Customer Reviews for COMMERCIAL MARKETING Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

COMMERCIAL MARKETING Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind

Weighing in at only 11 pounds, the Avery Power Hunter is the lightest full-frame laydown blind on the market. But just because it's lightweight doesn't mean it's light on performance. The flip-top cockpit gives you a full field of view while keeping all movements concealed by a screened cover. Heavy-duty aluminum tubing gives the support to spring into position and take the shot and prevents wind from causing the material to flap and flare birds at the last second. The blind conforms to the exact contours of the land you're hunting to give you one of the lowest profiles in the field. And when it's time to relocate within the spread or haul everything out of the field, it folds up to 30" x 26" x 5" and sports built-in backpack straps for easy carry. Stubble straps across the entire top and viewing window give you the ability to vanish within your surroundings. Camo pattern/Color: Avery® Field Khaki™, KW-1™..
Overall Customer Rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
63 out of 68(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Review 21 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best!

Date:July 20, 2010
If your a large guy/gal i can understand you not getting this. I'm 5'10" 200lbs. and love it. Everyone that i hunt with went out and got one. It is lower than the finisher blind and extremely lighter a group full of these stick out less than a group of finishers, trust me! Granted some people go for comfort over the convenience. I have 2 of these blinds and have had them for over 4 years now, they still keep me warm and dry.
If your looking for best bang for your buck and you are a reasonably average height and weight, I would go with this.
WARNING ~ if your over 6', 200lbs proceed with caution it might be a little cramped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: oshkosh,WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

avey power hunter

Date:February 17, 2010
the blind was nice but it would be difficult to pop out of the blind with your gun. i would recommend the m2 or finisher over this blind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BURLINGTON, N.J.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power Hunter Blind

Date:February 15, 2010
Easy assembely, low profile, built strong to last, comfort for all day hunting and priced right !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brainerd, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad

Date:January 26, 2010
This is my first laydown blind so I have nothing to compare it to, but I found it sufficient. It is a problem to shoot if the geese or ducks get behind you. You definitely have to "dirty them up" before you use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Occasional goose hunter from SE Coinnecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blind Works Fine

Date:January 25, 2010
I used my Avery Power Hunter once this season and it worked fine. It kept me warm and dry despite a driving snow storm. It was very easy to set up and take down and it's light weight made it really easy to get from our truck to the middle of the field where we hunted. My only criticism is that I found it hard to adjust the height of the neck support and used a stuff sack to keep it propped up. Once I did that it was very comfortable and well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avery power Hunter

Date:January 25, 2010
In the pictures that I took of my blind, you could not see the blind unless I pointed it out. Even the skunk that came right next to me was fooled. Very comfortable and easy to transport and use. Now I just need to find the ducks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Blind is OK

Date:January 21, 2010
I got this blind with hi expectations, but turns out its just an ok blind. It's a little small for me and the bottom left seam ripped after only 3 uses. I'll be returning it and upgrading to the Finisher blind. It was light and easy to carry in, but just not the blind for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avery Power Hunter

Date:January 2, 2010
We've used the Avery Finisher blinds for years and have been very pleased with them. This was the first Power Hunter I tried and we've liked it a lot. Its lighter, quicker to set up and everyone who's tried it likes the visibility better. You do give up some room and a full foot bag rather than the th bar at the hip like the Finishers is a little more restrictive, but its a fair trade-off for the lightness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: In the PIT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The worst layout on the market!

Date:December 22, 2009
I bought this garbage after reading all of these reviews and it made me angry once I set it up and got in it. Dont get me wrong, it is light and takes a couple minutes to setup but it's the most uncomfortable layout I've ever been in. You have a support bar digging into your lowerback, there is no place for your gun to go other then in the dirt outside of your blind and you better be dressed warm cause your gonna freeze in this thing. Returned it and will get something else. Dont buy this thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Shore in Southern Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent for the cost!

Date:December 7, 2009
I used the Avery camo grass and the corn stalks in the field and it really looks good. You can spend over $250 for others but all you get is weight and extra frame work. The flip over hood is great as you can still see through the mess. My only suggestion is as I did carry an outdoors pillow, seat warmer type to help support your back but this is with all layouts. Excellent product for the cost and being light weight an portable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Augusta GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pleasant surprise

Date:October 27, 2009
I bought 2 of these to take to Canada this year only to find out when I got there that the outfitter I have been using for 6 years had recently purchased a dozen of them. They are very light, simple to set up and use and worked great in the field. They also seem to stand up well to regular vigorous use as there are so few parts. They made the whole trip more pleasant for a middle aged waterfowler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: buxton, north dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avery powerhunter layout blind

Date:October 21, 2009
i bought this as a gift for my brother and so far we have no complaints. the viewing from inside the blind gives you above standard of view while giving protection from the elements as well. one recommendation would be that of adding a spring loaded release for the hood at the front of the hood for allowing for quicker reaction time to the shooters not having to fumble with the hood before the shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

so easy a cave man could do it

Date:September 19, 2009
this blind please me time and time again... easy set up in the early hours of the morning, low profile compared to coffin blinds and extremely light but still heavy duty. you can look in a compleate 360 with birds overhead without scaring a single one... very pleased!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: northwest washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trexk2

Date:January 29, 2009
easy assembly and put up in the field. stores flat and easy. lightweight , easy to carry into the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Ladown Blind

Date:January 1, 2009
This is a great laydown blind.It is he only way to hunt.Light and very portable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

power hunter

Date:December 24, 2008
this is the best blind on the market PERIOD. big coffin blinds are a thing of the past. geese are spotting those big square outlines and we biff the heck out of evrything we use. the powerhunter takes all this away and gives you the lowest profile available. easy to set up and easy to pack away. great blind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Farmer City, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great start up blind

Date:December 18, 2008
This blind is perfect for people just getting into the sport unless you have wide shoulders. Blind is well built and should last a very long time. Like I said, be careful if you are of larger stature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Just thought I liked it.....

Date:December 15, 2008
I hunted out of this layout blind in Canada last year and loved it. But we were hunting the first week of the season......natural camo wasn't a huge necessity and the geese didn't circle, they came straight in. Now, hunting late season mallards, they circle a lot and natural camo is a must. And a lot of it is a must.
The blind has a great low profile and is comfortable, but it's really tough to see and keep track of birds through the mesh with a lot of cover on it. I finally cut 2 large holes on each side of the 'cockpit top' so I could see out. That helped. However, we were hunting in 30 mph winds 2 days ago and this thing is a BEAR trying to flip back with the wind at your back and not have it come back and hit you while you're trying to shoot! Go with a conventional layout blind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power Hunter

Date:September 24, 2008
Lowest profile and best priced ground blind out for hunting waterfowl!!! Easy to set up and very light for hunts where you have to pack in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Avery® Power Hunter™ Laydown Blind
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Johannesburg, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not for the bigger boys

Date:September 22, 2008
I am a 6' 2" 305lbs guy with very broad shoulders and I would have to say that fitting in this blind was a little hard to do, and I was only wearing a woolrich sweater not a lite coat or heavy parka. And still stay hiddin with out some part of my torso or elbows sticking out also hard to do . The guys that I hunt with ( The Waterfoul Mafia) who one could say are about half the size of me said that the support bar under the padding is right under their bottom. If you get one of these blinds and you dont have a camo gun get a camo gun that has a mat finish, cause you can't hide it in the blind like in other layout blinds. I would recomend this blind to someone 5;10' - 6'3' who has a very slender build. The low profile is nice but the cockpit is rather high so make sure that it well camoed up, to say as only a waterfouler would understand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 68