Customer Reviews for MN TRAPLINE PRODUCTS Gauge-Mate Tubes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MN TRAPLINE PRODUCTS Gauge-Mate Tubes

Instantly convert your shotgun into a smaller-gauged gun for increased challenge and enjoyment in the field and at the range. Simply insert the adapter into your bore, load with the corresponding smaller-gauge ammunition and shoot. They produce excellent patterns with your standard choke tubes. And because powder is afforded extra combustion room in your bore, they also promote increased velocity. Extractor-Grip™ cutouts expose spent hulls for easy removal from adapter. Per two-tube set.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
23 out of 30(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Review 21 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upper Peninsula, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gauge-Mate Tubes

Date:November 21, 2006
I work with a team of bird dog trainers and the pups are introduced to gun fire very slowly - working up from a .22 blank gun to finally the 12 ga. The Gauge-Mate Tubes were the answer to having all the gun gauges without having to buy 4 different guns. I just pop in the .410 Gauge-Mate into my 12 ga. shotgun, and VIOLA! - I have a .410. When pup's ready for the 20 ga, just pop the 12 to 20 tube in. The only draw back is that sometimes the shell sticks in the tube and I have to pry them out with a dime or something. The benefit far outways the trouble though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gauge-Mate Tubes

Date:December 30, 2009
I ordered these to convert my 16 gauge to use both 20 gauge and 410 gauge shot shells. The reason is 16 gauge shells are very hard to find and are in limited shot size. Both set of tubes fit the gun perfectly. I have yet to fire the gun using these tubes but am sure they will perform as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gauge-Mate Tubes

Date:December 17, 2009
I recently purchased a 12-gauge tube for my 10-gauge single barrell shotgun with a 36" full-choke barrell. I inserted a four ten gaugemate sleeve into the 12-gauge sleeve and have effectively turned my 10-gauge shotgun into a four ten. This has a good shot pattern with the four ten at a distance of 75'.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: up state N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gauge-mate fun

Date:February 10, 2009
My wife wanted to shoot 28ga. without having to buy another shotgun... This "Gage-Mate" was the answer. I can shoot my 12 ga. over/under and they insert the Gage-mate for my wife to shoot 28ga. from same shotgun. We are having just way too much fun doing this. I was surprised as to how well the 28's preformed out of a 12 ga. tube. FUN FUN FUN,,,,,BOOM, BOOM....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grafton, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

16 gauge to 20 Gauge, and 16 g to .410

Date:January 25, 2009
Got 2 sets. One was 16 gauge reduced to 20 Gauge , the other was 16 gauge to .410 bore.
Both worked GREAT in my Stevens 311A 16Gauge SXS.
I had previously purchased the LilSkeeters and had a problem when the 20G Remington STS hulls swelled up and could not be removed from the Skeeters. These Gauge-Mates are constructed differently than the Skeeters. They are a much harder 303 stainless steel AND the 16-20 reducer is "machined" and then has "slit" down the side that prevents a swollen hull in an oversize chamber. Thus a spent hull/shell can be easily popped out with your fingers or, if needed, a gentle poke with a small stick. (Skeeters are aluminum alloy and likely work better when their wall is thicker).
The Gauge-Mates are of a much higher quality machined work, they fit my chamber great, and they handle the factory 20G & .410 shells excellent!!
The 20 Gauge patterns were surprisingly very good. But the .410 patterns were a tad loose (that should be expected from ALL low priced gauge reducers and can only be better solved with the full extended tubes used by competition shooters) I would still feel A-OK to hunt small game at close yardages (<20yrd, rabbits etc) with the 16-.410 as the reducer will take both 2-1/2" and 3"max shells. Judging buy the patterns, felt recoil, and my shots at a few clay birds: the 16-20Gauge seems to break clays for me as well as a 2-3/4" 20G devoted gun (my SXS 16 is fixed chokes, Mod & Full).
These Gauge-Mates are fine for occasional use of switching from larger gauge side-by-sides, or over/under shotguns, to lower gauge ammo. Example: helping a younger or smaller stature shooter get used to handling a certain shotgun but with a lesser load to avoid recoil ... or using cheaper or more available ammo in another gauge (16 Gauge was getting hard for me to find in less than 1-1/8 oz loads, 20G was easier in 7/8oz, .410 was available at the local gas station).
The Gauge Mates are a bit slow to use--- as they get removed, and then you pop the old shell out, then put a new shell in {if you want better speed, get 2 sets of the same gauges so you have a load always ready, or try the Gauge-Mate Gold version)
The only "bug" in the 16-20 reducer was that it leaves a "line" that's an "impression" down the plastic of spent hull that folks who reload shotshells may not like. This line is caused by the necessary slit in the tube used to control expanding shells.
{note: This slit looks like it is ONLY on the 10-12 Gauge and 16-20Gauge tubes, all the other gauge tubes look SOLID}
They are a bit "dirtier" to shoot , cause a tiny smudge of spent gas may blowby, so your hands will have a bit of smudgy powder residue at the end of the days shooting from touching the reducers, BUT these worked so well that I didn't mind.
I found them an inexpensive way to shoot other gauge ammo in my old Stevens 16 SXS . The Gauge-Mate instructions on the package and their website was very helpful (good pictures) and I would certainly have bought a full set of 16 to 20-28-.410 if I had known I would have liked them so much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gaugemate silver shotgun adapters in 12/20 & .410

