Customer Reviews for HENRY Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles

HENRY Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles

A golden example of classic American craftsmanship with Old-West-inspired embellishments and premium varmint-hunting performance. This popular model was voted "2001 Gun of the Year" by the readers of Guns & Ammo magazine. Its Brasslite receiver shines for a look that hews close to the stagecoach-defending original. Finely grained American walnut stock with a brass buttplate. The hefty, blued, octagonal barrel provides perfect balance for accurate off-hand shooting. Metal barrel band. Adjustable buckhorn-style rear sight and beaded front sight. Easy-to-load, tubular magazine. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Review 1 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yesiree!

Date:November 15, 2014
Love the rifle and it is good for small game, too. My Henry 30-30 is just the same. Much smoother action than my old Marlin lever 30-30. <><
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Lever Action

Date:July 27, 2014
Purchased the Goldenboy 22 mag a week ago. The action is sooo smooth, and totally dead on accurate.I am very happy with this firearm. Looking at another Henry in the very near future. Cabela's is the best place to purchase anything for your hunting or fishing needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth Shooter

Date:May 4, 2014
What a silky smooth action. This made in american rifle shoots as good as it looks. Mine shoots great, 1.5 -2" groups. Henry has the best customer service in the gun business. My stock had a small scratch, Henry sent me a complete stock set for free.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

How do you miss?

Date:March 10, 2014
Gorgeous rifle, sure, but is cycles and shoots as good as it looks- and that is what really matters. I often joke that if you miss your target with this rifle, you simply are not aiming. It is dead on- scary dead on accurate. Nothing I point at stands a chance. Frankly, this is probably my favorite rifle of all time simply because the entire package is unmatched- from it's great looks to its pinpoint accuracy. It's also economical to shoot- provided you stocked up well on cartridges...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful Rimfire

Date:February 4, 2014
I grew up shooting rimfire rifles like most american boys. My father is a gun monger and has dozens of rifles. After the discovery of the Henry line of rifles neither of us ever grab anything else anymore when it comes time to plink. The are the smoothest and most accurate lever guns and are beautiful to look at. We both have the standard models and the golden boys, also big boys in various calibers. They have all been outstanding and we are proud to own American made rifles! Now please get us some more ammo!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent .22 Rifle

Date:July 31, 2013
Other reviews covered the excellent features of the Henry Golden Boy Rifle. I might add a couple of things. The rifle will load and shoot .22 long rifle, long, and short. When I took it to the range I shot Federal and Winchester Bulk and although the point of impact was different, they both loaded, fired and ejected very well without problems. And, as already pointed out, the lever, right out of the box is smooth as butter. I added the GB rifle to a Henry Pump-Action I've had over a year and the octagonal barrels are classic and attractive as well as accurate. I bought the rifle as a plinker, but plan to add a scope mount and scope due to inherent accuracy and use for small game.
In addition to everything else its a pretty rifle, a work of art. The stock and forearm walnut is nice and brasslite receiver are well done. Best of all, all Henry Rifles from Henry Repeating Arms are made in The United States.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highest Regards!

Date:July 26, 2013
I can't say enough good about the Golden Boy itself and Henry Repeating arms. Slick action, gorgeous brasslite receiver, great sights, high quality walnut, perfectly crafted octagonal barrel, highly accurate even with bulk Remington or federal ammo, well balanced..... great, great gun. The Henry repeating arms company lived up to it's reputation, sending me a free catalog, a personal letter with my gun, high quality instruction manual, and even a free scope mount when the first one came without mounting screws. Also, Its an All American Gun Baby!! Can't say enough about the craftsmanship and ethics behind the great and highly acclaimed henry repeating arms company. heck, even the Gun Tests magazine gave it an A- overall and recommended it over all the other lever guns, calling it "first in fun." Great gun, recommended highly by myself!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful gun!

Date:May 18, 2013
As many have said in these reviews, it’s a beautiful gun and a work of art! I have the Golden Boy in .22 Mag. Seeing the gun out of the box just looks more impressive than in any photo or catalog. The brass finish is gorgeous, the wood stock fitting is superb and the barrel bluing is absolutely beautiful. Even the marking on the blued barrel is in beautiful gold/brass color. Beyond the looks, it is a superb shooter! The lever action is smooth as silk, ejection and chambering is clean and the trigger pull is very crisp. I was shooting open sites at 50 yards and getting incredible groupings without adjustment. Shot both in the standing position and on the bench rest. A great gun which is reminiscent of the old western days and made in the U.S.A.!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As Good as it Gets

Date:May 17, 2013
First of all, if anyone has an issue with a Henry Rifle, they need only contact Henry and they will receive TOP NOTCH customer service and their issue will be resolved. I have a .22LR and a .22 WMRF golden boy.
I called about a problem with a part on a 10 year old rifle and they sent me a new part right away, no charge and no questions asked !!! That says it all.
Hold a Golden Boy, work the action, take a few shots (nobody can shoot just one).
If you don't agree that it is the smoothest action, nicest balanced most FUN to shoot lever action .22 you have ever seen, contact me and I'll buy it !!!
Made In U.S.A. by American craftsmen who take PRIDE in their product. You can't get any better.
Buy one for yourself, then buy one for your son, daughter, grandson, granddaughter or the kid next door. I guarantee, it will be a cherished possession for generations to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works of art

