Customer Reviews for SIMS VIBRATION LABORATORY Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad

SIMS VIBRATION LABORATORY Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad

Crafted of the same highly effective Sims\shock-absorbing NAVCOM® material used to tame the excess energy of today’s high-speed compound bows, the LimbSaver Recoil Pad uses Decay Time Modification engineering to reduce recoil shock and vibration by up to 50% over standard recoil pads. Screw-in pads ensure maximum protection and relief from recoil. Available: Winchester M70 Wood Stock - Will only work with Winchester Model 70 rifles with wood stocks. Winchester M70 Synthetic Stock Browning A-Bolt Wood Stock Browning A-Bolt Synthetic Stock Remington 700 ADL/BDL Wood Stock Beretta 5" Stock Remington 870 Wingmaster Wood Stock Ruger/Browning Wood Stock Mossberg Synthetic Stock - Fits 2002/2003 Mossbery factory synthetic stocks with black or camo finish. Will not fit stocks prior to 2002. Winchester 1300 Synthetic Stock Benelli M1/SBE Synthetic Stock TC Encore/Omega Wood Stock TC Encore/Omega Syn. Stock Sako 75 Finnlight Syn. Stock Browning Gold 12/20 Syn. Stock Because of manufacturer’s stock deviations, the screw-in pads are not a guaranteed fit and might require some adjusting.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 196 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
180 out of 196(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Review 21 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Fairfax, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Grind to Fit Perhaps Better Choice

Date:October 30, 2007
I bought the pad for my Marlin 1895G Guide Gun. The screw holes in my stock didn't align with the recoil pad -- perhaps a mistake on Marlin's side but I ended up having a gunsmith put it on and the fit is still not perfect -- close but you can feel the size difference when you run your hand down the stock.
In retrospect, it I should've gotten the grind to fit either did it myself or had it done professionally.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Troy, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Limb Saver for 682

Date:November 20, 2006
I bought a Sims LimbSaver recoil pad for my Beretta 682 Gold E Trap. I wanted something to replace the factory pad, but I didn't want to mess around with grinding a pad or paying someone else to install it. The LimbSaver prefit pad worked well. The fit is definitely not as precise as a custom fit pad, but it works great for recoil reduction. However, when I converted from the factory pad to the LimbSaver, it changed my gun fit so significantly that I had to make the maximum adjustment to my comb that it will make. I still haven't gotten used to it, and I'm not sure if I will. The biggest problem is the amount the toe sticks out and protrudes into the pectoral muscle. I would just prefer more of a convex rather than a concave shaped pad. However, if you like a concave pad, I recommend this pad 100%.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Purchase

Date:October 8, 2013
1. Fits well on stock -- correct size
2. Priced competitively
3. Easy instructions for installation
4. Definitely reduces recoil on a 300 WSM with synthetic stock vs hard rubber pad.
One Note of Caution: DO NOT get any gun oil, WD-40, or any petroleum base on synthetic recoil pad-------makes pad become very tacky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Satisified, but.

Date:October 5, 2012
I purchased this pad to go on a Remington Model 700 30:06. It definetly helps reduce the felt recoil noticeably. It seems to do what its advertised to do.
Just one thing. if your out hunting and you get any kind of tree sap on this pad, you need to get it cleaned off as soon as possible. The sap will break down the material and it will literally look like the pad was put in a flame. It will look melted after a while. I havent figured out how to get the sap off of it without using some type of penetrating oil.
One day after I hunted and went to slide my rifle in the case I noticed there was a little pine sap on the bottom of the pad. I didnt think much about it at the time. I didnt use my rifle for a few weeks and as soon as I pulled it from the case i was so shocked at how it looked. I cleaned off what I could but the sap had been absorbed by the pad and it still keeps breaking down the pad. Now it looks terrible and the material is just sticky.
So just be careful about taking good care of this pad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

they work

Date:September 12, 2012
I put this on my Ruger M77 .270 to make it more comfortable for my 13 yo son to shoot. Made a huge difference from the stock, hard rubber that comes on the gun. My son (who is small for his age) shot about 20 rounds and said his shoulder wasn't sore afterwards, and he wasn't flinching when he shot. That says it all.
I bought one that is supposed to be specific to the M77, but the holes werent in the correct spot (too high). I spent about 30 minutes drilling new holes so it would attach to the stock in the right location. If not for that, it would get 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:August 29, 2012
Not the best fit on my model 70 30.06 but it's not meant to look pretty it's meant to reduce recoil. If you want a nicer fit then buy the grind to fit but if you want less recoil with only having to change out two screws this is a good buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not the right size for a 20 guage synthetic

Date:June 6, 2012
But it still bolts on and really when its for your girlfriend its about comfort and not looks. The overhang doesn't bother her so it doesn't bother me. As everyone knows when she's happy, you're happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works good

