Customer Reviews for HALI Monarch Game Hitch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HALI Monarch Game Hitch

Thanks to the Monarch's unique 360° swiveling action, you can hoist your trophy and load it into the back of your pickup or position it for easy processing quicker than ever before. Just plug the Game Hitch frame into your vehicle's 2" receiver hitch for hassle-free, effortless lifting of even the heaviest game. Comes complete with game hitch, pulley, cable, hook and winch. Gambrel sold separately. Weighs less than 70 pounds and fits any 2" receiver hitch. Please allow one week for delivery. Capacity: 350-lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monarch Game Hitch
Review 1 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2012

does the job

By
I've had this a year now, one full hunting season, and i bought it for the same reasons as all the other reviewers, getting old, limited lifting capability, etc. I hunt in a Polaris Ranger, with a front and rear receiver. I can put the deer in the back bed or on the front shelf. For those of the reviewers disappointed with the quality of the winch, I agree. For those disappointed with no pin hole, haven't you got a drill? the two legit comments i have on this item are: #1: when hoisting at night, make darn sure your wire is in both pulley sheaves, i didn't, and got the wire jammed in the gap between the frame and the pulley. What a huge pain to get out. The gap between the frame and the sheave should be better engineered to prevent this. And #2 and last: after saying all this, I'm glad I got it, it does the job well, but for a little welded tubing, a cheap boat winch and two pulleys, I bet you could get a welder in your home town to make one for you at a fraction of the cost.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

excellent

By
have used this in two different hunting camps now. hung and skinned 8 antelope first time and 6 antelope the second time with no problems. a must have
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2011

Versatiles and Useful

By
Location: MA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used Monarch Game hitch for 5 years. I have used it in the field to:
1) Completely Butcher deer
2) Break down dear
3) Skin Dear
4) Load into my truck whole
It was very useful 2 years ago when I had to load 150lb plus deer in to my truck, when I was recovering form a ruptured disc.
Ares that need improvement:
1) Winch is cheap. Will not ratchet in reverses, you have to hold the lock open and use both hands making sure the winch does not free wheel
2) Cable needs weigh on it to wind/unwind and spool properly.
I will add a pulley at the top corner, and replace the winch
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2010

LOTS of room for improvements

By
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Gambrel not included....
The winch is junk.....
For this kind of money you get some square tubing welded into a Z pattern.
JMHO ..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2010

Fantastic

By
Location: Austin, Texas
I love this. It makes handling my game when I am by myself extreamly easy........... I would recommend this to any serious hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009

Only one flaw

By
Location: Wyoming
We have used this product for more than two years, now. It is a godsend! We're not as young as we used to be.
This product has saved a lot of stress and strain on our backs. I only wish we'd had it for the last thirty years.
There is, however, one flaw which keeps me from rating this with a 5 Star "excellent". The wench is a piece of junk! Be prepared to replace it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2009

Great Christmas Present

By
Location: Dover, OK
I got this hoist for Christmas last year and got to use it the first time during this year's muzzle loading season. It's easy to put together, and since it breaks into two pieces, it's not too heavy to set up. My only criticism is that it does not have a hole for the receiver hitch pin. We had two deer in the same field, and it would have made me feel much more confident driving from one to the other had the hoist been locked in.
I'm still giving it 5 stars. It works great. I was able to load both deer by myself, and I'm a 59-year-old heart patient.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008

back saver

By
Location: NW, Missouri
I used to hunt at a deer camp down south and we had a permantly mounted winch and gabrel. I moved up north where there aren't any deer camps and cleaned two deer on the ground and swore I'd never again. bought this gadget and it is one of the best pieces of equipment I've ever bought. Price is a little high but it appears to be of good quality so it should last. highly recommend. It could be about 12 inches higher/longer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2008

Great Product

By
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this Hoist to work on a 500Lb Oryx for White Sands Missle Base..Worked Flawlessly..even with that much weight!
5 Stars!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2008

Works great for me!

