Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels

Convert your Encore to an accurate slug gun, turkey gun, or a Smoothbore with Vent-Rib. Encore 12-gauge Shotgun Barrels have a 3" chamber and adjustable fiber-optic sights. Made in USA. Available: 24" Fully Rifled Slug Barrel, Blued 24" Fully Rifled Slug Barrel, Adjustable fiber-optic sights, Stainless Steel 24" Smoothbore Turkey Barrel with front optic sight and standard V-notch adjustable rear, Realtree Hardwoods HD® Grey 26" Vent-Rib Smoothbore barrel with a bead front sight, Comes with improved cylinder, modified and full-choke tubes, Blued 24" Muzzleloading Smoothbore Turkey Barrel, Adjustable fiber-optic sights, Realtree Hardwoods HD® Grey
Overall Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010

well worth the money!!!!!!!

By
Location: Central, OHIO
I bought this barrel for this year turkey season. I have went to Tennessee and Kentucky turkey hunting this April and have shot 6 times killing 6 longbeards with this gun all from a distance 25yds-45yds. Shooting 3" #5's has hammered every bird with no problem. Can't wait to shoot a couple gobblers hear in my home state of OHIO!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2010

T/C Encore 12 ga.

By
Location: New Mexico
I tested my new T/C Encore 12 gauge vent. rib barrel today. One of the first two shots hit low, so I shot from a bench and that shot was clearly low. Any suggestions besides aim high?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2009

Great Barrel

By
Location: Massachusetts
Received the TC 12ga barrel within days of my order, Great barrel..nice finish and a great high rib design. Shoots as good as it looks. Purchased at a great discount price. Thanks Cabela's for all you do.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009

Heavy Kicker 12ga Slug

By
Location: SOUTH JERSEY
Be ready to shoulder this one. This barrel being so light weight will really test your shoulder. Im an all around hunter, shooter, and gun guy and this is the hardest kicking gun i ever shot. Im using lightfield slugs which shoot very accurate as long as you can handle the recoil. I did my self a favor anyone should who buys this barrel; buy a limbsaver recoil pad. It definetly saves the day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2009

12 gauge slug barrel

By
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok
I am very pleased with the barrel now. I went through many different bullets and a bruised shoulder before finding one that patterns good. A little over a inch groups at 100 yards. I find the Hornady sabots to work the best. They did a number on a hog. One shot and the thing just dropped.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Very pleased

By
Location: Montgomery, Al.
I am very pleased with my purchase. Easy to assemble with my TC stock and forend. Shoots accurately. The camo pattern looks great. Cabelas ordering is easy and fast. Could not find what I wanted locally. Cabelas came through as usual.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2008

Impressed

By
Location: Santa Rosa Ca.
I purchased the turkey barrel to expand the use of mt T/C Encore black powder rifle and must say was impressed by the pattern performance of the turkey choke. Using 3" T loads gave me quite a jolt and a few good laughs after the virgin test firing. This gun kicks more than my 300 win. mag. and my 300 H&H mag. but we all know you don't feel a thing when dropping the hammer on an old longbeard. The pattern killed all the test targets I shot at and can't wait for spring turkey season to show up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Excellent Turkey Hunting Tool

By
Location: Ohio
I've carried my Benelli into the turkey woods the past 8 years. It has done me (not the turkeys) well. After handling my TC Encore with the 12GA Turkey Barrel I'll be saving my Benelli for pheasant. The gun (TC) is short and very light; great for being quietly mobile when trying to sneak in on a big tom. The sights are excellent as well!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2007

12 Guage Slug Barrel

By
Location: The woods of CT
This barrel is a great buy! I have always had good experiences with TC and this is one of them. The barrel is short and light, perfect for New England where I live. I would this recommend this product to any one. Got to get to the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

Turkey barrel

By
Location: RVing - on the move - home base Anchorage, AK
The design is superior, easy to use and the quality of materials used is fantastic. I have been able to retire several guns since purchasing the TC Encore. My wife appreciates the extra room in our RV since I have given up the space used by the other firearms.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2007

TC turkey barrel

By
Location: Louisville, Ky
As a T/C fan I have come to expect a great product from Thompson Center and they delivered once again. While I haven't yet connected on a long beard the barrel patterned very tight and precise. the fiber optic sights are very easy to see in low light and the fit and finish was perfect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2007

extraordinary turkey barrel

By
Location: pawtucket ri
the barrel is light and patterns very well. the recoil is very stout. however with the addition of the flex tech the recoil is very managable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2007

Tons of Fun

By
Location: Mason City, IA
I would highly recommend this to any one looking to have some fun with single shots, I mean who hasn't gone out with friends and all of the single shots everyone owns and had the "single shot challenge", One guy gets on the line yells pull, and about three clay pigeons fly and then there is the race to shoot them all before they hit the ground, well with the encores trigger gaurd release and auto shell ejectors, plus the hammer safety, the 12ga encore will have you holding the single shot championship belt in no time, also has great patterns for taking it out on a one shot challenge turkey, pheasant, or duck hunt, you just got to love this gun!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2007

thompson center 12-gauge turkey barrel

By
Location: martinsville.va
I purchased this barrel for my encore just to see if it could compare to my other shotgun.And after I patterned it ,I have not turkey hunted with my other shotgun since.Every time I pull the trigger gobbler down.. awesome turkey gun. Love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Encore® 12-Gauge Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

most underrated turkey gun around

By
Location: bristol, vermont
This is the best turkey gun on the market without a doubt. It is light as a feather and short, which makes it incredibly maneuverable in teh turkey woods. I put a rhino tube and shoot hevi shot out of this baby, and have killed several gobblers stone dead. It is a joy to carry, patterns awesome, and is the safest gun around. The reason I say that is with the encore there is no chance of a safety getting popped off by brush. The hammer system is safe and effective. I love this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.