Date:May 18, 2012
None of the pre fit pads that I have installed are a perfect fit but these come pretty close. they look good and give a bit more cushion than the hard rubber pads that come from the factory on some firearms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lorane, OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:April 23, 2012
This product wonderful, did not realize how hard my old one was
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pa.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good purchase

Date:January 12, 2012
I put this limb saver screw in recoil pad on a browning A-bolt 375 H&H with a composite stock. It made a hugh difference. The fit was not exact but pretty good and the recoil felt was significantly reduced from the very hard non -flexible browning factory pad. Good buy for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knocks down recoil

Date:January 11, 2012
Very good purchase. Knocked down on recoil a bunch. Only problem was that I had to move the hole in my stock slightly up in order to fit the recoil pad. Other than a slight modification, the recoil pad is definitely worth the money and then some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Helpful in stopping the kick

Date:September 27, 2011
Sims LimbSaver fits decently on my Savage 110 30-06. The main thing is this pad out performs factory recoil pads in reducing the kick that larger cartridges have. The kick will still happen, this product will soften the blow. The only thing that keeps this product from getting 5 stars is it doesn't exactly match the stock on my rifle. When coupled with a recoild reducer, this will tame even the larger magnums.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Formoso, KS
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's a limb saver

Date:September 11, 2011
Bought this pad for my remington 700 30-06 but it didn't fit my older 2003 model because of the curved stock (pachmere is the only company that makes a direct replacment for the curved stock). After $15 to the local gun smith he had a good fit on the stock. Very good pad, shooting 20 rounds today practicong with my rifle dindn't end up with a sore shoulder it absorves a lot of recoil. The price is alittle high but if you want a really good pad this is the one to get.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cashiers, NC
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent purchase

Date:May 13, 2011
Shot a 3 1/2 inch turkey load in a pump gun sitting close to a tree, which cracked a bone in my shoulder. I have not been able to shoot the shotgun with the new recoil pad because of the injury, which is why I did not give it 5 stars. The pad was easy to install and is a huge improvement. I did get the turkey!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: HOUSTON, TEXAS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butt Saver of a Limb Saver

Date:March 3, 2011
For the price paid this was a very good butt plate conversion for my Winchester Model 70 chambered in 7mm STW. This is a 2005 model with a slightly shorter barrel than my Weatherby chambered the same, so it offered a bit more on the butt after the primer was discharged. With 2 rotator cuf surgeries within 1-1/2 years on the same shoulder my butt plate resides on, it was time to put a little cushion on the plate. The LimbSaver Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad was a perfect answer. Even though it was not a perfect match to screw right on to the stock, the packaging identifed that my model of application might require re-drilling for one hole and fortunately my stock also allowed for that re-drilling for that hole. Being in the oilfield bidness and constantly under constraints that +/- .001" to .003" will make or break your day, I was able to make my day with a very small fractional mislalignment, as the Pad is not quite a perfect match to the stock. This will not affect fit, form or function. If I could find one for my Marlin 30-30, I would put one it also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Carlin, NV
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice

Date:February 14, 2011
Very nice recoil pad. I used this pad on a Model 788 Remington 7mm-08 which originally had a small hard plastic pad. The Sims LimbSaver screwed in easily and definitely helped reduce the recoil. I would of given it 5 stars, but the pad didn't exactly match up perfectly to my wood stock. Still, a very nice pad that I would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ny
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

limb save rrecoil pad

Date:February 8, 2011
very nice product. Easily installed on gun. feels good after alot of shots fired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sims LimbSaver Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad

Date:May 17, 2010
Bought this pad for my Tikka T3 Lite in .308. This pad is a big improvement over the stock recoil pad. The fit is not perfect, but it's more than adequate for a hunting rifle. Would have given it 5 stars if the fit was better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mountain Top, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough Install

Date:March 24, 2010
I bought one of these from the Hamburg, PA store to install on my Stoeger M2000. The install was a bit of a pain since the screws sink into the pad and make it difficult to get everything lined up; however, it is nothing a little persistence didn't take care of. Once installed I was sceptical about its effectiveness due to it's feel against my shoulder, but that all went away once I patterned my gun for the upcoming turkey season. Before I got this pad the gun was unforgiving with my 3" turkey loads, it might have well been the plastic stock against my shoulder. Now with the Limbsaver pad the gun is a joy to shoot. The recoil reduction was more that anticipated. I like it so much I plan on replacing the pad I currently have on my Ithaca 37 with a Limbsaver before the next NY whitetail season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Sims LimbSaver® Screw-In Replacement Recoil Pad
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Limbsaver

Date:February 13, 2010
I just got the Limbsaver precision fit; it was ordered for the Sako A7 and it fits great. I ordered model 10011. I haven't had a chance to try it out yet, but as for as design and feel, it is a great step up from the stock recoil pad- if you can call it that-lol
Will review again after hitting the range-
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 196