Date:September 28, 2008
I have an old Ithaca supersingle model 66 in 12 gauge so I thought I'd try the Gaugemate adapters. I don't do anything with 16 or 28 gauge so I chose adapters for .410 and 20 gauge. As my shotgun is a single shot so I didn't need two pairs of adapters, all I wanted was one of each so I went down to my local bangstick emporia and did a deal with the proprietor. I swapped one of each for a nice Leupold shotgun scope. (I suspect he was keeping them for himself!) As far as testing the adapters in the gun, we had a Sheutzenfest and I invited guests to put a few rounds downrange with the ol' Ithaca. It seems nobody but me liked putting the hammer down on 12 gauge rounds, but no one had a problem with the 20. The .410 seemed to have about the same recoil as a .22 when chambered in a heavy 12. We destroyed some punkins and one soon-to-be-obsolete tv and everyone had a great time. Bella
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GT

Date:December 27, 2007
I tried the 16-20 gauge-mates in a Stevens 311 sxs without any problems. I was using cheap promo shells, not the target shells, without any problems whatsoever.
However, in view of some reviews of sticky shells, I decided to wax the barrel chamber and the tubes inside and out. I fired 25 rounds with the shells dropping free from the extracted tubes with no effort at first. The shells required a tap to drop out on the last 10 shots or so. The process was not dirty.
The tubes have a slit down their length, which allows a friction fit in the chamber. They will not fall out, but can be easily removed. Even though the tubes are tighter on a shell when in the chamber, the shells will easily extract with a small knife point run down the tube slit to catch the rim and pull the case out.
Their inconveniences are minor and their advantage, especially in using 20 gauge shells in a 16 gauge gun, should be obvious.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fairfield,CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy

Date:October 30, 2007
I love it it is the best
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Groveland, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gauge Mate Tubes

Date:September 5, 2007
I recently used the Gauge-Mate tubes in my 12 gauge O/U with fantastic results! Recoil was of course reduced to almost nothing. Moreover, accuracy was great! Workmanship was first rate. Gauge-Mate is a real winner for anyone who wishes to use a smaller gauge in their shotgun without having to buy another shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Gauge-Mate Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Guage Mates are great!

Date:April 24, 2007
I liked the first set of Guage-Mate tubes so much that I have purchased three more sets for my two double barrels. My 20ga. side by side actually seems to shoot better with the 28ga. tubes installed. It's like having three more shotguns! The only drawback I experienced was when I tried to use 3" duck loads with the 20ga tubes in my 12ga. They are too long and too hot for the guage mates. The plastic at the end of the hull melts over and around the end of the tube, making hull removal difficult. However, using the 2 3/4" loads they work perfectly. These are a great product and I highly recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-30 of 30