Customer Reviews for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web

Get renowned Bell and Carlson accuracy and performance engineered specifically for Savage heavy-barrel rifles. The convenient drop-in design with aluminum pillar bedding construction guarantees a solid, non-shifting fit between stock and barreled action. Factory-installed Pachmayr Decelerator recoil pad. Available: Long Action, Short Action. Color: Black Web.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Review 1 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin,Tx
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why did I wait so long

Date:January 9, 2012
I replaced the factory stock on my Savage Mod 10LE with the Bell and Carlson Stock. The factory set up was not bad with MOA groups, but the rifle was muzzled heavy and the factory stock would flex.
I decided to give this stock a try due to the lower cost and the other reviews. It was a drop in without any problems, however, being a picky Jarhead I did go ahead and steel bed the action.
The rifle is much better balanced and looks great.
With this rifle I have out shot much more expensive rifles being carried by fellow officers.
You do not need to pay more for a good rifle stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bell & Carlson stock

Date:February 5, 2010
It is a drop in stock - just needed about 3 minutes of hand sanding to even up the gap from one side of the barrel to the other (cosmetic only). This is a very good looking stock and really improved the overall look of my Savage 300 WM. The comb seems to be about 5/8" higher than the old stock and makes for perfect sight picture acquisition with a scope. Not sure how much it will improve the groups on this rifle that already shoots from .300" - .750" at 100 yds, but I'm hopeful. A bargain at this price - I say buy it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Savage Heavy-Barrel Stock Black Web

Date:April 9, 2008
I purchased this stock for my 300RUM-Savage 116FSAK. No problems installing this stock which is described as a "drop-in" installation, as mentioned in the advertisement. I only had to do some very minor sanding work, other than that the stock installation took but 20 minutes. I highly recommend this stock for heavy barrelled Savage rifles. The original stock was in my opinion, too light and material quality was marginal. The light original stock made the rifle "front" heavy and after installing this more rigid stock the rifle overall balance and tracking improved alot. The Bell & Carlson Savage Black Web stock is made of excellent materials, solid & rigid in both feel and construction, Factory-installed Pachmayr Decelerator recoil pad, plus the Black Web finish/texture makes this stock a 5 star rating in my book!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern california long time shooter and reloader
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my savage .223 rem

Date:June 18, 2007
was a true drop in fit, looks much better than the factory fiber stock did, seems to shoot as tight or even tighter groups now about .30 to .60 inch 5 shots @ 100 yards! and the balance is moved back a bit so its not as barrel heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BUSHKILL P.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Blac

Date:March 26, 2007
Everything I expected and more. A big improvement over the original stock that came with the Savage 10FP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage Heavy Barrel Stock

Date:November 25, 2006
After several years of shooting my Savage 116 FSAK in 300WM with the "tupperware" factory stock, I grew tired of the shoddy construction and so-so groups, even with handloads. So after reviewing the choices, I chose the Bell and Carlson replacement stock in black web - perfect contrast to the stainless finish. Installation was simple, just remove the factory screws (3), and drop in the new stock. This took a grand total of 3 minutes to install. I am not very inclined to mess with my firearms, but thought I could give a new stock a shot. This was simple to install even though I did have an issue with the factory screws as they were not the standard allen head size. The stock came with a factory installed decellerator (sp?) recoil pad which increased overall length by about 3/4". Immediately after installation, I lifted the rifle and it was heavier and felt much more sturdy. Took it to the range and my groups shrank from 0.9" to 0.4" at 100 yards with 3 shots (handloads). Recoil was noticeably reduced and it was easier to mount the rifle and gain the sight picture since the new stock allowed my cheek to "get down" easier. If you are looking for a replacement stock for a heavy barrelled Savage, give this a close look - very tough, very easy to install, and a dramatic improvement over the factory synthetic stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good replacement stock

Date:December 30, 2009
I have a savage 110 E. The barrel and reciever slid right in the stock like a glove. It was very easy to do. The stock looks good and the recoil pad is much nicer than my old stock. I have not shot the gun yet, but it looks good and was easy to replace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Akron, OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a Bad Buy

Date:September 17, 2007
I ordered this stock for a Savage 110FP. It was a pretty good fit from the start. It did take a little work to get it to seat perfectly, but it was no big job.
It is a very nice looking stock and for the money, I would recomend it.
I gave it 4 stars only because it took a little bit more work then just a "Drop In".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bell and Carlson Savage Heavy-Barrel Stocks - Black Web
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too Flimsy

Date:April 7, 2010
The stock looks great and fit on my accu-trigger 110 without any hitches. That said, the forend flexed WAY too much under the weight of the barreled action.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.