This could be 1917 again ? Very good workmanship and from china to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

holster/1916 Leather

Date:August 11, 2009
Good quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Holster

Date:March 17, 2009
Leather and stitching looked good. The wire belt hanger was was not bent symetrical and will not fit belt properly without some modifacation to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milton, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality gear

Date:March 9, 2009
High quality leather, exact replica.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Herndon, VA; retired military officer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow! Top-Notch Quality!

Date:March 3, 2009
GI issue is generally very high quality. Those who write specs for military equip. procurement specify the very best. Well, this beautiful holster matches those specs. It is of very heavy, hiqh-quality leather and stitching. It comes with the heavy brass hook for GI cartridge belts, and with a loop for an ordinary belt as well. I removed the hook and wear it with a wide garrison belt of similar natural-colored leather. My genuine Colt .45 fits nicely, and although the holster is new and of course somewhat stiff, it is still no problem inserting and withdrawing the weapon. This is a very decently priced, high quality item. I could not be more pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

like this holster

Date:February 10, 2009
I bought one for my brother for his 1911 Colt. I liked it so much, I bought another for myself for my Springfield Military Spec. Mine was very tight when it came in, but I oiled it and spent some time stretching it by hand, and now fits the gun perfectly. I would not trust the metal clips, I removed mine and they snapped like pot metal in the process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster

Date:February 10, 2009
Accurate reproduction of original military issue, at a fair price. Handles 1911 style pistol fine. Original holsters can be found from collectors, but usually cost more just for the historic value, and are really only for display, not use. Delay and backorder in receiving, but presume that is because the manufacturer is a small shop without huge production facilities.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tucson, Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster

Date:February 9, 2009
After a couple of months on back order, my holster arrived. Overall I'm pleased with holster. The web belt clip seemed a bit cheap and was bent wrong, but other than that, it was a good buy. I had a few friends compliment me on it at my first Wild Bunch match.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1916 Holster

Date:February 3, 2009
Let me start off by saying, the metal belt hangers are faceing the correct way, that is how they made these holsters up until vietnam.
Now the holster itself is flawless, the stiching is beutiful and the leather is nice and sturdy. If you look on the inside you will see that it has been coated with either bees wax or mink oil to waterproof it wich im sure the outside is also coated.
Now the one downside to this holster that any shooter knows is:
leather will take the finish off your pistol. So if you do not want that then this is not the holster for you seeing how this holster has a nice snug fit. But thisd item is also perfect for you WWI WWII reenactor as i am myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Munising, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reproduction 1916 holster for colt auto

Date:August 18, 2008
I received the Pacific Canvas leather holster a couple weeks ago. The quailty is excellent. It provides very good protection for your firearm when carrying in the woods. I would highly recommend this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: selah, wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Web hanger

Date:August 11, 2008
The hanger for the web belt is difficult to use. Otherwise the quality is good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Springfield Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1916 leather holster

Date:August 4, 2008
For the price the holster was a reasonable reproduction of an original.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pacific Canvas Leather 45 Auto Holster

Date:June 14, 2008
The holster is very well made with quality leather. It is not an exact reproduction but it looks good. The Colt Government Model fits in the holster very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MONROE,LA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

belt clip

Date:April 2, 2008
I LOVED THE QUALITY OF THE LEATHER AND THE AUTHENTICITY OF THE HOLSTER . THE ONLY ISSUE I HAD WAS WITH THE METAL BELT CLIP . IT WAS PUT IN BACK-WARDS ON MY HOLSTER , MADE OF SOME TYPE OF SOFT METAL AND BROKE THE FIRST TIME I TRIED TO USE IT. I AM STILL VERY PLEASED WITH THE HOLSTER AND WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE SAME QUALITY OF MATERIALS USED IN THE BELT CLIP AS IN THE REST OF THIS PRODUCT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Casper, WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice historic piece

Date:March 10, 2008
This is a very good looking reproduction. Its a nice piece of leather way above the quality I see at the local gun shows, and for half the price. My 1911 fits in it very well, so well in fact that it has rubbed some of the blueing off of my sights. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Workmanship

Date:February 27, 2008
The
holster itself took a little longer than expected to arrive due to a
backorder but I can see why since it's such a nice holster. It's no
suprise that everyone wants one. The leather flexed out nicely and it
shaped well to my piece. It fits snugly to my waist and leg. After
wearing it for a while you barely feel it there at all. The clip is
tough and I love the "US" on the side. I would definately recommend
this acessory to anyone looking for a tough and sleek-looking holster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pacific Canvas Leather 1916 Holster
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Elko Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not bad for the price, However....

Date:February 21, 2008
It took about 4 months to recieve the left handed version which seemed very out of the ordinary for Cabela's. Once I received it I put it on a military belt using the brass hook and the first time out the leather had ripped about 1/2 an inch. I have since removed the hook and just used the belt loop and so far so good in the last couple of times it's been used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27