By
Location: Paso Robles, CA
I bought this from Cabela's about 3 years ago.
I've used it to hang and skin 6 bucks to date and it's worked perfectly every time.
No more looking for a tree with an adequate branch, no more wrestling the carcass into the truck for delivery to the butcher. The winch works smoothly, the braided cable is strong, and the arm rotates 180 degrees.
It could easily be used to hoist harvested big game into the bed of the truck for transport to a proper place for skinning.
I just may weld a 2" receiver to my Honda Rincon and use it with that as well!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2008

must have for deer hunting

By
Location: Overland Park, KS
No more back pain, no more hunching over a deer on the ground...easy to put gambriel on...hoist works great...the hitch part is a little tough to put on at first..its pretty tight..but after a few uses...
I used it to clean all my deer this year and was a huge hit at deer camp....first the guys said I was lazy if I could not clean my deer on the ground...then the first deer shot...they used it and said..wow...that makes a huge difference....
Cleaning the deer is so easy when its up in the air..the insides just fall to the ground and its less messy....
work every nickel....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

Nice crane, cheap winch

By
When you hunt by yourself, it's a good idea to have some handy system for hoisting a carcass into the truck (not to mention moving the 5th-wheel hitch in and out of the bed). In the past I've used a ramp and a come-along, but it wasn't great. So I ordered the new Monarch game hitch this season. The crane was stout and well-constructed, but the hand winch was cheap and flimsy.
When it arrived, the drum was so tweaked that the ratchet teeth wouldn't engage the handle gear. I reefed the drum back into shape with a big C-clamp, but then I found that the pawl shaft was also misaligned, so the pawl wouldn't hold properly when lowering a load. Not real safe.
The system sorta works, and I kept it. This winter I'll weld up the pawl shaft hole in the winch frame and re-drill it. But with all the quality boat-trailer winches available, why would Monarch cheapen their otherwise fine hoist with a flimsy winch?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2006

camp

By
Location: Texas
a nawsome idea for a camp site
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

GREAT BACKSAVER!!!

By
Location: Hedgesville, WV
I put this hoist to use wiithin an hour of receieving it. Easy to assemble and use and is a big asset when dressing game. Have already had friends who have seen it used wanting one. I would recommend to any hunter looking to make his or her life easier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2006

MONARCH GAME HOIST

By
Location: NEW ENGLAND
WHEN I FIELD DRESS DEER I USE TO USE A HAND HOIST. IT'S VERY HARD PULLING 175 LBS OF WEIGHT IN THE AIR.
WITH THE MONARCH GAME HOIST MY GRANDFATHER CAN
DO IT AND WITH THE 360o SWIVEL PUT IT IN THE TRUCK
BED WITHOUT MY HELP.THIS WOULD BE AN EXCELLENT
PRESENT FOR ANY ONE,YOUNG,OLD,MALE OR FEMALE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2006

Life saver

By
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
This is one great product, I have had 3 major back surgeries and I have had to count on other people to hunt with me,in case I harvested an animal, because I can no longer lift,climb ect... and I thought my hunting days were over. Then I found this great product while shopping on line at cabela's, I was so happy I told my wife now I can hunt and not burden others to help me load my deer, All I have to do is hook him up like you were going to clean it crank the handle & swing him or her in to the back of the truck or UTV then I am on my way. Who ever came up with this idea or started producing them I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart, you brought back some of my independence and got me back to the outdoors where I love to be. Thank you
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Monarch Game Hitch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2006

monarch game hitch exceeds expectations

By
Location: Columbia , Illinois
When I purchased the game hoist it was for the skinning and butchering of game. It works wonderful for that purpose. It also works good for helping to drag large deer up small hillsides,out of creeks, and just putting them in the back of the truck.
I have also used my game hoist to help me put tillers, lawnmowers, and other small ewuipment in the back of my truck when noone else was available to assist me with it...
The game hoist is really a universal tool that can be used for a variety of projects around the year and during deer season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.