Date:April 2, 2013
These rifles are works of art. Not only very well made, they are great to hold, shoot, and admire. If you want a lever gun, this is the one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My First Henry

Date:October 24, 2012
In September I looked at several different 22 caliber rifles and choose the Henry Golden Boy. I felt the weight was perfect, the rifle was well balanced and I liked the open sights. I took the Golden Boy to the range to sight in this rifle, the factory sights were right on the money with no adjustments made, the groups were tight. This rifle performed perfect , there were no jams, the lever action was smooth and trigger pull as well. Other shooters came by noticed my rifle was a Henry and gave rave reviews for this rifle. This is just one nice rifle, I would recommend this rifle to anyone and to those who want to teach their children the fundamentals of gun safety and proper shooting skills. Nice rifle, nicely priced and MADE IN AMERICA...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly varmit gun

Date:October 5, 2011
Recently purchased the cheaper Henry .22 magnum with the octagonal barrel not the golden boy. This bad boy is wicked accurate at 25-75 yards with cci poly tip .22 mag rounds. I'm talkin taking the eye brows off a prairie dog at 50 yards. Hits alot harder than a .17 as well. Cycles every round great and the feel is amazing. Plus it's American made! A great rifle from a classic company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Little Elm, TX
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's A Work Of Art

Date:May 29, 2011
I bought this Henry Golden Boy .22 magnum at the new Cabela's in Allen, Texas last week and all I can say is -- wow! It's probably going to be a few months before I get to shoot it so I can't attest to its accuracy yet but I did run a few rounds through it (pointed at a safe backstop of course) and the action is as smooth as silk. The quality of the components and workmanship that went into this rifle appear to be excellent and all made in America. And yes, the barrel band that came on it is brass, not the standard metal one pictured in the ad here. Plus it's a real "purty" gun and looks mighty nice on the wall. Kudos to Henry Repeating Arms for making a fine product. The Cabelas associate tried to give me .22LR cartridges. Good thing I knew better and explained to him that it only takes magnums but hey, we all make mistakes. If it doesn't shoot well I'll come back with an update but I don't expect that to happen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mason, Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A True AMERICAN Product - Go U.S.A.

Date:April 27, 2011
I first bought my 11 year old son a Henry .22 S/LR rifle and literally the same day decided to buy the Henry .22 Magnum.
Now, both my son and I can enjoy a fun day at the range and know that our shots are dead-on accurate and we hold our own little "Top-Shot" competition.
Soon after buying these two perfect rifles, I won a Henry B.S.A. Eagle Commemerative rifle - which now is hanging in a hand made display case on my wall.
With EVERYTHING made in America on a Henry Rifle it is tough not to love these rifles, they have history and they continue to make history. I for one am very proud of my son and when he earns his Eagle Scout Rank (I am an Eagle as well) - I will present to him my Eagle Rifle - Hand Made in the U.S.A.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent quality

Date:April 22, 2011
I purchased a Henry 22 mag Golden Boy from Cabela's and have had excellent performance from the gun. It is accurate, I like the styling and probably the smoothest action I have ever seen on a lever action gun. I liked it well enough I bought my son a blued Henry straight 22 and we are just as happy with it. It's nice to know you can still buy a quality product made in the totally in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Age 67 llove to hunt period. Also phtograph
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Lever Action

Date:December 25, 2010
Action is smooth, no problems at all, well made and finished , accurate too. Very pretty rifle which I had drilled and tapped for the scope mount . Prced right and I have several more expensive 22 cal rifles but this is one I really enjoy . Yes I would recommend it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best 22 mag. lever action made!

Date:December 4, 2010
By far the smoothest lever action rimfire on the market! Not to mention the best looking. I had to buy the brass barrel band for mine but I hear now that Henry is sending these rifles with the brasslite barrel band standard on all Golden Boy models. I really would like a scope on mine but would never dare tap the barrel for Henry's scope base. I had to buy this rifle in 22 mag. after buying it in 22 LR for each of my boys. There was no way I was going to live without one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

henry magnum

Date:March 22, 2010
this is the best lever action i have ever owned!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The Gardens, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yes, the H001 is cheaper but...

Date:January 25, 2010
If you see and hold one of these in person, you'll easily understand from a very visceral point of view why the Golden Boy exists - it's a testament to fine quality and craftmanship. This weapon is 10/10 in every way I can imagine - accuracy, reliability, flexibility (it reliably feeds and ejects shorts, longs and standard .22), aesthetics (nostalgic and drop-dead gorgeous)... and pair this rifle with Aguila Colibri or super Colibri rounds and you have an in-the-house range at your disposal. The action of the rifle is louder than the report of the rounds (unbelievable but true).
The only thing to beware? If you buy and shoot one of these, you may as well start saving for it's big brother (one of the .44 or .45 carbines) because the .22 Golden Boy is like a starter drug - you will want to step up and own it's bigger cousins.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Henry Golden Boy Lever-Action .22 and .22 Mag. Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Updated review

Date:September 14, 2013
I need to set things right. Cabela's went above and beyond all expectations to help me with the problem I had with my Henry, Golden Boy 22 Rimfire. The lever started rusting shortly after I purchased it. Henry has made arrangements for me to send it to them to replace the lever. Excellant customer service. Cabela's and Henry Rifles, are a great combination. My thanks to all involved for helping me with this issue. I remain a loyal customer of Cabela's, and still plan on adding a Henry Survival Rifle to my collection.
Ralph Workman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22